20 people like this.

241 comment(s). Last comment by 3iii 2019-01-01 08:05

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-12-26 12:21 | Report Abuse

Vs competitive industries. business wise it has no competitive edge, can be copied very easily, can be bullied by client. good business will never be bullied by client. Business wise already fail.

U dont even know what is happening inside. Dont touch if u dont know

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-12-26 12:37 | Report Abuse

It’s always a good strategy to diversify portfolio through buying property from profit derived in share trading. Traders are normally feeling of insecurity due to nature of their business. We would never know the exact time stepping on landmines due to switching among counters in the party. It’s not easy to control greed emotion if we have spare cash on hand and do nothing on it unless we temporarily stop scouting opportunities in stock markets.

Property located in good location providing decent rental yield remains attractive for generating passive income in longer term. It offers high security especially during bear market.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-26 12:41 | Report Abuse

2019 properties confirm cannot go up

2019 shares got chance to go up

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-12-26 12:58 | Report Abuse

They normally won’t look for capital appreciation in property cause the quantum of capital appreciation in share trading is much higher in stock market. What they look for is security of passive income to cover their daily expenses. In case of market crash, they also able to survive even though portfolio go Holland. Not much pressure in supporting financial commitments in family at least.

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-12-26 13:10 | Report Abuse

The moment we started to buy property from profit deriving from share trading, there is a feeling of ‘ no matter what happen to my exiting portfolio, I am still making profit in the stock market. ‘ This is another confident level associates with our stock picking decisions whether now or future.

Zhuge_Liang

2,372 posts

Posted by Zhuge_Liang > 2018-12-26 13:30 | Report Abuse

Up_down,
You are very good and you hit the jackpot.
You are 100% correct I think.
Divide our investments into Property, FD and share investment are a better strategy.
When the stock market is bearish, it is better to put money into FD.
When bull market appears again, withdraw from FD to load the stock market is a better move. Invest in share in a bull market will definitely able to cover the interest earned from FD.

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-12-26 13:39 | Report Abuse

Zhuge. You are doing well in stock market. We are not a real investor like WB or 3iii investing in few companies business sustainable in long term. This is the main weakness in traders go for 2nd and 3rd liners.

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-12-26 14:37 | Report Abuse

buy good property and construction stock and hold. sure earn money

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 11:42 |

Posted by stockraider > 2018-12-28 11:59 | Report Abuse

AGAIN CONMAN 3iii MAKE THE RIGHT POINT HERE LOH.....!!

WELL DONE LOH....THIS TIME HE HAS PLAYED DOWN HIS PROMOTION OF HIS OVERVALUE STOCK LOH....!!

USUALLY HE WILL TAKE THIS OPPORTUNITY TO TOUT HIS LIST OF OVERVALUE STOCK UNASHAMELY LOH....!!

THIS IS A GOOD SIGN OF CHANGE MAN ?

WILL SEE LOH...!!

Posted by 3iii > Dec 28, 2018 11:42 AM | Report Abuse

Actually, many "investors" share the same fearful and harmful thinking that the Malaysian market is not for long term investing. The Malaysian stock market is not different from other stock markets, IF you are one who is focussed on value, high quality growing companies and not overpaying to own them.

The most important factor is the investor HIMSELF OR HERSELF.

Has he or she the knowledge and the temperament:

1. To understand the business
2. To know its durable economic advantage over others and for how long this will last
3. To know the integrity and ability of the managers.
4. To value the company.

Basically, stay WITHIN your circle of competence and always ensure when you buy, you have a margin of safety.

There are excellent companies in Malaysia to invest long term. They have returned 15%+ yearly over decades. Admittedly, there are very few such high quality stocks. Once you own them, keep them forever. The doubling after a long period is phenomenal at the end.

You will be talking of millions, rather than thousand or tens of thousands.

Some stocks may run into problems, but they are few and rare.

It is irrational to be frightened off the stocks (slice your nose) because of them.

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 12:01 | Report Abuse

Stockraider has been talking c--- for almost a decade on investing. I found him lacking in substance and style.

Posted by stockraider > 2018-12-28 12:07 | Report Abuse

FOR DECADES...THIS 3iii IS UNDERPERFORMING AGST RAIDER EXCEPT THIS YEAR 2018 LOH.....!!

THIS MEANS EVERY DOG HAS ITS DAYS LOH....!!

TIME WILL ALLOW ANY DOG TO OUT PERFORM TOO LOH....SO DO NOT DESPAIR LOH...!!

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 12:12 | Report Abuse

A long term value investor has built into his portfolio a lot of gains.

This gain is many times that of his initial capital.

Of course, the market value of his portfolio fluctuates with the vagaries of the market.

