LAND & GENERAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): L&G (3174)

+0.005 (4.00%)

0.125 - 0.13

32 people like this.

11,240 comment(s). Last comment by Faiza 1 week ago

keeswee

5 posts

Posted by keeswee > 2013-08-18 15:37 | Report Abuse

The ICUL is very very attactive. Ascending triangle breakout on Friday.

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-18 19:34 | Report Abuse

ONE MORE ROUND ! ARE YOU READY FOR LAND AND GENERAL?

bluechip

338 posts

Posted by bluechip > 2013-08-18 20:18 | Report Abuse

icul..polite way to get cash from investor...

bluechip

338 posts

Posted by bluechip > 2013-08-18 20:19 | Report Abuse

better buy huayang...good fundamental company with dividend

setia2u

971 posts

Posted by setia2u > 2013-08-19 09:29 | Report Abuse

Heard that Mr. Cold Eye has sold the shares, no longer the 5th largest shoreholder. Is it true?

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-19 09:31 | Report Abuse

setia2u, i heard he is buying some more!

setia2u

971 posts

Posted by setia2u > 2013-08-19 09:51 | Report Abuse

But I don't the see the reason why is he buying some mone as this share doesn't give dividend. And now asking for money. Any other reasons perhaps?

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-19 09:55 | Report Abuse

No worry! Price will tell you the story!

mtr27

443 posts

Posted by mtr27 > 2013-08-19 11:29 | Report Abuse

why today so slow one?

hanboon25

40 posts

Posted by hanboon25 > 2013-08-19 15:15 | Report Abuse

silent after big vol

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2013-08-19 15:21 | Report Abuse

i think many retailers hold this stock.

nicky

3,351 posts

Posted by nicky > 2013-08-19 19:45 | Report Abuse

End if story ?

setia2u

971 posts

Posted by setia2u > 2013-08-20 08:19 | Report Abuse

cytew: I share the same view, in fact, when it's traded EX next week (27th Aug), it will adjusted to 41.3 sen (BURSA ref price 41.0 sen), then market price will adjust again, if falls to below 40.0 sen, it will be huge cut! Then, when LR is traded, mother price will come down again. Careful.

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2013-08-20 10:46 | Report Abuse

In my past comments, I want to buy L&G last week. But due to ICULS & lots of Unit Trust funds inside top 30 shareholdings, I choose to delay although I really love the story and fundamentals of L&G

After some research, I believe the best time to buy L&G is next year before 2Q14. Why?

L&G was in financial trouble before the Chiu's family becomes major shareholder. The past 4 years work was to cleanup the big mess left by previous management.
http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/highlights/185234-the-revival-of-land-a-general.html

Elements is schedule for launch mid-2014. Price starts from RM500k and above.
http://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-news/interview/l-g-poised-to-gain-back-its-original-eminence-

Chiu's family is owner of Mayland. Looking at past projects, there are more hits than misses.
http://topdevelopers.iproperty.com/developer/mayland-group

Most important, L&G has very fat piggy bank balance and low gearing ratio.

In my opinion, L&G is worth RM1.50. As long the price stay within RM1.00 by 1Q14, I'm going to dispose Airasia & Marco and buy heavily.

setia2u

971 posts

Posted by setia2u > 2013-08-20 11:44 | Report Abuse

Yes, for L&G, it is a waiting game, no fun in short term. Let's the whole exercise over first.

KAHFIEHLAI

677 posts

Posted by KAHFIEHLAI > 2013-08-20 19:45 | Report Abuse

Hjey..u hold marco? how i u view prospect on this counter?? mid?long? term.. tq

wkchong

21 posts

Posted by wkchong > 2013-08-20 21:32 | Report Abuse

Hjey, how do u rate L&G can worth rm 1.50?

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2013-08-21 11:06 | Report Abuse

wkchong, this is my feeling.

refer to my previous comments, i compared LBS, Huayang & L&G annual report.

