88 comment(s). Last comment by EngineeringProfit 2023-08-30 15:54

10,400 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-08-27 18:17 | Report Abuse

Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Facebook founder all universities drop out. Actually, nowadays no need university degree. It’s a life long learning.

4,847 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-08-27 18:52 | Report Abuse

I think TAR and private university are of much better quality and their graduate are more easy to find job after graduation compare to National university graduate.

14,384 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2023-08-27 18:58 | Report Abuse

Some private universities are debt trap for students.
Low quality education!

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-08-27 19:14 | Report Abuse

Apart from UTAR, most other private and public ones are low quality paper mills, big time exam cheaters and, yes, debt trap loan sharks.

2,952 posts

Posted by gohkimhock > 2023-08-27 19:51 | Report Abuse

i came across few young lawyers graduated from public universities that could not communicate in English and think rationally.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-08-27 20:23 | Report Abuse

G.I.G.O

Lowered standard at entry point, low standard of lecturers,
poor quality grad

That's why we say - garbage in, garbage out

Guess who do the maintenance of planes that crashed, stadium walls that cracked, hospital ceiling that fell, condominiums that collapsed, etc etc etc

G.I.G.O does not stop there. Yes, their works and performances are unacceptable.

rohank71

840 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2023-08-28 03:58 | Report Abuse

Many graduates who went to India also can't speak good English and same goes to those who went to China. So who do we blame?

25,210 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-08-28 07:53 | Report Abuse

nowdays every tom dick harry can go to local uni. the bar is super low. and the result is u have low quality grads too.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-08-28 08:46 | Report Abuse

Exactly. G.I.G.O -> GG professionalism, work quality and GDP

Posted by eastern_joy > 2023-08-28 09:49 | Report Abuse

TARUMT quality has been on the declined due to lower entrance requirements, 3 credits and then MQA requirements for 80% no matter what. So, what do you think?

10,400 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-08-28 10:17 | Report Abuse

This is the basic reason why Msia can’t achieve Vision 2029…
———
When South Africa got independence from white British in 1990 under the leadership of Nelson Mandela his supporters, mainly African Tribes, demanded Reservations in education sector, govt sector & in private sector!

Nelson Mandela replied that he will not allow any type of Reservations in any sector i.e. in education sector, in govt sector & in private sector at any cost, because Reservations & the products of Reservations will destroy the whole nation!

The famous statement of Nelson Mandela is displayed at the entrance of the University of South Africa thus:

"Destroying any nation does not require the use of atomic bombs or the use of long range missiles. It only requires lowering the quality of education and allowing cheating in the examinations by the students."

Patients die at the hands of such doctors.

Buildings collapse at the hands of such engineers.

Money is lost in the hands of such economists & accountants.

Humanity dies at the hands of such religious scholars.

Justice is lost at the hands of such judges...

"The collapse of education is the collapse of a nation."

https://groups.google.com/g/gsdocs6469/c/d1r1Jsa0Oqo?pli=1

14,384 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2023-08-28 10:25 | Report Abuse

The real intention is to drive out non-Muslims from Malaysia and change to syariah law.
That is the ultimate truth behind their constant attack and shenanigans on non-Muslims through school and etc.

14,384 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2023-08-28 11:14 | Report Abuse

Yup! Take control of your life instead of being dragged like a buffalo into mud.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-08-28 11:26 | Report Abuse

Quote : "Destroying any nation does not require the use of atomic bombs or the use of long range missiles. It only requires lowering the quality of education and allowing cheating in the examinations by the students."

Patients die at the hands of such doctors.Even survive, the cost of treatment would be exaggerated because of lots of supposedly avoidable iatrogenic cause for morbidities

Buildings collapse (and planes crashed) at the hands of such engineers who supposedly doing all the necessary checking, monitoring and maintenance

Money is lost in the hands of such state leaders, economists & accountants who contributed to weak RM vs SGD/AUD

Humanity dies at the hands of such religious scholars.

Justice is lost at the hands of incompetent judges who couldn't even help the woman who has been forced to stay as a believer"

Yes, G.I.G.O -> GG 1nation

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2023-08-28 12:30 | Report Abuse

If you want to paraphrase, then at least complete the full rationalisation.
Firstly, they did not say reject, but the target of the rebalancing is to make sure that the majority who live in rural areas with lack of education mobility to be given preference. This is for all bumiputra, and not specifically malay.

