PUBLIC BANK BHD

KLSE (MYR): PBBANK (1295)

-0.08 (1.71%)

4.57 - 4.66

20 people like this.

15,491 comment(s). Last comment by lawkaw 4 hours ago

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-16 13:31 |

neohts

2,333 posts

Posted by neohts > 2021-03-16 13:33 | Report Abuse

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2021/03/16/recovery-in-profit

Recovery in profit
The research firm reiterates its “overweight” call on the sector underpinned by the expected recovery in banks’ net profit growth. It’s top picks for the sector are Public Bank Bhd, Hong Leong Bank Bhd and RHB Bank Bhd.

It noted that none of the Malaysian banks have been able to rival Public Bank’s operational efficiency, as reflected by its consistently lowest cost-to-income ratio, which stood at 32.7% in 4Q20. This was significantly below the sector’s average of 44.4%.

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-16 13:36 | Report Abuse

And of course, the one and only Special Keyman188 is an esteemed and large supporter/shareholder of PBB.

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2021-03-16 15:24 | Report Abuse

Recovery in profit
By GURMEET KAUR
BANKING
Tuesday, 16 Mar 2021

“We are projecting a recovery in banks’ core net profit growth to 6% in 2021 versus an estimated 10.8% slide in 2020, which would be driven by two earnings catalysts, ” CGS-CIMB Research said in its latest report.

PETALING JAYA: After three consecutive quarters of aggressive provisioning by banks to beef up their buffer against potential bad loans following the Covid-19 pandemic, banks may not need to bulk up like before.

With a more favourable operating environment now, CGS-CIMB Research believes that banks are at a turning point for a loan loss provision (LLP) downcycle from the first quarter of 2021 (Q1’21), which in turn should improve their profitability.

“We are projecting a recovery in banks’ core net profit growth to 6% in 2021 versus an estimated 10.8% slide in 2020, which would be driven by two earnings catalysts, ” it said in its latest report.

The first catalyst is a turnaround in the growth of net interest income from a drop of 4.5% in 2020 to an expansion of 4.7% forecast in 2021 on the back of stable interest rates this year.

Second, is “a projected decline of 37.7% in LLP vis-à-vis a surge of 167.3% in 2020.

Banks’ LLP had surged to a high of RM4.54bil in Q420 causing net profit for that period to tumble by 33% year-on-year (y-o-y).

“We believe that banks’ LLP would have peaked in 4Q20 and are at an inflection point for an LLP downcycle in Q121, ” it added.

It notes that a positive take from the banks’ Q420 results was a return to y-o-y growth in net interest income, after declines in the previous two quarters.

This was in line with the research firm’s expectation, given the absence of an overnight policy rate (OPR) cut in Q420, leading to a 7 basis point quarter-on-quarter (q-o-q) expansion in net interest margin (NIM).

Not expecting an OPR cut in 2021, CGS-CIMB expects NIM to continue to improve q-o-q in Q121 and Q221.

In terms of banks’ return on equity (ROE), it had dipped to 6.5% in 4Q20, from 10.1% in 4Q19 and 7.7% in 3Q20.

This was due to a 33% y-o-y drop in Q420 net profit vis-à-vis the 4.5% y-o-y rise in shareholders’ funds at end-Dec 2020.

Notably, banks’ ROE has been suppressed at single-digit rates in the past four quarters since the start of the Covid-19 outbreak in early-2020.

On a more positive note, the two earnings catalysts should more than offset the three negative trends CGS-CIMb expects this year.

These are slower loan growth of 2-3% versus 3.4% in 2020; a projected 4.5% drop in non-interest income and a 9.5% increase in overheads in 2021 after coming in almost flattish last year.

The research firm reiterates its “overweight” call on the sector underpinned by the expected recovery in banks’ net profit growth. It’s top picks for the sector are Public Bank Bhd, Hong Leong Bank Bhd and RHB Bank Bhd.

It noted that none of the Malaysian banks have been able to rival Public Bank’s operational efficiency, as reflected by its consistently lowest cost-to-income ratio, which stood at 32.7% in 4Q20. This was significantly below the sector’s average of 44.4%.

PUBLIC BANK TOP 1.

wintoomuch

128 posts

Posted by wintoomuch > 2021-03-16 15:33 | Report Abuse

But EPF don't like TOP 1.... and they prefer LAST 1. -_-

stevee

168 posts

Posted by stevee > 2021-03-16 15:55 | Report Abuse

I used to receive my annual dividend from Epf using PBB cheque. Now they change to RHB account.

