GEORGE KENT (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): GKENT (3204)

-0.005 (1.03%)

0.48 - 0.48

15 people like this.

18,215 comment(s). Last comment by gkent2000 2 weeks ago

Posted by stockraider > 2020-06-18 17:17 | Report Abuse

Really Philip so sohai buying into kpower & scib ah ??

Posted by Sslee > Jun 18, 2020 4:53 PM | Report Abuse

Haha
So Philip sold 2 million of Gkent at 66 cents on 15 and 16 June each to buy Kpower and SCIB. Had Philip change his mind on: Always look to the future, not the 6 months and 1 year future. But at minimum 3 years and beyond?
16-Jun-2020 Sell GKENT -2,000,000 0.66
15-Jun-2020 Sell GKENT -2,000,000 0.66

Philip ( what you can learn from RJ MITTE ) That is not altogether unreasonable. I believe if you buy the shares today and also at my buying price of 46 cents, the dividends will be safe once the expected 20 million of earnings per quarter from lrt3 progress claim and the 5 million per quarter from mrt2 progress claim comes online.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-18 17:44 | Report Abuse

Now I know why Gkent share price cannot go up. No teamwork.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-18 18:05 | Report Abuse

Pakatan screw up Gkent. Pakatan screw up everything in 2 years. Next election if BN win, Gkent up all the way.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-06-18 18:07 | Report Abuse

....screw up dap's goodwill......split pkr.....and its pm self-'desrruct' at the end

K-Den

711 posts

Posted by K-Den > 2020-06-18 20:33 | Report Abuse

actually where you got info Philp sold 2 millions units? Geng

5,396 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-18 20:57 | Report Abuse

PHILIP SHARED ONLINE PORTFOLIO 2019 Transactions:
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/120720.jsp#tabs_group1

5,396 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-19 08:39 | Report Abuse

Sorry Philip must have just deleted his shared online portfolio 2019 blog.

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-06-19 09:16 | Report Abuse

I regretted sold my kpower to buy this

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-19 09:42 | Report Abuse

Sslee, my portfolio on i3 is still up and running and shared between friends and my telegram group. I find it is useful for people who are really interested in learning about investment instead of using it just to push their own agenda on how INSAS is a good investment instead. J believe the results 1.5 year results have been amply clear.

I will open my portfolio to public once every quarter for public viewing and to see my performance and have a proper discussion and sharing of info.

Until then, further discussions and viewing of my trackable portfolio can be done on my telegram discussion group that I set up to stop rudeness, name-calling and insults.

FYI it is free.

5,396 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-19 11:32 | Report Abuse

Good morning Philip,
Thank you for your clarification.

K-Den

711 posts

Posted by K-Den > 2020-06-19 12:20 | Report Abuse

thanks Sslee, seem like the profolio link is closed now :)

rururunnn

23 posts

Posted by rururunnn > 2020-06-19 15:02 | Report Abuse

lari before short selling resumes!

K-Den

711 posts

Posted by K-Den > 2020-06-19 16:32 | Report Abuse

This is the longest counter I hold, haha. too bad. I hold VIS for 1 year and returned me 40 % gain ok la. But Gkent look like need more patient. Sold Dufu and bought Gkent seem like is a bad decision for me. NVM, i am ikan bilis here and hope for the best future

tlchiat

14 posts

Posted by tlchiat > 2020-06-19 21:28 | Report Abuse

Philip,
Can I please be invited to view your portfolio? It is a handy reference point. I have learned a lot from you so far. And I look forward to learning even more. To date, agree with you that Serba Dynamikk is a good company!

James Ng

2,689 posts

Posted by James Ng > 2020-06-21 10:04 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/general/2020-06-21-story-h1508903324.jsp
[转贴] [GEORGE KENT MALAYSIA BHD:水表部门销售和毛利率下降] - James的股票投资James Share Investing

5,396 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-23 18:39 | Report Abuse

Haha,
Still got profit of 0.7 cents EPS

rururunnn

23 posts

Posted by rururunnn > 2020-06-23 18:59 | Report Abuse

MYR3.7m net profit supported by MYR3.9m unrealized fx gain....

