GEORGE KENT (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): GKENT (3204)

+0.005 (1.03%)

0.48 - 0.49

15 people like this.

18,216 comment(s). Last comment by gkent2000 3 hours ago

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-28 09:19 | Report Abuse

Please nreak rm 1 this week

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-29 14:50 | Report Abuse

Gkent profit only depends on water meter. LRT3 can hardly make any profit as the cost cut until hardly break even. The problem is Gkent & MRCB does not how to build and need to sub to other construction company. Same like Alibaba projects.

kl_guy

1,433 posts

Posted by kl_guy > 2020-12-29 15:35 | Report Abuse

volume come. hoot9e

Posted by DonWorryBeHappy > 2020-12-29 15:50 | Report Abuse

Green liau yeah yeah I'm at 77 luckily didn't cut lai liau

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-29 15:59 | Report Abuse

SHQUAH b4 this you said other thing bout lrt 3, niw you say otherwise... WHAT IS YOUR INTENTION actually?

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-29 16:23 | Report Abuse

Holding for too long. My average price $1.35. can't do anything just hold and hold. By looking at recent report, only water meter is doing well.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-29 16:24 | Report Abuse

Need to get new profitable project. LRT3 got too many issue recently

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-29 19:49 | Report Abuse

So yiu cutloss SHQUAH?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-30 04:57 | Report Abuse

Shquah,
The best time to buy pbb was when it was at 13,14 when no one wanted it. Now that the share price has gone up, the risk reward ratio has also gone up. In any case, I am not any sifui do not tell anyone to buy or sell or produce any course material for individuals to pay Money for signals.

As for gkent, the trick is not to be worried here and there and just to practise sit on your ass and do nothing investing.

My advice to you, the risk reward ratio for gkent has always been high. From my portfolio, it is a below 5% exposure of my portfolio. However, I have learned to ignore noise for gkent and have built a position in gkent over time at cheap prices to average down when it was seeking below net asset value.

No one has a crystal ball or can predict what will happen. But here are still the facts.
Gkent has not lost any money yet despite cmco and covid closures.
They still have long contracts producing water meters which are very profitable margins and consistent earnings.
Until further notice, they still have a 11 billion lrt3 project. It has not been stopped or any new official announcement of cancellation.
They still have a huge cash position. Hard to go bankrupt on this.
Until further notice, lrt3 completion period is still due at 30 February 2024, plus whatever eot given for cmco.

So, in lieu of this, all I can say is this. Has the actions of gkent thus far given anyone any doubt as to the performance of their management in their actions or transparency? Are their directors using company money to buy luxury cars high salary etc? Is it being managed well?

I think this is something that we can control and have ample information on. We cannot control or believe in rumours, and we should just just work with verifiable information.

In any case, I hope your investments do well sir. But one thing funny, if you felt comfortable enough to buy gkent at 1.35, when they had a huge possibility of losing the lrt3 contract, shouldn't you have been more comfortable buying it at 50-60 cents when it was selling at cash and it already signed Novation contract for lrt3?

Why do we seem confident to buy stocks when it is selling at high price, and become scared to buy when it is selling at cheap prices?
>>>>>>>

Posted by SHQuah > Dec 25, 2020 8:22 PM | Report Abuse

Sslee & Philip..... should I buy Public bank ? Bonus 4 for 1.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-30 05:26 | Report Abuse

What does getting sub contractors to take a hair cut have to do with gkent margin becoming laser thin?

As reiterated before, as a PDP their expected returns taking low risk was at 6%. This comes out to 1.8 billion in earnings based on the previous contract in 2018 when lrt3 was inflated to 31.65 billion.

Obviously today no more such story to sing, which has caused gkent share price to drop from rm4 to below rm1.

At the latest contract value the expectation for the new contract will be done at 11.86 billion. Based on this and due to fixed price contract, the progress payment and completion we will be looking at from 5-10%, which is from 550 to 1.1 billion in earnings ( depending on core factors). Of course there will be headwinds due to any delay of payment from the side of prasarana and nominated sub contractors.