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2021-03-16 15:59 | Report Abuse

Epf sells down both rhb and pbb.. they need to cash out for the unconditional withdrawal.

go ptrans

347 posts

Posted by go ptrans > 2021-03-16 19:58 | Report Abuse

if epf need money..... y contineu buy INARI??? u all try check INARI

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2021-03-16 20:31 | Report Abuse

Besides cash out, epf is doing re-investment too. Buy sell buy sell everywhere. Let them do what they want. We just relax.

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2021-03-16 21:59 | Report Abuse

go ptrans if epf need money..... y contineu buy INARI??? u all try check INARI
16/03/2021 7:58 PM

go trans: it is ok to say sell PBB and buy Inari.. but i better warn you , DONT ever say sell PBB and buy glove.. they will drown you if u did.. remember u are already warned,

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2021-03-16 22:00 | Report Abuse

such a fun room.. nuts everywhere

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-16 22:36 | Report Abuse

PBB 1st dividend 3%, 2nd dividend, perhaps 2% or more, share price appreciation 2021 is between 5% - 15%. A good return of 3% + 2% + 5% min.

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2021-03-17 08:58 | Report Abuse

so many people here.. waiting for?

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2021-03-17 08:58 | Report Abuse

divvy only next monday laa.. plus

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-03-17 08:58 |

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2021-03-17 09:51 | Report Abuse

4.49 was the highest after div announcement... if u had soft thereabouts.. and now pivk it up at 4.25 u would mave made
0.13+.24= 0.37 se per share gross.... translating to rm 370 each 1000 shares u had... see deswai FM always win and the small fry will hold it tighr tight for them .. as free float is very much lasser... i know know dont thank me for it........ what i am saying is smart money is not equal to lazy money.. IF you dont understand.. pls dont comment and if u do understand dont comment too.

Thank you,

ps:
0.37/4.25= 8.7% in just 1 month what FD or efp cangive u in 1 year

Posted by Howyoudoin > 2021-03-17 12:03 | Report Abuse

Why today so jialat?

Posted by Howyoudoin > 2021-03-17 12:03 | Report Abuse

what news?

thesigncom

466 posts

Posted by thesigncom > 2021-03-17 12:14 | Report Abuse

EPF sold 14.2 million shares in the last 5 days.

wintoomuch

128 posts

Posted by wintoomuch > 2021-03-17 12:36 | Report Abuse

no jialat lah ... after dividen drop is for sure....

you can see the way it trade ... ikan beli buying , big kaki throwing.

you just need to wait until end of the March. 4.5-4.7

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-17 13:09 | Report Abuse

wintoomuch wow, you are both Loyal and Royal to PBB forum with your great positive comments. THANK YOU. When price/BI up, PBB is happening place. After BI & dividend and now lower price, forumers fly away to hot stock forum. Should support to help move price up. Just spoke to high risk-return investor & advised him if fund run away ? He responded will consider PBB, was unaware 1 lot is 100 units & 2 div + share price appreciation can return abt 10 % gain/yr. So, power of referral is superpowerful if PBB supporters share good news.

Posted by dragon_king > 2021-03-17 13:13 | Report Abuse

May have to buy again if drop below 4.20. Waiting now....

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2021-03-17 13:41 | Report Abuse

Just hold tight tight. No worry if you don't want to sell immediately.

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-17 13:48 | Report Abuse

dragon_king good Loyal & Royal PBB supporter. Share the good news of PBB.

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2021-03-17 16:19 | Report Abuse

4.20 looks yummy

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2021-03-17 16:36 | Report Abuse

what a beautiful angpow colour.. hope it gets redder (lower)

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2021-03-17 16:41 | Report Abuse

Agreed, I want to buy!!!

neohts

2,333 posts

Posted by neohts > 2021-03-17 16:44 | Report Abuse

Why PBBank no share buy back ?

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2021-03-17 16:54 | Report Abuse

Just waiting to top up my dividend.... Be patient.

3,095 posts

Posted by gohkimhock > 2021-03-17 17:45 | Report Abuse

"If you aren't willing to own a stock for ten years, don't even think about owning it for ten minutes." - Warren Buffett

neohts

2,333 posts

Posted by neohts > 2021-03-17 17:47 | Report Abuse

https://www.bursamalaysia.com/market_information/announcements/company_announcement/announcement_details?ann_id=3139705

12 Mar 2021 1,501,200 Acquired Direct Interest
12 Mar 2021 1,134,300 Disposed Direct Interest

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2021-03-17 19:00 | Report Abuse

When EPF stop selling ? Why buy and sell same day ?

