20 people like this.

241 comment(s). Last comment by 3iii 2019-01-01 08:05

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-12-25 11:08 | Report Abuse

While datuk cheah transform from editor/financial journalist to fund manager..

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-12-25 11:11 | Report Abuse

Sequence of event is important, like learn to crawl first, then walk then run.

teoct

480 posts

Posted by teoct > 2018-12-25 11:21 | Report Abuse

A happy merry Xmas and Happy new year 2019 to all regardless of opinion.

And hopefully a fruitful investing year 2019 for all.

pussycats

7,615 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2018-12-25 11:32 | Report Abuse

dow jones crash another 700 points! RUNNN

55,146 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-12-25 11:38 | Report Abuse

Posted by pussycats > Dec 25, 2018 11:32 AM | Report Abuse

dow jones crash another 700 points! RUNNN

Dear Pussycats from Sarawak

Must say "RUNN TO BOOMING ISKANDAR LANDED HOUSES" Because of Good rental demand

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-12-25 11:46 | Report Abuse

Landed house in johor got rental demand? Unsold Soho and servive apartment in johor hit new high woh..

Posted by apolloang > 2018-12-25 11:50 | Report Abuse

good location condos,a lot of rental demand in penang with 4% yield

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-12-25 11:54 | Report Abuse

Rental nowaday rarely can cover instalment liao lah...penang also same..huge choices for rent seekers...now soho unsold number us worse in johor and kl.....but talking about rent, isn't condo ia preferable...why landed? Got many facilities to enjoy in condo...

Posted by apolloang > 2018-12-25 11:59 | Report Abuse

soho no use lah,condos got rooms even can't rent out can let my guests stay.landed properties not much yield.

55,146 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-12-25 12:15 | Report Abuse

I will post 2 articles soon on

1. Why Condos and Soho in Iskandar will crash and be very very bad investments

2. On the other hand why landed property like single or double storey houses in Booming Iskandar should do well in holding up value and good rental

Posted by apolloang > 2018-12-25 12:18 | Report Abuse

penang won't crash cos many tourists here and expatriates mm2h prefer penang than johor

55,146 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-12-25 12:20 | Report Abuse

I refer to over building of Condos in Johor, not Penang or Kl

Posted by apolloang > 2018-12-25 12:22 | Report Abuse

tak apa lah I no buy properties in johor…..now penang very sesak jalan,very jam full of tourists,bodoh LGE should announce bridge toll increase during peak period just like singapore

5,518 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2018-12-25 12:33 | Report Abuse

I like what CharlesT comment below. I give him a thumbs-up.
Posted by CharlesT > Dec 25, 2018 09:26 AM | Report Abuse
Dunno why all u guys wasted so much of time in attacking qqq3....
Who cares....

P/S: Please give this poor guy the former Mr. Koon’s PLP king “You-Know-Who” a break as long as he is no more using his master name to promote BS and super-investor and leading people to Holland by encourage people not to study FA and blindly following the crowd chase high, sailang and margin finance and he profited from its again and again.

Posted by apolloang > 2018-12-25 12:49 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/median-house-price-malaysia-rises-3q18

who curi curi to buy properties? hehe

Posted by Koon Bee > 2018-12-25 13:18 | Report Abuse

2019 still oil and gas play

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 14:23 | Report Abuse

CharlesT > Dec 25, 2018 09:26 AM | Report Abuse

Dunno why all u guys wasted so much of time in attacking qqq3....

Who cares.....
============

u used to be one of those idiots too not too long ago......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 14:24 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Dec 25, 2018 02:18 PM | Report Abuse X

by CharlesT > Dec 25, 2018 09:11 AM | Report Abuse

I also dont believe qqq3 lost rm150k in ekovest...mayb in other currencies such as rupiah etc then mayb possible
=======

ekovest? don't remember any losing trade on Ekovest....make money got la....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 14:26 | Report Abuse

Posted by Koon Bee > Dec 25, 2018 01:18 PM | Report Abuse

2019 still oil and gas play

==========

2019 is time for Jaks and sendai.....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 14:26 | Report Abuse

2019 is time for Jaks and sendai.....margin, sailang...do any u want according to your desire.......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 14:29 | Report Abuse

lets see how choi evolve....but maths and statistics not on his side......

Posted by 2019Investor > 2018-12-25 14:35 | Report Abuse

Very good article, I am benefited, thanks for sharing Jon. Please keep it up for the good work and ignore noises. Don't worry, like others I know how to differentiate a sincere honest work from noises. I have been reading I3investor for almost 2 years quietly without participating into discussion. I think today I should come out and say thank you and appreciation to all article contributors who I have learned a lot from. Much appreciated, thanks a lot and happy new year. Best wishes to all participants in I3investor in the new year, may you have a very successful year ahead.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 14:38 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 14:39 | Report Abuse

Dato Sri Cheah....that is a respectable character......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 14:43 | Report Abuse

SarifahSelinder > Dec 25, 2018 10:06 AM | Report Abuse

qqq3 xda clue langsung did not even able to figure out JAKS annual report as recently as last Saturday tapi berani to ask Koon to buy 2 years ago
=========

sar...those $ 300 million advances from a customer are the payments made by China to sub contractors for jaks portion......no cash flow implications and will eventually be set off against other accounts....

2,823 posts

Posted by cheoky > 2018-12-25 14:58 | Report Abuse

Puzzle-said 300k to 12mil in 9years????? Can replace all msia fund anagers

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2018-12-25 15:02 | Report Abuse

O.. actually u belum lagi totally figure out..

