SMRT HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): SMRT (0117)

+0.03 (3.00%)

0.96 - 1.05

12 people like this.

6,315 comment(s). Last comment by OppenHermes 1 day ago

armt

415 posts

Posted by armt > 2015-04-03 15:11 | Report Abuse

By my calculation, stripping out one-off impairments and corp related exercise expenses, SMRT is trading around 12-13x P/E based on 48 sens share price. Note that this excludes the additional value MEGB will bring in from the service fees etc. If it reverts back to 20-25x P/E, you're looking at between 74-92 sens on a base to best case scenario.

Jack_y13

246 posts

Posted by Jack_y13 > 2015-04-03 15:15 | Report Abuse

armt, pe 25x still low for education counter.

armt

415 posts

Posted by armt > 2015-04-03 15:18 | Report Abuse

@jack_y13, i know, i'm a conservative and rational investor though. Just want to make sure got safety buffers.

armt

415 posts

Posted by armt > 2015-04-03 15:20 | Report Abuse

From the Q4 2014 extract "PBT of the reporting quarter decreased by RM6.08 million mainly due to one off corporate exercise expenses of approximately RM221,530, impairment of goodwill of RM1.5mil as well as amortisation of intangible assets RM0.5mill". You think these expenses will still appear in the coming quarters? I can tell you the answer is no, what you'll see is nice jump in profits!

Jack_y13

246 posts

Posted by Jack_y13 > 2015-04-03 15:28 | Report Abuse

Ya, next quarter if they can maintain the revenue ( just to conservative) and with the reduce of expenses as you mentioned.

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-03 15:44 | Report Abuse

Any of the ardent supporters of smrt live near by CUCMS ?

Lim KY

Posted by Lim KY > 2015-04-03 15:44 | Report Abuse

sell

skng74

1,001 posts

Posted by skng74 > 2015-04-03 15:47 | Report Abuse

Nice comment, KY Jelly, hahahaha

skng74

1,001 posts

Posted by skng74 > 2015-04-03 15:52 | Report Abuse

Tornado, I guess if anyone of us is ardent enough, we could pay CUCMS a visit and update the rest of us...hahaha

armt

415 posts

Posted by armt > 2015-04-03 15:54 | Report Abuse

I did go over to CUCMS for the EGM to approve the MEGB acquisition. Looks like a decent university. Nothing much to say really, looks like there are a lot of students around.

skng74

1,001 posts

Posted by skng74 > 2015-04-03 15:57 | Report Abuse

@armt, did it give u a good impression?

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-03 15:57 | Report Abuse

sk, You read my mind... ; )
Do not forget to drop by the Chancellor office and tell Dr. Palan that we have all collected enough and it is time for him to do some motivation to the stock price please.

armt

415 posts

Posted by armt > 2015-04-03 15:59 | Report Abuse

@skng74, it doesn't look like a scam university. Students all appear to be mostly locals. All look fresh and eager to learn haha. Building doesn't look too old, looks like a proper place to go and study. Overall, i'd rate it a 7 out of 10 in terms of appearance.

skng74

1,001 posts

Posted by skng74 > 2015-04-03 16:02 | Report Abuse

@armt, thanks for the feedback.

armt

415 posts

Posted by armt > 2015-04-03 16:03 | Report Abuse

and lol to the ky jelly comment haha

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-03 16:06 | Report Abuse

thanks armt. did you speak to Dr.Palan in person ?

armt

415 posts

Posted by armt > 2015-04-03 16:18 | Report Abuse

@tornado, actually i didnt, was hoping i could find brahmal there instead but he didnt attend! Dr. Palan kena grilled by some of the shareholders, quite interesting but he emphasized again that 2016 will be an outstanding year while 2015 is the adjustment period. But I look at the financials at the moment and feel you may see the leap earnings this year too!

Posted by moneyking88 > 2015-04-03 17:27 | Report Abuse

No more genuine investors here as mostly run away...

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-03 18:25 | Report Abuse

Thanks armt. Most probably I will make it a point to attend the next AGM

armt

415 posts

Posted by armt > 2015-04-03 20:42 | Report Abuse

@tornado, lemme know if you're going! Can meet up there and share our thoughts

Posted by moneyking88 > 2015-04-04 11:04 | Report Abuse

Attractive price coming soon, please ensure your bullet fully loaded...