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-23 20:05 | Report Abuse

Philip......any comments on Quarterly results ?

5,396 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-23 20:21 | Report Abuse

Wow,
Without the RM 3.9m unrealized foreign exchange gain it will be Gkent first ever quaterly loss?
Philip what is your prediction for next quarter(May- July)?

Jeffreyteck

4,246 posts

Posted by Jeffreyteck > 2020-06-23 20:41 | Report Abuse

First time drop by, attracted by its cash but performance is down trend. Unless trading play or sudden big project, ST stabilize around this level.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-23 22:36 | Report Abuse

Unless someone to live under a rock recently they should realize that covid-19 does have a material impact on the company. As business have returned to full operation in may, all I can say is future quarters will have a much better future prospects outlook. FYI, gkent is STILL profitable and has ample cash moving forward. They are rushing to catch up to existing orders for water meters, existing orders for hospital construction and existing orders for lrt3.

If gkent is still profitable in this quarter, it gives me great hope for the company moving forward. I am still holding on, and only reducing my margin which went up when I bought it at 50 cents and sold it at 67 cents to reduce risk.

I still have a good position in gkent. They are securing EoT due to covid for project extension, and I have a good belief in the future of GKENT from the current 2 quarters of results.

As usual:

2021 hospital handover
2022 mrt2 rail systems progress
2023 smart water meter production
2024 lrt3 project progress

The simple question: is there any cancellation or fundamental problems for these projects. Has the government cancelled the projects due to budget issues like prestariang ic project? Is everything still ongoing and moving forward?

For me the answer is still yes.

>>>>>>>>>

Posted by SHQuah > Jun 23, 2020 8:05 PM | Report Abuse

Philip......any comments on Quarterly results ?

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-06-24 08:36 | Report Abuse

By Bernama | 2020-06-23 23:46:30
KUALA LUMPUR (June 23): George Kent (M) Bhd recorded a 72% year-on-year drop in net profit to RM3.73 million in the first quarter ended April 30, 2020, as it ceased its water meter production as well as construction activities, following the the Movement Control Order (MCO).

Revenue was 53% lower at RM39.31 million compared with RM82.78 million a year earlier, the company said in a filing with Bursa Malaysia today.

George Kent said construction activities ceased completely amid the MCO and work only recommenced in early June after the completion of the mandatory foreign worker health screenings for Covid-19.

“The company intends to accelerate progress, as it adapts to the government’s standard operating procedures (SOPs),” it said.

On the metering business, George Kent said although orders for its water meters continued to come in, the company was unable to meet demand due to the full closure of its factory until early May.

The factory, which only resumed operations with full workforce capacity and without limitation in operating time from May 4, is now increasing its manufacturing capacity to clear the backlog of orders and cater for new orders from contract extensions and new tenders from local and regional water authorities.

Chairman Tan Sri Tan Kay Hock said in the medium term, the company’s performance would continue to be affected by disruptions including supply-chain issues, government SOPs and social distancing requirements.

"We continue to be cautiously optimistic of our prospects," he said.

Tan said the company is actively expanding its product portfolio through partnerships with other manufacturers, in line with its strategy to become a one-stop purveyor of water meters.

"Our long-term license agreement with Honeywell enhances our control over component supply and production costs. It also gives us the right to sell water meters to 15 new territories in Asia," he said.

George Kent’s smart metering technology is undergoing real-world tests through proofs of concept and pilot projects with state water authorities. "We are pursuing other such opportunities both in Malaysia and the region,” he said.

Tan said the company also had a team dedicated to developing new opportunities in the regional railway space, leveraging on its expertise as rail systems specialist in domestic railway projects.

“The company’s established network with international rail specialists will assist us in tapping into regional projects requiring international collaborations through joint ventures or strategic alliances,” he added.

5,396 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-24 08:48 | Report Abuse

Good morning,
Will listen to Philip advice, " bought it at 50 cents and sold it at 67 cents to reduce risk."

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-24 09:23 | Report Abuse

Philip......Thanks for the update.
Sslee......I don't think it will go down to 50 cents again.

Should be around current price for a long time. Just hoping for next year.

