MBSB BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MBSB (1171)

0.715 - 0.725

30 people like this.

22,746 comment(s). Last comment by Yippy68 1 day ago

Posted by lepaklangkawi > 2015-01-13 17:22 | Report Abuse

MBSB in big big big twouble loh

mana white knight?

if not maybe 1.50 acheivable

SaintPao

37 posts

Posted by SaintPao > 2015-01-13 17:26 | Report Abuse

merger may call off; existing business still on going; expected rebound to RM 2.20 soon

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2015-01-13 17:32 | Report Abuse

My good friend once told me this " you buy it cheap, it gonna get cheaper "
Do not buy because it is cheap, there are reason for it to be cheap....., buy only provided it has reached a price that fit your investment criteria and you will not get panic even if it strikes a lower price....

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-01-13 17:40 | Report Abuse

Haha panic sellers la...it shld not go below pre-merger price...today oversold!

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2015-01-13 17:47 | Report Abuse

ha ha ha , easier said than done - I always panic and I always fear this cheap can get cheaper syndrome ! don't anyhow shout 1.50 achievable - this level can cause heart attack !

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-01-13 17:49 | Report Abuse

Good company...Maybank buy become bigger first

Posted by 8illionaire > 2015-01-13 17:51 | Report Abuse

yeah man, if maybank purchase it at 2.82 (or better)
horseh.

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-01-13 17:54 | Report Abuse

If maybank buy first...the other banks can forget mega merger....just watch...now mbsb is undervalued...very good opportunity

Posted by Prcmenon Menon > 2015-01-13 18:31 | Report Abuse

collect collect collect this will be a good mid term investment, meanwhile enjoy the good dividends.

Crowwy

355 posts

Posted by Crowwy > 2015-01-13 18:48 | Report Abuse

The drop of MBSB has nothing to do with its fundamental. In the last four years, MBSB has been consistently outperforming the sector and has been giving out steady dividends. For the first three quarters, it had a net asset value of RM1.57 per share, and the dividend declared amounted to 24.33 sen per share.MBSB is expected to announce soon record profits for its financial year ended Dec 31 (FY14).
Given the drastic price drop, it is ridicules that MBSB price was worst compare to pre merger in July last year. Under the proposed merger, shareholders of MBSB would be offered cash of RM2.82 per share, but sources have said that CIMB might not be too keen to pay so much for MBSB against a weaker market outlook for the banking sector.

Crowwy

355 posts

Posted by Crowwy > 2015-01-13 18:49 | Report Abuse

Given the drop is only relate to 'news of merger being call off', this is best entry price ever from MBSB. Buy

1,403 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2015-01-13 18:59 | Report Abuse

This mbsb has lots of npl. So with the mrger failure, probably problem surface soon.

Crowwy

355 posts

Posted by Crowwy > 2015-01-13 19:03 | Report Abuse

Do you have a proof? the past four years, MBSB had built its asset base mainly from lending to civil servants, who are less risky. It has stayed away from lending to corporates or getting involved in big-ticket-item loans,” said the official.

MBSB’s financial strength continues to be “sound”, he added, backed by a continued cost-to-income ratio of below 21% against the commercial banking industry’s standard of above 40%, with its profitability trajectory remaining in line with market expectations.

Posted by paperplane > Jan 13, 2015 06:59 PM | Report Abuse

This mbsb has lots of npl. So with the mrger failure, probably problem surface soon.

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-01-13 19:14 | Report Abuse

Majority the mbsb customers are govt servant dude...where got npl

Posted by Jian Bin Siew > 2015-01-13 19:15 | Report Abuse

If MBSB not lend much to 1MDB, their NPL is under control in my opinion as their personal loan to gov servant is a lot.

1,403 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2015-01-13 19:15 | Report Abuse

Apa npl figures for it.

Crowwy

355 posts

Posted by Crowwy > 2015-01-13 19:25 | Report Abuse

First you post that MBSB has lots of npl. For you information MBSB provision for npl is 26 millions against 4 billions cash.

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-01-13 19:30 | Report Abuse

Mbsb has no oil n gas loan exposure...

