301 comment(s). Last comment by xskyriver 2022-06-25 18:19

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-10 15:34 | Report Abuse

Second Sino-Japanese War, (1937–45), conflict that broke out when China began a full-scale resistance to the expansion of Japanese influence in its territory (which had begun in 1931). The war, which remained undeclared until December 9, 1941, may be divided into three phases: a period of rapid Japanese advance until the end of 1938, a period of virtual stalemate until 1944, and the final period when Allied counterattacks, principally in the Pacific and on Japan’s home islands, brought about Japan’s surrender.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-10 15:42 | Report Abuse

Background
Proceedings before the ICJ
The ICJ's Judgment.
Outcome of the Case

On 23 May 2008, the ICJ issued its judgment, in which it decided that sovereignty over Pedra Branca belongs to Singapore, sovereignty over Middle Rocks belongs to Malaysia, and sovereignty over South Ledge belongs to the State in the territorial waters of which it is located.

In the case of Pedra Branca, the ICJ held that while the Sultanate of Johor had original title to Pedra Branca, sovereignty over the island had passed to Singapore by 1980 (when the dispute crystallised). This was demonstrated by the concrete acts of sovereignty conducted over the island by Singapore and its predecessors, taken together with the failure of Malaysia and its predecessors to respond to these acts.

Posted by Tobby > 2022-06-10 15:45 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3333 > Jun 10, 2022 3:43 PM | Report Abuse

I think the older generation should teach the younger generation about the true China. ...and the true face of America

Answer : You mean China before CCP!

Posted by AlsvinChangan > 2022-06-10 15:46 | Report Abuse

BREAKING DISCOVERY

CHINA was right to ignore Tribunal

UNCLOS has no right to rule on sovereignty

CHINA 999 USA -100

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-10 15:58 | Report Abuse

@sslee

Aya, so many basic things you got wrong

1. Read International Court of Justic (ICJ) website, it is just a court that settles disputes between states in accordance with international law. UNCLOS is one of the many international laws.

ICJ is not a law, they're the court; When they settle maritime international dispute, they would read UNCLOS and make judgement based on that.

For example, The ICJ ruling that stated that the UK breached international law by claiming the Chagos Island, WAS BASED ON UNCLOS.

2. Also, UNCLOS stated that when member nations have disputes, they should settle through four channels. One of them being through the ICJ as was used in the case against UK. And another is through an Arbitral Tribunal like the one Philippine brought against China. As a member signatory of UNCLOS, China must respect this. Yet they continue to demonish the 2016 Arbitral Tribunal, despite having agreed to the terms. They have no shame at all.

3. Based on UNCLOS, the UK is deemed to not have control over Chagos islands. Similarly, based on UNCLOS, China's 9-dash-line claim has no legal basis. Don't cherry pick. Just follow what UNCLOS said, UK needs to get out of Chagos; and China needs to respect Malaysia's right over resources in Malaysian EEZ, and stop sending ships to harass Malaysia oil and gas workers.

4. Also, what about China drawing the 9-dash-line claim makes a large portion of the SCS theirs? Anyone can draw line wat. As a signatory of UNCLOS, they should just follow international law on what's their and what's not. Instead, China got greedy and decided to claim waters as fas as off the coast of Sarawak. Madness!

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-10 16:01 | Report Abuse

@qqq3333

"since 1949, China has done nothing wrong to be ashamed of"

Invaded Vietnam, Korean war, killed millions of Chinese during the great leap forwards and the cultural revolution; heck, they even helped the US attack India.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-10 16:10 | Report Abuse

@Tobby

"However, without CCP, will China be better!"

No idea, but China was a dominant country in the past, being the largest economy in the world at least twice in history if I'm not wrong. So to say that the CCP is vital China's success, I think would be discounting the ability of the Chinese in building a great country without the use of oppression.

