10 people like this.

69 comment(s). Last comment by qqq33333333 2020-04-06 17:44

Posted by Philip ( what you can learn from RJ MITTE ) > 2020-04-05 15:10 | Report Abuse

Nice book.

Here is better one. And it's free.

https://www.berkshirehathaway.com/letters/letters.html

More importantly, his letters are backed by portfolio results every year.

Here is another one. Also free.

https://www.oaktreecapital.com/insights/howard-marks-memos

Which carries more weight? Whose writings do you trust more? The ones with a portfolio? Or the ones without?

What's the difference between a Mary Buffett, Peter schiff and kcchongz and a real superinvestor?

Both are great speakers, writers and academics.

But results? It definitely comes from other sources than stockpicking. Portfolios? Nada.

It's easy to comment and claim when you are not needed to perform.

"Your way" of value investing?

Taking credit for the experience of super investors around the world is not something to write a book about.

>>>>>>>>>

Yes, my way of value investing may not be suitable for everyone, but it is a proven successful way from the academic research and the experience of numerous super investors in the world.

Posted by enigmatic ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ > 2020-04-05 15:59 | Report Abuse

Salient points:
-No one is certain how the covid-19 pandemic will finally play out. Have cash reserve which will last you for a long time.

-No need to get panic and run for the exit if you are in (1) above and if you have invested in good businesses.

-detach yourself from this short term “external” loss in this bear market and reduce stress.

-the stock market has gone through numerous crisis, it is always in the long-term uptrend.

-For those who has a lot of cash and thinly invested, it may be a good time to start nibbling; buy some good companies slowly. But don’t forget point no. 1 above.

Posted by enigmatic ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ > 2020-04-05 16:01 | Report Abuse

Salient points (continued):

-First one must have a clear mind the purpose of investing; is it: (a)To get rich quick, but subject to high risk (b) to build long-term wealth steadily, safely but surely

-The future is unpredictable, the pandemic can get worse (or better). Low stock price can go lower, much lower.

-Survival is the only road to riches.

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-05 18:01 | Report Abuse

It seem Philip never get it that A high IQ or big fat investment portfolio won’t make you stand out.

Below what Warren Buffett say to MBA student.
Warren Buffett to MBA students: This is what ‘sets apart a big winner from the rest of the pack’
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/Sslee_blog/2019-07-14-story-h1478315780-Warren_Buffett_to_MBA_students_This_is_what_sets_apart_a_big_winner_fro.jsp

Don’t be someone who turns people off
The big takeaway here is that if you want to be the person who is successful, who everyone wants to hire, you need to build habits of integrity.
There are a handful of ways to that:
• Fulfill your promises
• Be honest
• Be trustworthy
• Give credit where credit is due
• Be mindful and emotionally intuitive
• Manifest humility
• Be willing to admit you’re wrong
• Offer help when it’s needed
• Treat others with respect
• Be charitable
• Be patient

P/S: The greatest joy is hearing my ex-subordinate telling me they do well and address me as “Sir” when they met me.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2020-04-05 19:24 | Report Abuse

HARTA, TOPGLOV< KOSSAN AND SUPERMX......the intrinsic value of all these counter is still undervalue...

Posted by probability > 2020-04-05 19:32 | Report Abuse

In i3, i always appreciate anyone who can stick out their neck and voice their recommendation/opinions with justifications no matter how smart/silly it may sound like to myself or to another.

Investment seems to be a guessing game of the future using present & historical information against others who are doing the same.

Its about your competitive edge

No one can claim he has exclusive knowledge/skills against the others for certain and for permanently.

however, having said that,

somehow its apparent that nature/business/investor/human behaviour has a pattern that repeats or 'rhymes', which gives us optimism on the predictability of future

we can see this on how a good management continues to make good business decisions...and good profitable business continues to make more profit (Frontken, Penta)...and a good investor continues to make good investment decisions (e.g, Tan KW. Icon8888 etc)

all we can do is keep refining our self to detect this pattern accurately which has multitude of variables affecting it.....knowing nothing is set in stone

5,848 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2020-04-05 19:34 | Report Abuse

Well said, probability

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2020-04-05 22:02 | Report Abuse

probability,

you are right .