As of June 30, prasarana chairman had announced completion progress of 33%, and gkent targeted 40% completion by end year, which looking at covid is no longer viable.

Here are important facts though. Lrt3 project at 1/3 completion is not going to be cancelled. There are many many hungry mouths to feed especially on both sides supporters of political partners. Very hard to rock this boat, as Prasarana’s president and group CEO Muhammad Nizam Alias going on “temporary leave”.

In any case, decision to invest is yours. For I will sell only if the progress of the lrt3 line becomes stagnant for far longer than announced, and I have relatives who passed by every day who can verify for me the construction progress. I am also closely following up on the qr progress of the project. Sell only when the core changes happen, not based on rumors.

We shall see.

>>>>>>>>

Sslee Yes kudos to Gkent for doing a national services in forcing sub- contractor to take a hair-cut.
In doing so most likely Gkent margin will also be lazer thin.
25/12/2020 1:04 PM

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-30 07:07 | Report Abuse

Continue climbing up today

pamaladu

108 posts

Posted by pamaladu > 2020-12-30 07:50 | Report Abuse

https://www.lrt3.com.my/overall-linewide-progress/

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/newsbreak-prasarana-chairman-tajuddin-exerting-his-authority

progress already reached near 40%, not easy to remove Gkent without big compensation. further interference will disrupt the progress of lrt3 affecting public convenience, which can be a big national issue. appear Gkent reducing share buyback and stop paying dividend this quarter to weather the interference from Prasarana

pamaladu

108 posts

Posted by pamaladu > 2020-12-30 08:05 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/LouisYapInvestment/2019-10-16-story230392-Malaysia_Stock_Analysis_GKENT_3204.jsp

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/george-kent-gets-honeywell-licence-manufacture-water-meter-components

they are aiming to increase water meter revenue from 30% to 70%. historically, water meter on average contribute annual profit about RM20mil.

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-30 16:27 | Report Abuse

Drop again?

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-30 16:27 | Report Abuse

Drop again?

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-30 18:03 | Report Abuse

Last time every year I used to get very good dividend enough for me to spend and go for short holidays. Now no more. Really sad.

Begineer

482 posts

Posted by Begineer > 2020-12-31 15:33 | Report Abuse

Next year will be a better year for Gkent

SHQuah

5,363 posts

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-31 17:59 | Report Abuse

Will government pay them?

pamaladu

108 posts

Posted by pamaladu > 2020-12-31 20:57 | Report Abuse

if there is no basis to refuse payment, they have to pay. if the government can get away with this, who will have confidence to do business in Malaysia?

ming

2,072 posts

Posted by ming > 2020-12-31 23:06 | Report Abuse

Tajuddin tak tau gkent belakang ada Najib kah? Lol

Aaron_tan

2,337 posts

Posted by Aaron_tan > 2021-01-01 12:54 | Report Abuse

Hsr canceled. Construction all gg on Monday

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2021-01-02 17:12 | Report Abuse

Hsr cancelled but replaced with slow one to jb

Up_again

949 posts

Posted by Up_again > 2021-01-02 17:23 | Report Abuse

Ni wee ka siong, everything his ministry touch problem
Why la mca not wiped out

VinceW

Posted by VinceW > 2021-01-04 07:42 | Report Abuse

PH had destroyed the Malaysia economy, whether you accept it or not, this is a fact and record of history

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2021-01-04 08:52 | Report Abuse

PH will not be voted FOREVER

neohts

2,195 posts

Posted by neohts > 2021-01-04 08:56 | Report Abuse

PH cut the cost of LRT3 to low until hardly can break even.

