GEORGE KENT (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): GKENT (3204)

-0.015 (3.06%)

0.475 - 0.49

15 people like this.

18,216 comment(s). Last comment by gkent2000 1 week ago

Posted by Cockroach Paul Lee > 2019-06-28 21:02 | Report Abuse

Wait July share buy back 10% approve..... Tan Sri open fire buy buy buy.... limit up crazy up kaboom up
Gkent investors! Better buy now !

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2019-06-28 21:33 | Report Abuse

Erkongseng can you write in English?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-06-29 15:23 | Report Abuse

@vincent tan

what the information is you show?

is it some international mutual fund buy GKENT shares?

from where u get this information?

Posted by Vincent Tan > 2019-06-30 10:47 | Report Abuse

@RAINT yes international mutual fund who hold gkent shares

Posted by xiang13001 > 2019-07-01 15:46 | Report Abuse

bad QR price still strong, this is bursa malaysia style...

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-07-01 16:02 | Report Abuse

UP Because future is very good. Next year up all the way.

Posted by Vincent Tan > 2019-07-01 16:09 | Report Abuse

guys must be patient in this counter , this counter is too good even small retailers want to buy for long term , thats why operator hard to collect at low . They need more time to collect and wash out players .

Posted by Cockroach Paul Lee > 2019-07-01 22:47 | Report Abuse

Sailang 2 counters... Gkent n GenM... my combo : GG

Posted by Vincent Tan > 2019-07-02 09:09 | Report Abuse

Very soon it will fly no joke

siaoliao

917 posts

Posted by siaoliao > 2019-07-02 10:58 | Report Abuse

dont fly so fast..........i wanna collect more

CY

8 posts

Posted by CY > 2019-07-02 12:52 | Report Abuse

1.20 today

Posted by Vincent Tan > 2019-07-02 13:04 | Report Abuse

Super strong rally incoming

abertk25

56 posts

Posted by abertk25 > 2019-07-02 15:37 | Report Abuse

Privatize at RM 0.35

TomyamGong

4,139 posts

Posted by TomyamGong > 2019-07-02 16:35 | Report Abuse

Omg, Mr erkongseng also here. I must buy a bit then

siaoliao

917 posts

Posted by siaoliao > 2019-07-02 16:39 | Report Abuse

STOP FLY i still collect nt enuf

siaoliao

917 posts

Posted by siaoliao > 2019-07-02 16:39 | Report Abuse

Vincent Tan msia top richest person sudah drop comment in this counter
Vincent Tan Very soon it will fly no joke
02/07/2019 9:09 AM PLS HIRE ME TO YOUR COMPANY IM SIAO LIAO

Posted by Vincent Tan > 2019-07-02 16:40 | Report Abuse

Mfi already break new high this wave at least hit 1.4

Trouble Huat

1,199 posts

Posted by Trouble Huat > 2019-07-02 17:05 | Report Abuse

Announcement coming soon

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-02 17:56 | Report Abuse

wah

close at 1.20

seem not bad oh

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-02 17:57 | Report Abuse

hope tomorrow drop

and I can scoop more

Alex7111

52 posts

Posted by Alex7111 > 2019-07-02 17:59 | Report Abuse

Not more below 1.20 lioa

ming

2,074 posts

Posted by ming > 2019-07-02 19:14 | Report Abuse

Wanna entry at 1.10 *n*

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-07-02 20:21 | Report Abuse

Some people say gkent no moat is an ass company. Luckily he got a lot of followers.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-07-02 20:28 | Report Abuse

Can go up lah. When market bullish, KNM also can go up

But It is not a Coca Cola

So don’t pretend to be

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2019-07-02 20:57 | Report Abuse

Sold some at 1.20 today. Got more that is bought at higher prices long ago. Will sell if fits my prices. Will also buy back if the price gets back below 1.10. One of my favourite counters.

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-07-02 21:25 | Report Abuse

Moat is simply a competitive advantage. People who don't understand Warren and think moat simply means brand strength simply do not know what is meant by moat.

There are many different types of moats or business advantage.

Berkshire Hathaway a management "moat".
McDonald's has a location "moat".
Coca cola has a brand "moat".
Swiss RE has a cash board "moat".

Gkent has a small moat, but bigger than others in Bursa.

The moat is simply this: when bn government rule, they choose gkent for their rail systems ( some say crony, no proof no macc?). Now that pH government rule, they still choose gkent for their rail systems ( some say new crony, no proof no MACC).

