GEORGE KENT (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): GKENT (3204)

-0.005 (1.10%)

0.445 - 0.45

15 people like this.

18,218 comment(s). Last comment by Icon 888 3 days ago

superegg

112 posts

Posted by superegg > 2020-03-19 21:47 | Report Abuse

Cheap

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2020-03-20 23:13 | Report Abuse

keep buying ..

Posted by Philip ( Write To Me If You Need Help) > 2020-03-21 12:18 | Report Abuse

sslee... GKENT management is buying back average of 300K shares every day with their money. With a net outstanding share amount of 563 million shares, and bought back 25 million shares already, what do you think is going on? and why is Insas not doing the same thing with their 1.5 billion in assets and cash?

55,799 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2020-03-21 14:07 |

28,455 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-03-21 14:17 | Report Abuse

Coronavirus live updates: Singapore reports its first two deaths, Italy locks down further

Posted by Philip ( Write To Me If You Need Help) > 2020-03-22 07:44 | Report Abuse

LRT project is considered a necessary construction because it is a critical transportation in City areas and already progress tracked to 43%.

NFCP is a baby which hasn't even started yet.

Which is easier to cancel?

Think think think.

The early warning shots of NETX at 0.005 is here. Latest news from national newspapers as government struggles to divert resources to healthcare and social services. NFCP put on indefinite hold. Only payment for phase 1 and phase 2 OCT 2020 RFP tender canceled until due notice.

So... now what Mr Calvin? You said got tender. Please explain further. Government expanding resources to healthcare and military instead with their 50 billion allocation.

So.. without NFCP what does NETX have in its future?

>>>>>>>>

https://oilprice.com/Energy/Energy-General/Russia-Wont-Blink-First-In-...

Oil price has dropped to USD 22 per barrel. As demand and supply world wide plummet.

Oh no.

>>>>>>>>>>>

Government has started putting major projects on hold which is unnecessary to daily public and national importance.

Malaysia is looking at a shortfall of more than 58 billion ringgit for the allocation of public works due to cancellation of GST and shortfall from O&G revenue income.

NCFP project has been put on hold at all major states except Kelantan, Terrenganu, Sabah & Sarawak. Revision of packages to drop from 30 mb/s to 15mb/s speeds in rural locations.

Read more here:

>>>>>>

>>>>>>>

Posted by calvintaneng > Mar 21, 2020 2:07 PM | Report Abuse

PHILIP IS BIG HYPOCRITE

IF GOVT CANCELL ALL JOBS THEN WHY KEEP GKENT (going kaput)

See https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/www.eaglevisioninvest.com/2020-03-19...

anticonman

533 posts

Posted by anticonman > 2020-03-22 09:37 | Report Abuse

Philip read newspaper? Why they(media stocks) not more bargain to pick up when cheap?

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-03-22 14:50 | Report Abuse

Just curious calvintaneng got any Gkent share ?

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-03-22 14:57 | Report Abuse

Results should be out soon, so much money spent on share buy back, not sure got enough money for dividend.

ming

2,076 posts

Posted by ming > 2020-03-23 05:04 | Report Abuse

Building hospital ma.. mayb got surprise leh

Posted by whereyoupunter > 2020-03-23 11:31 | Report Abuse

philipbuto yeah critical like in ICU

55,799 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2020-03-23 16:29 | Report Abuse

NETX IS TSUNAMI SHELTERED

1) CASH RICH & DEBT FREE

2) INSIDERS STRONG BUYING SUPPORT

3) GOOD JOB PROSPECT IN NFCP

4) FUTURE TECH COMPANY

5) SELLING AT PRICE TO CASH DISCOUNT UP TO 60%

6) SAFE, SOLID & SOUND BALANCE SHEET

7) THE SAFEST STOCK IN A TIME OF FINANCIAL CRISIS LIKE NOW!!!

K-Den

711 posts

Posted by K-Den > 2020-03-23 16:31 | Report Abuse

actually promote here 9696 also no use, most important got good QR, let's wait for it. I stuck here till see no road

ming

2,076 posts

Posted by ming > 2020-03-23 18:17 | Report Abuse

Good qr at this period also no use le.. hope big player dont kena margin call here

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-03-23 19:44 | Report Abuse

since after election

this GKENT share price waterfall until mother also cannot recognise

Posted by Matcha Green Tea > 2020-03-23 22:38 | Report Abuse

Looks like 0.5 to 1 cent dividend is possible, if the profit is around 2 cents. That's around 40% payout ratio using 2018 (46%) and 2017 (40%) benchmark.

Posted by Philip ( Write To Me If You Need Help) > 2020-03-24 11:18 | Report Abuse

But did management have enough cash to buy back 5% + of shares and huge dividend yield while waiting for LRT3 earnings clarity?

