MMC CORPORATION BHD

KLSE (MYR): MMCCORP (2194)

11 people like this.

9,258 comment(s). Last comment by SincereStock 2021-12-25 16:07

Pinky

3,380 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2020-12-03 09:26 | Report Abuse

HSR not YTL niche meh?

Pinky

3,380 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2020-12-03 09:33 | Report Abuse

@Bossanova my average cost 0.79, okay la

I actually started monitoring MMC when it dropped down to 68 sen

KopiDuit

88 posts

Posted by KopiDuit > 2020-12-03 09:51 | Report Abuse

RM 1.00 coming.........

Bossanova

74 posts

Posted by Bossanova > 2020-12-03 12:46 | Report Abuse

@pinky our menteri besar reveal that HRS will reserve for bumi contracotor... someone in YTL AGM also asked about this HRS project but their reply said they will work closely with the authorities only

Bossanova

74 posts

Posted by Bossanova > 2020-12-03 12:47 | Report Abuse

Personally I don’t think YTL stand high chance

Bossanova

74 posts

Posted by Bossanova > 2020-12-03 12:48 | Report Abuse

Your average cost is lower than mine... I still accumulating..... already up to 89 cents now

Bossanova

74 posts

Posted by Bossanova > 2020-12-03 12:48 | Report Abuse

Lol

sakurako

204 posts

Posted by sakurako > 2020-12-03 18:00 | Report Abuse

my ave 0.92 now :-)

chhn461

279 posts

Posted by chhn461 > 2020-12-04 02:39 | Report Abuse

First of all, you need to check the recent buying volume on YTL on the preceding days of msci and after.

Funds love to buy stocks with a theme when a disguising scenario presents itself, ie. msci

Do you think funds could have bought without moving the price on a regular day? And more importantly why do you think they willingly absorb it if it's a lousy share with no good story to run on for the next year riding on stocks with economic recovery theme.

So why do funds buy YTL in the first place? Two words, HSR and cement.

Do you know that YTL has 70% monopoly on cement after buying out their competition? And cement prices have been running up since 2019. As you well know construction work can take years, there will be a long runaway for YTL to profit from selling cement alone - 1 bil profit just from cement, understand that.

Last it had 1 bil profit, it was trading north of 1.5. And that's just from cement, how about the construction contracts?

You should also know that as they were previously handling the HSR projects, they have on their hands very useful logistics data to cut HUGE costs on the HSR project. Do you think the gov would want to waste unnecessarily on this project? Certainly not.

Moving on, with the new tendering, there has been realignment of the tracks, and as you well know YTL is part owner of ERL which connects to KLIA, and HSR will be integrated with KLIA. So can you imagine YTL not benefiting?

The economy moving on will be very bullish on construction companies due to dire need to stimulate and jump-start the economy. The best proxy to construction theme is YTL.

tdlr: Just buy YTL for a easy two bagger in one year.

Repost on YTL thread

JoyOhi

165 posts

Posted by JoyOhi > 2020-12-04 06:45 | Report Abuse

No doubt, I was doing my research for the recent news of RM60b REE mining at Kedah which the CM says are to be given to local company operating at KL and this came to my searches.

DLLKT

289 posts

Posted by DLLKT > 2020-12-04 07:09 | Report Abuse

To make decision to invest at Company A or Company B doesn't required high IQ or EQ but instead based on your logic mind to think and buy in if you are the owner

Company A :
1)consistent profit for the past 20 years
2)good asset mainly port & focused utility
3)stable business and predictable earning

Company B:
1)loss making (pls check for the past 3 years report,2018,2019&2020), how the trend looks like
2)telecommunication business bleeding like no ending (pouring good money to bad business)
3)utility business at Singapore continue to register losses for past few quarter
4)check his property investment n pls walk.in their premises mainly at Bukit Bintang , then you see how severe the business is
5)check their development activity at Sentul, Singapore and UK Bristol....hibernation (even the Sentul haording also like abondone projetc)
6)their hospitality business serious affected

Just sincere sharing tq

Posted by Nelson Yoong > 2020-12-04 07:22 | Report Abuse

Ytl boss very (ungrateful)person, couple years ago says something against the government, don't remember during 1993 whole Malaysia blackout Government gave him a huge power station project!!!