I believe Taiwan and Hong Kong is a testatement to what the Chinese can do when they're given more civil liberties. In the end, government that interferes too much in not good. Besides, the only reason China has managed to grow this much is because Deng Xioaping gave Chinese more freedom.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-10 16:11 | Report Abuse

qqq3333

Mao, the man who cause untold suffering to Chinese is a hero? wow.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-10 16:19 | Report Abuse

Qqq3333

I ask you again? You say US should stop giving Ukraine weapons, and instead pressure Kyiv to surrender to Russia.

By that logic, would you then say that the US should have not helped supply weapons to China during WW2, but instead pressure the chinese to surrender and make concession with the Japanese?

Have shame a bit, don't double standard.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-10 16:25 | Report Abuse

LOL.
If based on UNCLOS then UK should return Falkland to Argentina.

And Malaysia can claim the whole island of Singapore belong to Malaysia.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-11 20:49 | Report Abuse

@sslee

"If based on UNCLOS then UK should return Falkland to Argentina"

Wah, you also no shame your double standard. When international courts said that: based on UNCLOS, UK has no right over the Chagos Island, you approve. But when international courts also said that: based on UNCLOS, China's 9-dash-line has no legal basis, you act like you know better than the judges about UNCLOS. You have no shame at all.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-11 20:53 | Report Abuse

Qqq3333

Based on your logic, then the chinese should have talked to the Japanese for peace instead of continuing to fight in WW2.

You and sslee no shame to show such open double standard is it?

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-11 20:55 | Report Abuse

@sslee

Are you even Malaysia to support China's claim over Malaysia's EEZ. Go live in China and die for Xin Jinping lah, traitor!!

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-11 21:21 | Report Abuse

LOL,
The questions put forward to ICJ on who have sovereign right of Chagos Archipelago

(a) Was the process of decolonization of Mauritius lawfully completed when Mauritius was granted independence in 1968, following the separation of the Chagos Archipelago from Mauritius and having regard to international law, including obligations reflected in General Assembly resolutions 1514 (XV) of 14 December 1960, 2066 (XX) of 16 December 1965, 2232 (XXI) of 20 December 1966 and 2357 (XXII) of 19 December 1967?;

(b) What are the consequences under international law, including obligations reflected in the above-mentioned resolutions, arising from the continued administration by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland of the Chagos Archipelago, including with respect to the inability of Mauritius to implement a programme for the resettlement on the Chagos Archipelago of its nationals, in particular those of Chagossian origin?”

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-11 21:35 | Report Abuse

The ICJ verdict.

In addressing the second question, having established that the process of decolonization of Mauritius was not lawfully completed in 1968, the Court examined the consequences, under international law, arising from the United Kingdom’s continued administration of the Chagos Archipelago. In particular, it was of the opinion that the United Kingdom’s continued administration of the Chagos Archipelago “constitutes a wrongful act entailing the international responsibility of that State”, that the United Kingdom “has an obligation to bring to an end its administration of the Chagos Archipelago as rapidly as possible, and that all Member States must co-operate with the United Nations to complete the decolonization of Mauritius”. Since respect for the right to self-determination is an obligation erga omnes, all States have a legal interest in protecting that right, the Court found. It considered that, while it is for the General Assembly to pronounce on the modalities required to ensure the completion of the decolonization of Mauritius, all Member States must co‑operate with the United Nations to put those modalities into effect. As regards the resettlement on the Chagos Archipelago of Mauritian nationals, including those of Chagossian origin, the Court was of the view that this is an issue relating to the protection of the human rights of those concerned, which should be addressed by the General Assembly during the completion of the decolonization of Mauritius.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-11 21:37 | Report Abuse

So is ICJ verdict based on UNCLOS, UK has no right over the Chagos Island?

