GREEN PACKET BHD

KLSE (MYR): GPACKET (0082)

0.03 - 0.035

31 people like this.

24,897 comment(s). Last comment by Zrenxy 1 week ago

Posted by JBinvestor > 2014-03-28 10:40 | Report Abuse

TM is expected to pay a total of RM470m cash in FY14, followed by RM486m in FY15. I believed Cashflow is the key here.

pharker

1,092 posts

Posted by pharker > 2014-03-28 10:42 | Report Abuse

How long will it take to rebuild P1...it not that simple even with TM at the back. TM itself is also facing stiff competition from the other 2 giants...DIGI & MAxis

For TM they buy P1 bandwidth to kill DIGI, deprive DIGI of their badly needed bandwidth, less so to develop P1.

Why TM want to develop n grow P1? this will lead to to cannabalisation , eating into the market share under their own branding .

davidkkw79

5,068 posts

Posted by davidkkw79 > 2014-03-28 10:42 | Report Abuse

Lossing money company how to expect to sell high price?! of course now jualan murah to TM lor

Posted by Telecaster > 2014-03-28 10:43 | Report Abuse

hi Jbinvestor, u mean the payment is via exercise the bond? if it is, is it mandatory for them to do so, bcoz i think i read its up to TM's call. min 60 mil, max 1+ bil

ya ocpd, it seem neutral. to me, P1 sounded like not what TM require, but since its so cheap , why not.

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2014-03-28 10:44 | Report Abuse

No doubt gpacket will hit rm1.40 in 3 months when a miracle deal gonna happen soon. But I suggest you buy rm10 mil toto jackpot because the chances is higher.

davidkkw79

5,068 posts

Posted by davidkkw79 > 2014-03-28 10:46 | Report Abuse

miracle? hahaha, sound like you support it just because of miracle and hope for kena jackpot.

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2014-03-28 10:48 | Report Abuse

Who wants to take advice from speculator like jb investor don't even know how to read. Yes the rm470 mil and rm487 mil gonna be pumped into P1 to dilute gpacket further see the bottom of the report "87% stake in p1"

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 10:51 | Report Abuse

fundamentally, ocpd is very accurate. but there is always a story behind a story... :) cheers...chill la all...if u are contra players, confirm gg.com. i havent sell a single unit of mine yet :)

Posted by Telecaster > 2014-03-28 10:51 | Report Abuse

miracle deal. announcement on monday. director dispose on 26.3.14... volume 164,989,200... 10+ times average...... not director/major shareholder, who else dispose?

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2014-03-28 10:52 | Report Abuse

I'm very surprised DIGI dint bid higher. Because the price is cheap and digi can afford it. Now effectively few years down the road, digi gonna struggle. Not wise for digi!

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 10:52 | Report Abuse

one day performance does not prove anything. of course here everyone has different prospect. some are looking long term, some mid term and some even days ...so everyone has their own strategic. most ppl here are to exchange ideas and learn from each other..dont scold here scold there lo..haha..

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 10:55 | Report Abuse

ocpd, besides digi, gp consider for the man behind tm.. dont forget tm link to celcom too :)

Posted by oracleohama > 2014-03-28 10:56 | Report Abuse

who is the man behind tm?

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2014-03-28 10:56 | Report Abuse

I think Digi knowing regulators won't approve the dal since they are foreign owned? Unless moneysucker knows something me and the public don't? I'm kinda think in USA ppl like moneysucker would have gone to jail already. He has been insider trading this counter very obvious. Well this is malaysia.

Posted by yipcoolseng > 2014-03-28 10:57 | Report Abuse

just say bye bye to those contra player first lolllllllllllllzzzzzZzz

Posted by Telecaster > 2014-03-28 10:58 | Report Abuse

moneysucker1.. agree with u... we here juz to exchange opinion.
also understand alot ppl no intention to scold or offend ppl, but when type in text can appear different meaning to different ppl too .

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 10:58 | Report Abuse

hahahahahaha...ocpd, it depends...if in malaysia, probably i fall under insider. but in USA, i definitely wont fall under insider...I came back from the states :P so i am too familiar with insider trading regulation.

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 10:59 | Report Abuse

chill la...even without insider trading, it is too obvious to analyse the situation. just some logical thinking.

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 11:01 | Report Abuse

for me, ocpd, i was once too business minded on stock market. though performance is satisfactorily, however, investment are correlated to business minded but not equal ..just my 2cent opinion..

