GEORGE KENT (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): GKENT (3204)

-0.015 (3.06%)

0.475 - 0.49

15 people like this.

18,216 comment(s). Last comment by gkent2000 1 week ago

FairTalk

376 posts

Posted by FairTalk > 2019-04-15 15:07 | Report Abuse

Just read that the participation of local contractors in the project is 40%. Just calculate how large will be the figures. GK with its good record stands a good chance.

i3param74

24 posts

Posted by i3param74 > 2019-04-15 15:25 | Report Abuse

wait till all the small fish leave the pond, big fish will swallow all then will fly.

Posted by Yeow Wen Xiang > 2019-04-15 15:54 | Report Abuse

you all... ==!

Maynot

822 posts

Posted by Maynot > 2019-04-15 16:01 | Report Abuse

Price drop 5 cent but low volume. Sign that everyone is holding strong. No more weakholders

劉尹光

490 posts

Posted by 劉尹光 > 2019-04-15 16:07 | Report Abuse

why drop alot.. any advise

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-04-15 18:03 | Report Abuse

Don't worry. Healthy correction. Cannot go up everday. Wait till all contra players and short selling players finish first. Then will go for second round.

ramada

3,955 posts

Posted by ramada > 2019-04-15 18:17 | Report Abuse

Construction theme play fading away.

Bursalord

653 posts

Posted by Bursalord > 2019-04-15 20:40 | Report Abuse

This article first appeared in The Edge Financial Daily, on March 22, 2018.

-A+A
George Kent (Malaysia) Bhd
(March 21, RM4.29)
Maintain buy with a target price (TP) of RM5.66: We attended George Kent (Malaysia) Bhd’s (GKent) fourth quarter of financial year 2018 (4QFY18) results briefing yesterday, which was represented by Bernie Ooi (executive director), Phoon Hee Yau (general manager for strategy) and Ong Kum Weng (finance manager). To recap, core earnings for FY18 were above expectations at RM138 million (+47% year-on-year), forming 136% of our full-year forecast.

The 4QFY18 engineering profit before tax (PBT) margin (excluding associates and joint-venture [JV] profits) was exceptionally high at 47.1%, which management explained was due to significant recognition of variation order (VO) works on the light rail transit (LRT) extension. There is a remaining RM193 million worth of works comprising the Bukit Jalil siding, depot equipment, roofing and platform. As such, we opine that the strong engineering margin will persist into FY19.

Apart from the bus depot, all major LRT Line 3 (LRT3) packages have been awarded and work progress is estimated at 3%. The contribution from LRT3 (share of JV profits) was RM17 million for FY18, and this is expected to accelerate strongly for FY19.

The Gamuda-MMC-GKent JV and China Communications Construction Co Ltd are the finalists for mass rapid transit Line 3 (MRT3) (RM45 billion). Although management did not reveal its stake in the JV, it has been agreed that GKent will undertake the system works potentially amounting to RM6 billion to RM8 billion. Securing this would double its order book, which currently stands at RM5.5 billion.

We remain optimistic about the JV winning the turnkey role given its pure local set-up and the lower rate of financing offered.

Last month, a consortium was formed between GKent and four European names (Siemens, Alstom, Italian State Railways and PORR) to bid for the high-speed rail (HSR) asset company role. Management expects bidding competition from Chinese, Japanese and Korean consortiums. The tender will close at end-June.

Other potential jobs include Singapore MRT track works (S$150 million or RM446.25 million), a hospital (RM500 million), East Coast Rail Link (ECRL) systems (RM1 billion) and water-related jobs.

Any possible delays in LRT3 would be a key risk. Our forecasts are unchanged as the briefing yielded no surprises.

GKent is a key proxy for the booming rail project roll-outs in Malaysia. We believe that it is in a polar position to participate in jobs such as MRT3 and HSR. It also boasts a net cash position of 82 sen per share (19% of its market capitalisation). Our sum-of-parts-based TP of RM5.66 implies a price-earnings ratio (excluding cash) of 19 times and 17 times respectively for FY19 and FY20. — Hong Leong Investment Bank Research, March 21

Bursalord

653 posts

Posted by Bursalord > 2019-04-15 20:42 | Report Abuse

Other potential jobs include Singapore MRT track works (S$150 million or RM446.25 million), a hospital (RM500 million), East Coast Rail Link (ECRL) systems (RM1 billion) and water-related jobs.