In any year, his/her dividends from his portfolio exceeded the gains of a small trader multiple folds.

Few serious long term value investors find trading enticing, though they may occasionally indulge in a non serious ways.

Posted by stockraider > 2018-12-28 12:17 | Report Abuse

For many years over a decade 3iii did not look impressive loh...!!

Posted by 3iii > Dec 28, 2018 12:12 PM | Report Abuse

A long term value investor has built into his portfolio a lot of gains.

This gain is many times that of his initial capital.

Of course, the market value of his portfolio fluctuates with the vagaries of the market.

In any year, his/her dividends from his portfolio exceeded the gains of a small trader multiple folds.

Few serious long term value investors find trading enticing, though they may occasionally indulge in a non serious ways.

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 12:18 | Report Abuse

http://www.investlah.com/forum/index.php/topic,69819.msg1560483.html#msg1560483

If u have held these stocks forever.

Posted by stockraider > 2018-12-28 12:22 | Report Abuse

if u look in the rear window.....surely one can select good stock loh...!!

If u can perform so well like what u says pls select great stock now and prove your claim u can outperform loh...!!

Talk cock looking at rear window anybody is a champion loh...!!

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 12:24 | Report Abuse

Be a focussed investor.

Do not own too many stocks.

10% of your portfolio value in each stock is meaningful.

1% or 2% of your portfolio value in a stock is unlikely to make you very rich (or very poor).

Putting 1% or 2% into 40+ stocks means getting market returns at best.

Diversification into so many stocks is for the ignorants.

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 12:25 | Report Abuse

Dishonest raider should know I always post truthfully.

I have been talking the same stocks for donkey years, to your chagrin.

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 12:26 | Report Abuse

Always reinvest your duvidends.

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 12:27 | Report Abuse

Otb and Kyy can be compared.

Both are momentum players.

Posted by stockraider > 2018-12-28 12:30 | Report Abuse

Every yr this 3iii tout his overvalue stock...!

U think 3iii honest ah...!!

Just that 2018 his overvalue stock perform loh...!!

posted by stockraider > Dec 28, 2018 12:07 PM | Report Abuse X

FOR DECADES...THIS 3iii IS UNDERPERFORMING AGST RAIDER EXCEPT THIS YEAR 2018 LOH.....!!

THIS MEANS EVERY DOG HAS ITS DAYS LOH....!!

TIME WILL ALLOW ANY DOG TO OUT PERFORM TOO LOH....SO DO NOT DESPAIR LOH...!!

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 12:30 |

Posted by stockraider > 2018-12-28 12:32 | Report Abuse

u think nestle current run up not momentum meh ??

Posted by 3iii > Dec 28, 2018 12:30 PM | Report Abuse

If you do have to play momentum, do it in a conservative way with moderate risk. Most of all don’t be fooled by a manager’s great returns over a period – he may just be playing momentum. Check out his returns when the trend reverts.

Be careful when playing momentum – following the trend may appear to be your friend, but can quickly turn into a foe you had never bargained for.

Posted by stockraider > 2018-12-28 12:33 | Report Abuse

Of course stock which are growing or turnaround will have good momentum loh...!!

So if u pick on them of course got good momentum mah...!!

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 12:34 | Report Abuse

I have crystallised my investing philosophy and method by writing these in a blog.

Even after a decade, there is much to learn.

Writing on your investing principles is a great way to maintain discipline in your investing.

My blog existed a few years earlier before the many local value investing books by our regional authors appear.

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 12:34 | Report Abuse

Of course, nothing is original. Just learning from the best masters.

Posted by stockraider > 2018-12-28 12:36 | Report Abuse

Your blog has not displayed any great stock picking ability every year loh....!!

Posted by stockraider > 2018-12-28 12:43 | Report Abuse

Raider advice 3iii to join the I3 stock picking contest 2019 to see how well he fare loh...!!

Raider not impress with his track record loh...!!
Pls prove raider wrong, if u have balls loh....!!

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2018-12-28 12:50 | Report Abuse

Raider,

I doubt your 10 year record is better than 3iii.

I think if we were to start a 5 year stock pick competition. 3iii would win or be close.

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 13:00 |

Posted by stockraider > 2018-12-28 13:18 |

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-12-28 13:46 | Report Abuse

No ending for debating who would win or lose in investing/Trading. You guys haven been watering the seed from Investlah to I3 more than 5 years. Both guys makes good money in Bursa but still unable to accept the differences. Wanna carry this seed to next life ke?

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 14:06 | Report Abuse

Raider might have given the impression that we are competing with each other.

The truth is NO.

Investing is a lonely journey. I am competing with myself! :-)
This should be obvious.