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-11 21:38 | Report Abuse

In examining the first question, the Court turned to the nature, content and scope of the right to self-determination applicable to the process of decolonization of Mauritius. It began by recalling that, having made respect for the principle of equal rights and self-determination of peoples one of the purposes of the United Nations, the Charter included provisions that would enable non-self-governing territories ultimately to govern themselves. Moreover, the Court noted that “the adoption of resolution 1514 (XV) represents a defining moment in the consolidation of State practice on decolonization” and that “[b]oth State practice and opinio juris at the relevant time confirm the customary law character of the right to territorial integrity of a non-self-governing territory as a corollary of the right to self-determination”. The Court considered that the peoples of non-self-governing territories are entitled to exercise their right to self-determination in relation to their territory as a whole, the integrity of which must be respected by the administering Power. After having examined the functions of the General Assembly in matters of decolonization, the Court also considered, in its analysis of the international law applicable to the process of decolonization of Mauritius, the obligations reflected in General Assembly resolutions mentioned in the first question before the Court. In the Court’s view, “by inviting the United Kingdom to comply with its international obligations in conducting the process of decolonization of Mauritius, the General Assembly acted within the framework of the Charter and within the scope of the functions assigned to it to oversee the application of the right to self-determination”. After recalling the circumstances in which the colony of Mauritius agreed in principle to the detachment of the Chagos Archipelago, the Court considered that this detachment was not based on the free and genuine expression of the will of the people concerned. It took the view that the obligations arising under international law and reflected in the resolutions adopted by the General Assembly during the process of decolonization of Mauritius required the United Kingdom, as the administering Power, to respect the territorial integrity of that country, including the Chagos Archipelago. The Court concluded that, “as a result of the Chagos Archipelago’s unlawful detachment and its incorporation into a new colony, known as the [British Indian Ocean Territory] BIOT, the process of decolonization of Mauritius was not lawfully completed when Mauritius acceded to independence in 1968”.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-12 01:31 | Report Abuse

@sslee

LMAO, you talk a lot but don't even read what your posted is it?

"....the Court examined the consequences, under international law, arising from the United Kingdom’s continued administration of the Chagos Archipelago.."

You know what international law it was referring to? UNCLOS lah what again - it made reference to an earlier tribunal between UK and Mauritius - which found that the UK was in breach of Mauritius rights under UNCLOS over Chagos - stating that the tribunal ruling will not be questioned and is considered settled.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

@sslee

You also keep talking about Hawaii lah, Falkland lah? What you talking about? UNCLOS doesn't address who owns Falkland, Hawaii, etc. It addresses who owns the rights over the resouces in waters (e.g. oil, fishing, small islands, etc) from a country's territorial coastal shore line. It's in the name lah sslee: United Nations Convention on the LAW OF THE SEA lmao.

And base on UNCLOS, a country has exclusive rights over resources within 370 km from its shore. When China signed UNCLOS, it should respect this. Instead, it claims almost all of South China Sea. China is trying to claim an entire ocean, from Shenzen all the way to Sarawak, more than 2000+ km. Greeeeeeeeedyyy!!

Cupcakes69

611 posts

@qqq3333

How China is breaking EEZ rules? Easy, they're claiming the resoures in Malaysia's EEZ as their own, when under UNCLOS, it's not. Got oil some 200 km off Bintulu, Sarawak. China says it's their, when its more than 2000km from China. They even sent ships to harass workers doing surverying work there. Greeeeedyyy!!

Cupcakes69

611 posts

@qqq3333

You say China will act based on mutual respect? They water jet filipino fisherman, their coastguard threatened to ram over fisherman boats, they sent jets flying near our airspace just to poke us, they harass malaysian O&G workers in our own EEZ. According to the outgoing Philippine's president, in a meeting with Xi, Xi threatened Philippine with war over resources in South China Sea.

You call that respect?? This lah the effect of the cultural revolution. The CCP destroyed traditional chinese culture on how to be respectful, until some chinese like you think bullying others = respect.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-12 01:34 | Report Abuse

@qqq3333 @sslee

Another effect of the Cultural revolution, some chinese like you both no shame being openly double standard for all to see.

You say US should stop giving Ukraine weapons, and instead pressure Kyiv to surrender to Russia.