>>>>>>>>>

calvintaneng NETX IS TSUNAMI SHELTERED

1) CASH RICH & DEBT FREE

2) INSIDERS STRONG BUYING SUPPORT

3) GOOD JOB PROSPECT IN NFCP

4) FUTURE TECH COMPANY

5) SELLING AT PRICE TO CASH DISCOUNT UP TO 60%

6) SAFE, SOLID & SOUND BALANCE SHEET

7) THE SAFEST STOCK IN A TIME OF FINANCIAL CRISIS LIKE NOW!!!
23/03/2020 4:29 PM

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-03-24 11:51 | Report Abuse

calvintaneng --- NETX is a lousy company making huge losses.

Gkent - is a good company making profit and with good dividend. I am not sure you got any Gkent share ?

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2020-03-24 11:53 | Report Abuse

Philip,
Companies in mature markets are sctapping and suspending dividends. In times like this it might be a wise move. Your thoughts please

Posted by Philip ( Write To Me If You Need Help) > 2020-03-24 13:10 | Report Abuse

My opinion is very simple. If a company is unable to grow the business or have further use of unexpended capital, the right move is always to increase shareholder value by buying back shares or giving out dividends. A company that hoards cash and doesn't do anything with it is a horrible company (although icap seems to be on the move with the recent market drop. We will see).

I hate companies that also do the opposite, taking loans to give out dividends, which hurt the company growth.

I hate even more companies that move out of its core competency and use the cash hoard to move into businesses which it has no benefit organically, growing just for the sake of growing. It would be like a palm oil plantation that jumps into property development, or a timber company that jumps into building automation systems.

The best is companies that buy back shares when it is cheap, gives out dividends when there are no good opportunities in the market, and conserving cash when it is needed.

Obviously, with a 200+ million cash hoard and 13 billion orderbook with multiple happy subcontractors that are paid based on progress claim (which is charged back by GKENT), they feel confident enough with their quarterly earnings to aggresively buy back shares.

All we need is patience to see how everything turns out.

5,666 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-03-24 13:31 | Report Abuse

Haha
Most of plantation company jump into property development because they have many cheap plantation land near strategy location and reap for property development.

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2020-03-24 14:46 | Report Abuse

The indicator shows will fly soon..

dlau8899

915 posts

Posted by dlau8899 > 2020-03-24 18:25 | Report Abuse

Going up above 0.60 as soon

Posted by Philip ( Write To Me If You Need Help) > 2020-03-25 08:30 | Report Abuse

I think this is a stupid concept, because a lot of my friends are stuck now with bank loans that they cannot service due to building shoplots and houses that no one wants to buy and they can't sell off due to low demand. You should only build something that people want, and not because you can.

>>>>>>

Sslee Haha
Most of plantation company jump into property development because they have many cheap plantation land near strategy location and reap for property development.
24/03/2020 1:31 PM

5,666 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-03-25 10:47 | Report Abuse

Haha
Philip forgot why a water meter manufacturer like Gkent jump into 13 billion contruction work. Maybe the CEO play too much golf with you know who.

ks55_

569 posts

Posted by ks55_ > 2020-03-25 15:22 | Report Abuse

Close shop soon. Run asap.

ks55_

569 posts

Posted by ks55_ > 2020-03-25 15:23 | Report Abuse

1 mth MCO no income but salary pay 100% sure die.

1,800 posts

Posted by 4444 > 2020-03-25 16:10 | Report Abuse

Close shop soon meow-meow.

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2020-03-25 18:48 | Report Abuse

Expected mco to extend.., let drop further to give opportunity for other to be rich

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2020-03-25 18:50 | Report Abuse

However this week qtr release will push the price up

dlau8899

915 posts

Posted by dlau8899 > 2020-03-26 00:12 | Report Abuse

From 1.38 to 0.52 , more than 50 percent discount, if buy above 1.00 , why not buy now.

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2020-03-26 00:54 | Report Abuse

Indeed keeping buying..Good FA & cash cow company with projects in hand.

Posted by Philip ( Write To Me If You Need Help) > 2020-03-26 07:56 | Report Abuse

Exactly.

>>>>>>>>

dlau8899 From 1.38 to 0.52 , more than 50 percent discount, if buy above 1.00 , why not buy now.
26/03/2020 12:12 AM

Posted by Philip ( Write To Me If You Need Help) > 2020-03-26 08:09 | Report Abuse

Can you prove to me that gkent "jump" into 13 billion construction work. Maybe you don't know the history of GKENT, but I do.

Before lrt3 there was mrt 2 and lep. Maybe sslee has forgotten, but gkent is the first Malaysian company to do the ampang lep extension line. So experience is definitely there, unlike some companies which just do and sub out to chinamen instead of doing technology transfer.

Before that, they have been doing water treatment plant construction as well. Or did you forget the design, build and operate water treatment plant that they have?

And before that construction into design and build hospitals.

So everything follows a natural progression, which is what I am looking for in growing companies. That is why I don't invest in companies like Jaks, which go from steel supplier, jump into property development ( which end up being sued) and suddenly jump into per generation ( no experience, almost couldn't get it off the ground).

