BURSA MALAYSIA BHD

KLSE (MYR): BURSA (1818)

-0.01 (0.12%)

8.63 - 8.71

10 people like this.

5,337 comment(s). Last comment by Tanleechoo 1 week ago

bullcock

37 posts

Posted by bullcock > 2021-07-28 14:05 | Report Abuse

@TreeTopView wow that's fast thank you for that quick summary of the headline numbers ! EPS 11 sens is a "sweet spot" for me and it looks like @sakurako was spot-on when he suggested eps 11sens for this quarter. A respectable 2Q report card, nothing sensational though as was expected by most of us here. The interim dps 24 sens is a pleasant surprise and it augurs well for the full year; we might be tempted to expect a Special Dividend for a bumper final dividend for this FY'21 as in FY'13 and FY'18 !

Posted by lionel messi > 2021-07-28 14:05 | Report Abuse

Yes, the higher div is a pleasant surprise. If final and special div can at least be maintained at 34 sen, it will give a yield of 7.7% at current price of RM7.53. That is fantastic.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-07-28 14:09 | Report Abuse

So, will the share price go up or down, THAT is the question now. :)

Let's see what the fund managers and instos decide to do.

Posted by EatCoconutCanWin > 2021-07-28 14:09 | Report Abuse

Run

bullcock

37 posts

Posted by bullcock > 2021-07-28 14:22 | Report Abuse

Hahaha @ TreetopView I wish I can answer your question but my "guess" is down for the afternoon session today .....

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-07-28 14:29 | Report Abuse

Yeah, likewise @bullcock. The dividend might entice new entrants over the next couple of weeks but a drop in at least the short term is logical.

But how often is this market logical?....lol

bullcock

37 posts

Posted by bullcock > 2021-07-28 14:34 | Report Abuse

Sorry, it's just an intuitive guess because those headline numbers says it all :

"Revenue Rm196.1 Mill ( down Rm36 mill from previous Q)
Profit Rm88.97 mill (down Rm32 mill. from previous Q)"

this is because of comparing with the previous "sensational" 1Q ..... but if it is if compared to the same 2Q last year, it's about the same

Posted by lionel messi > 2021-07-28 14:34 | Report Abuse

If this is the high div trend that is going to be set by Bursa, can we expect the same to be declared by other blue chips such as Tenaga, Petgas, etc? Like I said earlier, need to do national service as govt needs money. And only the GLCs has the money now.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-07-28 14:45 | Report Abuse

LM, I'd suggest not to read too much into the Bursa dividend and how it would effect other stocks.
This 24 cents dividend is due to an outstanding Q1 and a decent Q2, in my opinion.

bullcock

37 posts

Posted by bullcock > 2021-07-28 15:01 | Report Abuse

@TreeTopView, take a look at the Media Release that jus came out moments ago .... Whoa ! it sure paints a much more glossy picture comparing this current 1H with last year's 1H :

BURSA MALAYSIA RECORDS RM210.4 MILLION PROFIT AFTER TAX
FOR THE FIRST HALF OF 2021
HIGHEST FIRST HALF-YEARLY FINANCIAL PERFORMANCE SINCE LISTING IN 2005

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-07-28 15:12 | Report Abuse

Spin, spin, spin :)

Can't argue with the first half figures as it's factual.
But we also can't dismiss the drop in EPS for the second quarter. As we talked about over the weekend, the key is to try and the define the current "new normal", or are we going to see Q3 looking like Q1? I would doubt that.

I would guesstimate that Q3 could possibly be similar to this current new report, which would not be bad outcome, IMO.

bullcock

37 posts

Posted by bullcock > 2021-07-28 15:36 | Report Abuse

Yes TreeTopView, we are in agreement it's all factual but notice how differently it felt when we present it by comparing the current 2Q result with the preceding 1Q result vs present it by comparing the current 2Q result with the previous year's (same) 2Q result ..... of course, the Media Release is even more dramatic when it present factually the current 1H vs the previous year's (same) 1H - I don't know about the rest of you, actually I like it this way because it gives a positive "spin" !!! Re the price movement, I was just hazarding a quick guess that it will be down but you are right there my friend the behaviour can be sometimes illogical. Share price performance especially in the short term (hours,days even weeks !) can defy logic and reason, but not long term (over a year or more)

Valgrovest

1,237 posts

Posted by Valgrovest > 2021-07-28 15:43 | Report Abuse

Good they declared 24 sen dividend. It is a great dividend. Share price should move up at least 20 sen, I believe.

Hafid

1,135 posts

Posted by Hafid > 2021-07-28 16:08 | Report Abuse

LOOK LIKE SELLING COME

Valgrovest

1,237 posts

Posted by Valgrovest > 2021-07-28 16:59 | Report Abuse

Nice closing at 7.60. Tomorrow will up another 10 sen.

Posted by theintinvestor > 2021-07-28 17:11 | Report Abuse

“In the coming months, the exchange will introduce the after-hours (T+1) trading session for the Derivatives Market ('Night Trading').

any idea how this works and how it will contribute to their revenue?

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-07-28 17:14 |

Brutus

297 posts

Posted by Brutus > 2021-07-28 18:53 | Report Abuse

Thank you BURSA for the generous dividends!