But what is the moat therein? It is a mix of having a good cash balance to do jobs which not many companies can handle (200 million cash is a "moat" by itself), experience and a good track record of having over projects on schedule and on budget is also definitely a "moat". Having a direct political line to the ruling block is always a "moat" ( see myeg, until they lost the moat). Having an engineering team with a good set of experience and huge reference of past projects is also a "moat".

If your only concept of moat is just brand labeling, then you have much to learn on finding companies that grow into great companies that end up as wonderful companies.

Then again for someone who could not differentiate between a yinson and a bumi armada in terms of long term prospects, I have very little to say.

Gkent is doing something very few companies in Malaysia can execute, and is being valued at rock bottom prices despite no debt and 200 million in cash.

Risk versus reward for gkent is clear as day.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-02 22:31 | Report Abuse

Good management & moat diffrent Loh...!!

Efficient v moat are different mah...!!

Productive v moat are different loh....!!

Moat are toll highway, brand recognition, monopoly position, holders of special rights, patents and copyright etc loh...!!

NOT LIKE WHAT TOM, DICK & HARRY AS DESCRIBE BY PHILIP MAH...!!

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > Jul 2, 2019 9:25 PM | Report Abuse

Moat is simply a competitive advantage. People who don't understand Warren and think moat simply means brand strength simply do not know what is meant by moat.

There are many different types of moats or business advantage.

Berkshire Hathaway a management "moat".
McDonald's has a location "moat".
Coca cola has a brand "moat".
Swiss RE has a cash board "moat".

Gkent has a small moat, but bigger than others in Bursa.

The moat is simply this: when bn government rule, they choose gkent for their rail systems ( some say crony, no proof no macc?). Now that pH government rule, they still choose gkent for their rail systems ( some say new crony, no proof no MACC).

But what is the moat therein? It is a mix of having a good cash balance to do jobs which not many companies can handle (200 million cash is a "moat" by itself), experience and a good track record of having over projects on schedule and on budget is also definitely a "moat". Having a direct political line to the ruling block is always a "moat" ( see myeg, until they lost the moat). Having an engineering team with a good set of experience and huge reference of past projects is also a "moat".

If your only concept of moat is just brand labeling, then you have much to learn on finding companies that grow into great companies that end up as wonderful companies.

Then again for someone who could not differentiate between a yinson and a bumi armada in terms of long term prospects, I have very little to say.

Gkent is doing something very few companies in Malaysia can execute, and is being valued at rock bottom prices despite no debt and 200 million in cash.

Risk versus reward for gkent is clear as day.

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-07-02 22:54 | Report Abuse

If you had attended a single Berkshire annual meeting you would know that Warren buffet thinks the way I do. I learned from the best. But then again Stockraider who thinks dgsb reverse split is double profit in a month, hengyuan valuation is 35, and buys all the wrong stocks, nothing more will I say. Whatever he thinks it's true he will believe it so.

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-07-02 23:31 | Report Abuse

But since I'm getting in the mood to humiliate and make fun of Stockraider again, let me elucidate exactly what moat means I'm Warren buffet owns words.

" Remember that a competitive advantage is essentially any factor that allows a company to provide a good or service that is similar to those offered by its competitors and, at the same time, outperform those competitors in profits. "

That is essentially a moat you retarded office boy! I'm his own words.

Geico moat is its low cost.
Coca cola moat is its taste and branding.
Midamerican moat is its high switching costs.
3M moat is its huge list of patents.
Google moat is its efficient services.

If your only concept of moats is only that of intangible assets (patents, license, brand recognition) then you really have to fucken read a lot more.

" Anybody can make a search engine. You got yahoo, altavista, Netscape, so many bigger and richer companies. What is so special about Google?" This was said 20 years ago.

Posted by Cockroach Paul Lee > 2019-07-03 02:21 | Report Abuse

Don’t buffet here buffet there ...
Ask Warren Buffet buy Gkent la...
cash is king... 10m usd enough for Gkent. Hahahaha

Abhi9

Posted by Abhi9 > 2019-07-03 02:29 | Report Abuse

Potential counter to buy
Breaking above 1.22
Cutloss below 1.20
Resistance 1.25,1.27
For TA/FA with Target point and short term profitable trades with live analysis
WhatsApp at +60 11 1348 0036

James Ng

2,690 posts

Posted by James Ng > 2019-07-03 08:46 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/general/213386.jsp
[转贴] [GEORGE KENT MALAYSIA BHD:工程收入减少] - James的股票投资James Share Investing