More importantly, has GKENT EVER lost money? I doubt it.

On the other hand contrast it to a company like INSAS which started as a core securities company which stuck lightning in a bottle with INARI(experienced partners). But then decided to jump into fashion ( loss making, no experience), f&b ( dome, a failure no experience), car rental ( unprofitable, sold), fintech ( no experience, sold), biotech ( loss making, no experience, no progress).

I remember my son when he was young he wanted to try everything, piano classes, basketball training, swimming, guitar. In the end he ended up a fine engineer. But many wasted movements and unnecessary expenses.

Can you afford unnecessary expenses when investing in stocks? Unlike my son, I can choose any company now in Bursa. So why not choose the best one with the best growth opportunities? Instead of buying something just because it is cheap.

>>>>>>>>>>

Sslee Haha
Philip forgot why a water meter manufacturer like Gkent jump into 13 billion contruction work. Maybe the CEO play too much golf with you know who.
25/03/2020 10:47 AM

5,666 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-03-26 09:30 | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
In life it is better to be jack of all trades and master of none. You have brought out your son very well in giving him a free hand in trying everything, piano classes, basketball training, swimming, guitar and etc and he ended up a fine engineer plus I am sure a fine human being (all rounder) appreciated and respected by many.
I think your son can teach you a thing or two in appreciating all endeavor and accepting different in opinions, be humble and especially do not argue with lady (Leno and SarifahSelinder)

Posted by Philip ( Write To Me If You Need Help) > 2020-03-26 14:02 | Report Abuse

Can we stick to stock investment?

In stock investing the most important thing is making money. The best way to make money is to buy wonderful companies rather than buying everything in sight. If you try everything and become all rounder, you will end up bankrupt sooner rather than later.

The simple lesson is, buy wonderful companies.

>>>>>>>>

Sslee Dear Philip,
In life it is better to be jack of all trades and master of none. You have brought out your son very well in giving him a free hand in trying everything, piano classes, basketball training, swimming, guitar and etc and he ended up a fine engineer plus I am sure a fine human being (all rounder) appreciated and respected by many.
I think your son can teach you a thing or two in appreciating all endeavor and accepting different in opinions, be humble and especially do not argue with lady (Leno and SarifahSelinder)

26/03/2020 9:30 AM

Posted by Philip ( Write To Me If You Need Help) > 2020-03-26 14:04 | Report Abuse

now that insas valuation has dropped to such wonderful lows, and your prophecy is fullfilled (0.48 ringgit today), perhaps now is a good time to start using all that FD money and go all in and buy all INSAS in sight.

Perhaps then you will finally learn what opportunity costs are.

5,666 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-03-26 16:02 | Report Abuse

Haha,
No hurry will collect slowly but right now better to buy Gkent below 50 cents and sell back to Gkent above 50 cents, learn from hng33.

28,455 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-03-26 20:07 | Report Abuse

What to watch: Dow set to drop after first back-to-back gains since February

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-03-27 07:27 | Report Abuse

Sslee ....if you want to earn fast money, go for counter with big volume and below 20 cents. Gkent are for long term investors and not suitable for contra player.

5,666 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-03-27 08:40 | Report Abuse

haha,
Just teasing Philip since he say Gkent still got so much cash to do buyback.

hng33

20,024 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2020-03-27 10:54 | Report Abuse

bought Gkent at 55.5sen

hng33

20,024 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2020-03-27 11:28 | Report Abuse

add more at 56sen

Posted by moneytrail > 2020-03-27 11:50 | Report Abuse

Slow to recover

Victory99

405 posts

Posted by Victory99 > 2020-03-27 14:13 | Report Abuse

Once come.. It is difficult to get at current price. This stock can be up very fierce and super fast.. Good stock to buy for investment...

Posted by Philip ( Dr. Fauci my Hero) > 2020-03-27 14:20 | Report Abuse

I have increased my maximum margin at these prices as I believe the stimulus package of 3T from fed reserve and 40 billion from malaysia reserve will be enough to stabilize the economy, and the virus will be combated soon. With the reality that this is not a world killing virus, and that the short isolation will be good for the human race in the long run, confidence will be back with a vengeance and the discount prices will be gone soon enough.

>>>>>>>>

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/120720.jsp

super_newbie

1,261 posts

Posted by super_newbie > 2020-03-27 14:42 | Report Abuse

qr mana?

55,799 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2020-03-27 16:46 | Report Abuse

SELL GKENT ON REBOUND

GOVT RM250 BILLIONS STIMULUS DOES NOT BENEFIT GKENT

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-03-27 18:49 | Report Abuse

There are a few people in i3investors really make people hate them. Keep on Writing nonsense.

5,666 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-03-27 21:19 | Report Abuse

Haha
Q4 result not yet out, RHB-OSK already give a sell call with TP of 43 cents.