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2014-03-28 11:02 | Report Abuse

Malaysia market is not efficient, otherwise based on all known public info gpacket would have been trading at 20 cent now. Coz that's its value now!

zu1967

3,791 posts

Posted by zu1967 > 2014-03-28 11:03 | Report Abuse

Wakakakaka. Not 20 sen. 5 sen. Wakakakaka

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 11:04 | Report Abuse

and actually i am not even trading based on insiders...i am another league, not higher not lower...me myself has different strategic and our ways..to be frank, i do not know anyone inside gp, i know well how it functions. In this forum, i understand it is online media and everyone can type without bearing any responsibility, but what is the meaning behind all this negative comment and scolding ppl. let me tell you all, even with tenth of millions, we are just tiny fish of the market. if majority can earn money it is the best because it is a free market and free money..so chill ya guys :)

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 11:06 | Report Abuse

ocpd, let me tell you, US market is not even efficient though is slightly better than here. like warren buffet said, as long as you dont lose money in stock, you are then winner already..

pharker

1,092 posts

Posted by pharker > 2014-03-28 11:08 | Report Abuse

with oskvi on board, manipulation is always on the table......so forget about the strategic business partnership analysis by Kenangan blah blah blah.

I will not be surprised if morning session press down the price to kill contra players..then afternoon session price shoot up again.

Hahaha...should be very interesting and volatile

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 11:09 | Report Abuse

malaysia is too enclosed by itself and by cronies so free market free trade is almost impossible in mid term unless people here change their mindset...

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 11:10 | Report Abuse

ong from osk is not an easy person...there is always reason behind why he bought so much lately (go check from bursa) :)

Posted by yipcoolseng > 2014-03-28 11:10 | Report Abuse

april fool is coming~ ~

Posted by Telecaster > 2014-03-28 11:11 | Report Abuse

somebody jz cleared 2,000,000 unit at 0.48, worth about rm1mil

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2014-03-28 11:12 | Report Abuse

Moneysucker I consider myself a value investor. Can't deny your prediction of news quite accurate. Maybe I can join your syndicate club to goreng in malaysia? Since never once see any insiders got prosecuted in malaysia :)

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 11:13 | Report Abuse

hahahaha..market not that bad la..compared to other speculative stocks, gp consider damn stable already. from this morning transaction, it is just a shock wave...and consolidating already unless some big shot come in and out. i wouldnt even be surprise it gp is the most active stock today.

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 11:15 | Report Abuse

haha , we are not syndicate or else i wont be typing here and is now enjoying life already...

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2014-03-28 11:15 | Report Abuse

So can reveal why it would go higher pls? Will be interested to know. Becaus fundamentally can see how gpacket can be worth more than 20 cents now!

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 11:16 | Report Abuse

i love value investing..anyways, i am still considering whether to top up its mother some more :p

3398UNI

16 posts

Posted by 3398UNI > 2014-03-28 11:16 | Report Abuse

good one ocpd, if only we can get Master Soh to join. Imagine
till today he is scott free.

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 11:19 | Report Abuse

ocpd, market only succumb to one concept, supply and demand...i dont do back hand call, i tell you straight how much i bought and at what price. and you can judge from my results easily :p any taker wanna follow? post your entry cost and exit cost? that tell about everything..

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 11:24 | Report Abuse

haha i lazy to lecture la...one sentence conclude, if market perform as it is, then we all no need to invest already since all already at its fair value.

viskar

62 posts

Posted by viskar > 2014-03-28 11:26 | Report Abuse

Published: Friday March 28, 2014 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Friday March 28, 2014 MYT 7:18:17 AM
Telekom Malaysia strikes RM560mil deal with Packet One

KUALA LUMPUR: Telekom Malaysia Bhd (TM) is spending a total of RM560mil in a deal that will see it gain control of mobile wireless operator Packet One Networks (M) Sdn Bhd (P1), signifying the incumbent’s seriousness in moving into this sector of the business.

TM is paying RM350mil for new shares in P1 for a 57% stake, while forking out RM210mil at the same time to buy exchangeable bonds from Green Packet Bhd, which presently owns 57% of P1.

The bonds carry a coupon rate of 8% and will give Green Packet a new lease of life.

The injection of the RM350mil into P1, on the other hand, will give it a boost to expand its wireless business and move into the 4G mobile space.

P1’s other existing shareholder – South Korea’s SK Telecom Co Ltd, a leading 4G long-term evolution (LTE) player in that country – was also part of the agreement inked yesterday.

SK Telecom said it would remain a key strategic shareholder in P1 following TM’s entry. All three parties said they would collaborate to develop “a next-generation LTE infrastructure to offer customers a full suite of converged communications services”.

TM group chief executive officer Tan Sri Zamzamzairani Mohd Isa said the partnership would enable the company to further expand itself into the wireless broadband space, thus opening up possibilities for TM.

“We are further expanding our capabilities into the adjacent wireless broadband space as a natural evolution of our suite of Internet and data services to better serve our customers’ needs.

“The partnership provides an LTE-ready platform for us to more efficiently roll out wireless broadband products and accelerate time-to-market for our customers,” Zamzamzairani said at the signing ceremony, witnessed by Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek.

“TM will anchor the growth and development of P1, while Green Packet will render its management expertise to ensure P1’s business continuity and development of LTE devices. SK Telecom, meanwhile, will contribute its technical know-how,” Zamzamzairani elaborated.

TM expects the investment agreement to be completed within the next few months.

Green Packet group CEO C.C. Puan, meanwhile, said: “This union of P1, the innovative and enterprising challenger, with big-name giants in the telecoms sector, is a positive on many levels.