(RM'000)

L&G
Revenue 130,799
Profit before tax 43,499 (33%)
Profit after tax 33,120 (25%)
Cash in hand 122,802

LBS
Revenue 531,820
Profit before tax 65,056 (12%)
Profit after tax 37,160 (7%)
Cash in hand 19,957

HuaYang
Revenue 306,412
Profit before tax 72,503 (24%)
Profit after tax 53,435 (17%)
Cash in hand 25,161

I like profit margin of L&G and its fat piggy bank balance. Let me declare, I bought HuaYang last year and made money this year. I never buy LBS.

RM1.50 is long term. could be 3 years and more. It looks healthy to me.

but i can be wrong, after all, huayang price increased a lot in 1 year even after bonus issue. but, i can't complain bcoz i made good profit from huayang

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2013-08-21 11:10 | Report Abuse

kahfiehlai, i'm still holding marco.

there is very high chance that i am going sell airasia & marco next year(b4 or after CNY) to buy L&G. If L&G remains below RM1.00, it will be a good margin of safety

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-21 11:44 | Report Abuse

Second day - calculation of theoretical EX 5 days VWAMP, another 3 more days to go! Are you ready for L&G?

slf88

24 posts

Posted by slf88 > 2013-08-22 15:30 | Report Abuse

lelong

davors

889 posts

Posted by davors > 2013-08-22 17:19 | Report Abuse

adui... sudah start rugi... ^_^|||

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-22 21:12 | Report Abuse

Golden opportunity exist! Last 2 days to buy before EX!

KAHFIEHLAI

677 posts

Posted by KAHFIEHLAI > 2013-08-22 21:17 | Report Abuse

Posted by smartguy > Aug 22, 2013 09:12 PM | Report Abuse
Golden opportunity exist! Last 2 days to buy before EX!

Dear sguy...are u holding till listing of ICULS?? Need to share u strategy...I a bit confused on the listing of RIGHT & ICULS..Please share..tq

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-22 23:20 | Report Abuse

Yes. just hold till Ex and subscribe the ICULS. Keep it simple...However, on the rights listing day, should arbitrage opportunity exist, you may proceed to switch from mother share to ICULS-LR. But......i believe will be priced in on listing day!

Posted by Calvin Chong > 2013-08-22 23:29 | Report Abuse

Hi smartguy, do you have any idea how to subscribe the ICULS? I've emailed to HleBroking to ask about this on Monday but don't seem that they want to entertain me, I have not receive any reply. Hope you can give some guide to me.

Thanks!

wkchong

21 posts

Posted by wkchong > 2013-08-23 14:54 | Report Abuse

Hjey, thanks for ur reply!

wkchong

21 posts

Posted by wkchong > 2013-08-23 14:58 | Report Abuse

Dear all sifus, should i buy mother share before EX or wait to buy LR or buy LA on its listing? Which option is more worth to get low cost entry? Thanks in advance!

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-23 15:12 | Report Abuse

Coming...............................................

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-23 22:17 | Report Abuse

Dear All, Theoretical Ex price is expected to be at 0.39 based on closing price over the last 4 trading days. Hence, i would assume L&G-LR trading btw 0.1-0.13. In this case, if the mother shares doesn't fall, you are advised to sell all the mother share and buy the LR from the market as well as subscibe for Excessess. And L&G-LA is highly likely to trade at btw 0.25-0.3(5-10% premium)on the 1st listing day!

ymchun

Posted by ymchun > 2013-08-24 09:42 | Report Abuse

Hi smartguy, i am new in market, i would like understand what it mean right issue over here? how you calculate the L&G-LR price 0.1-0.3 with expected mother price 0.39.

KAHFIEHLAI

677 posts

Posted by KAHFIEHLAI > 2013-08-24 13:59 | Report Abuse

Smartguy...Any $$ pay for LR to LA??

wkchong

21 posts

Posted by wkchong > 2013-08-24 21:52 | Report Abuse

If i hold mother share until EX date 27/8 n sell means i got LR, am i right?

