Mbsb is very undervalued currently. Looks like panic sellers wiped out and high probability it turn green after break coupled with higher TP by Kenanga today.
i agree with member41. will now go back to MBSB old ding dong price of 2.10 -2.20 a) price pushed down by greedy directors who keeps on issuing ESOS and then sell off in the market. b) price picked up again by the market in anticipation of dividend history repeating.
MBSB (MBS MK; OP; TP↓ RM2.65 based on blended PB/PE ratio of 1.5/9.1x).
We were caught by surprise that the proposed merger of CIMB Islamic, RHB Islamic and MBSB was also called off, given that the proposed creation of the mega-Islamic bank was independent of the CIMB-RHBCAP merger and acquisition. Since the deal is a no-go, we are reverting to our former TP of RM2.65, which was derived based on a blended PB/PE ratio of 1.5/9.1x. The P/B ratio applied is 2SD below the group’s 2-year mean in anticipation of lower ROE of 21.6%/17.5% for FY14/FY15 vis-à-vis its 3-year range of 34%-43%. The P/E ratio, on the other hand, represents the group’s historical average P/E ratio up to end-2013. To recap, we are expecting diversification into the corporate business lending segment which seems to be showing promise with corporate loans stock at end-Sept 2014 standing at RM4.8bn. Asset quality, however, remains a concern. Nevertheless, management appears committed to enhancing its asset quality especially in the personal financing segment. Hence, the GIL ratio may improve (9M14: 7.5%).
At current share price levels, such concerns would have been fully factored in.
dunno... glut feeling it will drop below 2 soon!...af the deal called off... otherwise, it wont have tht kind of fears... and those sharks will start collect it below 2... i hope i m wrong... the thing will go worst 1st before bak to normal with the dividen... good lucks...
The EPS for this counter is actually dropping comparing to previous yr due to recent right issues... Therefore, if it can maintain the dividen payout as last yr around 10% (10 sen approx) per annuum..consider..it is satisfactory la...
I lose many on this counter and MYEG. thought they will rebound back fews days ago. but MYEG today suddenly up and most of us no buying, this counter still drop highly although market is recover. No idea which counter can be buy anymore, total losing 16k this month.
I already lose so much, so this time I no buy much, just buy 5 lot to check for market, still need to extra pay for agent trip. That is why I need all sftu giving a strong TP so I will buy back .
fundamentally this counter is very promising..but i just have no idea why the price just can't soar. I donno whether should i just sell it or hold. Need some input from all the sifus here
MBSB sticks to its plan to be a commercial bank By YVONNE TAN yvonne@thestar.com.my StarBiz 17 January 2015
NON-BANK lender Malaysia Building Society Bhd (MBSB) will continue to “close all gaps” and move towards a commercial banking platform environment now that talks of a merger with CIMB Group Holdings Bhd and RHB Capital Bhd have fallen through. “We started the journey to close the gaps (between MBSB and that of a commercial bank) more than a year ago. We will continue with that strategy now that the merger is sorted,” president and chief executive officer Datuk Ahmad Zaini Othman tells StarBizWeek. The main requirement for the company to fulfil this aspiration is principally, capital requirement. Currently, its Tier 1 capital stands at RM1.747bil, while what it needs to have is around RM2.5bil based on the bank’s asset base, according to Ahmad. “Of course, besides capital requirement, operational readiness is also important,” he adds, without giving any timeframe for it to achieve this goal. MBSB used to come under a more relaxed set of provisioning rules until the Financial Services Act came into effect in July 2013. Since then, it has been adopting more stringent accounting standards under FRS 139 when assessing its asset quality. Generally, more loans are being classified under the ‘impaired’ or ‘non-performing’ category compared with before the adoption of the accounting standards. Ahmad says since the beginning of last year, MBSB has been assessing the company’s non-performing loans (NPLs) based on industry standards of three months in arrears, something that is practised by the best of commercial banks. “I am sure you will see some of these provisions reflected in our financial year 2014 (FY14) results, but in my opinion, it won’t dent much of the profits. “As part of our plans to close the gaps, we are also looking at rolling out a write-off policy that would be in line with banking standards,” adds Ahmad. For the nine months ended Sept 30, 2014, MBSB’s net profit stood at RM622mil on a revenue of RM2.02bil against a net profit of RM464mil on a revenue of RM1.82bil for the same period a year earlier. It is expected to announce a set of record results for its FY14 soon, something it has been doing over the past few years. MBSB is better favoured among its counterparts for its strong loans growth and dividend payouts. It declared 33 sen per share in FY12 and 10 sen per share in FY13. Analysts point out that MBSB’s financial strength is backed by a continued cost-toincome ratio of below 21% against the commercial banking industry’s standard of above 40%, with its profitability trajectory in the past few years remaining in line with market expectations. “Its low cost-to-income ratio makes it an attractive target for banks with high costs because MBSB can help bring down the average cost,” says a banker. Over the past four years, the group has built its asset base mainly from lending funds to civil servants for them to buy homes, which is considered less risky compared to lending to corporates or getting involved in big-ticket-item loans. As at its latest quarter, it had a net asset value of RM1.58 per share. At last look, MBSB shares were trading at RM2.09 apiece. In the aborted merger, the shareholders had been offered RM2.82 per share. Since the merger was called off, MBSB’s share price has come under selling pressure. Just before the merger was cancelled on Wednesday, StarBiz had reported that declining market conditions had cast doubts over the synergies that could be derived from the entire exercise, with negotiations turning to whether MBSB should be part of the deal or not. This was because the takeover of MBSB was supposed to be in the form of an all-cash offer and there were uncertainties as to when synergies could actually be reaped. CIMB and RHB Cap were less of an issue, considering that the deal between them had been structured as a share-swap exercise, valuing both banks at reasonable price-tobook ratios. MBSB has a total of 1,300 employees and 46 branches, the smallest player in the triangle of parties that were involved in the nowceased merger.
This monday must collect more...sure mbsb will fly...4 qtr will out on 28/1...better result...so,next week 2.20 and above....no problem.....byk murah this level.... i think no more 2.10 and below...
People who like this
You should check in on some of those fields below.
Title
Category
Comment
Confirmation
Click Confirm to delete this Forum Thread and all the associated comments.
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
jacklintan
1,722 posts
Posted by jacklintan > 2015-01-15 10:21 | Report Abuse
kakashii very pandai do promotion hor...