11 people like this.

59 comment(s). Last comment by trumpgreatagain 2020-06-20 17:38

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-18 06:56 | Report Abuse

Ok. Do you know Ian personally? Maybe you can email me your contact and I can arrange for us to meet up together after MCO for some drinks? I still have some unopened hibiki. He is a very funny guy, but very warm and nice.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-18 06:58 | Report Abuse

What do you mean?

>>>>>>>>>
qqq33333333 The FED can't even leave Index stocks alone.........and everyone is a Bufalo man....they still say there is a free market.
17/05/2020 11:33 PM

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-05-18 07:26 | Report Abuse

Good money Philip,
I think qqq3 mean the worst is yet to come. Market is cornered by government printing money to give away.
Read this: https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/tradeview/2020-05-16-story-h1507063036-_Tradeview_2020_Why_is_KLCI_Bursa_Stock_Exchange_Trading_At_Record_High.jsp

Plantermen

2,114 posts

Posted by Plantermen > 2020-05-18 07:30 | Report Abuse

Valuable lesson

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-18 09:02 | Report Abuse

Good money to you too.

Me and Ian both have the same concept, be aware of macro economics in industry but don't let it influence your selection of single companies.

Yes there is a lot of retail money in the market, but the fact is there will always be retail money in the market.

In the end it is always more important to select the best companies and choose the most efficient ones to invest in the future.

If you go search for diamond you will find trash. If you search in trash you can also find diamonds.

Find the excellent companies run by legendary managers, that is the best way forward.

If you can hire yourself a aragorn, legolas, gandalf, gimli etc, even if the horizon is dark, the captain of industry will lead you forward.

Famous managers in bursa,

Abdul Karim,
Dr cheah
Carl bek nielsen
Kuan Kam hon
Log boon siew
Teh teow ping
Koon poh keong
Jeffrey tan
Lim goh tong
Robert Kuok
Ananda krishnan

If you could get these people to work for you, get individuals with similar quality of character you could definitely get somewhere.

>>>>>>>>

Sslee Good money Philip,
I think qqq3 mean the worst is yet to come. Market is cornered by government printing money to give away.
Read this: https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/tradeview/2020-05-16-story-h15070630...
18/05/2020 7:26 AM

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 10:06 | Report Abuse

hot day for Philips.......

Top Glove down....OG up.....

Serba, Yinson, Pchem up

Dayang, Velesto, Carimin and Sapura up....

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 10:10 | Report Abuse

Philip ( buy what you understand) > May 18, 2020 6:58 AM | Report Abuse

What do you mean?

>>>>>>>>>
qqq33333333 The FED can't even leave Index stocks alone.........and everyone is a Bufalo man....they still say there is a free market.
==========

just thinking aloud....is there such thing as a free market?

The Powell/ Trump put option.........

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 10:32 | Report Abuse

that Ian, I don't know him at all....

u know him??

he just memorized Bufalo bible or not, only he knows.

people in public just like to use Bufalo bible........

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 10:33 | Report Abuse

public and private may be different........

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-05-18 10:45 | Report Abuse

Haha qqq3,
You are wrong about Warren Buffett. He is busy selling stocks and grown its cash pile to $137 billion rather than make any “elephant-sized” acquisitions.
https://www.forbes.com/sites/sergeiklebnikov/2020/05/16/buffett-sells-stocks-goldman-sachs-no-elephant-sized-acquisition/#24676a26bbf9

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 10:58 | Report Abuse

When China defended Hang Seng in 1997, the media takes out its knife...now, their own FED buys Index stocks, they all encourage......

Greenspan put option is favorable FED policies.

Powell put option is actually buying of corporate bonds and now, even Index shares........

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 11:00 | Report Abuse

don't trust the Bufalo.......

The FED is buying up every thing that otherwise the Bufalo will be called upon......The Bufalo now very furious........

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 11:02 | Report Abuse

and everyone holding shares tells people they are genius...........well....if the FED is on your side, you automatically become a genius.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-18 12:49 | Report Abuse

hmm you dont know him? he was the CIMB senior VP for investment banking.
hiap teck independent director before, i think also for success and red sena.

But now definitely the independent chairman for KAB currently.

I thought you in the investment banking circle? he used to service KYY woh... you not in his account?

>>>>>>>>

qqq33333333 that Ian, I don't know him at all....

u know him??