Bursalord

653 posts

Posted by Bursalord > 2019-04-15 20:45 | Report Abuse

Thats mean ecrl project is gkent potential job before.
Might be gamuda, mrcb or ecrl main contractor cccc sub contractor

Bursalord

653 posts

Posted by Bursalord > 2019-04-15 20:51 | Report Abuse

(吉隆坡15日讯)分析员认为东铁项目复工为建筑领域带来的利好早已反映在股价上,料相关股项短期将进入盘整;无论如何,当前建筑领域算是走出谷底,加上砂拉越州政府将加大发展预算,也看好可提振整体建筑领域士气,氛围已没有之前那么悲观!

早在今年初,市场已揣测东铁可能复工,相关建筑领域股项股价今年迄今已反弹走高36.51%和61.05%之间,与去年509大选后情况相比形成了鲜明对比,当时它们的市值缩水了37.03%至70.81%。

大众投银研究和丰隆投银研究均认为,有鉴于大部份建筑股的股价早已反映了相关利好,料会有部份投资者趁机套利,以致建筑股项短期内或陷盘整阶段。

东铁新路线已确定绕过文冬;图为东铁项目总承包商中国交通建设股份有限公司(CCCC)位于文冬的工地。
纵览马股建筑股项今早走势,在大部份建筑股项走低拖累下,建筑类股指数今日亦由升转跌,截至下午4时30分,报202.89点,跌2.77点。

大众投银研究指出,根据前资政理事会主席敦达因,东铁项目中的40%分包商工程将保留给大马公司,这相当于176亿令吉的合约总值,当中金务大(GAMUDA,5398,主要板建筑)和怡保工程(IJM,3336,主要板建筑)获看好突围胜算最高。

前景依旧挑战重重
该行解释,金务大和怡保工程在铁路建设方面经验丰富,同时怡保工程此前已在东海岸经济特区(ECER)深耕,加上该公司在关丹港口占地700英亩的工业地段中持有60%股权,这亦是其优势之一。

至于丰隆投银研究则看好怡保工程和乔治肯特(GKENT,3204,主要板建筑)。

Bursalord

653 posts

Posted by Bursalord > 2019-04-15 20:52 | Report Abuse

Gkent still one of the potential counter.

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2019-04-15 22:10 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/savemalaysia/202311.jsp

Maybe Gkent can win another possible LRT4 Putrajaya-Kajang other than ECRL project?

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-04-16 06:44 | Report Abuse

We only need 1 big contract, share price will go all the way up to RM3.

Posted by PanjiAlam55 > 2019-04-16 08:34 | Report Abuse

Why always fake news here to boost it..in reality GKENT is no more hope for ECRL after PH took over from BN.. dun speared the fake new...please

Posted by PanjiAlam55 > 2019-04-16 08:36 | Report Abuse

The truth is PH is not gangbeng with GKENT not like BN do..

huntertee

241 posts

Posted by huntertee > 2019-04-16 08:51 | Report Abuse

If PH doesn’t favour Gkent then they wouldn’t have got to continue with LRT3

FairTalk

376 posts

Posted by FairTalk > 2019-04-16 09:00 | Report Abuse

GK could submit competitive bids for the contracts then GK could win these contracts. Additionally GK has the expertise and record. PH loves competitive bids which give good values to the rakyat.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-04-16 09:12 | Report Abuse

LRT4 now gomen no money la

don't dream about it

HSR and ERCL maybe still possible

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-04-16 09:13 | Report Abuse

Singapore MRT works ? Really ?

from where have the news about it ?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-04-16 09:16 | Report Abuse

ERCL story is just story

there is no any confirm news that GKENT get the job already

we still don't know who local contractors that will be awarded to the ERCL jobs

hope GKENT can get a share of pie for the ERCL

huntertee

241 posts

Posted by huntertee > 2019-04-16 09:22 | Report Abuse

RainT, very true, nobody knows which local contractor will get the job. We can only bet on your most favourable horse

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-04-16 10:12 | Report Abuse

If we can know which company can get the contract, we don't have to work already.
But If we wait until announcement make, then it's too late to buy.