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-25 21:40 | Report Abuse

Based on the 2 method of conversion:
1) surrender 2 nominal value 0.13 of LA and convert into mother share, the fair value of LA should be 0.2(assumed mother price is 0.4)
2) surrender 1 nominal value 0.13 of LA and pay cash 0.13 per share convert into mother share, the fair value of LA should be 0.27(assumed mother share is 0.4)

And hence,there is a disparity of prices between the 2 conversion method, i would assume the price of LA should be trading at around 0.25

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-25 21:44 | Report Abuse

And if the LA is at 0.25, the LR should be worth 0.12(0.25-0.13). Hence, is worth to purchase the LR at price anything below 0.12! Tmw is th last trading day, BUY BUY BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ymchun

Posted by ymchun > 2013-08-25 23:17 | Report Abuse

now currently I hold the L&G at 0.48... I saw your post previously you expected will go down 0.39. it may a big loss over here... it mean I losing a gap over...Har...

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-26 00:13 | Report Abuse

Yes, you will get a paper loss of 0.09. But you will get free L&G-LR. You will earn the extra if the price anything above 0.09.

setia2u

971 posts

Posted by setia2u > 2013-08-26 08:35 | Report Abuse

Careful! Theoretically LR is worth about 13.0 sen based on ex-price of 39.0 sen., but LR will always trade in huge discount, simply because the funds and some retailers do not want to subscibe to it, overhang issue and arbitraging issue as well.

setia2u

971 posts

Posted by setia2u > 2013-08-26 10:16 | Report Abuse

Mother share 44.5-45.0 only, can expect LR to be below 10.0 sen!

Posted by Calvin Chong > 2013-08-26 10:30 | Report Abuse

Sorry want to ask the LR is the ICULS value at 0.13? what about LA, any difference?

And If i want to subscribe the ICULS, I only able to subscribe it starting at 29 Aug? When is the last trading day for the ICULS?

setia2u

971 posts

Posted by setia2u > 2013-08-26 11:41 | Report Abuse

LR is the rights form listed on 30th Aug for 5 days only. If you entitled for the rights and do not intend to subscribe it, then you sell it to the market as LR. On the other hand, if you purchase from market, then you pay 13.0 sen for every unit of LR to subscribe the rights and wait for it to be listed as LA on 30th Sept.

Posted by Calvin Chong > 2013-08-26 11:59 | Report Abuse

I see, So I can subscribe it at 0.13/unit until 6 Sept. If let say I have L&G counters at 2 broker firms, i need to subscribe twice on each broker (HLebroking & Kenanga)?..

So once it is listed at LA on 30th sept, any step to convert it to mother share? Sorry I'm very new to this, hope you can share the information. Thanks a lot!!!

setia2u

971 posts

Posted by setia2u > 2013-08-26 14:57 | Report Abuse

The last date of payment is 13th Sept. Yes, subscribe twice with two dif form. To convert to mother share, get the form from registrar, instruction will be stated in the conversion form.

stock

155 posts

Posted by stock > 2013-08-26 15:46 | Report Abuse

why dropping? shudnt it be going up since the iculs is coming soon ?

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2013-08-26 15:52 | Report Abuse

This is my knowledge (actually my OSK broker).

Your mother share will be lower after ICULS exercise. When shares quantity is increase, price will be lower

stock

155 posts

Posted by stock > 2013-08-26 16:39 | Report Abuse

i bought at 0.47 . but technically, my loss in share price will be balanced by the ICULS right ?
what if i dont decide to take up the ICULS?

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2013-08-26 17:07 | Report Abuse

stock, you're right that iculs price should reflect the adjusted price of mother share. just like dividend, the price is lower after payout

whether take-up or not, i don't know. you should to your broker. you paid him commission. talk to him

fyi, i haven't buy L&G yet. i will buy this counter come dec or jan next year. i commented before on this thread

smartguy

110 posts

Posted by smartguy > 2013-08-26 19:57 | Report Abuse

Panic???Worry??LOL! Calm down, must subscribe the ICULS !!!!tmw ref price would 0.38/0.39.

Posted by Calvin Chong > 2013-08-26 22:33 | Report Abuse

hlebroking never reply my email regarding this L&G ICULS for 1 week+ for more than 4 emails :( .. I've no idea how can I subscribe now. Am I just need to purchase L&G-LR like normal share when it is listed at 29/30 Aug?

stock

155 posts

Posted by stock > 2013-08-27 09:51 | Report Abuse

ref price is 0.34 based on opening price.