By that logic, would you then say that the US should have not helped supply weapons to China during WW2, but instead pressure the chinese to surrender and make concession with the Japanese?

Have shame a bit, don't double standard.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-12 08:17 | Report Abuse

Pity someone even cannot understand english so I rest my case.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-12 08:19 | Report Abuse

And pity someone keep saying WWII but not even know when Japan China war started?

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-12 08:47 | Report Abuse

Japan, China, the United States and the Road to Pearl Harbor, 1937-41
Between 1937 and 1941, escalating conflict between China and Japan influenced U.S. relations with both nations, and ultimately contributed to pushing the United States toward full-scale war with Japan and Germany.

At the outset, U.S. officials viewed developments in China with ambivalence. On the one hand, they opposed Japanese incursions into northeast China and the rise of Japanese militarism in the area, in part because of their sense of a longstanding friendship with China. On the other hand, most U.S. officials believed that it had no vital interests in China worth going to war over with Japan. Moreover, the domestic conflict between Chinese Nationalists and Communists left U.S. policymakers uncertain of success in aiding such an internally divided nation. As a result, few U.S. officials recommended taking a strong stance prior to 1937, and so the United States did little to help China for fear of provoking Japan.

U.S. likelihood of providing aid to China increased after July 7, 1937, when Chinese and Japanese forces clashed on the Marco Polo Bridge near Beijing, throwing the two nations into a full-scale war. As the United States watched Japanese forces sweep down the coast and then into the capital of Nanjing, popular opinion swung firmly in favor of the Chinese. Tensions with Japan rose when the Japanese Army bombed the U.S.S. Panay as it evacuated American citizens from Nanjing, killing three. The U.S. Government, however, continued to avoid conflict and accepted an apology and indemnity from the Japanese. An uneasy truce held between the two nations into 1940.

In 1940 and 1941, President Franklin D. Roosevelt formalized U.S. aid to China. The U.S. Government extended credits to the Chinese Government for the purchase of war supplies, as it slowly began to tighten restrictions on Japan. The United States was the main supplier of the oil, steel, iron, and other commodities needed by the Japanese military as it became bogged down by Chinese resistance but, in January, 1940, Japan abrogated the existing treaty of commerce with the United States. Although this did not lead to an immediate embargo, it meant that the Roosevelt Administration could now restrict the flow of military supplies into Japan and use this as leverage to force Japan to halt its aggression in China. After January 1940, the United States combined a strategy of increasing aid to China through larger credits and the Lend-Lease program with a gradual move towards an embargo on the trade of all militarily useful items with Japan.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-12 08:50 | Report Abuse

The Japanese Government made several decisions during these two years that exacerbated the situation. Unable or unwilling to control the military, Japan's political leaders sought greater security by establishing the "Greater East Asia Co-Prosperity Sphere" in August, 1940. In so doing they announced Japan's intention to drive the Western imperialist nations from Asia. However, this Japanese-led project aimed to enhance Japan's economic and material wealth so that it would not be dependent upon supplies from the West, and not to "liberate" the long-subject peoples of Asia. In fact, Japan would have to launch a campaign of military conquest and rule, and did not intend to pull out of China.

At the same time, several pacts with Western nations only made Japan appear more of a threat to the United States. First, Japan signed the Tripartite Pact with Germany and Italy on September 27, 1940 and thereby linked the conflicts in Europe and Asia. This made China a potential ally in the global fight against fascism. Then in mid-1941, Japan signed a Neutrality Pact with the Soviet Union, making it clear that Japan's military would be moving into Southeast Asia, where the United States had greater interests. A third agreement with Vichy France enabled Japanese forces to move into Indochina and begin their Southern Advance. The United States responded to this growing threat by temporarily halting negotiations with Japanese diplomats, instituting a full embargo on exports to Japan, freezing Japanese assets in U.S. banks, and sending supplies into China along the Burma Road.