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-05-18 12:55 | Report Abuse

Buffalo got trapped waiting for cheap shares
He sold first means shorted his own shares

If US Govt buy up the shares to higher than his selling price.

Buffalo will need to wait longer or maybe never in the next few years

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-18 13:19 | Report Abuse

I think one lesson we need to get out of our mind is that we should get our own twist on local investment in bursa and not parrot warren buffett directly. The market is totally different, the options are different, the investing mindset is also different.

Unlike in US markets where companies are far more regulated in their financial reporting and far less likely to cheat investors directly (although some exceptions are spectacular), asian countries are far more lax and their laws are more less controlled and punished.

We have to exercise far more care in selecting our ivestments than usual, and as such pay a far higher premium than other bursaries. However, paying more for a company you understand beats dropping money in businesses in USA that you have no clue about and cannot understand efficiently.

We should find our own heroes and leaders, and Ian yoong is a very good example.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 13:43 | Report Abuse

Ian Young is a corporate man...Corporate man memorising Bufalo bible is not surprising........

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 13:48 | Report Abuse

i3lurker > May 18, 2020 12:55 PM | Report Abuse

Buffalo got trapped waiting for cheap shares
=======

when FED buys up corporate bonds and even Index shares., no more cheap sales .....

But they still dare to say straight in your face, theirs is a free market.....

FED function used to be inflation and US$......now, extend to protecting shareholders..........if u are poor no shares, too bad....u are nobody.....

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 13:50 | Report Abuse

wherever FED go...........we follow.......

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-05-18 13:50 | Report Abuse

I dun believe in BN propaganda

BN never stopped manufacturing heroes
manufacture Captains of Industry
manufacture Mount Everest Climbers
Manufacture Astronauts

all highly amusing except that it costs the Malaysian taxpayers few hundred billions already and bill is still climbing

from young age
I believed Mariah Carey that the hero lies inside you.

My interactions with normal people also shows that they dun hero worship people.
Pork sellers, wantan mee sellers, they all find it very amusing.
As far as these ground people are concerned, the hero lies inside them.

Buffalo, Ian Yoong whoever, is just another human being.

Not heroes as far as I am concerned

6,072 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-05-18 13:51 | Report Abuse

Better to get trappppp than to escape during the current BULL run !

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 13:52 | Report Abuse

ahbah > May 18, 2020 1:51 PM | Report Abuse

Better to get trappppp than to escape during the current BULL run !
=========

chase OG?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-18 13:56 | Report Abuse

i dont understand this question.

>>>>>>>>

ahbah Better to get trappppp than to escape during the current BULL run !
18/05/2020 1:51 PM

6,072 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-05-18 13:58 | Report Abuse

Just imagine U got trappppp until now in glove counters some weeks back !

6,072 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-05-18 14:00 | Report Abuse

The current new born bull is just slightly over 2 mth old.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 14:09 | Report Abuse

Do as I say, don't do as I do.

Does it apply to Ian Young ? I got no idea
but it does apply to the FED too.

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-05-18 14:10 |

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 14:11 | Report Abuse

Posted by ahbah > May 18, 2020 1:58 PM | Report Abuse

Just imagine U got trappppp until now in glove counters some weeks back !
==========

I know...I was one of those trapped in Supermax for months and months.....

fortunes change fast.......

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-05-18 14:27 | Report Abuse

Haha qqq3,
Remember what you wrote:
the only smart ones are those who sold all several weeks ago...never look back,....do not get tempted.........
I am not among those............
In theory that is what I should have done, told my self that before the mess, even write about it. Told friends I am prepared for all eventualities...........
But 1 or 2 weeks of negligence, all the good work done in last 2 years all gone.
19/03/2020 12:04 PM

Will history repeat itself?

21,568 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2020-05-18 14:32 | Report Abuse

HNW is always xxx to be slaughtered by Private banks. Always apply 10-20bps in return. hehe. of course, you cant compare 250k vs Institutions of 250mil lah.

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-05-18 14:40 | Report Abuse

People are jumpy

for the past few days,
I noticed that whenever I throw sell or buy even small amount of a hundred lots,
there are always undecided people who follow me to sell or buy immediately within few seconds

I find this tragic.

There is a great deal of FEAR in the market.

During normal times pre covid-19, whenever I throw or buy 100 lots nobody gives a damn.
coz nowadays pork seller few days earnings already more than 100 lots of shares.