Posted by gorengking69 > 2019-07-03 09:09 | Report Abuse

Last call to buy cheap

Tunjung

201 posts

Posted by Tunjung > 2019-07-03 09:21 | Report Abuse

Kena goreng buying q higher than buying..shark disposal a lot rm1.20

Winmore88

1,165 posts

Posted by Winmore88 > 2019-07-03 09:33 | Report Abuse

This week fly

Posted by gorengking69 > 2019-07-03 10:30 | Report Abuse

Only one shark disposing. Others are still buying

siaoliao

917 posts

Posted by siaoliao > 2019-07-03 10:54 | Report Abuse

IM FKING RICH EDI SUDAH BREAK 1.2

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-07-03 11:27 | Report Abuse

withdraw my earlier criticism for this stock

bought big today

I maintain my view that the company does not have moat

but it doesn't matter

order book is RM5 bil

even if net margin is 5% (I diok , if lower than that), total construction net profit is already RM250 mil

lets say spread out over 5 years, every year construction net profit already RM50 mil.

add the water meter net profit of RM30 mil per annum (very very conservative), sustainable profit is easily RM80 mil per annum

market cap now is only RM670 mil, meaning prospective PER is only 8.5 times

attractive valuation + strong earning visibility + net cash balance sheet = BUY

2,823 posts

Posted by cheoky > 2019-07-03 11:44 | Report Abuse

philip + icon spark of firework...

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-03 11:55 | Report Abuse

2 sifus also say GKENT is good to buy

so ho she liao

sure win investment already

Tunjung

201 posts

Posted by Tunjung > 2019-07-03 12:26 | Report Abuse

Take profit 1st..ringgit going lower again

popo92

578 posts

Posted by popo92 > 2019-07-03 14:13 | Report Abuse

Dear philip, Gkent might have the little moat on water meter but its relatively small. On the rail system that was revised, my understanding of Gkent had not proven any competitive advantages other than contract was already awarded to Gkent. The project was not re-tender, if Gkent won the award by another round of open tender then it might prove something else. And its not yet proven Gkent has the ability to able to finished these projects on hand with better margin than peers in term of efficiency or whatsoever. But i do agree with on hand order book of 5billion, valuation seems do look attractive. Also, I disagreed with your harsh comments on myeg had lost its moat. What we have seen with recent quarters, myeg had not yet seen any dwindling of margin. It is also replicating its business and system in philipines, indonesia and blangadesh. Indonesia government have allowed them with JV for the country GST implementing system, i do not know whether there is any direct political line involved but if there's no moat at all how they managed to get those contracts? To be honest, i have not seen a company doing this well with good margins and efficient among companies that serve government system and e services. Or what you are saying is these companies were all cronies previously with lousy management? I am very curious with your understanding on moat please enlighten me sifu philip.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-07-03 14:19 | Report Abuse

Gkent no moat lah

Anybody has money can employ Engineers to build a rail division

YTL last time built power division like that also

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-07-03 14:28 | Report Abuse

Kinda agree with popo92 comments below. To me, from what i could understand so far...

MOAT = 'resilience' to margin erosion

its a function of 'time' factor incorporated in it.. on top of relatively 'high margin'

Also, I disagreed with your harsh comments on myeg had lost its moat. What we have seen with recent quarters, myeg had not yet seen any dwindling of margin. It is also replicating its business and system in philipines, indonesia and blangadesh. Indonesia government have allowed them with JV for the country GST implementing system, i do not know whether there is any direct political line involved but if there's no moat at all how they managed to get those contracts? To be honest, i have not seen a company doing this well with good margins and efficient among companies that serve government system and e services.

2,823 posts

Posted by cheoky > 2019-07-03 14:31 | Report Abuse

All cat can catch mice is good cat. No need insist cat with sharp claws

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-07-03 14:32 | Report Abuse

you couple that with 'growth opportunities'...'growth' meaning expansion of market....you will hit the jackpot i guess.

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-07-03 14:38 | Report Abuse

we dont want the competitive edge pressure on the investment seeker itself (e,g TA analysis) cheoky....to constantly seek improvement..update and change methodology with flow of time.. struggle constantly to catch the better performing cat which is performing momentarily...

we want the peace of mind of catching that 1 or 2 truly competent cat and just watch it outperform consistently...time after time.. again..and again..

we want to relax ma

Posted by cheoky > Jul 3, 2019 2:31 PM | Report Abuse

All cat can catch mice is good cat. No need insist cat with sharp claws

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-07-03 14:55 | Report Abuse

But that kind of cats very difficult to catch

If not careful it bites you instead of bite mouse woh

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-07-03 15:11 | Report Abuse

which one Icon..the 1 or 2 truly competent cat?

ha ha...agree must be difficult....and usually many bees like 3ii already flocking on it to make the price pretty expensive...