GEORGE KENT (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): GKENT (3204)

0.48 - 0.495

15 people like this.

18,202 comment(s). Last comment by Icon 888 7 hours ago

ming

2,056 posts

Posted by ming > 2020-12-14 17:46 | Report Abuse

Kena wash out jor..

I will be back

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-14 18:18 | Report Abuse

Sslee, can you name your source for this info? Or any proven letter saying prasarana is planning to kick out gk-mrcb from this project again?

4,973 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-12-14 18:55 | Report Abuse

Posted by eesquare > Dec 14, 2020 12:34 PM | Report Abuse

Just sharing, I do not vouch for any accuracy in this web article.

https://www.thevibes.com/articles/news/9545/prasarana-aims-to-boot-geo...

The fact is in Malaysia if you are super efficent at your job like Gkent you cannot survive with Government contract because everyone want their cut.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-14 21:20 | Report Abuse

Unofficial report. Prasana has no right to terminate any contract without compensation. If the compensation is very attractive. Gkent should accept and use the cash for future projects.

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2020-12-15 07:37 | Report Abuse

GKent can use plenty of the compensation to buy its own share. Take the free monies from irresponsible people and try to get more genius into your company.

skc761103

187 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-15 08:28 | Report Abuse

i doubt on the compensation , look at presbhd ,after govt remove the skin project , presbhd get nothing compensate ....

neohts

2,152 posts

Posted by neohts > 2020-12-15 09:45 | Report Abuse

The project cost has cut until so low that the profit margin is so little. With or without this project is still ok for Gkent. As long as the water meter continue to expand world wide.
Just wait for this week Q3 result. Maybe got some dividend.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-12-15 10:30 | Report Abuse

uptrend failed to sustain again

will down n down more

this cycle have been repeated for GKENT for so many times already

always failed to go up

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-12-15 10:35 | Report Abuse

is it means now GKENT no more do LRT 3 project???

neohts

2,152 posts

Posted by neohts > 2020-12-15 11:10 | Report Abuse

Without any official announcement, the news is consider not true.
Gkent is still with LRT3 project.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-15 11:25 | Report Abuse

Rumors sslee. You have started going around sending unverified claims?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-12-15 12:13 | Report Abuse

if confirm official annoucements is out GKENT will direct limit down

u want run also dont have time

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-15 12:15 | Report Abuse

You can see my online portfolio it has never changed

>>>>>>>>

Posted by SHQuah > Dec 14, 2020 12:53 PM | Report Abuse

Philips..... what about you ? Are you still holding ?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-15 12:15 | Report Abuse

You can see my online portfolio it has never changed

>>>>>>>>

Posted by SHQuah > Dec 14, 2020 12:53 PM | Report Abuse

Philips..... what about you ? Are you still holding ?

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-15 12:29 | Report Abuse

RainT...... don't worry. Gkent cash rich company. Every year making profit since day one. Every year giving dividend. Water meter business doing very well. I expect this week Q3 results quite good with dividend.

neohts

2,152 posts

Posted by neohts > 2020-12-15 14:04 | Report Abuse

Don't believe in “Fake News” And “Rumor” on LRT3 projects.

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-15 14:52 | Report Abuse

Doomsday for gkent... This is a political risk counter, although good fundamental but still overshadowed by political will

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-15 17:57 | Report Abuse

3 quarters increasing results. back to running step.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-15 18:05 | Report Abuse

NTA net tangible Asset RM0.9635. current price is way under value.

Posted by FreshGraduate > 2020-12-15 18:46 | Report Abuse

Why no dividend declared?

