CIMB GROUP HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CIMB (1023)

-0.05 (0.63%)

7.86 - 8.02

21 people like this.

18,439 comment(s). Last comment by stkoay 12 seconds ago

Gunplakk

139 posts

Posted by Gunplakk > 2021-01-18 14:41 | Report Abuse

Yes sell push the price down for me to buy

Riaz1954

1,299 posts

Posted by Riaz1954 > 2021-01-18 15:38 | Report Abuse

Impact of latest mco is exaggerated as many shops and servcies remain open. So not as bad as first mco...also businesses have learnt to survive. Significant bad debts related to oil and gas companies...and hit has been taken and oil has since recovered! Any farther correction is a buy. Even if the interest rates are dropped, the impact would be minimal.

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2021-01-18 15:50 |

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2021-01-18 15:51 | Report Abuse

Surely CIMB will go down one...

Posted by WaterBlower > 2021-01-18 16:15 | Report Abuse

Short9lan7e

Posted by WaterBlower > 2021-01-18 18:14 | Report Abuse

New PM announcement including this :-

Moratorium facility, including extension of the moratorium and restructuring of loan repayment will continue to be offered by banks

GG.SAOPEI.COM.MY

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2021-01-18 18:16 | Report Abuse

Wait for 3

Mytime

108 posts

Posted by Mytime > 2021-01-18 19:17 | Report Abuse

Aiyo why why why? Why dropped again?
Let's pray together.
I heard government going to compensate bank. Is it? Correct me if I'm dumb

Addy

294 posts

Posted by Addy > 2021-01-18 21:42 | Report Abuse

bank and property
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTuK8FUJGhU

Posted by 752_michael_chan > 2021-01-19 07:01 | Report Abuse

Don’t sell a share even as CIMB... stock dips

maxx papa

78 posts

Posted by maxx papa > 2021-01-19 07:04 | Report Abuse

OMG! Moratorium again? On first MCO, bought it at RM3.30, will the history repeat? I guess no! Maybe can wait at RM3.50 to RM3.80 (my personal guess)...

Posted by 752_michael_chan > 2021-01-19 07:43 | Report Abuse

Shorties must have influenced many investors to sell their shares.... We need positive and forward looking investors to be in this forum, not those pessimistic, everyday thinking sky is going to fall.

Posted by Thom1965 > 2021-01-19 07:47 | Report Abuse

Yes..need more positive input here

Posted by WaterBlower > 2021-01-19 08:35 | Report Abuse

Bang. Is not about positive and negative. Some people just telling real current situation. Not always pump in positive input eventhough is a lie

Should you tell a person who just recently lost their loved one that it is a good news where they deserves to die and you deserves better one?

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2021-01-19 08:55 | Report Abuse

OPR cut to be announced today! Good Luck!

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-01-19 08:55 |

Posted by 752_michael_chan > 2021-01-19 09:19 | Report Abuse

Chiong ar..

crystalyc

Posted by crystalyc > 2021-01-19 09:47 | Report Abuse

hi erm may i know what is OPR

Posted by WaterBlower > 2021-01-19 11:27 | Report Abuse

Crystalyc OPR is Overnight Policy Rate which is the bank interest rate set by Bank Negara
OPR will directly affect the bank saving deposit rates and also the lending rates

Gunplakk

139 posts

Posted by Gunplakk > 2021-01-19 11:36 | Report Abuse

On the contrary we need to make the sky fall so that we can profit from it... If it does not fall, how can I make a good spread? So it's not about spreading fake news and pushing it down... It's telling the situation as it is and for me, I really hope it drops. So that I can capitalize on it. So I will focus on the negative news. And the fact is that in the near term the sentiment is bad. Npl, moritorium, opr cuts and CIMB will have a poor q4 results... All these will push the share price down... So 350 to 380 is not impossible... Those looking to buy.... Think twice... There is more down pressure for now... The vaccine is already priced in. No more vaccine rally. Window dressing over. So sideline and hope for prices to drop. Gibbab!!!!!

JBond007

1,257 posts

Posted by JBond007 > 2021-01-19 12:55 | Report Abuse

@Gunplakk....Skyfall? No lah, I think you watch too much of my James Bond 007 movie.

99newbie

238 posts

Posted by 99newbie > 2021-01-19 14:51 | Report Abuse

collecting

stkoay

6,412 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2021-01-19 16:18 | Report Abuse

@JBond007.....Gunplakk sold already...now hoping to get back cheap...haha.

Gunplakk

139 posts

Posted by Gunplakk > 2021-01-19 21:49 | Report Abuse

Yup I sold when it was 469 recently.... Been collecting since 415...but I want more at cheaper price!!! Only way we can make more is for it to drop. I hope opr don't get cut.. my FD all badly impacted. I set my next purchase price is 380 which I think is possible. The signs are not good for banking for now and now peninsula fully mco... So see la tomorrow. Maybe will drop

Riaz1954

1,299 posts

Posted by Riaz1954 > 2021-01-19 23:46 | Report Abuse

There is no justification to drop OPR just yet given that CV rescue package has just been agreed. From pure economics point of OPR is not a precise tool, people impacted can be mor W targeted for help like moratorium on loans and direct help with salaries etc...OPR csn be used after the i pact of latest injection can be assessed. That’s my pennies worth. Let’s see tomorrow!