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2020-04-05 22:05 | Report Abuse

i believe we can't find another DK66 in i3 after the power plant has completed

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2020-04-05 22:16 | Report Abuse

The one who share is the greatest
If you are sincere, then nothing can stop you

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-05 23:04 | Report Abuse

why can't KcChong write whatever he wants to write without turning it into money making? because it needed the money.... lol

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-05 23:05 | Report Abuse

weird business even if it is a billion $ business

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-05 23:35 | Report Abuse

weird is one thing but books specifically targeted at rookies/newbies cause more rookies/ newbies to lose money.

the promised land is full of landmines and death traps and even the most innocent guide can lead to failures.

things like value investing, intrinsic values, don't gamble, ....u think rookies/ newbies don't have to die meh when it is time to die.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-05 23:38 | Report Abuse

controversial ideas, innovative ideas, contrarian investing, at least when people die, they know why they die. .....and more careful before jumping in with both feet.

2,954 posts

Posted by gohkimhock > 2020-04-06 00:46 | Report Abuse

@Aseng you got fooled by this Dennis Koh with his dubious imaginary profit calculations.

Posted by Philip ( what you can learn from RJ MITTE ) > 2020-04-06 07:40 | Report Abuse

It seems you will never understand the purpose of IEC, certification board and accreditations.

If someone went to your plantation and said everything sslee is doing in his plantation is wrong, too much fertilizer being used too little fertilizer being applied, things should be done this way and that way.

Will sslee just follow that guru and change his entire operational methods based on one lecture? I hope he doesn't.

Because if he finds out that his own methods give far superior results, while the guru doesn't even have any plantation experience at all, and that the guru is just using internet available information from successful billionaires to sell his classes?

Then it will be a shame, when sslee plantations go bankrupt.

>>>>>>>>>>

Sslee Dear all,
It seem Philip never get it that A high IQ or big fat investment portfolio won’t make you stand out.

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-06 07:58 | Report Abuse

Haha Philip,
I do not have plantation but the company I work for hired many PHD and degree holders who also do not have plantation to manage the plantation for the company.

PS: kcchong book is not for you but for many other peoples to at least know how to read financial report and know the many pitfalls on tips or many pump and dump articles in i3.

Posted by Philip ( what you can learn from RJ MITTE ) > 2020-04-06 09:12 | Report Abuse

So as a plantation manager I should listen to those PhD and degree holders Instead of those with experience and consistent results in my plantation like sslee? Ok then. No use talking to you when you are defending the indefensible.

FYI I can send you a list of investment gurus and stock subscription sellers that you can buy stock tips from, since you don't consider portfolio results important in trusting a stock guru.

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-06 09:27 | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,

The degree holders are from agriculture and plantation management related graduated and PHD are from top research institute currently doing our own seeding program (Cross bleeding from original Africa palm) and soil reconditioning to get a better yield. Our oil yield is about 6+ MT/hectare/year and the best plantation achieved 8.5MT/hectare/year

PS: By the way I am not a plantation manager but GM for ole-chemical division (Fatty acid and glycerin)

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 09:32 | Report Abuse

stock market is not plantation.

stock market is dealing with attitude....plantation is dealing with science.

Posted by Philip ( what you can learn from RJ MITTE ) > 2020-04-06 09:32 | Report Abuse

Same point. So if someone without any degree, PhD or real world experience and no certificate come in tells you that your filtering process is wrong, production can be increased by 25% by doing things his way, you will just nod your head and apply without understanding his background?

Look good luck to you.

You are arguing for the sake of arguing.

I stop now and let you think deeply if your past 3 years results on INSAS and xinquan and hengyuan " value investing" is based on nice articles written by sifu without results, and if you ever wondered if their results is the same as yours.

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-06 09:41 | Report Abuse

Haha qqq3,
The book is about how to avoid qqq3 pitfalls on Sendai and Jaks when you promote non-stop day and night with super investor Sailang and margin finance also your tips on Karim factor ( Kpower and Scib) when you are promotimg it at new high.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 09:45 | Report Abuse

when all the accountants in the world are struggling with stock market.......

people are selling FA skills to rookies as a way to the promised land..........

a lot of contradictions.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 09:47 | Report Abuse

ss..........

my tips no good meh?

some more free one...........

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-06 10:21 | Report Abuse

Haha qqq3,
On your free stock tips, Warren Buffett has this to say:
“Honesty is a very expensive gift, Don't expect it from cheap people.” ― Warren Buffett

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2020-04-06 10:32 | Report Abuse

@Sslee 05/04/2020 6:01 PM
---> Don’t be someone who turns people off
The big takeaway here is that if you want to be the person who is successful, who everyone wants to hire, you need to build habits of integrity.<---
+++

Not limited to just being hired (although that's something critical too) but in all other aspects of life too. Without being of "the right character", which definitely includes integrity, one will face various friction and negative events in his life. Relationships - personal and professional - are built, developed and sustained over this.

