CIMB GROUP HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CIMB (1023)

+0.04 (0.51%)

7.84 - 7.97

21 people like this.

18,453 comment(s). Last comment by stkoay 10 hours ago

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2015-01-28 12:37 | Report Abuse

Dow drop 300 CIMB up. If Dow tonight up, CIMB RM5.70.

JeevS

411 posts

Posted by JeevS > 2015-01-28 12:54 | Report Abuse

how long do you think this epf is gonna support our local funds? US will perform QE4 to support their stock market and recession. our ringgit keep dropping? why? its more like we are having our own QE silently in central bank (3.617 vs usd). pls tell me one good thing is happening in our economy...amuse me pls. not sure why many ppl long the usd? asia has nw more flow in euro than usd

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-01-28 13:04 | Report Abuse

One good thing in Malaysia economy is you never will become a jobless man....job and opportunity is everywhere see you want to work or not ....you can work from 8am-8pm the continue to work from 9pm to 7am....I believe you will get the job very easy in Malaysia...just dunno you physically can tahan or not...

SinGor

4,882 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-28 13:17 | Report Abuse

The art in supporting One stock price is rather easy. Just take out the day traders but make sure foreign funds do not sell. I see this in RHB cap many months ago and Cimb yesterday and today.
If US initiate QE4 which is useless, it is good news for us b'cos foreign funds are here to stay.
Our FD is 3.5% And US is zero or Negative rate ( you pay interest to Bank)
Falling ringgit is neutral to me b'cos we buy raw material (high price) Sell at US$ (converting
back --no gain). The only big problem is Gov's GLC who had US$ loan -- Tenaga/1MDB/Telekom
Our sovereign bond rating is going to be downgraded

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2015-01-29 09:15 | Report Abuse

EPF buying non stop.

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2015-01-29 09:50 | Report Abuse

Why foreign funds are backing out of Malaysian market? Is it because of GST or any other potential problems or recession is creeping in? EPF buying may not be a good sign.

lcwin

326 posts

Posted by lcwin > 2015-01-29 10:43 | Report Abuse

foreign funds couldn't care if we eat cat for breakfast if they can make a fast buck. Like I said bfore headwind in the banking sector is getting stronger. Usually the weakest bank stock will start to fall first. EPF sorry if you follow their buy sell decision more like bomoh style looking at coconut tree for tips. They were buying FGV at the top price aggressively but then again it is to support price for big buaya to exit after IPO. You paylah. Real Interest rate in Malaysia is already negative for many years to support growth and Gov huge borrowing. CIMB is a legacy bank from BBMB with most of the staff still there been bankrap 3 time with endless scandals, stupid services. There is not much foreign fund here anyway so quite easy for our local funds to manipulate the market. Be objective in your valuation of stock, hope and going against tread is not a good strategy. Lastly for newbies very sorry this 2 months have been hell for you since as far as I know every expert advice to hold, If you need some tips just google my name here to see what I have say to help you along. I am no expert just some random posting here and there to share my ideas in investing

SinGor

4,882 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-29 11:56 | Report Abuse

Icwin. So you think EPF is the saviour of virgins. EPF cast the biggest fishing in town.
Ikan bilis like me is trying to steal some bread crumb from EPF. Once it is harvest time, I
try to leap off. If get caught, I will paid some ransom. Next cycle begins.

lcwin

326 posts

Posted by lcwin > 2015-01-29 12:20 | Report Abuse

EPF is savior to only the chosen ones not you lah! I usually never play in areas where EPF play. Of course certain time when the stock is too good to resist. Harvest must be at least 3 times ransom then can think otherwise carry makan elsewhere. Just dig up my old post and see if what I say make sense as I cannot elaborate here too lengthy

SinGor

4,882 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-29 12:32 | Report Abuse

Every Bursa index counters, All manufacturing counters, All bank services counters, Big
constructions counters And even Puncak (small peanut) has EPF investment. So where are
you playing??? Please Tell. Got to check. Maybe can make Good money

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-01-29 13:57 | Report Abuse

JN88, so true, jobs are abundant.
Jeevs, what has got to do with a good company? Didn't my nick already mentioned "Good Companies"? Of course i check on them from time to time. Good service experience is everything to the company. Money comes later. Without it, no money, just musical chair.
I just bought new tranche of CIMB shares.