Fear rules the market.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 15:46 | Report Abuse

The last days record volume in bursa.........

real economy people lost their jobs

people come here to gamble.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 15:49 | Report Abuse

hardly any thing can be called investments...

its Casino Royale.......

big or small?

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 15:54 | Report Abuse

sslee

If u apply proactive, consistent, confidence
cannot make money from gloves...
u can go hide your self already..........

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 15:57 | Report Abuse

what can u say about the turn around in OG sentiments?

Its all an illusion.....

but illusion more more important than facts and figures in moving prices..........

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/qqq33333333/2020-05-16-story-h1507063932-the_illusions_of_incomplete_information.jsp

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-18 15:59 | Report Abuse

Traders rarely see businesses as investments. Most of the time they see it as pieces of paper to be bought and sold.

But they rarely ride their winners and sell their losers.

>>>>>>>>>>

qqq33333333 hardly any thing can be called investments...

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 16:38 | Report Abuse

for traders............money made from OG illusion is as real as money made from gloves facts and figures.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 16:41 | Report Abuse

Philip ( buy what you understand) > May 18, 2020 3:59 PM | Report Abuse

=======

sold my supermax at $ 3.80+......100% gain , rare treble digit gain....

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 16:42 | Report Abuse

now IWcity............next construction shares.........Houdini.......

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-18 16:56 | Report Abuse

I don't get it. If you have the time to show off on your results that you gain 100%, how come you don't have the time to maintain a proper trackable portfolio?

If I told you I bought topglove and multiple splits until I bought each share at rm1 with dividends each year and I sold everything last will at rm10, would it matter?

The process is far more important than the results.

If you show off your results without tracking your progress and process, it means absolutely nothing, you know.

You learn nothing, I learn nothing, and we wasted time on something that cannot be replicated consistently.

>>>>>>>>>

qqq33333333 Philip ( buy what you understand) > May 18, 2020 3:59 PM | Report Abuse

=======

sold my supermax at $ 3.80+......100% gain , rare treble digit gain....
18/05/2020 4:41 PM

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 16:58 | Report Abuse

Philip ( buy what you understand) > May 18, 2020 4:56 PM | Report Abuse

I don't get it. If you have the time to show off on your results that you gain 100%, how come you don't have the time to maintain a proper trackable portfolio?

=========

I told already....Its a rare treble digit gain...U think everyday so good fortune meh?

anyway, I now got Serba and G Kent....two of yours.

Construction/ HSR play.....illusion also can lah.......

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 17:41 | Report Abuse

market so bullish, play play lah..

bullish don't play, bearish only play?

6,072 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-05-18 17:43 | Report Abuse

Mkt so very bullish, U close eye, throw a stone, also can hit a gold mine now !

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 17:44 | Report Abuse

hahaha...not really...buy Jaks or technology die already........

6,072 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-05-18 17:46 | Report Abuse

qqq, congratulations for your striking of the largest gold mine in the mkt in Supermax !

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-05-18 17:50 | Report Abuse

I write to say I sold too early.normal for me...........

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-18 20:44 | Report Abuse

I am always amazed why brilliant investors with long IB history of recommending stocks that made millions for their clients are totally understand the radar while individuals like kcchongnz can go around selling stock pick services and e-books.

Fame is not a proxy for performance.

If only there was a way to track their performance and not their claims.

>>>>>>>>>>

Many governments require large investors to periodically report their holdings. These filings are public. One can compare reports between periods to see which stocks talented professionals bought.

In America, money managers with at least $100 million in assets under management are required to file a quarterly report that lists—with some exceptions—their U.S. stock holdings. Called a 13F, the report is due 45 days after the close of a quarter. They’re posted at www.sec.gov. Check midway through February, May, August, and November.

Mining 13Fs has many limitations. Understanding them helps to make the tactic work.

The first limitation is that one has to know which professionals are worth following. Outperforming mutual fund managers are easy to spot, since their track records are public and clear. But private fund managers may share their records only with clients. And professionals that run portfolios inside larger companies—even listed ones—may never detail their histories.

One can’t really know if a professional is worth following before seeing a track record. Fame is not a proxy for performance. I am routinely struck by the high profile of some perennial laggards, and the anonymity of some total stars.

matrix6050

1,265 posts

Posted by matrix6050 > 2020-06-19 02:15 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing JC, i'm watching it again and again

Posted by trumpgreatagain > 2020-06-20 17:38 | Report Abuse

is it this stock worth invest?

https://youtu.be/lIsc9pmAsnU