Up_again

949 posts

Posted by Up_again > 2020-12-04 07:37 | Report Abuse

Hume Industries, the next largest cement maker after Ytl sudah naik 60% lo in just a month
Cement ASP is rising from last year low of RM180/tonne to RM 220/tonne last quater to RM 250/tonne currently

Bossanova

74 posts

Posted by Bossanova > 2020-12-04 09:01 | Report Abuse

Yea DLLKT i fully support your view!

sakurako

204 posts

Posted by sakurako > 2020-12-04 15:50 | Report Abuse

close friend gamuda up dy, when is MMC?

Calvin882

1,562 posts

Posted by Calvin882 > 2020-12-06 13:27 | Report Abuse

Seems like resistance is high

monorail

78 posts

Posted by monorail > 2020-12-07 11:36 | Report Abuse

Calvin882 no need to worry. PTP is busier and handling larger volume of containers than ever before. That is why MMC can pay interim dividend from now on. Got extra cash. MMC for sure will report higher profit in 4Q than 3Q.

DLLKT

289 posts

Posted by DLLKT > 2020-12-07 12:49 | Report Abuse

Indeed

DLLKT

289 posts

Posted by DLLKT > 2020-12-07 12:50 | Report Abuse

MMC 4th quarter result to be very good number and will much better than 3rd quarter result

aliyusof

1,393 posts

Posted by aliyusof > 2020-12-08 13:43 | Report Abuse

Dllkt
....u have insider information on 4Q?

Pinky

3,380 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2020-12-08 13:52 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow is dividend ex date!

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-08 19:35 | Report Abuse

Company has huge debt and bad management that’s why share price can’t move. I know people from MMCorp and all I can say is this company will not be successful for the next 5 years. Led by completely ignorant assholes

Bossanova

74 posts

Posted by Bossanova > 2020-12-08 19:39 | Report Abuse

@wallstreetrookie, which fellow you are referring? The management just revamped last year or 2 years ago isnt it. You sound like you were or are working in mmc corp. LOL

pingdan

1,549 posts

Posted by pingdan > 2020-12-08 21:08 | Report Abuse

Management bad meh? Give dividend so many lo recently

DLLKT

289 posts

Posted by DLLKT > 2020-12-08 21:24 | Report Abuse

1)consistent profit for the past 20 years

2)consistent dividend for the past 20 years

This is so called lousy company and weak management ??

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

DLLKT

289 posts

Posted by DLLKT > 2020-12-08 21:25 | Report Abuse

To be selfish, definitely I'm more than happy to accumulate MMC share at weakness or lower price

DLLKT

289 posts

Posted by DLLKT > 2020-12-08 21:27 | Report Abuse

When we want to comment on certain issue, condemn on people company or management, pls check at number (number speak for itself )....pls be rational and out of emotion or else you willl be laughing stock in this forum !

Pinky

3,380 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2020-12-08 22:10 | Report Abuse

Maybe he was talking to MMC's supplier or sub contractor. Basically you cannot be a successful/profitable contractor if no one hates you because it would mean that you are overpaying them XD

DLLKT

289 posts

Posted by DLLKT > 2020-12-08 22:18 | Report Abuse

Pinky@ Well say !

Pinky

3,380 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2020-12-08 22:28 | Report Abuse

Top Glove also many people say lousy lo

Because they ALLEGEDLY underpaid/mistreated their staff

But we are investing for profit, we are not CSR police XD

Posted by steve8lily > 2020-12-09 07:47 | Report Abuse

hi all, if yesterda just brought in MMC, will i still entitle dividend?

DLLKT

289 posts

Posted by DLLKT > 2020-12-09 07:59 | Report Abuse

Yes, you are entitled

DLLKT

289 posts

Posted by DLLKT > 2020-12-09 09:14 | Report Abuse

Recovery theme based stock will enjoy the bull run and MMC is one of the stock who will ride on this bull uptrend!

DLLKT

289 posts

Posted by DLLKT > 2020-12-09 09:15 | Report Abuse

Are you ready for party?