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2019-04-16 13:42 | Report Abuse

Why only KLSE " RED " All others are Green and alive.

newbie8080

2,742 posts

Posted by newbie8080 > 2019-04-16 14:02 | Report Abuse

HSR to Singapore nice to have but priority is to improve Malaysia's existing rail system, says Mahathir
Last September, both neighbours agreed to the deferment till May 2020, and Malaysia has reimbursed Singapore $15 million for abortive costs incurred by the delay.
At a retreat last week, Dr Mahathir and Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong noted that Malaysia is exploring the possible way forward, with the aim of cost reduction.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/mahathir-says-improve-malaysias-existing-rail-system-before-building-hsr-to-singapore

newbie8080

2,742 posts

Posted by newbie8080 > 2019-04-16 14:05 | Report Abuse

CYBERJAYA: Dr Mahathir Mohamad says the high-speed rail (HSR) project between Malaysia and Singapore which was suspended last year is still on hold pending talks between the two governments.

“For the time being, we are not going to build.

“We have asked for two years before we talk again,” the prime minister said. “At the moment, we have not given any contracts. So we have to compensate Singapore.”

The agreement saw the project deferred until May 31, 2020. If by then Malaysia does not proceed with the project, it will also bear the agreed costs incurred by Singapore in fulfilling the HSR bilateral agreement.

In July last year, Singapore said it would seek to recover over S$250 million (US$181.66 million) in costs incurred to date should Malaysia cancel the project.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2019/04/16/hsr-project-still-on-hold-govt-to-compensate-singapore-says-dr-m/

Maynot

822 posts

Posted by Maynot > 2019-04-16 14:40 | Report Abuse

Just post the link and title...No need to post the whole news content here

Posted by PanjiAlam55 > 2019-04-16 15:47 | Report Abuse

Why hoping to what you dun have hope...stupid to speared news that u also not contfident to get it...hahahaha

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-04-16 16:10 | Report Abuse

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2019/04/16/penang-lrt-project-to-start-next-year/

Penang LRT project to start next year.
Chow said the LRT project would take between six to eight years to be completed and a public display will be held for three months to gather feedback from the public on it.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-16 16:14 | Report Abuse

General Raider has Sold Gkent at Rm 1.26 and take profit loh....!!
A return close to 40% consider very good loh.....!!
Furthermore share price weakening loh....!!

The ECRL whether gkent will definitely get anything is uncertain loh...!!

If it go down below Rm 1.10 maybe raider will consider jump in again loh....!!

劉尹光

490 posts

Posted by 劉尹光 > 2019-04-16 16:19 | Report Abuse

gkent get some job from ECRL, the stock wont be 1.10 ,....

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2019-04-16 16:35 | Report Abuse

SHQUAH i tot gamuda got it?

Posted by PanjiAlam55 > 2019-04-16 17:15 | Report Abuse

My advise to all just dun believed all fake news bcoz GKent dun have expertise on Building railways like big2 contruction their basic bisness is water paip and Building contruction not infrastruktur... so jgn tertipu dgn rumous and fake news...ECRL will be given PH gengbeng group not GKent lor

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2019-04-16 17:40 | Report Abuse

Other asian markets rally today while KLSE was given a thumbs down. What is happening to Malaysia's KLSE?

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-04-16 18:21 | Report Abuse

As I said before, current price 1.24 is the fair value for Gkent even without any new rail projects. LRT3 still got a few years to go. If in future got any new Rail projects will be a BONUS.

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2019-04-16 19:04 | Report Abuse

SHQUAH the penang LRT one goes to GAMUDA right?

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-04-16 20:09 | Report Abuse

Don't know. No announcement. Could be open tender. Gamuda good in building tunnel, road and fly over. But rail or train ? I think Gkent better. Could partnership.

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2019-04-16 20:39 | Report Abuse

Rail no others ka? Gkent only got specialist?