PN17

321 posts

Posted by PN17 > 2020-06-24 09:28 | Report Abuse

Gkent next TP 50 cents or lower as per Kenanga

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-24 10:25 | Report Abuse

Yes this is how you use margin, to buy things when they are cheap and use cash to buy and hold for the long term. Those who only keep cash waiting for market crash will be paralyzed and unable to buy during downturn.

>>>>>>>>>

3309 posts
Posted by Sslee > Jun 24, 2020 8:48 AM | Report Abuse

Good morning,
Will listen to Philip advice, " bought it at 50 cents and sold it at 67 cents to reduce risk."

v1vin

69 posts

Posted by v1vin > 2020-06-24 11:52 | Report Abuse

continuous QoQ and YoY red figures :'(

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-06-24 14:44 | Report Abuse

here come Philip to support GKENT

Luckily still have this loyal supporters

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-06-24 14:49 | Report Abuse

why GKENT share price no big drop due to bad QR?

Think it share price is well supported now

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-25 07:49 | Report Abuse

I hope the following quarter results should be better since MCO almost over and Gkent already going full production.

2,534 posts

Posted by abang_misai > 2020-06-25 07:49 | Report Abuse

Ok Quah. Good luck

5,396 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-25 14:22 | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
Should I sell INSAS now and buy Gkent?
Or do you think Sengenics has potential to grow into INSAS cash cow even bigger than Inari?

Sengenics is a privately held limited liability company that was established in 2008. The company’s primary incorporation is in the UK, Singapore and Malaysia. Current major institutional investors and shareholders include Soft Bank Investment, which is a subsidiary of Soft Bank Pharmaceuticals (SBI Holdings) in Japan; and Insas Technology, an investment holding and management company based in Singapore and Malaysia

https://www.sengenics.com/press-releases/
June 23, 2020
Sengenics, the Functional Proteomics Company, today announced the launch of ImmuSAFE™ COVID+, a multi-antigen, multi-domain, fully quantitative serology test. ImmuSAFE™ enables the determination of the target epitopes, titres and Ig class/sub-class (IgG, IgA, IgM; IgG1-4) of antibodies produced across all stages
June 18, 2020
Sengenics, the Functional Proteomics Company, announced today that it has entered into a research collaboration agreement with GlaxoSmithKline (GSK). The collaboration will combine Sengenics’ functional proteomics capabilities with GSK’s scientific expertise in immunology, especially in drug discovery

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-25 15:40 | Report Abuse

Sslee.....sell INSAS now and buy Gkent please.
We need your help desperately.

Why people selling like the end of the world. Gkent still cash rich.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-25 18:04 | Report Abuse

How much earnings from sengenics per year and what is the revenue today as per latest quarter?

>>>>>>>>>

Posted by Sslee > Jun 25, 2020 2:22 PM | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
Should I sell INSAS now and buy Gkent?
Or do you think Sengenics has potential to grow into INSAS cash cow even bigger than Inari?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-25 18:13 | Report Abuse

As for gkent they have gone through 2 quarters of grueling covid-19 work stoppages without losing money. Moving forward will their results be worse or better? As their work progress has returned in May, I firmly believe the answer is yes.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-26 08:51 | Report Abuse

Just don't understand, Gkent with a NTA net tangible Asset of 93.33 cents. Cash rich, land, building and equipment plus good will worth more than RM1.00. Why so many stupid bank analyst with shit brain come up with TP 50 cents ?. How do they qualified to be stocks analyst. Do you think the know how to read financial report and Balance sheet ? They only looking at revenue and profit.

5,396 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-26 09:39 | Report Abuse

Good morning Philip,
Noted your advice with thanks.

Will keep my Insas and at the same time will start buying some Gkent from IDSS sellers next month in batches of every 5 cents drop.

5,396 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-26 09:43 | Report Abuse

Good morning SHQuah

Investment will be much easy if price is base on NTA or PE10 but unfortunately people likes wondering into the unknown future and only want to pay you the price base on future earnings.

5,396 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-26 09:48 | Report Abuse

So please allow me to sell you this future growth prospect of INSAS story.