Posted by qqq3 > Dec 25, 2018 02:43 PM |Report Abuse 

SarifahSelinder > Dec 25, 2018 10:06 AM | Report Abuse 

qqq3 xda clue langsung did not even able to figure out JAKS annual report as recently as last Saturday tapi berani to ask Koon to buy 2 years ago 
========= 

sar...those $ 300 million advances from a customer are the payments made by China to sub contractors for jaks portion......no cash flow implications and will eventually be set off against other accounts....

2,823 posts

Posted by cheoky > 2018-12-25 15:03 | Report Abuse

Guess is better than cold eye. Can author a OTB book. But sometimes otb analysis make no sense compared to cold eye. so followers should suspend own judgment to achieve what otb had achieved or be rational n independent? Mmmm...

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 15:45 | Report Abuse

by SarifahSelinder > Dec 25, 2018 03:02 PM | Report Abuse

O.. actually u belum lagi totally figure out..
========

no I have totally figured it out already.....

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2018-12-25 15:50 | Report Abuse

Nice... Like a chapter taken off the famous book, Market Wizards..

It isn't so much about OTB having the winning formula but how he tweaked
from common benchmarks and yardsticks to develop his own winning edge and mindset..

The part where people see a contradiction when he kept some losing stocks although they broke his rules, showed someone with flexibility to adapt to market dynamics than pure hard and fast rules... Because you simply can't put a mathematical formula on something as complex as human emotions..

OTB trading style of finding themes and value , buying the leader on momentum and riding it as much as possible, is closest to legendary Jesse Livermore - a style which I've been dying to emulate for so many years but can't... No complaints though as I've developed my own which continues to be profitable to me even this year in such markets..

In uncle koon case, his biggest flaw is his need to fan his ego thus letting people read him like an open book... As can be seen, the markets will pound you down into submission one day... Even young Jon has lately toned down on his brashness and speaks with some respect

As for qqq, find peace inside you than to continue barking at OTB... There is a reason why he is respected by others in spite of his poorer results thus year.. You can't win when you can't even be in control your own emotions.. Remember, in this moment of now, you always have the right to choose.. To be right or to be at peace? Move on, learn and find peace inside you to celebrate each other's differences .. For it is only in contrast that we learn (what we want and what we don't)

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 15:51 | Report Abuse

by cheoky > Dec 25, 2018 02:58 PM | Report Abuse

===============

300k to 12mil in 9years...can also result in 12 million to 300k in 9 months.....

Zhuge_Liang

2,384 posts

Posted by Zhuge_Liang > 2018-12-25 16:11 |

samyew1234

1,362 posts

Posted by samyew1234 > 2018-12-25 16:13 | Report Abuse

otb record is proven

samyew1234

1,362 posts

Posted by samyew1234 > 2018-12-25 16:13 | Report Abuse

qqq3 talk cock

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 17:03 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 17:06 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 17:09 |

Posted by PotentialGhost > 2018-12-25 20:58 | Report Abuse

Otb surge huge loss in steel stock and construction Stock

Posted by hollandking > 2018-12-25 21:31 | Report Abuse

If you looked at what otb sifu had written, even sifus after some, they will suffered losses too but he locked in those profit by buying properties instead of all in shares. Superinvestor intially his luck was good too, but in the long run, he suffered losses too. I dont think one can be rich by dabbling in the stock market in the long run. Instead, one should start their own biz if one want to be rich. In the long run, on average, those who play in the stock market will most likely be red and quit. So go be an entrepreneur.

Posted by hollandking > 2018-12-25 21:31 | Report Abuse

Stop gambling, go start your biz.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-25 23:11 | Report Abuse

by cheoky > Dec 25, 2018 02:58 PM | Report Abuse

===============

300k to 12mil in 9years...can also result in 12 million to 300k in 9 months.....

I think there are enough holland calls for that to happen......

LaoTzeAhSir

1,304 posts

Posted by LaoTzeAhSir > 2018-12-25 23:16 | Report Abuse

Ah Jon Sifu, VS Industry at current share price can ah? haha.

Zhuge_Liang

2,384 posts

Posted by Zhuge_Liang > 2018-12-25 23:27 | Report Abuse

Posted by hollandking > Dec 25, 2018 09:31 PM | Report Abuse

If you looked at what otb sifu had written, even sifus after some, they will suffered losses too but he locked in those profit by buying properties instead of all in shares.

May be it is good to get out of a bear market completely for a while to protect capital. If we got out in Feb 2018, we should save a lot of our capital loss.

Livermore

2,797 posts

Posted by Livermore > 2018-12-26 00:27 | Report Abuse

nothing to learn to read it, anyway thanks

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-26 00:40 | Report Abuse

vs. don't know can or cannot but I have.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-26 00:43 | Report Abuse

Dow up or down 1000 points is 50/50 . But we in Malaysia, it's better to gamble now than when it was so much higher.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-26 01:34 | Report Abuse

Its a better idea at 0.8 than at 2.4

The question now is how is VS versus other opportunities out there? How well do you know the company and the economics of the business. and size appropriately

Look at SKP, uchitec etc for similar co's.

===
Posted by LaoTzeAhSir > Dec 25, 2018 11:16 PM | Report Abuse

Ah Jon Sifu, VS Industry at current share price can ah? haha.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-26 12:14 | Report Abuse

choi

go ask that hero of yours...is he redeeming FDs to buy shares or is he all cash except Hibiscus? in a recent memo he says he is former...go figure........

Posted by hollandking > 2018-12-26 12:15 | Report Abuse

he retired?

Posted by hollandking > 2018-12-26 12:17 | Report Abuse

in the stock market, if you are a trader, u can only be a winner if u quit or only use excessiveness from the money earned from your fund, then u will be a winner. If all in stocks or most, no good ending in the long run.