4,973 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-12-15 18:58 | Report Abuse

Share of result of JV: RM 182,000. 9 months: RM 686,000
When will JV contribute the expected profit?
And by the way next year construction will be zero if no new construction jobs win.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-15 19:17 | Report Abuse

Meaning most of the profit is coming from water meters. With or without construction, Gkent still can make reasonable profit.

ongth60

557 posts

Posted by ongth60 > 2020-12-15 19:31 | Report Abuse

Fundamentally it is good company liabilities are down too, metering revenue is increasing and profitable, share treasury are increasing, except for the construction segment, cash rich just that they need a plan to grow the metering segment faster.

skc761103

187 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-15 19:42 | Report Abuse

If u aware,u will notice that gkent has secure a water meters contract from perak state to replace all the old water meter with gkent brand...this will soon apply to other state

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-15 19:59 | Report Abuse

Gkent just concentrate what they know best. Water meter.

Begineer

482 posts

Posted by Begineer > 2020-12-15 20:24 | Report Abuse

skc761103, any link to share ?

skc761103

187 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-15 20:47 | Report Abuse

Beginner, no link to share with..but my house just replace water meter with gkent brand....n I noticed that my Taman all has been replace with gkent water meters

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-15 21:55 | Report Abuse

If you look at your posts, every 3 months you post the same thing.

And your comments are not rational.

First you post unverified rumors that prasarana is unhappy with the gkent work on lrt3 management and they will be changed.

Then you post that if no new construction jobs win, next year construction will be zero.

So here is the thing. Why don't you just look at it from a business point of view in that gkent as a company needs to concentrate on successfully completing and hand over lrt3 project successfully before taking on new jobs?

Why not complete the big giant job that they already have, instead of jumping here and there trying to secure projects?

>>>>>>>>>

Sslee Share of result of JV: RM 182,000. 9 months: RM 686,000
When will JV contribute the expected profit?
And by the way next year construction will be zero if no new construction jobs win.
15/12/2020 6:58 PM

4,973 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-12-16 07:24 | Report Abuse

Good morning Philip,
I just express my concern that without new constructions jobs then Gkent will not have income/profit from construction but at the same time will still need to take care of employees and overhead expenses in this division.

With only metering and share of result of 50%-50%JV MRCB-George Kent LRT3 what will be the profit moving forward?

By the way do you know why share of result of JV current quarter: RM 192,000 and cumulative 9 months: RM 686,000 only?
When will JV contribute significant profit?

By the way can JV subcontract some work packages to Gkent?

eesquare

105 posts

Posted by eesquare > 2020-12-16 07:46 | Report Abuse

@Sslee

Based on HLG research dated on 22/10/2020.

LRT3. According to management, LRT3 order book now stands at RM4.1bn with an estimated completion rate of c.37%. So far, progress on its supplemental LRT3 agreements has been gradual. We believe a complete finalisation may only come early next year upon which meaningful earnings recognition from the project would commence (estimating between RM15-22m p.a). Payment-wise, Prasarana has been prompt having paid up to Sept-2020.

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/57252.jsp

neohts

2,152 posts

Posted by neohts > 2020-12-16 08:13 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/george-kent-posts-steady-3q-net-profit-underpinned-strong-water-meter-sales

George Kent posts steady 3Q net profit, underpinned by strong water meter sales

4,973 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-12-16 09:46 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/58161.jsp
3QFY21 CNP of RM10.6m lifted 9MFY21 CNP to RM23.1m, in line with our/consensus expectation at 66%/71%. A depleting construction order-book coupled with the potential termination from LRT3 turnkey role weighs heavily on the group. With unchanged estimates, we maintain our UNDERPERFORM rating but with a higher TP of RM0.56 after rolling valuation base year to FY22.

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/58152.jsp
GKent’s 9MFY21 earnings of RM23.1m (-34%) were above ours but below consensus expectations. Core PATAMI decline was driven by lower contribution from construction partially offset by its resilient metering division. Estimated construction orderbook (ex-LRT3) amounts to c.RM210m (cover ratio: 1.0x). Raise FY21-23 earnings by 10-17%. Maintain SELL with higher TP of RM0.60 after pegging FY22 EPS to 6.6x PE multiple (-1SD below 3-year mean).

eesquare

105 posts

Posted by eesquare > 2020-12-16 10:18 | Report Abuse

More interesting but potential useful speculations.

https://themalaysianreserve.com/2020/12/16/lrt3-to-face-delay-over-subcontract-work-award-interference/

THE completion of Light Rail Transit Line 3 (LRT3) project may face another round of delay as the project owner, Prasarana Malaysia Bhd, wants “more say” in the appointment of subcontractors for the project works from its main contractor — MRCB-George Kent Sdn Bhd.