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-04 13:04 | Report Abuse

Sure @armt

Christine Goh

3,117 posts

Posted by Christine Goh > 2015-04-04 18:14 | Report Abuse

when princess sleep quietly ....will the prince come to hv kiss princess and wake up ? i m waiting prince coming to awake princess :)

Bs1688

436 posts

Posted by Bs1688 > 2015-04-04 19:00 | Report Abuse

Prince busy collecting dowry , when enough , he will plant a kiss on sleeping princess. Viola! Princess wakes from her long sleep ! Music starts and the pair dance all the way to the moon! What a beautiful ending !

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-04 19:19 | Report Abuse

@Chrissy: Prince Charming is lost out there, need to provide a guidance write-up , would you mind doing so ? You are one of the very best candidate, much better than most of the IB's analysts......... ... ; )

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-04-04 21:44 | Report Abuse

“45%私專財困”‧ http://news.sinchew.com.my/node/417568

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-04 22:29 | Report Abuse

Great info @bsngpg, wonder how accurate is this pcs of information, nowadays I do not really trust prime media.
Sound like a great opportunity for smrt & megb, 120,000 student up for grab ...
yummie yummie

dotdotdot

445 posts

Posted by dotdotdot > 2015-04-04 23:07 | Report Abuse

Very bearish and no sign of rebounding yet...

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-04 23:13 | Report Abuse

If the 45% Private college financial crisis issues is for real that would help explain why Creador & SMRT is so bullish in turning MEGB around in a year time. Great management see an abundance opportunities in a big crisis危机即是契机

Looking at CUCMS history:-

CUCMS benefits from two medical school-related incidences – The collapse of Allianze University College of Medical Sciences (AUCMS), and the civil unrest in Egypt.

1) In early 2014, AUCMS, a medical university in Kepala Batas, Penang, hogged the headlines when it was revealed that its academic staff had not been paid their salaries due to financial woes and alleged financial mismanagement. Many academic staff members resigned and, as aresult, many government-sponsored medical students had to be transferred elsewhere. CUCMS received about 240 medical students from AUCMS.
2) Due to the civil and political unrest in Egypt in 2013, the Malaysian government brought home almost 2,800 medical, dental and pharmacy students from Egypt, who were then relocated to local universities. CUCMS received about 200 medical students from Egypt.

yongyou

4,676 posts

Posted by yongyou > 2015-04-05 07:53 | Report Abuse

sounded like there is a hope to rebound or keep going down to accumulate?

"moneyking88: Attractive price coming soon, please ensure your bullet fully loaded...

04/04/2015 11:04"

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-04-05 08:39 | Report Abuse

Mr Tornado: your info is more relevant to SMRT. Thks.

I have another a distance but related news for medical school which is :"Lim Liong Siek, ex-health minister commented weeks ago that our medical doctors are over flooded yet with very low quality."

I view it as threat and opportunity as well for SMRT.

Posted by moneyking88 > 2015-04-05 10:30 | Report Abuse

@yongyou, yup and pls prepare your bullet... Ensure your gun full with bullet...

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-05 11:30 | Report Abuse

Speaking about quality, CUCMS was awarded tier 5 of Setara '13 by MQA.
Poor quality was the main reason for MEGB under SivaK to downfall. I strongly believe SMRT is capable of bringing up AMU quality.

CUCMS won the 1st National Pharmacy Debate Competition (NPDC)
On the 13th September 2014, CUCMS Pharmacy Student Society (CUPSS) together with Malaysian Pharmacy Student Association (MyPSA), under a very charismatic project manager Mr. John Yeo Keh Hau, has managed to gather more than 50 delegates comprising of debaters and accompanying officers from 8 pharmacy schools in Malaysia to battle for the 1st ever MyPSA National Pharmacy Debate Competition (NPDC).

The competing pharmacy debate teams were from Universiti Malaya (UM), Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM), International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM), International Medical University (IMU), Segi University, Monash University, Taylor’s University and our very own CUCMS debaters.
Coached by Mr. Faris Ihsan Zubair and Ms. Rakinah Abd Rais from Year 4, our CUCMS debaters have managed to secure their victory and became the 1st champion of the President’s Cup, witnessed by hundreds of highly-enthusiastic home supporters. With the topic chosen “Traditional and complementary medicine should be prescribed”, the CUCMS debaters who were represented by Mr. Ahmad Fairus Afif Aziz (Year 2), Vitthia Ramamurti (Year 4), Rasathi Elliangovan (Year 2), and Emira Sham Syafira Shamsul Kamal (Year 1) had to overcome an equally-matched opponents from the IIUM in a very intense yet very refreshing final.