Stanley8

203 posts

Posted by Stanley8 > 2019-04-16 22:19 | Report Abuse

on domestic construction industry has been boosted by positive newsflow and we opine that the worst is over for the industry. ECRL will resume with lower construction costs and rerouting. Separately, MyHSR corporation plans to appoint a technical advisory consultant to review the technical aspects of HSR project’s cost reduction options and this sparked revival hopes of the project. Maintain NEUTRAL sector rating as we deem YTD surge in construction counters has reflected the positive sentiment. In terms of TP changes, we maintain HOLD for both Gkent and IJM but upped TP to RM1.41 and RM2.30 respectively.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-04-17 08:21 | Report Abuse

Hopefully can meet TP - RM1.41. Good luck.

Gkent is a good dividend company. I am waiting for my Dividend and will invest all with the dividend money.

Getting new Rail, HSR and LRT contract is not easy. But it's possible as Gkent got the experience and specialist. To PH, cost is the most important.

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2019-04-17 08:27 | Report Abuse

Unfortunately Malaysian KLSE is sparingly supported by foreign investors. It could get worse when Dow Jones have a big drop.

Bursalord

653 posts

Posted by Bursalord > 2019-04-17 08:59 | Report Abuse

Surveying Shares of George Kent (Malaysia) Berhad (KLSE:GKENT), i3 Verticals, Inc. (NasdaqGS:IIIV)
Tweet Share Share
By Caroline Biscotti on April 16, 2019

The Value Composite Two of George Kent (Malaysia) Berhad (KLSE:GKENT) is 18. The VC2 is calculated using the price to book value, price to sales, EBITDA to EV, price to cash flow, price to earnings and shareholder yield. Similarly, the Value Composite One (VC1) is a method that investors use to determine a company’s value. The VC1 of George Kent (Malaysia) Berhad (KLSE:GKENT) is 27. A company with a value of 0 is thought to be an undervalued company, while a company with a value of 100 is considered an overvalued company. The VC1 is calculated using the same metrics as VC2, but without taking into consideration shareholder yield.

Investors looking to make big gains in the equity market may be looking to fine tune an existing strategy or create a whole new one. It may sound quite easy, buy low and sell high. Obviously, navigating the stock market typically entails much more than that. Identifying market tops and correction levels may be very difficult. Of course, it always hurts to take a loss, but figuring out how to shrink losses can help keep the ship afloat during turbulent market conditions. The situation for the average investor may vary greatly from one person to the next. Some investors will be working with a short-term plan, while other may be focused on a longer-term investment horizon. Goals may also vary from individual to individual. Keeping these goals in sight may help clear up the sometimes foggy investing waters, and provide clarity for creating a winning portfolio.

Valuation Scores

Shifting gears, we can see that George Kent (Malaysia) Berhad (KLSE:GKENT) has a Q.i. Value of 31.00000. The Q.i. Value ranks companies using four ratios. These ratios consist of EBITDA Yield, FCF Yield, Liquidity, and Earnings Yield. The purpose of the Q.i. Value is to help identify companies that are the most undervalued. Typically, the lower the value, the more undervalued the company tends to be.

Shinnzaii

3,114 posts

Posted by Shinnzaii > 2019-04-17 09:17 | Report Abuse

Lol bursalord...no need to promote...Im waiting how low it can go to enter...missed the chance last time when issued dividend...hehe

digi2222

81 posts

Posted by digi2222 > 2019-04-17 09:37 | Report Abuse

buy more when drop..
big sales..grab before late

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-04-17 09:40 | Report Abuse

Bursalord888........no point hard selling.

Just let them sell. Maybe they want to push down so that they could buy cheaper when they got their dividend. The boss got a lot share and dividend. He could collect more from open market.

I will use all my dividend to buy more Gkent.

Shinnzaii

3,114 posts

Posted by Shinnzaii > 2019-04-17 09:42 | Report Abuse

Not purposely push down...observe market yourself...

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-04-17 10:00 | Report Abuse

Shinnzaii........you are correct, not just Gkent.

There are something wrong with KLSE. When the whole world up but KLSE down.

Posted by iwantberich > 2019-04-17 10:18 | Report Abuse

GKENT is a good value counter. Its better than other counter, lets take a look at IWCITY (1589) ^_^

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-04-17 10:34 | Report Abuse

KLSE down please thanks to PH gomen

Most all companies in KLSE affected because of stupid policy changes of PH and talking without brain of minister of PH