If you think about it bumiputra also include
Sabahan natives
Sarawakian natives
Students from pahang, kelantan, terrengganu and other rural areas.

For your info Mr koon, every year our public intake can only absorb 180k students into public university per year. This is from a list of 403k students that sat the SPM results in 2022. So looking with this list, how do you decide who gets in? If you want to via meritocracy then how can you be fair to ALL Malaysians like anwar says? How would it be fair for students who have to walk 3km to school every day, where teachers travel by boat to class, where teachers are not even keen to go to teach because it is so remote? If we were to compete, is it even a fair competition? The student who has better grades, do we put them ALL in while giving up on the students in the non city towns? Tell me how would that be fair.

In my humble opinion, a doctor coming up from a rural place like kinabatangan or born near the borders of pontianak will have a far more powerful economic effect to their peers and locality than one who was born and raised in ampang center. But one has exposure, the other doesn't in getting grades. So again, who benefits more?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2023-08-28 12:35 | Report Abuse

If anything we value academic results for too much over TVET skills. In Germany 60% of education is TVET and on average tvet graduates are paid more. What we need are useful economic skills that can compete on the highest level. Not the ability to write PowerPoint slides or word documents.
Imagine if 50% of our population was engineers, technicians, welders, builders and specialists with skillsets that are of high enough quality that it is in demand the world over. That would be far better than joining any public university.

Take for example a skill like leather craftsman, one of the most in demand and time consuming skills to have which takes lifetimes to master. Look at where it brought jimmy choo.

10,400 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-08-28 13:58 | Report Abuse

Exactly this was what Chairman Mao did to China with The Cultural Revolution. Asking or transplanting skillful talent in the city to countryside to help less develop rural areas in China. What a disaster The Cultural Revolution made to China. China only progressed after Deng Xiao Ping embarked on market economy ( meritocracy) to reward the hardworking or the talented Chinese. This Cultural Revolution cost China 🇨🇳 lost how many decades of economic development. Bolehland can’t get out of the New Economic Policy Framework from 1970 until now ( 53 years wasted ).
The solution is Government can help Bumi but at the same time give chance for the brightest to excel in Universities. Building bigger universities lah. So that pure talent will still stay in Msia and at the same time Bumi also can be helped. Government needs to tell Bumi (who are given the chances) to compete with the more talented peers. This is the way forward. We have wasted 53 years. Do we still have how many years to be wasted???

Philip ( buy what you understand)
If you want to paraphrase, then at least complete the full rationalisation.
Firstly, they did not say reject, but the target of the rebalancing is to make sure that the majority who live in rural areas with lack of education mobility to be given preference. This is for all bumiputra, and not specifically malay.

If you think about it bumiputra also include
Sabahan natives
Sarawakian natives

For your info Mr koon, every year our public intake can only absorb 180k students into public university per year. This is from a list of 403k students that sat the SPM results in 2022. So looking with this list, how do you decide who gets in? If you want to via meritocracy then how can you be fair to ALL Malaysians like anwar says? How would it be fair for students who have to walk 3km to school every day, where teachers travel by boat to class, where teachers are not even keen to go to teach because it is so remote? If we were to compete, is it even a fair competition? The student who has better grades, do we put them ALL in while giving up on the students in the non city towns? Tell me how would that be fair.

OnTime

2,107 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-08-28 14:02 | Report Abuse

just bear more children

10,400 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-08-28 14:08 | Report Abuse

Surely Government can build bigger universities. If government can lose humongous amount of Rm in 1M - db, surely government can use that money to build a lot more of public universities plus hospitals. Don’t be like LGE, cutting here cutting there. Haha

Posted by sink or swim .. > 2023-08-28 16:01 | Report Abuse

How did we end up mixing 2R and education.

14,384 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2023-08-28 16:06 | Report Abuse

It is fear of being left behind that causes them to deny rights of non-Malays.
If the government is really sincere, it can build separate universities for each community and solve the problem.