Stay tune , confidence and after a few month from now, you will discover MMC so cheap at this level

Cheerrsss and happy investing

sd99

805 posts

Posted by sd99 > 2020-12-09 12:02 | Report Abuse

Just hold guys... en-route to >>RM1 soon

Posted by petnch2020 > 2020-12-10 10:25 | Report Abuse

Agree that this is an undervalue stock especially when compared to its comparable Westport (which is trading at 24x PE).

The stock also provide investor with exposure to post covid recovery play. I think this is a safer bet than buying directly into expensive vaccine players or riskier industry like aviation.

Also with Biden coming in as US president next month, most analyst are expecting global trade to improve further which bodes well for port operators like MMC.

Pinky

3,380 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2020-12-10 10:40 | Report Abuse

@petnch2020 u cannot compare MMC to Westport like that

It's like compare tembikai susu with tembikai

Westport is a pure port stock
MMC is a conglomerate with ports, utilities and construction

Their profit margins are different

fachoi

130 posts

Posted by fachoi > 2020-12-10 11:20 | Report Abuse

only sell your tickets above RM1, dont simply sell your cheap tickets

Posted by petnch2020 > 2020-12-10 11:37 | Report Abuse

True pinky that MMC is a conglomerate.

But just look at the profit contribution of MMC. Most of it comes from the port and logistic segment. And even if you do an Sum of Part valuation (SOP) and u assign the same multiple as Westport for the port division, you will get a value that is a lot higher than the current market cap.

FYI, the biggest port player in Malaysia is MMC with capacity of 21.3mil TEU vs Westport the second biggest with capacity of 14 mil TEU. Normally the largest player commands the higher market multiple not the other way around.

There were news that MMC wanted to IPO its port assets at valuation of RM4bil at least. Current market cap which includes interest in Malakoff, Gas Malaysia and JV Gamuda- MMC amongst other is now only at RM2.8bil.

So yes, it is super undervalue.

Pinky

3,380 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2020-12-10 11:46 | Report Abuse

@petnch2020 ya I dun deny it's undervalued.

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-10 11:47 | Report Abuse

Cheap doesn’t mean undervalued. Increasing and consistent profit and dividend doesn’t mean it will sustain for the coming years. You are being far too shortsighted. So you’re telling me good dividend = good management? If you’re investing based on the balance sheet only, then I would say you haven’t done enough research. And nope, I wasn’t talking to a subcontractor. Its folks from the port division.

So good profit but lots of debt/borrowing but few expansion plans? Bad operating expenses tight margin hmm energy and utilities no comment. Malakoff doing well indeed. Ports and logistics die. Losing out to bigger players who handle all areas air freight freight forwarding storage. Check further. I know their Penang port and north port not doing well.
Not to mention their O&G engineering sector is a dying business

Others are not bad. Solid cash flow positive.

MMCorp isn’t a bad company but to say that it is undervalued is unjustifiable and erroneous.

Try to look further than the balance sheet or financials and look more into the trend of a business. MMCorp is a textbook example of being over ambitious.

If your entry price low, congratulations. Entering now? Nope

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-10 11:50 | Report Abuse

If you’re in it for the long term, you’ll be rewarded. But for medium term, opportunity cost is not worth it.

Pinky

3,380 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2020-12-10 11:56 | Report Abuse

>>>If you’re in it for the long term, you’ll be rewarded. But for medium term, opportunity cost is not worth it.

Fair comment.

As I've said before there must be some reason why this stock is not appreciated by the market. Cannot be no reason it's slumping over the years. Pity those who bought at around RM2 years back

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-10 12:02 | Report Abuse

I rarely write negative comments on a stock (excluding goreng stocks). Last one is Dsonic. Also Adventa, Dufu
Some stocks might look good on paper, but the future growth just isn’t attractive enough.

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-10 12:02 | Report Abuse

I wish everyone the best. Watch out for future news and reassess your investment strategies.

fachoi

130 posts

Posted by fachoi > 2020-12-10 12:06 | Report Abuse

rookie, what stocks you holding now? can share?

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-10 12:29 | Report Abuse

Dividend yield is attractive you can’t deny it though

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-10 12:32 | Report Abuse

But institutional investors don’t like companies with declining growth