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-01-13 19:32 | Report Abuse

Huatttt aarrrrr hahah

hwangte

30 posts

Posted by hwangte > 2015-01-13 19:35 | Report Abuse

Read the replies of RHB, CIMB and MBSB to SC query on the merger this afternoon on Bursa Malaysia websites. All the three parties indicated that they will continue to be discussing on the merger issue tomorrow. They did not say the merger is off yet.

kakashii

321 posts

Posted by kakashii > 2015-01-13 19:46 | Report Abuse

No official announcement whether merger called off. Reuters new quoted "sources".

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2015-01-13 19:51 | Report Abuse

@hwangte, thank you for highlighting that "the parties to the Proposed Merger are still in discussions". So, it is still on the table. Period.

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-01-13 19:53 | Report Abuse

Yes....still discussion....our gomen want face....they purposely goreng cimb shares close to rhb then push through the deal later this week...

kakashii

321 posts

Posted by kakashii > 2015-01-13 19:58 | Report Abuse

On behalf of CIMB Group Holdings Berhad ("CIMB Group"), CIMB Investment Bank Berhad wishes to clarify that the PARTIES ARE STILL IN DISCUSSIONS with respect to the above said proposed mega merger (“Proposed Merger”). The Board of Directors of CIMB Group will be meeting on Wednesday (14 January 2015) to DISCUSS THE PROPOSED MERGER. Should there be any material development on the Proposed Merger which warrants disclosure, the appropriate announcement will be made on Bursa Securities accordingly.

This announcement is dated 13 January 2015.

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1850953

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2015-01-13 19:59 | Report Abuse

who give information to TheEdge?? still no official announcement.

kakashii

321 posts

Posted by kakashii > 2015-01-13 19:59 | Report Abuse

Posted by cipapo > Jan 13, 2015 07:53 PM | Report Abuse

Yes....still discussion....our gomen want face....they purposely goreng cimb shares close to rhb then push through the deal later this week...

You probable right. Tomorrow will see MBSB regain price if confirm merger still on.

kakashii

321 posts

Posted by kakashii > 2015-01-13 20:01 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow RHB/CIMB/MBSB to meet to discuss proposed merger. Cimb didn't say the merger was off. This is official reply to SC. They can't lie to SC.

kakashii

321 posts

Posted by kakashii > 2015-01-13 20:03 | Report Abuse

Read the official announcement, CIMB OFFICIAL DENY MERGER IS OFF

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-01-13 20:32 | Report Abuse

According to TheEdge Financial Daily, the proposed mega merger comprising CIMB-RHBCapital-MBSB could be called off, with an official announcement expected by this week. The Daily cited that the respective boards are supposed to meet on Wednesday when it will be formally expressed that the deal is off. (Source: The Edge Financial Daily)

Comment: Our views remain unchanged as per our note issued on 12 Jan 2014, where we also cited media speculation and factors which could lead to a potential shelving of the proposal. At this juncture, we do not expect much re-rating on CIMB (HOLD, PT RM5.00 based on 1.08x CY15 P/BV) and RHBCap (HOLD, PT RM6.90 based on 0.88x CY15 P/BV). We believe that CIMB’s share price will continue to underperform due to the risky sector exposure (at CIMB Niaga), competition in Indonesia and weaker non-interest income generation due to a lacklustre capital market. We also do not foresee strong re-rating catalyst for RHBCap owing to a slowdown in consumer spending amidst a moderation in corporate loans growth.

Nonetheless, we note that MBSB (BUY, PT RM2.75 at 1.46x CY15 P/BV) may continue to face some selling pressure but we believe that at this juncture, share price remains undervalued at a CY15 P/E of 7x. We do see a support for MBSB’s share price at RM2.15-2.20, which is the price level traded prior to the announcement of the merger proposal.

Read carefully... Nobody said merger off... Only the edge claim... Haha....let's all mbsbian huatttt arr!!!!....

twngxxxx

137 posts

Posted by twngxxxx > 2015-01-13 20:34 | Report Abuse

http://www.malaysiastock.biz/Corporate-Infomation.aspx?type=A&value=M&source=M&securityCode=1171
try to check this, profit increase to 811 million for FY2014 compared to 597 million FY2013

twngxxxx

137 posts

Posted by twngxxxx > 2015-01-13 20:35 | Report Abuse

35% increase of profit.............

kakashii

321 posts

Posted by kakashii > 2015-01-13 20:35 | Report Abuse

edge daily no credibility .. publish speculation news on merger. Huat ah Cipapo, now that CIMB official announcement. Remember MBSB cash payout of 2.82 per share compare to 2.06. Big returns await..huat arrr !!!!

