GEORGE KENT (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): GKENT (3204)

-0.005 (1.03%)

0.475 - 0.485

15 people like this.

18,215 comment(s). Last comment by gkent2000 1 week ago

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-07 09:01 | Report Abuse

Market expected to go all the way up on Tuesday due to so many good news in Malaysia and around the world.

Posted by trylearn123 > 2020-06-09 14:42 | Report Abuse

eat the pill,up so fast

dawchok

489 posts

Posted by dawchok > 2020-06-09 17:36 | Report Abuse

I almost let go GK at 0.75 today but thinking Musa can get off the hook, so must be JibGor. Opportunity for GK is there.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-06-09 17:54 | Report Abuse

when other counters goes up

this GKENT still hang there

after so long SBB still have so many sellers at low price

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-10 15:29 | Report Abuse

Raint, you didn't goreng topglove? Can make so much money in glove stocks...

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-10 15:48 | Report Abuse

Haha,
Philip still cannot get over with his selling of 2 million Topgolv for RM 17+ million. And now had to go every forum to tell everyone topglov is now highly goreng stock.
He should had followed what he preach, make decision to sell or buy only after studying the quarterly financial report.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kianweiaritcles/2020-06-09-story-h1508701600-Top_Glove_s_Quarterly_Results_The_Bellwether_SalvadorDali.jsp
Now's the turn of the bellwether Top Glove, its quarterly to be announce on Thursday. Its for the quarter ended May 2020. Top Glove prides itself for being one of the swiftest to announce their quarterly. However 11th June was an even faster date compared to previous quarters: 17 Dec and 19 Mar. It has to be probable very good news that Top Glove wanted to shout it out to the world. Bearing in mind it has an additional two months of heady business compared to Supermax, analysts have been quite positive.

So what would be a decent expectation. The way Top Glove's price has been behaving around RM16-17 indicates that we are factoring at least 150%-200% jump in NP. Previous quarter's NP was RM116m, hence expectations will be around RM290m-348m or EPS of 11.3 sen - 13.5 sen. Annualise that = 45.2 sen - 54 sen. At RM18.00, PER would be 39.8x - 33x. Still within the realm of reasonableness. If we do not get RM280m in net profit, I suspect there will be a sharper sell down back to RM13.00-RM14.00. If its higher than RM360m, that should pave the way to march past RM20.00.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-10 16:29 | Report Abuse

Sslee, why you keep following me around like a lost puppy? You cannot keep to your own self? Or you also another sour grapes that did not even buy any glove stocks when everyone else did?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-10 16:34 | Report Abuse

Btw you gave up your chance to make 50% returns from GKENT and sold early below 60 cents please don't blame me. You bought at 46 cents sell at cheap cheap trading price waiting for more discounts to come... Now you lost 100%+ returns in topgloves, 50% returns in gkent, PCHEM 50% returns and so many more. But I guess... You are still waiting for that big discount.

Good luck in your investment.

Now comment on something that you know about, like the future of INSAS and INARI.

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-10 17:27 | Report Abuse

Haha Philip,
I am asking myself why I like to follow Philip around?
1. I’m boring and got nothing better to do.
2. I want to learn something new from Philip.
3. I am jealous of Philip success and try finding fault with Philip.
4. I have my concern for Philip and want him to be happy
5. I have fun time reminding Philip his failure to keep his 2 million Topglov a month longer cost him 16 million and seeing him blowing his top
6. Maybe I try to tell Philip his QL is overpriced.
7. Maybe I try to tell Philip after all we are human and as human we are bound to make mistakes
8. Maybe I just want to get his attention so that he will invite me to Bah Kut Teh together with CharlesT and Stockraider.
9. Or maybe I also do not know why?

14,605 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-06-10 17:33 | Report Abuse

Mayb u love Philip..

Slc1

855 posts

Posted by Slc1 > 2020-06-10 17:34 | Report Abuse

Sslee ,i like your article 'I can't breathe'.

Posted by DailyTrader1818 > 2020-06-10 17:40 | Report Abuse

will come in shortly

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-10 18:48 | Report Abuse

Tqvm @Slc1

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-10 18:57 | Report Abuse

Haha CharlesT,
Maybe I love KYY more than Philip???

jonbravo

428 posts

Posted by jonbravo > 2020-06-11 08:28 | Report Abuse

Jonbravo still here

Posted by trylearn123 > 2020-06-11 11:23 | Report Abuse

after 10/6/2020 ,all back to work ,share up no power

XiuyyXiong

134 posts

Posted by XiuyyXiong > 2020-06-11 15:23 | Report Abuse

Why suddenly all counter drops ?