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2021-01-04 09:04 | Report Abuse

The CHINESE MAJORITY VOTED FOR THEM, COZ YOU ALL STOOPID

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2021-01-04 11:05 | Report Abuse

DAP finance minister better than UMNO finance minister? Thinks agaon dude

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2021-01-04 11:13 |

ffgarou

10 posts

Posted by ffgarou > 2021-01-04 11:46 | Report Abuse

DAP finance minister was the worst!!

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2021-01-04 12:07 | Report Abuse

30 ringek..... Fake accountants degree

sujibaby

153 posts

Posted by sujibaby > 2021-01-04 12:13 | Report Abuse

GKent's core business is not HSR. The compensation for project alteration will be good enough for additional revenue.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-01-04 14:40 | Report Abuse

Should panic mah...!!

What good news leh ?

Posted by Choivo Capital > Jan 4, 2021 2:37 PM | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/macc-raids-prasarana-premises-e...

very good news for GKENT. After the below news.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/lrt3-contractors-under-financia...

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2021-01-04 15:15 |

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2021-01-04 16:55 | Report Abuse

I see MACC just raided Prasarana today! I suspect the price of coffee is to expensive there. https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/macc-raids-prasarana-premises-earlier-today

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2021-01-04 17:06 | Report Abuse

Panic what.

Chairman of Prasarana lanci, want to play with gkent etc.

Gkent etc write to MOF

MACC straight go visit Prasarana.

You think prasarana still dont dare pay boh?

Larrytrader

1,453 posts

Posted by Larrytrader > 2021-01-04 17:07 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the news, just found out from this forum

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2021-01-04 21:27 | Report Abuse

At this point I believe George kent shud not rely on politicians to get projects, they must try to get projects from overseas instead

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2021-01-05 10:17 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/no-money-govt-no-payment-lrt3-c...
Taujudin should immediately apologize to MRCB-GK for misleading the press when he lied that all payments had been paid when due and making out that MRCB - GK had been falsely accursing Prasarana of dragging payments. Prasarana will be lucky if they don't get sued for malicious slander. Prasarana should pay its not for Contractors to fund the construction no matter the size of the construction companies. I have no doubt MRCB-GK are incurring about 165,000 a day improperly funding the Project for Prasarana. I trust Prasarana will do the right thing and cover MRCB-GK for their interest costs.

5,398 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-01-05 10:23 | Report Abuse

Haha the return of UMNO warlord.
Tajuddin said MRCB-George Kent was alleged to have put pressure on their subcontractors to reduce the contract value.

“Reducing the value of the contract to bring down the cost, isn’t fair to the subcontractors. As a chairman, I cannot keep quiet and allow that to happen, I must intervene,” he said in response to reports that he had interfered with appointments of sub-contractors.

Tajuddin said he cared about the participation of bumiputera contractors. “It is a policy which we need to support,” he said.

neohts

2,195 posts

Posted by neohts > 2021-01-05 11:32 | Report Abuse

Non Bumi company very hard to get new contracts.
UMNO or PH also useless. All corrupted.

Malaysia is the 2nd most corrupted country in the world.

VinceW

Posted by VinceW > 2021-01-05 11:36 | Report Abuse

What country is the most corrupted in your view?

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2021-01-05 11:45 | Report Abuse

So Tajuddin "negotiated" a price with the contractors and MRCB-GK has to take them on when they are a fix price contractor. I bet he did! MRCB-GK had to renegotiate their prices which likely left them with insufficient excess slush money to buy Taujuddin his usual coffee. So he's now crying. I bet he is!

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2021-01-05 14:10 | Report Abuse

If only they believe in karma

neohts

2,195 posts

Posted by neohts > 2021-01-05 14:47 | Report Abuse

Like that how to continue the LRT3 projects ? so many issues ? not enough money to continue.

sujibaby

153 posts

Posted by sujibaby > 2021-01-05 18:28 | Report Abuse

Issues are common when it involves politicians. The BOD of GKent are not shy of well-connected big shots as well.SBB to keep the price above support level. Good signs.