Although negotiations restarted after the United States increasingly enforced an embargo against Japan, they made little headway. Diplomats in Washington came close to agreements on a couple of occasions, but pro-Chinese sentiments in the United States made it difficult to reach any resolution that would not involve a Japanese withdrawal from China, and such a condition was unacceptable to Japan's military leaders. Faced with serious shortages as a result of the embargo, unable to retreat, and convinced that the U.S. officials opposed further negotiations, Japan's leaders came to the conclusion that they had to act swiftly. For their part, U.S. leaders had not given up on a negotiated settlement, and also doubted that Japan had the military strength to attack the U.S. territory. Therefore they were stunned when the unthinkable happened and Japanese planes bombed the U.S. fleet at Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. The following day, the United States declared war on Japan, and it soon entered into a military alliance with China. When Germany stood by its ally and declared war on the United States, the Roosevelt Administration faced war in both Europe and Asia.

Up_again

949 posts

Posted by Up_again > 2022-06-12 11:10 | Report Abuse

Yup, you are so right
Our fishing boats can’t go more than 50km offshore before being harassed by the buggers. And people wonder why do we have lack of fish supply that translates to high prices

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-12 13:01 | Report Abuse

The Malaysian Department of Fisheries has divided its fishing zones into four areas to ensure equitable allocation of resources, and to reduce conflict between commercial fishers. The areas are Zone A (0-5 nautical miles), Zone B (5-12 nautical miles), Zone C (12-30 nautical miles), and Zone C2 (30 nautical miles up to the border of Malaysia’s exclusive economic zone).

Even fishers need to follow modernization and make use of technological advancements, so we have the GPS device that shows us our borders, so we don’t encroach into neighboring waters,” he said.

The problem, however, is that the exact borders between these waters aren’t always clear. Countries around the South China Sea have been deadlocked over maritime territorial disputes for years, with China using its military might to lay claim to large swathes of the area near Southeast Asia.

This, in turn, has allowed IUU fishing to flourish.

“Four or five years ago, there were about 10 Malaysian boats detained by Indonesian authorities,” recalled Bahiyuddin. “Indonesia said the areas around 10 nautical miles from the border are theirs, while our enforcement agency said it is still ours.”

“It’s very confusing for us, so we decided not to go into those areas for the sake of our safety and the safety of our equipment,” he said.

However, not being able to fish in these disputed areas has resulted in a huge loss for fishers.

“Imagine how huge the areas are! It took about an hour and a half for us to go as far as 10 nautical miles, so imagine how many fish and other resources that we’re losing out on,” said Bahiyuddin.

The issue of overlapping borders, however, is not specific to the South China Sea. In the southern Malaysian state of Johor, fishers in the Strait of Malacca tell ERC that they are arrested by Indonesian authorities while still in Malaysian waters.

“The border between Malaysia and Indonesia is narrower here in Pontian, so fishers following fish trails would sometimes stray into Indonesian waters,” shared Jamaluddin Mohamad Bualik, a 52-year-old fisher. “But this time, I was sure I was still inside our waters when the Indonesian authorities arrested me. I was pulled further into their border and interrogated. Luckily I was then released unharmed.”

Deep-sea areas are not immune either. Bahiyuddin says he often comes across IUU fishers in Malaysian waters, noting that they would sometimes disguise themselves as local vessels by, for example, painting their boats red – a color adopted by local Kelantanese fishers.

He also expresses his disappointment over possible leaks of information that allow illegal fishers to escape arrest whenever Malaysian authorities conduct operations.

“Whenever they (Malaysian authorities) do any operations, the Vietnamese boats will quickly get out of our waters even though our maritime boats are still far. It’s as if they already knew they were coming,” he said.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-12 13:10 | Report Abuse

Every day, thousands of artisanal fishers set off into the contested waterways of Southeast Asia, home to one of the most resource rich fisheries in the world.