SinGor

4,882 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-29 14:28 | Report Abuse

Still waiting to jump in. Leave at 5.85/5.90

lcwin

326 posts

Posted by lcwin > 2015-01-29 16:35 | Report Abuse

Singor yes they r everywhere but they concentrate and churn stk with big volume. You know big game fishing? Long string. good bait and patient. I usually never play stk with huge volume however attractive it is. Thats why I am ok now run when stk in a downward bias (sounds familiar CIMB?) For your info I am only invested 20% now, I was 100% invested around sept and cut as market goes down. If you so love your stk then you die with your stk Hhaha... Present strategy is hit and run. Volatile timemah. Who say running will make you miss the upside? I am still making many time my capital during this 2 years. I usually don't recc stock bcos I don't analyses them, I get ideas here and there dig for info if I think got potential the buy on the way UP that is why I all over the place looking for Ideas incl here to see whats up at CIMB

SinGor

4,882 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-29 16:49 | Report Abuse

Now fishing at Hutan Melintang, Perak but Spidan is my favorite. Untill the Sakai from Philiippines
said it is their land. Also doing small fishing in bursa but bait always taken by shark

lcwin

326 posts

Posted by lcwin > 2015-01-29 17:06 | Report Abuse

Why u go fishing in deep see sure lots of shark! Go sg Perak , trengganu can catch nice patin no sweat. Shark go where there is lots of ikan bilis can goreng all together one go. Research good counters and once targeted go in slowly and buy all the way up as volume built up once huge vol is there don't buyloh wait to exit. One year if can get 2 to 3 round enough. Normal time just play kacang putih here and there. Never Never buy on the way down!!!

SinGor

4,882 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-29 17:12 | Report Abuse

learning technic now

SinGor

4,882 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-30 14:55 | Report Abuse

Guy, EPF loaded RHB with rocket propel bullets today. Sadly the same EPF's technic
didn't work in CIMB

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-01-30 15:11 | Report Abuse

HUMANSENSE...I believe outside people bought CIMB more than RHB...
Even pasar raya...unty uncle all said CIMB good to buy....Umno balblabal@#$%

SinGor

4,882 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-30 16:01 | Report Abuse

Pasar Uncle rush for exit when make enough profit for One Roast Duck

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-01-30 16:17 | Report Abuse

RM5.50/5.51 Huge lots blocking..what happend ?

Posted by lepaklangkawi > 2015-01-30 16:38 | Report Abuse

three words - Proprietary Day Traders - belonging to PO's

Fong Kh

1,836 posts

Posted by Fong Kh > 2015-01-30 16:39 | Report Abuse

tak faham the tiga words

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-01-30 16:59 | Report Abuse

I also x faham...too deep... lol

SinGor

4,882 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-01-30 17:06 | Report Abuse

EPF declare 6.4% interest today. I think EPF is using all my stock ransom for interest payment

Fong Kh

1,836 posts

Posted by Fong Kh > 2015-01-30 17:09 | Report Abuse

on paper only. syiok sendiri

Posted by CheeBaiTat > 2015-02-02 21:49 | Report Abuse

i prefer BIMB...a lot more growing potential and deeply undervalued

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2015-02-02 22:15 | Report Abuse

CIMB is index-linked stock but not BIMB so EPF will buy more to support. The reason for recent CIMB drop is their heavy exposure to O&G sector loan. If oil price rebounded CIMB has good chance to rebound as well.

kaonryou

30 posts

Posted by kaonryou > 2015-02-03 00:12 | Report Abuse

Most likely will report a loss in the upcoming result dragged by CIMB Niaga.

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2015-02-03 13:28 | Report Abuse

At RM5.50 support levl I wld think all the bad news on CIMB are factored it and the last quarter reporting in “red” shld not come as a surprise esp. there is this given opportunity for the CIMB Mgmt to provide a bigger provision in that quarter. CIMB is a state owned Bank and the stake is very damaging if it failed. Holding it at RM5.50 is a safe bet.

Ah Ha

905 posts

Posted by Ah Ha > 2015-02-03 21:38 | Report Abuse

Tp 4.50 until next q. Wait and see. So far did not see any bank invest outside of malaysia have good result. Bank is very regulated in alll country. No big money in or out.. Hence won't think cimb will profit from ind, thai or vietnam..... Until they sold the share bank to local banker.... Wait anc see...