Congratulations to the CUCMS debaters and thank you to all student and staff of CUCMS who have contributed and shown their support in one way or another in ensuring the success of the team and the event. We hope that this win could lift up the spirits of all CUCMS students and staff to strive for more excellence in the future.

alphajack

3,685 posts

Posted by alphajack > 2015-04-05 14:59 | Report Abuse

Siva brought the donwfall of MEGB also partly because of his inexperience in the education industry. Siva is by profession an investment banker dealing with corporate finance and he thought he could grow MEGB to an over billion ringgit company but sadly it went downhill after his entry..Good for him he sold most of his stake, eventhough he lost a lot..let the ones who know what they are doing handle it. Am confident MEGB will be over 1 ringgit in a year. Smrt on the other hand, will bear more risks of having a big stake in MEGB now but will also thrive if MEGB turns around. As soon as MEGB has a proftaible month, rest assured SMRT will fly. But for now, it is not the case..hence I wait for 45 cents to collect lol

Posted by optimusfan > 2015-04-05 15:15 |

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-05 16:14 | Report Abuse

I am waiting to buy cheaper too.

armt

415 posts

Posted by armt > 2015-04-05 17:42 | Report Abuse

Just another thought, in light of weakening ringgit, this may deter parents from sending their kids overseas and attract foreigners to malaysia to study?

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-05 21:30 | Report Abuse

In addition to that, with the weakening ringgit , it would be much cheaper for foreign student to further their study in Malaysia.....

More importantly, I like the news on 40+% of the private colleges in financial trouble, this will help weeding out the low quality institutions and hence help building up Malaysia's reputation and aspiration to excel as an education centre in South-East Asia for foreign students....

With the strategies from Creador and the expertise from SMRT, I see great opportunity out there for SMRT to grow further, the acquisition of MEGB has bridge the "size " gap needed for SMRT to leap and bound....... well, definitely the risk is high, you have got to believe in the partnership to join the party..........

The rest of the things you need to do is " wait "

yongyou

4,676 posts

Posted by yongyou > 2015-04-06 06:46 | Report Abuse

thanks bro moneyking88, waiting @0.40

"moneyking88: @yongyou, yup and pls prepare your bullet... Ensure your gun full with bullet...

05/04/2015 10:30 "

Alibi

32 posts

Posted by Alibi > 2015-04-06 09:33 | Report Abuse

It is still not too late to Thank him only after you manage to get it at 40c la.....

Alibi

32 posts

Posted by Alibi > 2015-04-06 09:35 | Report Abuse

I am looking at 38c , want to thank me or not.... Cheaper ma.....

gorla

224 posts

Posted by gorla > 2015-04-06 10:14 | Report Abuse

yes SMRT still has great potential... after acquisition of MEGB , need consolidation , touch the bottom (.45) and then rebound, bullish formation and fly to RM 1 by year end

PgCat

342 posts

Posted by PgCat > 2015-04-06 16:18 | Report Abuse

turning soon....

armt

415 posts

Posted by armt > 2015-04-06 19:58 | Report Abuse

The General Offer for MEGB is completed by Creador. No more overhang now.

bryan_x00

165 posts

Posted by bryan_x00 > 2015-04-06 21:20 | Report Abuse

so tmr can start engine vroom vroom?

Posted by moneyking88 > 2015-04-06 22:02 | Report Abuse

Get prepared...

TomyamGong

4,139 posts

Posted by TomyamGong > 2015-04-06 23:16 | Report Abuse

No more overhang? Even if really no more hang, current price is still considered overvalued. Don't dreaming ok ..

armt

415 posts

Posted by armt > 2015-04-07 09:11 | Report Abuse

Idiot ol

Posted by kinkudes_hc > 2015-04-07 09:33 | Report Abuse

From announcement data, share buy back by SMRT at 6k units each at price range 0.490-0.500....... looks like SMRT really try to maintain the price at 0.495. Really puzzled on the motives.

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/anpth/1062318.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/anpth/1061585.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/anpth/1061315.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/anpth/1060843.jsp

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-04-07 09:59 | Report Abuse

Imao :- use knuckle to think also got the answer la.... ; )

Imho :- Buy back at 0.490~0.500 because they think it is a bargain at this level for the company to hold in treasury ma....
Why only little volume...., she should preserve cash for the expansion and work hard to turn around megb instead of dancing with the punters at KLSE.....

They meant business when they committed to turn around in a year time, go join VincentT party if you expect something else......... then you will find who is swimming naked when the tide is low...

LOL