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-14 12:33 | Report Abuse

Good support level. Up & Down depends on overall stock market. Chances of going down is limited and chances of going up is more but need to wait.

uniteen

118 posts

Posted by uniteen > 2020-06-15 13:52 | Report Abuse

gkent on downtrend

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-15 19:26 | Report Abuse

The whole world market going down, not just Gkent.

jonbravo

428 posts

Posted by jonbravo > 2020-06-16 09:09 | Report Abuse

Averaged down

Posted by SideIncomer > 2020-06-16 11:12 | Report Abuse

still waiting for entry xD

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-06-16 17:30 | Report Abuse

GKENT still the same even after SBB & Philip brother promote

Gloves counters all shoot to the sky already

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-06-16 17:32 | Report Abuse

plus now politics uncertain again

will have snap election

then how the projects all? will it be U turn again if Mahathir be PM? Headache

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-06-16 21:03 | Report Abuse

PN will have high chance to win GE 15

Posted by makelittlemoney > 2020-06-17 10:19 | Report Abuse

malaysia high chance to got a lot of corruption and power abuse. after GE 15

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-17 11:11 | Report Abuse

Philip and Sslee.....? please continue writing. Very Sleepy looking at Gkent price movement.
Gkent - Buy, hold or sell ?
Should I change to Magnum, BJtoto and GenM ?

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-17 12:05 | Report Abuse

George Kent - Multiple Downside Risks
Author: HLInvest | Publish date: Wed, 17 Jun 2020, 8:58 AM
Forecast. We cut our FY21 earnings by 6.5% after recalibrating progress billings to FY22. Hence, our FY22 earnings increase by 27% upon factoring in higher progress billings and margin normalisation. We introduce FY23 earnings forecast of RM30m.

Maintain SELL, TP: RM0.52. Despite our view of a likely resuscitation of pump priming initiatives by the government, we reckon earnings downside risks remain aplenty should job awards not materialise to arrest a quickly thinning orderbook. Suspension of its dividend payments should also amplify risks to the downside. Maintain SELL with a slightly higher TP of RM0.52 (from RM0.50) after switching our valuation methodology from SOP to PE method due to its shrinking earnings base in both segments. Our TP is derived from pegging FY22EPS to 6.6x PE multiple (-1SD below 3-year mean).

So Philip forecast of RM 20 million earning per quarter is now way out with HLInvest earnings forecast?

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-06-17 12:43 | Report Abuse

Make little money, no corruption also cannot move up the economy.... Stupid

Posted by Ahmadahmad88 > 2020-06-17 12:50 | Report Abuse

Hari ini beli rm0.665 cuba nasib.

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-17 13:54 | Report Abuse

Haha,
Have a feeling that my Insas is slowly catching up with Philip Gkent even with Insas last quarter big lose of 50+ million.
Why???

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-17 13:56 | Report Abuse

And no SBB for Insas but plenty of SBB for Gkent.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-17 13:58 | Report Abuse

I don't really trust all those analyst from banker. As i say before there are people asking them to write good or bad in order to buy cheap or sell higher.

Posted by Ahmadahmad88 > 2020-06-17 14:16 | Report Abuse

Kalo u percaya hlb, u pergi beli bursa tp 8.8, korang mampus sekarang.

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-17 14:24 | Report Abuse

Haha,
From RHB.

TP still at MYR0.50. Our FY21-23F earnings remain largely unchanged (-2%/-1%/2%). We maintain our ascribed target P/E of 5.5x for FY22F (at -1SD from its 5-year mean). The stock lacks visible re-rating catalysts, given the unfavourable ripple effect caused by the recent oil price collapse, leading to greater uncertainty on the Government’s ability to fund infrastructure spending, and unclear policy imperatives.

Key upside risks include stability in the macro economy, a positive outcome for water reforms, higher-than-expected earnings contributions from the LRT3 project, and further wins in water-related infrastructure construction.

Source: RHB Securities Research - 27 May 2020

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-17 15:13 | Report Abuse

So sad, cannot compete with QL, now want to compare with GKENT?

FYI, LRT3 progress completion and claim only at 24%. If you want to compare at least look at it after LRT3 completion when all the profit comes in.

Look at the wording, what is key upside risks? Why is upside a risk?

All their bearish calculations suddenly do not take LRT3 earnings contribution into the picture.

Why?

That is the equation that leaves wanting from the rhb TP.

But since you are now a trader instead of a long term INVESTOR, I dont think you will care about lrt3 contributions at all.

All the more for me.

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-17 16:08 | Report Abuse

Haha,
Project work all not moving. Next quarter Feb, Mar and April how? Lose quarter?