14,384 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2023-08-28 16:09 | Report Abuse

The government have been aiding for 50 plus years.
But they still claim being left behind.
That means the policy sucks big time when it cannot reach milestone (take it with a truck load of salt).

4,847 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-08-28 16:26 | Report Abuse

Did anyone know the wealthy and well connected Malay childrens were given scholarship to study in foreign unversity?

What a bullshit taking about government helping the poor and rural bumiputra:
Sabahan natives
Sarawakian natives

14,384 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2023-08-28 16:36 | Report Abuse

All asrama/hostel are for bumis with a countable number of nons to mitigate issues.

4,847 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-08-28 16:37 | Report Abuse

The government did not help the poor and rural bumiputra:
Sabahan natives
Sarawakian natives

The government only use the name of helping poor and rural bumipura to enrich the political well connect Malay.

14,384 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2023-08-28 16:38 | Report Abuse

Remember, when Egypt was in turmoil, multiple planes brought back students from the troubled country. Where did the money come from?
Hardly could see a non.

qqq47660

8,710 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-08-28 16:40 | Report Abuse

in the last 50 years, a lot of problems are incompetence, not intentional.

this is malaysia, there are limits.

and if Anwar cannot satisfy the malays he will be out of job next.

14,384 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2023-08-28 16:41 | Report Abuse

It's not incompetence, it is intentional

qqq47660

8,710 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-08-28 16:44 | Report Abuse

China did so much for the Uighers, media calls it genocide and forced labor.

moral of the story, u cannot satisfy every body and don't take media too seriously.

qqq47660

8,710 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-08-28 17:02 | Report Abuse

University places no longer a prime election issue for Chinese. Issues affecting sslee family is the past.

Nowadays it is Chinese teenagers boycotting local universities and not even interested to go to Sixth Form to fight for a local university place.

There are options available nowadays not available previously.

There are lots of private universities , even big name foreign universities in Malaysia.

For those with no money to study, there are also internet options, even free courses from Harvard ................... spend a few months on the internet and pick up a course on IT, on soft wares, cannot cari makan meh? actually for those with ambition, hard working, for those who knows how to study, there is no limit, the sky is the limit.

10,400 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-08-28 17:02 | Report Abuse

Solution: Build more and bigger Universities to accommodate all Bumi and non Bumi. Problems solved. Both Bumi and non Bumi will be happy if this happens.

qqq47660
in the last 50 years, a lot of problems are incompetence, not intentional.

this is malaysia, there are limits.

and if Anwar cannot satisfy the malays he will be out of job next.
28/08/2023 4:40 PM

4,847 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-08-28 17:14 | Report Abuse

I actually advise my children not to do Sixth Form but to do a private A level and then enter private university that offer twinning programme.

My elder son enginnering twinning programme Monash university
My second son NUS pharmacy
My daughter twinning programme Sunway university

14,384 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2023-08-28 17:26 | Report Abuse

They play with accreditation, so be careful.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2023-08-28 18:26 | Report Abuse

no need to study so hard. Just goreng bursa can earn few hundred in one day.
easy job.

10,400 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-08-28 18:35 | Report Abuse

Ks55, must earn enough Rm, barulah boleh follow the whale who goreng stok.
Bilis where can goreng stok. Haha 😂. Joking only Ks55

10,400 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-08-28 18:39 | Report Abuse

Sslee, you have money to pay for your children’s education.
I ask my children to apply for Ptptn. Or else go to work and later study distance learning only.
My children pay for their own education.

10,400 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-08-28 18:45 | Report Abuse

Nowadays lots of people have degrees… So paper chases for a high paying job is not a guaranteed like in British colonial era. In Usa, even the janitor has an academic degree from University. Nowadays a degree certificate is very common thing.

14,384 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2023-08-28 19:33 | Report Abuse

Life is easy if you control your senses. Detach from the herd. Even religious congregation can be highly toxic. So, tread the path of life cautiously. Your choices shape your life.

qqq47660

8,710 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-08-28 19:36 | Report Abuse

Posted by Income > 35 minutes ago | Report Abuse

Nowadays lots of people have degrees… So paper chases for a high paying job is not a guaranteed like in British colonial era. In Usa, even the janitor has an academic degree from University. Nowadays a degree certificate is very common thing.