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-01-13 20:39 | Report Abuse

Haha big fatt angpow kakashii

forexkaki

36 posts

Posted by forexkaki > 2015-01-13 21:48 | Report Abuse

Insider news : the deal is ON, but is Lower than 2.82 . FYI only ( let c 2molo)

Posted by stickypoop > 2015-01-13 22:00 | Report Abuse

no deal should be good news...tomorow sure will rise more than 30 sen

Joel

4,580 posts

Posted by Joel > 2015-01-13 22:02 | Report Abuse

Another point is that If dint get merger ,
MBSB also can buy at this level of today's closing price.
The deal will discuss on tomorrow morning.
Cimb, Rhbcap's big shareholders 已经利用这MEGA MERGER OF BANK
来刺激市场情绪。

总结来说:MBSB 很无辜,但现在股价很吸引。

beso

2,137 posts

Posted by beso > 2015-01-13 22:44 | Report Abuse

if the deal is called off tomorrow,what will be the share price?your money your decision

Posted by 8illionaire > 2015-01-13 22:47 | Report Abuse

who still reads the edge? lol.

cfoong

1,189 posts

Posted by cfoong > 2015-01-13 23:05 | Report Abuse

No matter wht the merger is on or off, if u thk it is undervalue! BUY!.. kikikikikikiki... Merger wont add value to the business anyway...

Posted by drkervokian > 2015-01-13 23:29 | Report Abuse

Am just accumulating at weakness for dividend and special dividend for Q4 around End April 2015. .

jacklintan

1,722 posts

Posted by jacklintan > 2015-01-13 23:32 | Report Abuse

Regardless of the merger, cfoong is right. <RM2.05 is good buy price.

kakashii

321 posts

Posted by kakashii > 2015-01-13 23:54 | Report Abuse

Confirm by Cimb merger is on. The speculation merger off was create by the edge, reuters and Bloomberg. Big syndicate to profit from MBSB sell rout. Offer by Cimb is 2.82 to MBSB. At 2.06, this is 37% guarantee return ! Tomorrow I shall buy as much as possible on top of today 2.09

tyran

94 posts

Posted by tyran > 2015-01-13 23:57 | Report Abuse

dont dismiss the edge so easily, among all the business news sources they are one of the most reliable thus far

that being said, i am a cynical person, therefore i believe all this drama is done on purpose to nego for a cheaper deal among all parties

kakashii

321 posts

Posted by kakashii > 2015-01-14 00:00 | Report Abuse

The Edge has been publishing many speculative news before. They are part of bigger syndicates. Rely on official announcement from bursa Malaysia. Cimb already make announcement via bursa query and deny merger is on going. Who do you believe? The Edge or Bursa?

firehawk

4,783 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2015-01-14 00:01 | Report Abuse

a test on Nazir Tun A Razak, whether his saying can be trusted .....

lloydlim

3,986 posts

Posted by lloydlim > 2015-01-14 00:02 | Report Abuse

Review of Budget 2015, Najib is high possibility cut down administration expenses, this shall eventually affected MBSB outlook! Only worth to start accumulate for price below 1.80

tyran

94 posts

Posted by tyran > 2015-01-14 00:19 | Report Abuse

@kakashii, i agree the edge has published many speculative news before, some proven true, some not - but i feel their track record is more to being proven true.

if u look at the answer to the bursa query, all the banks are saying is that the parties are still in discussion, and there will be a board meeting tomorrow.

this statement is clearly not a lie, a meeting is happening, and they will discuss. what it does not confirm/deny is the edge story that the discussion will end with calling the merger off

i hold shares in mbsb too, i wish for the merger to be on. However i cannot blindly say that the bursa announcement on 13-jan means merger confirm on.

all i know is tomorrow will be an interesting day for this counter =)

RedEagle

3,194 posts

Posted by RedEagle > 2015-01-14 07:48 | Report Abuse

speculate motive to buy at lower price when investors panic to sell.. bounce back..