Mostly from multi-generational fishing families, these fishers belong to coastal communities long used to depending on the sea. They fish not just for their daily subsistence, but also for their livelihoods, as their catch is sold into regional, national, and even global supply chains.

In recent years, however, the challenges have been unprecedented. In a region where maritime borders are being fiercely contested, these fishers often find themselves at the forefront of geopolitical battles. Countries in the region are competing not just for control of fisheries stock and other maritime resources, but also for sovereignty.

This, in turn, has led to a rise in what is known in the industry as IUU fishing (illegal, unregulated, and unreported fishing), where vessels often use ecologically destructive fishing methods, and human rights abuses are common. As a result, seafood stocks have dropped alarmingly in the region, by up to 90%, according to estimates.

As part of a cross-border investigation by the Environmental Reporting Collective, local journalists spoke with fishers from across the region, some of whom have literally been on the frontlines not just in the battle against IUU fishing, but also in the struggle for political control over the South China Sea itself.

The governments of Vietnam, China, Indonesia and the Philippines have all encouraged their fishers to mark the countries' territories by fishing in contested waters. That's why fishers like Larry Hugo, from the island of Palawan, have had to relocate to unfamiliar, distant regions. Meanwhile, most fishers, like Rosilawati Ismail in Malaysia, are losing their livelihoods due to competition from IUU fishers.

And yet, older fishers like Zhang Zhi from China remember a time when fishers from across the South China Sea would occasionally cross paths, chat, and exchange food out at sea. This was a time long before geopolitics, technology, nationalism, and invisible lines cutting through the waters became more important than their shared connection to the sea.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-12 13:48 | Report Abuse

Vietnamese fishers have been branded by other countries as ‘fish poachers’, but the reality is far more complex.

Taking a long drag of his cigarette, Captain Duy became silent, his legs hooked on a chair, in the middle of his simple, one-story house. The man, 40 years old, tall and thin, his skin darkened by years out at sea, looked over to the view outside his door. His gaze was fixed at the busy Sa Ky seaport in Quang Ngai, central Vietnam.

“My wrists were tied and forced to be held high up, my face to the wall. I felt like I was about to be executed. Then, the police whipped a stroke on my buttocks. A rattan cane. The pain would cause one to faint,” he said to a journalist working with the Environmental Reporting Collective (ERC)

Being captured by coast guards from other countries is no longer uncommon for fishers in Duy's hometown, the Binh Chau commune in Quang Ngai. Fishing is a tradition in this coastal village, a livelihood that has been passed down for generations, making it the second largest deep-sea fishing village in Vietnam.

And yet, fishing boats from Quang Ngai often enter into the waters of Malaysia, Indonesia, or Thailand. Sometimes, they even venture as far as the Pacific Ocean.

These encroachments, also by boats from many other coastal towns, became so commonplace that Vietnam was issued a “yellow card” by the European Commission (EC), which means the country's seafood exports into the European Union are currently restricted.

"Nobody protects fishermen”
In March 2021, when most of the world was under lockdown, 22 women in Kien Giang, Southwestern Vietnam, wrote a letter asking Vietnamese leaders to help their husbands, fathers and sons, all fishers who had been arrested by Indonesian coast guards in May 2020. They had been stuck almost the entire time in a holding cell at a prison in Tanjung Pinang, the capital of the Riau Islands.

They had finished their prison terms and paid their fines, but could not return home due to Covid-19 travel restrictions.

“I had to mortgage our only motorbike. My mom mortgaged her house to help me collect the VND130 million (US$5,700) to meet bail. Yet, our family hasn’t been able to reunite,'' said Dinh Thi Hang, who also signed the letter to the Vietnamese authorities.

She had tried asking Kien Giang authorities for help many times, all in vain.

xskyriver

157 posts

Posted by xskyriver > 2022-06-12 15:39 | Report Abuse

@qqq3333

I saw my dad's FB/Youtube, it's full of video talks about how great China was:
China can built something in a day...
First XX invention is actually a Chinese people...
News about how hypocrite western country are...
News about how western bully chinese people...
Video about the perseverance China people do work...
Video showing how high-tech is China now...
How good China was, lending money to poor country...