MoneyAndHoney

2,479 posts

Posted by MoneyAndHoney > 2021-01-20 06:50 | Report Abuse

Good Lord!

MoneyAndHoney

2,479 posts

Mashallah!

MoneyAndHoney

2,479 posts

All Malaysian states (except Sarawak) under MCO from Friday

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asia/malaysia-covid-19-mco-all-states-except-sarawak-jan-22-feb-4-13993694

MoneyAndHoney

2,479 posts

Oh dear

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-01-20 08:48 |

Posted by WaterBlower > 2021-01-20 10:09 | Report Abuse

Bang u kata turun....sekalang naik o....

maxx papa

78 posts

Posted by maxx papa > 2021-01-20 10:24 | Report Abuse

The Edge forecast BNM will announce no OPR change. Maybank 0.8%, why CIMB drop?

aliyusof

1,393 posts

Posted by aliyusof > 2021-01-20 12:51 | Report Abuse

No panic lah, this mco 2 is much lesser impact to mco 1 as all operations of most business continue this round.

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2021-01-20 15:08 |

meadow1628

1,084 posts

Posted by meadow1628 > 2021-01-20 15:37 | Report Abuse

Wednesday, 20 Jan 2021 3:08 PM MYT
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2021/01/20/bank-negara-maintains-opr-at-175

KUALA LUMPUR: Bank Negara Malaysia’s Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) kept the Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) unchanged at 1.75% during its meeting on Wednesday.
It said in a statement for Malaysia, the resurgence in Covid-19 cases and the introduction of targeted containment measures had affected the recovery momentum in the fourth quarter of 2020.
“As a result, growth for 2020 is expected to be near the lower end of the earlier forecasted range.
“For 2021, while near-term growth will be affected by the re-introduction of stricter containment measures, the impact will be less severe than that experienced in 2020, ” it said.
However, Bank Negara said the growth trajectory was projected to improve from the second quarter onwards.

Posted by WaterBlower > 2021-01-20 15:38 | Report Abuse

OPR maintain. Bank shoots up

Posted by WaterBlower > 2021-01-20 15:39 | Report Abuse

Buy!!! All in now is the chance to push the price together

Posted by fisherman11 > 2021-01-20 15:59 | Report Abuse

Last OPR cut on 7th July 2020, few days before that, the peak price was at 4.125. On 3rd Nov 2020, OPR continues maintain for 2nd time, the price climbed towards 4.75, also boosted because of vaccine news. So by right, today maintain, cimb should climb back to 4.7 in anticipation of vaccine and as well as this MCO being "effective".

stkoay

6,412 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2021-01-20 16:07 | Report Abuse

No OPR cut....Riaz1954 was spot on....salute and respect

Posted by onthewaytoforbes > 2021-01-20 16:20 | Report Abuse

time for CIMB bullish again

zerocool7199

1,236 posts

Posted by zerocool7199 > 2021-01-20 16:31 | Report Abuse

Yeah...gogogo

stkoay

6,412 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2021-01-20 17:06 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/maybank-kim-eng-positive-fundamentals-malaysian-equity-market

“I think banks are safe,” said Pathmakanthan, noting that no worries are needed about the fundamentals of the banks.

He said the banks have no balance sheet issue, as they have not only built up a “very strong” capital base, but they are also not short of liquidity.

“So far the news for the banking sector has been still quite good,” he said.

Citing the latest data from November, he noted that the gross impaired loans for the banking system is 1.5%, compared with the Bank Negara Malaysia’s (BNM) stress test, which was 3% by the end of 2020.

Thus, this means that impaired loans are tracking well below BNM's expectations.

Posted by Tedinvestor > 2021-01-20 17:39 | Report Abuse

Bank are best recovery stock.

Riaz54

157 posts

Posted by Riaz54 > 2021-01-20 21:58 | Report Abuse

Malaysian banks compared to their Western and developed markets are well capitalised and are generally more conservative in their investments. Western banks have rallied strongly even with rising bad debts. CIMB were unfortunate to have been hit by exposure to 2 large O&G companies in Singapore who defaulted. CIMB had significant exposure resulting in bad debt provision with little prospect for recovery. The worst is over in that respect and if anything the conservative provisioning of bad debt provision could see some reduction going forward. Time for share price to rally to 4.75-5.10 range and perhaps beyond once vaccine is distributed.

RiverOfSilver

2,833 posts

Posted by RiverOfSilver > 2021-01-20 22:33 | Report Abuse

According to Malaysian Rubber Glove Manufacturers Association (MARGMA), global glove demand is about 330 billion pieces per year & estimated to grow at 10% annually