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 14:08 | Report Abuse

>>>Just as otb admits that he perceives volatilities of the market to be risk, on the other hand, I perceive volatilities to be my friend.<<<

Which strategy is safer?

rajachulan

1,740 posts

Posted by rajachulan > 2018-12-28 14:16 | Report Abuse

totally agreed...

it is ourself (mentality & discipline) and the market we are competing...

we are the only person responsible to our own capital...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
3iii > Dec 28, 2018 02:06 PM | Report Abuse

Raider might have given the impression that we are competing with each other.

The truth is NO.

Investing is a lonely journey. I am competing with myself! :-)
This should be obvious.

53,347 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-12-28 14:42 | Report Abuse

If 3iii wants to walk his own road let it be

But he poked his nose and gave negative comments and gave a value to Pm Corp at 14.4 sen

He cannot see that Pm Corp has NAV of over 40 sen & Net Cash alone is 18 sen

So he missed Pm Corp at 15 sen when Sifu Raider already posted by writeup

http://www.johorinvestment.com/pan-malaysia-corporation-4081-an-overlooked-extremely-undervalued-stock-in-klse/

Pm Corp later gave a Cash payout of 8 sen

With his tunnel vision 3iii can only see stalwarts which are blue chips which are now fully priced in. There is little for retailers to follow.
No wonder investlah people find no help and go wandering into casino stocks

Peter Lynch said there are 6 types of stocks

Here are the 6 types of stocks you should pay attention to, according to Peter Lynch.

1)Slow Growers. Slow growers are large-cap companies whose earnings are, if not stable, growing at a lower rate than that of the economy. ...
2)Stalwarts. ...
3)Fast Growers. ...
4)Cyclicals. ...
5)Turnarounds. ...
6)Asset Plays.

Peter Lynch magellan Fund at 39% even beat Warren Buffet at 25%. If 3iii thinks his 10% or more is good he should keep his mouth shut

Buying only 10 stocks?

Sifu Peter Lynch bought 2,000 over stocks through many years as a fund manager. Some cyclicals he bought & sold 3 or 4 times

3iii knows also "zero" about cyclicals, turnarounds & asset plays

His knowledge is very restricted & limited

Even Ben Graham talked about Cigar type value stocks which 3iii knows nothing at all

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 15:02 | Report Abuse

Calvin

Still smarting over my comments.

Few turnarounds succeed.

12,844 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-12-28 15:03 | Report Abuse

Just checked: PMCorp is at 14 sen per share.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-28 15:34 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-28 15:37 | Report Abuse

the easy part is learning the sweet words of FA and TA...the difficult part is about habits, character and practise...

Zhuge_Liang

2,372 posts

Posted by Zhuge_Liang > 2018-12-28 15:42 | Report Abuse

Posted by 3iii > Dec 28, 2018 02:08 PM | Report Abuse

>>>Just as otb admits that he perceives volatilities of the market to be risk, on the other hand, I perceive volatilities to be my friend.<<<

Making money is secondary, the most important is to protect capital.
Once you do not have capital, you will disappear from stock market.
A careful investor is always want to protect capital first.
It is better to slow down or stop when bear market appears.

Zhuge_Liang

2,372 posts

Posted by Zhuge_Liang > 2018-12-28 15:44 | Report Abuse

Those who still invest big in this bear market will disappear from stock market soon.
Talk big in bull market is ok, do not act in bear market.

53,347 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-12-28 15:51 | Report Abuse

So stupid

Pm Corp gave 8 send cash pay out

So minus 15 sen from 8 sen = 7 sen

At 14 sen Pm Corp is up 100%.

That is 20% for each of 5 years from 2013 to 2018

Do you know your maths?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-28 15:55 | Report Abuse

calvin the 5% guy spread over 50 stocks.....

I know my maths...my maths tell me u are an estate agent with bible in hand ..... and a set of false teeth in mouth....

Posted by KLCI King > 2018-12-28 15:58 | Report Abuse

Hi Calvintaneng, why so angry and call people stupid? You hardly did that in the past, wonder are you ok?

Posted by KLCI King > 2018-12-28 16:00 | Report Abuse

hope all are good with you, calvin

rajachulan

1,740 posts

Posted by rajachulan > 2018-12-28 16:03 | Report Abuse

i really think i3 is not a place for investors who are not buffet, peter and graham follower...

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-28 16:05 | Report Abuse

calvin the 5% guy spread over 50 stocks.....

why u even bother what your stocks do?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-12-28 16:08 | Report Abuse

buffet, peter and graham follower...the cult followers...we all know what eventually happen to cult followers......they all go commit suicide in the end.......

53,347 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-12-28 16:16 |