And the great thing is, it's something all of us can always improve upon. This is through all the seemingly `small and routine' situations and events each day. Including at this website. But this requires some courage for we need to honestly look at ourselves first, and acknowledge our unattractive characteristics. Only then can we start doing something about these.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 10:41 | Report Abuse

Posted by Sslee > Apr 6, 2020 10:21 AM | Report Abuse

Haha qqq3,
On your free stock tips, Warren Buffett has this to say:
“Honesty is a very expensive gift, Don't expect it from cheap people.” ― Warren Buffett
=====

honesty....I very honest one..........

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 11:08 | Report Abuse

ss

honesty....I very honest one..........and I got no crystal ball to see into the future of stock prices.............

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-06 11:12 | Report Abuse

Haha qqq3,
Najib also say honestly he do not know why people want to bank in money into his bank account but anyhow he spend it anyway.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 11:14 | Report Abuse

najib got power at that time.........I where got power?

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 11:15 | Report Abuse

stock market.......u think good meh introduce newbies/ rookies into stock market when they are not ready?

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-06 11:17 | Report Abuse

Haha qqq3,
Please check RM 800 already bank into your account.Gift from PN.

6,069 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-04-06 12:19 | Report Abuse

SINGAPORE: Record low interest rates are tempting some retail investors in Singapore to load up on debt to buy shares, just as the coronavirus outbreak creates the most volatile markets since the global financial crisis.

Individuals pumped around S$2bil into equities in March, 50% more than the previous month, Singapore Exchange Ltd data showed.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kianweiaritcles/2020-04-06-story-h1485818118-Singapore_retail_investors_use_cheap_cash_to_load_up_on_stocks.jsp

It looks like Singaporean newbies got infected by FOMO disease now !

FOMO vs covid-19 ... who is the winner ?

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 12:23 | Report Abuse

as far as I can see, Malaysia is the most irresponsible................

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 12:41 | Report Abuse

its FOMO vs the reality of recession.............

FOMO is driven by Dow and oil futures.............

this is not a buy and hold market......

this is a traders market................

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 12:50 | Report Abuse

FOMO can last longer than expected........

I mean....corona is being better understood ...........200,000 deaths in US is a gross exaggeration.........

and oil market, there is hope of supply cuts.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 12:51 | Report Abuse

nothing about price movements is about value investing............every thing is about FOMO.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-06 12:56 | Report Abuse

money for every citizen...........HK, Sinapore, USA & Malaysia......

but HK and Sinagpore has huge reserves........

other countries focus on more targeted programs..........

as far as I can see, Malaysia is the most irresponsible................

6,069 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-04-06 13:05 | Report Abuse

I think our Pak Din is doing a good job on Covid-19 n even prayed for us for all Malaysian well being.

He made sure no one is left behind like the Singaporean army actors !

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2020-04-06 13:13 | Report Abuse

DK66 is an honest man
if his calculation is right , then I am lucky
if his calculation is not right , then I am unlucky
whatever it is he is still a good man
and a great man who is willing to with us the best he knows

KCChong and OTB were once a DK66 but later turned into a paid subscription sifu. I believe DK66 will forever remain the greatest sifu in i3

Posted by gohkimhock > Apr 6, 2020 12:46 AM | Report Abuse

@Aseng you got fooled by this Dennis Koh with his dubious imaginary profit calculations.

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2020-04-06 13:15 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 is also another good sifu in i3

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2020-04-06 13:18 | Report Abuse

KYY also not bad
he helps you to make money
but
never help you how to protect you profit

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2020-04-06 13:21 | Report Abuse

Phillip seem very knowledgeable
but I still have not benefited from his writing
i hope he can be a next great sifu in i3

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-06 13:31 | Report Abuse

Dear Aseng,
How about qqq3?

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2020-04-06 13:32 | Report Abuse

who is my sifu now ?

he is Hng33

long term hold 70% ,short term hit and run 30% for a good buy stock like Jaks and ekovest, myeg

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2020-04-06 13:34 | Report Abuse

he is my sifu for cycling in the parks

Posted by Sslee > Apr 6, 2020 1:31 PM | Report Abuse

Dear Aseng,
How about qqq3?

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2020-04-06 13:38 | Report Abuse

Sslee is my plantation sifu

he told me 6+ MT FFB/hec/year is not a bad yield, do not need to ask for more

leave the contractors do his work

we happy happy chitchat here

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-06 13:38 | Report Abuse

Agree with Aseng for giving a very honest answer.

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-06 13:40 | Report Abuse

Aseng 6+ mt is oil yield not FFB. Your contractors must be cheating on you

Aseng

8,633 posts

Posted by Aseng > 2020-04-06 13:57 | Report Abuse

sifu SSlee,

what is the average yield for FFB /hec/year for a smallholder and a well managed big estate ?

thank you