==========

its call short termism.

a proper way to access is what are your options?

take Malaysia for instance. Malaysia has very low starting pay for fresh graduates but huge shortage for good staff, good professionals with experience.

qqq47660

8,710 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-08-28 19:38 | Report Abuse

its call short termism.

a proper way to access is what are your options?

take Malaysia for instance. Malaysia has very low starting pay for fresh graduates but huge shortage for good staff, good professionals with experience.

its probably common throughout the world. its part and parcel of capitalism where they bully and exploit where they can bully and exploit.

qqq47660

8,710 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-08-28 19:48 | Report Abuse

a fresh graduate in America gets about USD 30,000 pa.

qqq47660

8,710 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-08-28 19:50 | Report Abuse

ilicker.........the real US is not a land of honey.............its a tough place for everybody nowadays unless u are the 10%.

qqq47660

8,710 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-08-28 19:52 | Report Abuse

a fresh graduate in America gets about USD 30,000 pa.............USD 30,000 may sound like a lot until u consider their cost of living.

Posted by FortuneBull777 > 2023-08-28 20:22 | Report Abuse

It's reported that almost half of China graduates will never going to find while collar job suited to their qualification!
Most of the courses offered by our public universities are dated and chances of getting employed is low! Even worse, our graduates from public universities have very little command of English as most of them were taught in bahasa!
English is important as most of trades and industry use English as medium of communication!
So tell me, how can civil engineer graduate from UM able to adapt to current working environment when he or she can't even understand simply terms in english! So yeah, the curse of graduates produced by our public universities!
My son got offered by UM to do civil engineering! Instead he opted to do civil engineering in Singapore! Well, that was a great decision as he immediately got employed in Singapore after finishing up his degree!
My advise, better do specialised skilled courses which highly needed by industries! There's unlimited opportunities for ship engineers! My son's friend had traveled the world many times over due to his job specializing in ship engine maintenance! The world will forever need highly skilled workers with high pay and vast opportunity to travel the world if that's you goal!
Forget about those corporate world thingy! Climbing those corporate ladder full of politics and toxic relations! And you waste years studies those white collar degree only to be dissapointed to know the harsh reality of such career!

Posted by FortuneBull777 > 2023-08-28 20:23 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq47660 > Aug 28, 2023 7:52 PM | Report Abuse

a fresh graduate in America gets about USD 30,000 pa.............USD 30,000 may sound like a lot until u consider their cost of living.

Answer : Half of US graduates end up unable to pay for their study loan! This education trap seems repeated over and over again all over the world! China is the latest one!

Posted by FortuneBull777 > 2023-08-28 20:27 | Report Abuse

As for Grandpa Koon headline, yeah, public univeersities seems to be malay universties! So what!
Here's a figure you need to digest! 70% that sat for SPM failed in latest result! And those who manage to get a place in public universities, 70% are malay ladies! Malay guys seems not interested to pursue degree courses! You can check with public universties if you don't believe me!
For for years now, public universities have been producing vast number of educated malay ladies! And many end up unemployed!
Those piece of paper is only good with the economy is thriving! But if the economy is dying like in China, it's really worthless!

qqq47660

8,710 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-08-28 20:35 | Report Abuse

the malay girls go to universities to become teachers and the malay guys to take up civil service jobs. and that is that.

qqq47660

8,710 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-08-28 20:39 | Report Abuse

Those piece of paper is only good with the economy is thriving! But if the economy is dying like in China, it's really worthless!
==========

fresh graduate in China got far more career options in China compared to Malaysia..............teachers is a very respected job in China, join the PLA also very respected and can get u a wife. , join the CCP and become a civil servant, even a graduate police man is not too bad in China. Besides lots of options..............malaysian graduates rather limited options.

14,384 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2023-08-28 21:24 | Report Abuse

Study so high till Ph.D and proud of being specialized thief who embezzles billions.
Educated thieves are many now. Their loot paralyses nation and some are proud of that achievement. Really So High!

qqq47660

8,710 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-08-28 21:28 | Report Abuse

u jealous or what? with so many universities in Malaysia. PhD are having a good time in Malaysia, salary wise.