My saw my friend which pro western country, their social media is full of:
How China force labor...
Blood history of China civil war...
China lend money to poor country with motives...
How cruel Russian are, invade Ukraine...

Algorithm know your preference, will always recommend the things you like to watch or see.
Eventually, you will get brainwashed by the algorithm itself.
Do you ever thinks that you too, are also one of a slave to media owners?
Of course you won't admit it, just like me.

I don't know why my social media is full of long leg, pretty girl dancing video. Definitely something wrong with the algorithm.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-12 16:29 | Report Abuse

I don't know why my social media is full of long leg, pretty girl dancing video.

You must have done something right. Mind sharing as I do not mind receiving long leg, pretty girl dancing video.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-12 20:34 | Report Abuse

@sslee

You rest your case ah? Lmao, you'd need to have a case in the first place. You never even heard of UNCLOS before I mentioned it, so it's just hilarious that you try to be smarter than the judges at the 2016 Arbitral Tribunal who decided that China's 9-dash-line claim has no legal basis.

Why are you even surprise that China lost the case, they're trying to claim an entire ocean as theirs lmao. Of course lah lose. Have you even seen the size of the 9-dash-line claim and how far it goes? You like China so much yet don't even know anything about them.

That's what you get for reading mainly China news media (who qqq333 himself said is bias)and watching porn.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

@sslee

You initialy claimed that US did not give China help against the Japanese during WW2. And then you go on to comment:

"In 1940 and 1941, President Franklin D. Roosevelt formalized U.S. aid to China....Roosevelt Administration could now restrict the flow of military supplies into Japan and use this as leverage to force Japan to halt its aggression in China"

You keep copy & pasting things from the internet, but never even bothered to read them properly XDXD. You need to improve on your english reading skills lah. The China Chinese are working hard to learn english, yet you only spend your time asking other people for porn.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

@qqq3333

Why are you and sslee so double standard?

You say US should stop giving Ukraine weapons, and instead pressure Kyiv to surrender to Russia. By that logic, US should have not helped supply weapons to China during WW2, but instead pressure the chinese to surrender and make concession with the Japanese.

You guys no shame double standard lah, put shame on other ethnic chinese only.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-12 21:20 | Report Abuse

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 34 minutes ago | Report Abuse

@sslee

You rest your case ah? Lmao, you'd need to have a case in the first place. You never even heard of UNCLOS before I mentioned it, so it's just hilarious that you try to be smarter than the judges at the 2016 Arbitral Tribunal who decided that China's 9-dash-line claim has no legal basis.

Really
Pity someone can't understand english and worst he even try to have his half past six understanding on what I quote

Posted by Sslee > 2 days ago | Report Abuse

https://waveneyeconomics.com/2020/07/18/doing-a-coca-cola-in-the-south...
A few days ago, US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo made it even messier by stating that China’s claims were unlawful. He was referring to a controversial United Nation Convention of Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) statement in 2016.
There are three weird responses to this reference. In the first place, UNCLOS has no right to rule on sovereignty. It is up to another global court to decide (Court of Justice). The second weird response is that the US government has not officially approved the United Nation Convention of Law of the Sea yet.
The third weird response is that UNCLOS was formed in 1994, 47 years after China first drew the 11-dashed lines. Normally, international laws do not apply retroactively. In other words, we cannot apply a new law to a past event.
If we did, then the peoples of Hawaii, Guam, Diego Garcia and the native Indians of North America could ask for their lands back and seek compensation.
What Mike Pompeo was doing last week was what he does best. He was trying to push through his alternate view through repetition. A lot of times, repetition of a statement does lead people to believe that the statement is the truth

Up_again

949 posts

Posted by Up_again > 2022-06-13 00:10 | Report Abuse

When our fisherman is restricted and those bold enough to venture further have their fishing boats sunk, and then we have ppl go scream about inflation effects in the wet market
In some ways, we totally deserve paying higher price

Posted by Tobby > 2022-06-13 00:20 | Report Abuse

Looks like Ukraine days are numbered! Putin seems to see victory at hand at this moment!
So what is the lesson from Ukraine! New World Order is now shifting! If things go as plan and Ukraine invasion is successful, then Russia China will unite for Taiwan invasion! USA will lose just like Ukraine!