“TM will bring significant synergies to our existing business capabilities, and SK Telecom’s enhanced commitment to the P1 business is not only affirming, but will strongly transition P1 into the LTE era.”

In addition, the three parties have jointly agreed to spend RM1.65bil based on their shareholding in the next three years to facilitate the implementation of the future plans of P1.

StarBiz had recently reported that PI owned valuable swathes of spectrum in the 2.3 gigahertz (GHz) and 2.6GHz bands, whereas TM had some spectrum in the much lower bands – 450 megahertz (MHz) and 850MHz.

AmResearch said the combination of P1’s 2.6GHz spectrum, which is suitable for high-capacity traffic, and TM’s 2x5MHz block in the 850MHz spectrum was a strong combination, giving it an advantage over incumbent celcos, which only have access to 1.8GHz and 2.6GHz spectrum for 4G rollout.

It added that P1’s half-a-million subscribers would give TM a “meaningful base to start with” if TM intended to get into the 4G game in a big way, as well as gaining access to P1’s base stations.

viskar

62 posts

Posted by viskar > 2014-03-28 11:26 | Report Abuse

anticipate the price to shoot up soon...

samjoeys

233 posts

Posted by samjoeys > 2014-03-28 11:29 | Report Abuse

2nd wave up now. accumulate at 0.475

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2014-03-28 11:29 | Report Abuse

moneysucker1, morning to everyone. Market open weaker today and high hope was placed on GP this morning. But it turn out red instead.

Kinda disappointed. But i will take up the mother shares and pondering what am i going to do with the big chunk of warrant i am holding. Throw i die keep i die.

Moneysucker1, any advice?

Posted by moneysucker1 > 2014-03-28 11:31 | Report Abuse

ktsk pm me and tell me ur average cost and holding

Posted by Patrick Ashley > 2014-03-28 11:31 | Report Abuse

Deciphering GPACKET without figures and statistics.

P1 was a 'small kid' on the block when it first went into the Telco business. No one gave them a chance against the big boys. Gpacket invested heavily in resources and manpower to make P1 a success over the years. Because of its persistence,diligence and good leadership, P1 was able to attract world renowned companies such as Intel and SK Telekom to invest in a cash stricken small start-up such as P1. Yes, all in all it has been a tough and arduous journey for P1 and GPacket. Unlike other telcos, P1 and GPacket has got no connections, government sponsorships, well connected tycoons or a foreign parent company to its profile.Despite all these handicaps, they manage to give the big boys a run for their money.
GPacket could have taken the easy road by divesting P1 in totality for a handsome price. P1 has got great assets such as the 2.3 and 2.6 gigahertz band, 550k subscribers and 2000 base stations. (Remember Time Telekom sold the 3G license to Digi for RM500 mil? Only license, no subscribers and no base stations!)
With Telekom Malaysia in P1, P1 will have good management(Gpacket), technology(SK Telekom) and financial/government backing(Telekom Malaysia). GPacket decided to carry on investing in P1 because it can see its vast business potential. 30% of a large successful P1 is much better than a 57% small struggling P1.
If I am a shareholder/owner/management of Digi, Axiata , Ytl-comm or Maxis, I would be very worried.
If there is a convergence of Unifi/Streamyx with P1 offerings of 4G-LTE, it will be the day we wished we had bought GPacket at 47 sen. We shouldn't lament about Gpacket not getting a better bargain out of Telekom Malaysia.
Instead of squabbling with Telekom Malaysia, Gpacket should now be strategizing the NEW P1 to take market share from the rest of the telcos in Malaysia.

Note : Opportunities is the absence.
An affinity towards WTK and Halex because so few people likes it.

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2014-03-28 11:34 | Report Abuse

i have whatsapp your mobile moneysucker1.

limyee

41 posts

Posted by limyee > 2014-03-28 11:37 | Report Abuse

Just read some business newspaper, Gpacket will be shooting up today afternoon 0.55.

samjoeys

233 posts

Posted by samjoeys > 2014-03-28 11:38 | Report Abuse

just share info,, afternoon sesion shooting up, morning clearing t4 players. evening bull

ruslimz

1,613 posts

Posted by ruslimz > 2014-03-28 11:39 | Report Abuse

not much excitement because TM is buying packet one, not GP. Now P1 is operating at a loss. Say later Tm turned P1 into a company with profit of 50m (optimistic side). With 30% shares, GP profit portion is only 15m.EPS will be only 2 sen. Assuming PE of 20 (optimistic side), the valuation for GP is only 40 sen........lu pikirlah sendiri......

horaceqsh

51 posts

Posted by horaceqsh > 2014-03-28 11:39 | Report Abuse

anyone know what is TP afternoon?

pharker

1,092 posts

Posted by pharker > 2014-03-28 11:42 | Report Abuse

To limyee,

mind to share which business newspaper giving such prediction TP 0.55 in the afternoon, very berani...respect lah

future

412 posts

Posted by future > 2014-03-28 11:44 | Report Abuse

good