Posted by YouNeedTrust > 2021-07-28 19:31 | Report Abuse

Thanks for Fat fat Dividend

sakurako

203 posts

Posted by sakurako > 2021-07-28 21:20 | Report Abuse

11 eps spot on :-) and dividend 24sen is out of my expectation... market is not rational thus bursa haven't reach the full potential, anyway the price is decent and reflected the current situation, treat bursa as blue chip

Mkttalk

41 posts

Posted by Mkttalk > 2021-07-28 23:53 | Report Abuse

Bursa good business and must pay out profits unless have acquisitions ?

aliyusof

1,393 posts

Posted by aliyusof > 2021-07-29 10:00 | Report Abuse

Agreed with lionel messi. Better than bank FD in dividend, presence price not too high actually (almost at its lowest since May 2020), willing to keep it for at least 1 year or longer no matter what happen, market will surely bounce one day, monopoly n cash business, use of spare cash only, no need to analyse too much...ha ha. Will buy slowly

5,767 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2021-07-29 10:10 | Report Abuse

Ok lah., bursa unicorn

Mkttalk

41 posts

Posted by Mkttalk > 2021-07-29 11:39 | Report Abuse

Good dividends .
Progressive companies must start talking in terms of Boards’ dividend growth expectation for investors . Just like employees expect annual increment , most of the time Boards approve what management puts up. About time Boards be made accountable for strategic and operational efficiency - need to prove more effective oversight .

Corporate governance in FORM days are over. Malaysians need to demand for better delivery . EPF and Amanah holders depend on dividends . Corporate Malaysia needs more dynamism infused .

Posted by lionel messi > 2021-07-29 12:02 | Report Abuse

Here's hoping for an improving Q3 and an outstanding Q4 then we will be home free.

Guys, have a glance at Tenaga and Petgas too which are currently trading at reasonable price before their coming Q2 and div announcement. I suspect with Bursa setting the dividend bar so high, they are likely to follow giving their yield at way above 8%. They can well afford it judging fr their improved revenue and profit in Q1.

Good things must share with fellow mankind.

Valgrovest

1,237 posts

Posted by Valgrovest > 2021-07-30 10:11 | Report Abuse

Mcquirie Research is bullish on this counter and expect a V shape recovery in the economy

Mkttalk

41 posts

Posted by Mkttalk > 2021-07-30 15:30 | Report Abuse

Agree , let the ‘ constitutional crisis’ blow away and with aggressive vaccination roll out , back on run .

Jeffreyteck

4,246 posts

Posted by Jeffreyteck > 2021-07-30 15:42 | Report Abuse

Thanks to smart politicians as they created another round of opportunity.

Hafid

1,135 posts

Posted by Hafid > 2021-07-31 17:02 | Report Abuse

The best is drop to rm5.00

Valgrovest

1,237 posts

Posted by Valgrovest > 2021-07-31 22:42 | Report Abuse

I think some of the big funds like EPF will slowly acquire for dividend (24 sen announced) to boost their revenue before the year end closing.

5,767 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2021-08-01 14:03 | Report Abuse

Bursa can go back to 8.50

Jeffreyteck

4,246 posts

Posted by Jeffreyteck > 2021-08-02 14:41 | Report Abuse

Glad to see so many politicians can't wait to serve the nation and rakyat, proud of you and we are really blessed.

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-02 17:10 |

Mkttalk

41 posts

Posted by Mkttalk > 2021-08-03 14:58 | Report Abuse

We live in hope to see our politicians serve the Rakyat. Can play the game within the rules and not violate SOP/ Law. Make politics not so lucrative - introduce anti party hopping laws and make public disclosures of govt contracts to politicians and other stakeholders in the democratic process - will attract people wanting to serve Nation .

Yippy68

1,681 posts

Posted by Yippy68 > 2021-08-03 19:46 | Report Abuse

fat dividend, but share price keep falling, why?

Posted by Anonymous69 > 2021-08-03 20:42 |

nisah395

155 posts

Posted by nisah395 > 2021-08-03 21:09 | Report Abuse

The price still holding well.

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-03 21:20 |

Jeffreyteck

4,246 posts

Posted by Jeffreyteck > 2021-08-03 22:34 | Report Abuse

Katak katak sekalian, sila bersedia untuk melompat demi negara. ST 1450_1550. LT 2800 like vision 2020.

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-04 08:56 |

Valgrovest

1,237 posts

Posted by Valgrovest > 2021-08-04 16:16 | Report Abuse

Ex-dividend soon -17/8/21. Dont miss your dividend of 24 sen.

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-04 17:01 |

jeffchan1901

1,352 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2021-08-05 08:43 | Report Abuse

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qL5xXh0Vncs from 12.42

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-05 08:54 |

Undi_PKR

936 posts

Posted by Undi_PKR > 2021-08-06 10:44 | Report Abuse

PN=BN? More IPOs' then short(RSS) the counters? Eg FGV IPO RM 4.55 why RM 1.3 today?

Posted by thetruthstory > 2021-08-11 18:30 | Report Abuse

high dividend of 24 sen. what should be TP, maybe 8.50?

masterus

3,563 posts

Posted by masterus > 2021-08-12 06:05 | Report Abuse

August 11, 2021 12:44 pm by Colby Smith in New York
The rapid pace of US consumer price increases remained at a 13-year high in July as inflationary pressures persisted due to supply-chain constraints and soaring demand.

The consumer price index (CPI) published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics rose 5.4 per cent in July from a year ago, surpassing the 5.3 per cent expected by economists. That is in line with the 5.4 per cent increase reported in June, which was the largest such surge since 2008.

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-12 07:52 |

Yippy68

1,681 posts

Posted by Yippy68 > 2021-08-13 03:18 | Report Abuse

good morning

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-13 08:54 |