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2015-02-04 00:01 | Report Abuse

Dow and oil up today. CIMB to follow?
CIMB Niaga only report less profit not loss.

vinvin

4,492 posts

Posted by vinvin > 2015-02-04 09:16 | Report Abuse

rich y u right n Iphone4 is talking nonsense! Where got reporting "RED"!!!??? Trade at own risk

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-02-04 12:46 | Report Abuse

Oil up only for OIL COUNTER ~
Look at PCHEM , SKPETRO , BENALEC....
BANK should be slow and steady ~

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2015-02-04 17:17 | Report Abuse

The general public (Most of us) will expect a bad 4q for CIMB. If it is a US MNC the Mgm will take this opportunity to take a bigger write-off provision (Prov. For redundancy payment, asset write down for product discontinuation etc) in that qtr. What can be worst for the Mgmt when the general investors already accepted it. If CIMB Board of Directors exercise this golden to opportunity I can accept it cld be “red reporting qtr” and a clean start for the next first Qtr. @Ah Ha under these circumstances I agree with U the TP cld be good at RM4.50 until the next QTR. BTW @vinvin this assumption of mine is only for like thinking individual. I don’t think u are up to it yet, it wld be just a “ talk nonsense” to you.

kaonryou

30 posts

Posted by kaonryou > 2015-02-04 20:33 | Report Abuse

Let us just hope that it won't be so bad that Niaga CEO's head go rolling.

Fong Kh

1,836 posts

Posted by Fong Kh > 2015-02-06 15:50 | Report Abuse

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-02-06 17:19 | Report Abuse

6.0 coming soon ...like that baru steady... sad no enter this counter...too expensive for my level..

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2015-02-06 19:25 | Report Abuse

With the latest CIMB announcement on structural changes in the Mgmt Team /non-performers have to go and their commitment to T18 (Target 2018), this bold move is welcoming news to CIMB investors. Hve faith in the new lineup and hold on to your holdings – the next few qtrs. reporting will tell.

Havefun

379 posts

Posted by Havefun > 2015-02-06 21:36 | Report Abuse

Good that EPF keeps supporting!!!!

Posted by boneybull > 2015-02-09 09:39 | Report Abuse

Malaysia's CIMB says to close Australian investment banking ops

(Reuters) - CIMB Group Holdings Bhd, Malaysia's second-biggest lender by assets, said on Monday is was closing its investment banking operations in Australia following a review of its entire business....(more in TERAS FINANCIAL NEWS )

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-02-09 14:09 | Report Abuse

AFFIN GIVE TP : RM5 !! LOL !!

SinGor

4,882 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2015-02-09 15:03 | Report Abuse

Affin is always the nail sticking out to be hammered. Always throw out by me

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2015-02-09 17:31 | Report Abuse

CIMB Mgmt shld scale down or total pull out of international IB biz rather than hold on and bleed , if they (Mgmt) feel they are not up to mark in this area. For me pulling out of Australia is a progressive move and likewise we shld not be worried if they (mgmt.) do the same (or scale down) for the Thailand and Indonesia Biz. In Malaysia CIMB is operating like a state owned Bank with monopolistic right on most govt. related banking/controlled (GLC) biz which will keep CIMB afloat – this is the plus point to hold the share.
The big question is what is in for us (small investors like us, hoping to make some money) – we are going to put money in (invest) but at what price (Buy) – RM5.50 or lower is good enough?

Fong Kh

1,836 posts

Posted by Fong Kh > 2015-02-09 19:02 | Report Abuse

5.0 or lower is very good

davidkkw79

5,068 posts

Posted by davidkkw79 > 2015-02-10 11:35 | Report Abuse

If cimb down another 10% to rm 5.0....still not attractive... wait it down to rm 4. Rm 4 is just fair enough price due its recent earning.

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-02-10 12:07 | Report Abuse

Another HAMMERED at RM5.60 ~~ I believe nx wave coming soon...

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2015-02-10 12:20 | Report Abuse

Hve to wait for the Qtr 4 reporting if there is chance of getting @RM5.00 and below. Am sure EPF will lend support to avoid embarrassment.

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2015-02-10 12:36 | Report Abuse

CIMB never failed to pay dividend for the past 10 years. At conservative 20sen dividend and buying in @RM5 get us a 4% return . A good deal to hedge for future capital gain. For me I am okay with 3.8% dividend return if the capital gain is going to be promising in next couple of quarters.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-02-11 09:13 | Report Abuse

iphone4, yes that's right. At this level, i think it is quite cheap. Lots of negative news, but looking ahead, i think they are on the right footing. If malaysia's economy wavers, all other banks will suffer, especially Public Bank. Some diversification is necessary. I am bullish on Indon economy for the next few years.