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-13 21:49 | Report Abuse

@sslee

Sslee, if you continue to think that you know UNCLOS better than the judges at the 2016 Arbitral Tribunal, then go represent China in an international court lah lmao. If you think you soo smart that you feel you can win an entire ocean for China, be my guest lmao.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

@sslee

But you actually not very smart. You first say US never helped China in WW2, then go on on to copy & paste:

"In 1940 and 1941, President Franklin D. Roosevelt formalized U.S. aid to China....Roosevelt Administration could now restrict the flow of military supplies into Japan and use this as leverage to force Japan to halt its aggression in China"

Very funny lah you XD. Can't even read english properly.

Cupcakes69

611 posts

@qqq3333

If pointing out facts is anti-China for you, then go live in China lah. You said so yourself, their media only talk good about China. That heaven for you right? lmao

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-13 23:39 | Report Abuse

Someone not just can't understand english, law and history but he also has no knowledge of geography.

Bet he do not know the location of mauritius, chagos Archipelago and maldives and still want to give his half past six understanding on UNCLOS.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-13 23:57 | Report Abuse

2 Malaysian boats held for fishing illegally in Indonesian waters
Bernama -June 13, 2022 6:11 PM

Indonesia said it had detained eight Malaysian-flagged boats for fishing illegally in its waters since the beginning of the year.
JAKARTA: Indonesian maritime authorities have detained four boats, including two belonging to Malaysia, for fishing illegally in the country’s waters.

In a statement, the marine affairs and fisheries ministry said two Malaysian-flagged boats were detected in the Straits of Melaka on June 8.

“This demonstrates our commitment to eradicate illegal fishing as well as protect marine and fishery resources,” its director-general of marine and fisheries resources surveillance, Adin Nurawaluddin, said.

He said the boats and the seized items were taken to the Belawan fishing port near Medan, north Sumatra, for further investigation.

The agency has detained 79 foreign and local illegal boats so far this year, including eight Malaysian-flagged boats.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-06-14 08:24 | Report Abuse

Territorial sovereignty disputes are governed by rules of customary international law on the acquisition and loss of territory, not by UNCLOS

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-06-14 13:56 | Report Abuse

Amid economic slowdown, China is 'weaker than anytime' in recent memory • FRANCE 24 English

China Foreign Minister Wang Yi holds a meeting with counterparts from 10 Pacific island nations in Fiji on Monday, midway through a diplomatic tour of the region where China's ambitions for wider security ties has caused concern among US allies. For more analysis, joining FRANCE 24 is Jean-François di Meglio, President of the Asia Center.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=euG7brRyACM

mach10

371 posts

Posted by mach10 > 2022-06-14 19:23 | Report Abuse

Is the US in charge of NATO?
NATO's military operations are directed by the Chairman of the NATO Military Committee and split into two Strategic Commands, both long commanded by U.S. officers, assisted by a staff drawn from across NATO.

mach10

371 posts

Posted by mach10 > 2022-06-14 19:24 | Report Abuse

the US wants to end the war and NATO has to obey.

https://frontnews.eu/en/news/details/33253

Cupcakes69

611 posts

Posted by Cupcakes69 > 2022-06-14 20:34 | Report Abuse

@sslee

Sslee, if you continue to think that you know UNCLOS better than the judges at the 2016 Arbitral Tribunal, then go represent China in an international court lah lmao. If you think you soo smart that you feel you can win an entire ocean for China, be my guest lmao.