[KUALA LUMPUR (May 29): The Malaysia Automotive, Robotics and IoT Institute (MARii) has partnered with Sengenics Sdn Bhd to develop ‘ImmuSAFE™’, the world’s first qualitative and quantitative Covid-19 test kit for industrial applications.
MARii said it has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Sengenics that includes the development and commercialisation of products, services and technology related to health management systems, as well as high-throughput diagnostics for communicable diseases in industrial and commercial settings.]

I WhatsApp Dato’ Wong,” Is the above JV business deal very promising for INSAS?

He reply, “Insas owns 17.4% equity interest in Sengenics and I sit on its board from day 1. Yet to get financial impact from this MOU but Sengenics business & patents are getting traction and we signed collaboration agreements with world top pharma companies who will do R&D on patents owned by Sengenics”

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-26 12:20 | Report Abuse

I think everyone is waiting for results to catch up. If you believe that lrt 3 earnings, hospital earnings and mrt2 earnings will come in, then it is good to hold it build up position. No point in scolding young bank analysts or their reasons for holding. We need to build our own estimates.

>>>>>>>>>

Posted by SHQuah > Jun 26, 2020 8:51 AM | Report Abuse

Just don't understand, Gkent with a NTA net tangible Asset of 93.33 cents. Cash rich, land, building and equipment plus good will worth more than RM1.00. Why so many stupid bank analyst with shit brain come up with TP 50 cents ?. How do they qualified to be stocks analyst. Do you think the know how to read financial report and Balance sheet ? They only looking at revenue and profit.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-26 12:24 | Report Abuse

Why invest in something unknown with no financial impact or traction versus investing in something concrete and signed with profit margins and earnings guaranteed by government? I don't understand that.

But we shall just sit back and monitor as time goes by.

>>>>>>>>>

Posted by Sslee > Jun 26, 2020 9:48 AM | Report Abuse

So please allow me to sell you this future growth prospect of INSAS story.

[KUALA LUMPUR (May 29): The Malaysia Automotive, Robotics and IoT Institute (MARii) has partnered with Sengenics Sdn Bhd to develop ‘ImmuSAFE™’, the world’s first qualitative and quantitative Covid-19 test kit for industrial applications.
MARii said it has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Sengenics that includes the development and commercialisation of products, services and technology related to health management systems, as well as high-throughput diagnostics for communicable diseases in industrial and commercial settings.]

I WhatsApp Dato’ Wong,” Is the above JV business deal very promising for INSAS?

He reply, “Insas owns 17.4% equity interest in Sengenics and I sit on its board from day 1. Yet to get financial impact from this MOU but Sengenics business & patents are getting traction and we signed collaboration agreements with world top pharma companies who will do R&D on patents owned by Sengenics”

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-06-27 12:43 | Report Abuse

@Philip

As I read again the recent QR the PAT of RM3726k is included the forex gain

if excluded the forex gain, then actually GKENT is making loss of RM1078k

What you think about this?

So GKENT QR is not as good as it portrayed, as it is loss making operationally.

TokAbah

1,204 posts

Posted by TokAbah > 2020-06-27 23:32 | Report Abuse

PM just announced that HSR, ECRL and those mega projects will still continue. Construction play, will be back into action this Monday. Wow

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-28 10:01 | Report Abuse

RainT..... almost every company facing the same problem due to MCO. What do you expect when no production and no shipment is allowed. Construction stop for 2 months. Next quarter results should be better. Next year should be even better if no more Covid 19 virus.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-06-28 10:03 | Report Abuse

So just hold until next year. I hope everyone stop selling and contra players is not welcome.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-06-29 10:45 | Report Abuse

@tokabah

PM going to be change soon, the U turn policy & projects again

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-06-29 10:46 | Report Abuse

@shquah

good to have you as loyal supporters of GKENT all the while since steep fall after GE until now

no matter GKENT how bad, you will support for good !

Lanesra

1,088 posts

Posted by Lanesra > 2020-06-29 10:47 | Report Abuse

Kesian, once my favourite counter.. became like this haih

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-07-01 11:37 | Report Abuse

Please ask them when to get new projects