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-17 16:24 | Report Abuse

As for QL waiting to see how mush earning drop Q4 January to March 2020 follow by Q1 April to June 2020.
Based on past 5 years quarterly data, our average seasonal earnings index is as follows:
Q1 April to June 0.21
Q2 July to September 0.27
Q3 October to December 0.28
Q4 January to March 0.24

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-17 17:01 | Report Abuse

Very good doing so much research! But how come you still can't get good results from INSAS?

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-17 17:12 | Report Abuse

Haha
Doing some quaterly predicting so that do not make the mistake of selling too early or too late when the result in out.

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-06-17 21:49 | Report Abuse

Good to have a constructive discussion as it will bring out the best.. Cheers!!

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-06-18 07:03 | Report Abuse

Lrt steel down in klang, due to PH cut cost

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-06-18 09:25 | Report Abuse

Tengku zafrul is more COMPETENT than the outgoing LIM GUAN ENG

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-18 11:39 | Report Abuse

amzarb44.....yes, Tengku zafrul is more COMPETENT as a finance Minister.
Expect more projects in future.

LIM GUAN ENG only know how to cut but don't know how to plan.

54,484 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2020-06-18 13:11 | Report Abuse

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2020/06/601182/headwinds-persist-gkent-hlib-maintains-sell

Already told you guys to sell Gkent earlier as its skill only in water meter

Its construction arm is only a conduit to get job and sub to others like alibaba rent-seeking scheme

With MO1 in trouble now game over. On its own merit Gkent will find it very very difficult to secure new job

See Gkent now

Then go buy these ones to protect your wealth

1) WTK
2) TEXCHEM
3) NAIM

Final decision is yours

Regards
Calvin

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-06-18 13:55 | Report Abuse

GUAN ENG knows how to talk big only, when managing economic, he actually worse

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-06-18 16:09 | Report Abuse

I very angry he cut the lrt3 budget to half....

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-18 16:22 | Report Abuse

Actually he cut half but the number of stations also cut by half. From 5 star to 3 star project.

5,326 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-18 16:53 | Report Abuse

Haha
So Philip sold 2 million of Gkent at 66 cents on 15 and 16 June each to buy Kpower and SCIB. Had Philip change his mind on: Always look to the future, not the 6 months and 1 year future. But at minimum 3 years and beyond?
16-Jun-2020 Sell GKENT -2,000,000 0.66
15-Jun-2020 Sell GKENT -2,000,000 0.66

Philip ( what you can learn from RJ MITTE ) That is not altogether unreasonable. I believe if you buy the shares today and also at my buying price of 46 cents, the dividends will be safe once the expected 20 million of earnings per quarter from lrt3 progress claim and the 5 million per quarter from mrt2 progress claim comes online.

Here are facts:

1. lrt3 and mrt2 and the 2 hospitals are still running, meaning contracts and their orderbook are firm. Prime minister has already guaranteed payment as these 2 mega projects are feeding thousands of contractors and workers. Hospital handover and final claim + 2 year retention (5% of 500 million project is around 25 million of balance profit) incoming.

2. Lrt3 progress billing was delayed, not cancelled. It will achieve 45% completion by 2020, a huge progress.
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mrcbgeorge-kent-aims-complete-o...

3. Gkent main water business is still running on all cylinders with demand more than supply.

4. Gkent is buying back shares aggressively, gkent current outstanding shares dropped from 563 million to 538 million outstanding. I expect gkent to end share buyback around the 500 million nosh mark.

5. Gkent has huge cash load with a history of paying dividends. It paid sustainable dividends, paying out 40 million of 80 million. I believe until 2024 this will be sustainable.

As a reasonable assumption, I receive around 60k in dividends per year from QL. I spent 200k in 2009 buying ql shares, and in total with real cash, dividend reinvestment etc I have put in around 850k into QL. So if I told you that on a cost basis my QL investment gives me 7% dividend every year, would you believe me or consider it an unreasonable assumption.

Always look to the future, not the 6 months and 1 year future. But at minimum 3 years and beyond. Then you can consider yourself really investing, rather than just playing with stocks.
04/04/2020 6:39 AM

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-18 17:04 | Report Abuse

Sslee, if you do not talk about your own buying and selling of stocks, why do you like to comment on others investments decisions?
Especially when you know I bought it at 0.43 and 0.52 and sold it for a very good profit ( on margin loan) at 0.66.

Can you stick to commenting your own investments good results instead?

Too bad insas has no share buybacks, no future guaranteed prospects, and poor long term results.

FYI, I still hold a substantial sum of GKENT.