559 posts

Posted by 3101575000 > 2021-03-17 21:37 | Report Abuse

Bcos Epf has different fund managers

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-17 23:43 | Report Abuse

Nikkei Asia on foreign shareholders of PBB

The Vanguard Group, Inc. (2.4%)
Great Eastern Life Assurance Co. Ltd. (1.7%)
BlackRock Fund Advisors (1.6%)
GIC Pte Ltd. (Investment Management) (1.2%)
Norges Bank Investment Management (1.1%)
Eastspring Investments (Singapore) Ltd. (1.1%)

Obviously, these foreign fund management companies have great confidence, faith, and trust in PBB to invest long-term in PBB.

I am sure that these foreign fund management companies are more confident than many of the local retailers and investors in Public Bank Berhad.

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-18 00:09 | Report Abuse

TheEdge Wed, Mar 17, 2021 02:15pm - 7 hours ago

KUALA LUMPUR (March 17): Norway’s Government Pension Fund Global, the world’s largest sovereign wealth fund with a market value of about NOK11.08 trillion (RM5.48 trillion) had invested in 145 Malaysia-listed companies.

Norges Bank Investment Management is the asset management unit of Norwegian central bank Norges Bank, which has been tasked to manage the Government Pension Fund Global.

A foreign shareholder of PBB is Norges Bank Investment Management, not mentioned in this article today, which represents Norway’s Government Pension Fund Global, the world’s largest sovereign wealth fund. PBB website listed it as a significant shareholder.

So, if the the WORLD'S largest sovereign wealth fund is a long-term shareholder and investor of PBB, it must be a great bank and share to buy, keep, and hold tight, tight, tight.

Afterall, their investments in PBB can run into a few Billion Ringgit, which is no small amount.
If they dare to invest so much in PBB, we should likewise invest in PBB.

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-18 00:15 | Report Abuse

Thanks @gohkimhock for the quote from Warren Buffett.

neohts

2,333 posts

Posted by neohts > 2021-03-18 11:35 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/malaysias-richest-tycoons-and-billions-dividends-they-earned-final-quarter-2020

Public Bank Bhd founder Tan Sri Dr Teh Hong Piow is expected to receive the biggest dividend payout totalling RM668.18 million from his shareholdings in the bank and insurer LPI Capital Bhd.

Alan Teh

48 posts

Posted by Alan Teh > 2021-03-18 11:57 | Report Abuse

any sifus in here can predict how much the share price will be at the end of the year?

Posted by yangkwang99 > 2021-03-18 12:38 | Report Abuse

Easy. Ask goggle who knows everything ha!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by yangkwang99 > 2021-03-18 12:39 | Report Abuse

oops! spelling mistake google ok!

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-18 13:23 | Report Abuse

@Alan Teh I'm a supporter & this is my opinion only. Probably, banks maybe rerated upwards by mid-3rd or early 4QR. If this happens, then more upside likely. TPs range from 4.80 - 5.00. My conservative opinion - guess is 4.70 - 4.80 but maybe I'm wrong. Maybe can hit 5.00 or more.

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2021-03-18 13:31 | Report Abuse

Agree, 5 is very Conservative tp by year end.

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-18 13:46 | Report Abuse

@Alan Teh Buy, keep, hold PBB is a safe, sound, secure share that offers sound sleep & stress free. Slow & steady win the race. Sometimes, there are hot shares, shoot sky high, but can make u-turn and sky dive.

Alan Teh

48 posts

Posted by Alan Teh > 2021-03-18 14:09 | Report Abuse

Thanks @1invest1,@Sharefisher, Will be holding these shares for long term. As i have more funds coming next month and surveying which counters to invest in.

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-18 15:14 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/fitch-revises-global-gdp-growth-61-2021-after-us-fiscal-stimulus-package

In its latest Global Economic Outlook (GEO) released today, Fitch now expects global gross domestic product (GDP) to expand by 6.1% this year,
revised up from 5.3% in its December 2020 GEO.

The rating agency said the main driver of its global forecast revision was the much larger-than-expected fiscal stimulus package recently passed in the US.

It said the US$1.9 trillion (RM7.81 trillion) price tag represents more than 2.5% of global GDP,

Growth in emerging markets excluding China is forecast at 6% ( up from 5% ).

Conclusion: More upside and upwards for M'sian and PBB shares.

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2021-03-18 15:59 | Report Abuse

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2021/03/674878/imf-praises-malaysias-pandemic-response-projects-economy-grow-65pct

IMF projects Malaysia's economy to grow 6.5pct in 2021
March 18, 2021 @ 11:34am

More upside potential for PBB shares

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2021-03-18 16:41 | Report Abuse

Epf must be very angry with tan sri teh..he going to get big fat dividend..lol..thats why lorr next time buy pbbank dont sell lorr.....

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2021-03-18 17:17 | Report Abuse

So much money.... How to spend? Haha ha..

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2021-03-18 18:38 | Report Abuse

Re-invest with the dividend. $ breeds $. All the best to my fellow friends in pbb!!