However, the turnkey contractor has refused to do so, according to informed sources.

As a result, MRCB-George Kent has been given “a hard time” on its progress payment by Prasarana, a source told The Malaysian Reserve (TMR).

--------------------------
What Philip said previously about not using crony companies after PH's renegotiation makes sense in this context.

neohts

2,152 posts

neohts

2,152 posts

Posted by neohts > 2020-12-16 10:36 | Report Abuse

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2020/12/16/george-kent-earnings-up-on-strong-water-meter-sales

George Kent earnings up on strong water meter sales

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-16 10:40 | Report Abuse

What about the water transfer projects in selangor? Who get it?

4,973 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-12-16 10:42 | Report Abuse

I already sold all my Gkent. Can anyone of you still a shareholder of Gkent write to GKent IR for comment.

Potentially out of LRT3. Over the weekend, the Edge reported that GKENT could possibly be terminated and replaced from its current LRT3 turnkey role under the MRCB-GKENT partnership. While these are mere speculations for the time being, we note that our FY22 earnings forecast could see a 37% downside to RM33m from the omission of LRT3 contributions.

jguy

97 posts

Posted by jguy > 2020-12-16 10:58 | Report Abuse

the company is still profitable. water meter is the core operations, hope that it will reach RM 1.00 next quarter

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-12-16 11:08 | Report Abuse

so the LRT3 huha huha is no more?

now switch to water meter ?

before this all hu ha hu ha say LRT3 will bring GKENT huge profit potential

eesquare

105 posts

Posted by eesquare > 2020-12-16 11:16 | Report Abuse

Hi guys, I sold off half of my Gkent today due to political risk. It is still the highest weightage stock in my portfolio and you can see it in my openly shared portfolio. No doubt gkent is a very safe stock from a balance sheet, income statement's point of view. But I decided to reduce my exposure to it.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-16 11:22 | Report Abuse

So many rumors here and there. Any facts that prasarana already terminated mrcb-gk contract? More importantly I found it very funny that mrcb is agreeable with gk being terminated because that was not how the contract was written. The official contract was done under mrcb gkent as a group. So if one is terminated both is terminated. Would mrcb be agreeable to that?

>>>>>>>>>

Posted by RainT > Dec 16, 2020 11:08 AM | Report Abuse

Posted by stockraider > 2020-12-16 11:26 | Report Abuse

Not really true loh...!!

The JV tender for the contract collectively, but the JV later novate the contract individually to MRCB & Gkent separately mah...!!

In this scenario Prasarana can kick out Gkent but not Mrcb loh...!!

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > Dec 16, 2020 11:22 AM | Report Abuse

So many rumors here and there. Any facts that prasarana already terminated mrcb-gk contract? More importantly I found it very funny that mrcb is agreeable with gk being terminated because that was not how the contract was written. The official contract was done under mrcb gkent as a group. So if one is terminated both is terminated. Would mrcb be agreeable to that?

>>>>>>>>>

Posted by RainT > Dec 16, 2020 11:08 AM | Report Abuse

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-12-16 11:42 | Report Abuse

this news has come out in the edge weekly report

dont have official annocement yet

once have , GKENT will limit down

as the LRT 3 hope is dismish totally

n start frm that will fully depend just on water meter

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-12-16 11:43 | Report Abuse

gone is the glory days when GKENT with fat profit of construction segment

it will be water meter biz only

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-16 12:40 | Report Abuse

RainT..... please sell your Gkent share so we could collect more.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-16 12:42 | Report Abuse

The future of water meter business is very bright. More and more country buying from Gkent. Just concentrate on what is best for Gkent. Forget about the construction business.