GEORGE KENT (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): GKENT (3204)

+0.01 (2.06%)

0.485 - 0.50

15 people like this.

18,214 comment(s). Last comment by Bull13 5 days ago

skc761103

193 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-09 22:03 | Report Abuse

Unlikely

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-09 22:12 | Report Abuse

Skc761103 hopefully you are true, not a conman

skc761103

193 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-09 22:19 | Report Abuse

Gkent is solid fundamentals strong company,u won’t regret to own its share

uppvestor

54 posts

Posted by uppvestor > 2020-12-09 22:48 | Report Abuse

is it a cup and handle? any sifu?

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-11 15:13 | Report Abuse

Engine start?

skc761103

193 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-11 18:52 | Report Abuse

Closing price stay above rm0.85 is a good sign

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-11 20:28 | Report Abuse

MahSing do Gloves ? Gkent and Johan also do Gloves ?

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-12 08:01 | Report Abuse

skc761103 is it true George kent do gloves?

skc761103

193 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-12 09:43 | Report Abuse

I doubt it

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-12 11:05 | Report Abuse

Skc761103 we are desperate to know the new venture of George kent bcoz it quite long George kent din get any job

skc761103

193 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-12 19:12 | Report Abuse

No worry, diamond still a diamond n rose is rose. We will get rewarded

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-12 20:55 | Report Abuse

We need more surprises and announcement.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-12 21:36 | Report Abuse

The good news is recently more trading volume.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-12-12 21:40 | Report Abuse

Great news coming ah?

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-13 23:28 | Report Abuse

Yes you are right engineeringProfit great news is coming ahead, George kent might be remove from the LRT 3 JV soon.... Hmmm

ming

2,066 posts

Posted by ming > 2020-12-14 01:57 | Report Abuse

Gkent also involved mrt2 right?

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-14 07:49 | Report Abuse

LRT joint venture with Gamuda possible.

skc761103

193 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-14 09:19 | Report Abuse

the edge source say that prasarana might remove Gkent from LRT3 contractor due to lagging schedule construction LRT3

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-14 09:20 | Report Abuse

Skc761103 so is it still a diamond? What say you now?

skc761103

193 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-14 09:29 | Report Abuse

amzarb44 , the prospect of gkent will absolutely change if the news is true..we will know clearer picture once company announce if source is true

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-14 09:48 | Report Abuse

Skc761103 if this is true that means George kent is not diamond anymore?

skc761103

193 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-14 09:50 | Report Abuse

amzarb44 if this is true, is still diamond but diamond with lower grade, different grade different valuation

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-14 09:51 | Report Abuse

Aiyoo why rr prasarana want to remove them.... Huhu

skc761103

193 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-14 10:07 | Report Abuse

no idea , but what i think is might due to political issue, as for construction industry nowadays , alot of govt project has been divert to political link company , we will have clear picture by this 15/12

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-14 10:18 | Report Abuse

By, 15/12, you mean tomorrow skc761103?

Posted by Happyday123 > 2020-12-14 10:26 | Report Abuse

All LRT projects continue running...Grab at the lowest price at RM0.790 for 100k units...Good prospect...

Posted by Happyday123 > 2020-12-14 10:27 | Report Abuse

Construction industry will boom soon...

Posted by Happyday123 > 2020-12-14 10:36 | Report Abuse

RM4.3 in April 2018...It's very cheap stock to grab more now before too late...

Begineer

482 posts

Posted by Begineer > 2020-12-14 10:39 | Report Abuse

So the drop is due to this rumour?

Posted by Happyday123 > 2020-12-14 10:40 | Report Abuse

5.6 times lower price compared to April 2018 at RM4.30...Worth to buy more...

skc761103

193 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-14 10:44 | Report Abuse

15/12 bacaan budget dalam kabinet

3,595 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2020-12-14 11:17 | Report Abuse

https://www.malaysiachinainsight.com/2020/12/13/malaysia-to-fly-solo-pay-off-singapore-in-hsr-deal/?amp
This is a good piece of news.
Why should Singapore enjoy free ride built with Malaysian's sweat and blood?
Bloody Singaporean wants to dictate terms even it is just build very very small portion of the HSR.
HSR should have last terminal in Nusajaya, that will save billions extra cost.
If Singaporean really want to enjoy fast train ride, just come over with a Grab car.

neohts

2,180 posts

Posted by neohts > 2020-12-14 11:26 | Report Abuse

I expect today got big share buy back by Gkent

neohts

2,180 posts

Posted by neohts > 2020-12-14 11:47 | Report Abuse

Philip and Sslee.......any update on LRT projects status. Please advise. Thanks

eesquare

105 posts

Posted by eesquare > 2020-12-14 12:34 | Report Abuse

Just sharing, I do not vouch for any accuracy in this web article.

https://www.thevibes.com/articles/news/9545/prasarana-aims-to-boot-george-kent-as-lrt3-partner-report

As you can see from my portfolio, I am heavy on gkent. I will wait and see if there is any official news before making a move.

neohts

2,180 posts

Posted by neohts > 2020-12-14 12:47 | Report Abuse

If the project cannot make reasonable profit or loss. It's good to cancel the project and let some other company taking over since the project cost has been cut too low. wasting time continue doing. might just concentrate on other project on hand.

neohts

2,180 posts

Posted by neohts > 2020-12-14 12:47 | Report Abuse

Q3 result should be out soon. Just hold on to your gun.

skc761103

193 posts

Posted by skc761103 > 2020-12-14 12:52 | Report Abuse

the different in between MRCB & Gkent is MRCB purely political link company with heavy mismatch on its financial , no surprise prasarana boot gkent out from lrt3 & replace with another politic link company which current govt did to secure the parlimen seat... ,

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2020-12-14 12:53 | Report Abuse

Philips..... what about you ? Are you still holding ?

ongth60

557 posts

Posted by ongth60 > 2020-12-14 13:15 | Report Abuse

Sources say this, sources say that...

M3T0123

30 posts

Posted by M3T0123 > 2020-12-14 13:36 | Report Abuse

Thoughts:

1. Think of the rumours(not long ago), sources say that gkent is selling off their water meter business. But, what's now? Are they selling it or making good profit every qoq?
2. For cancellation or termination, it is worth to look at the exit clause and might be interested to see what compensation gkent is able to get out of it(based on its 5.5billion contract).

4+% of progress had been registered so far, would everybody be happy to change everything from start(with new partner). If not saying not possible, perhaps at this point, the "unnamed sources" is not happy with gkent for sure..lolx

Begineer

482 posts

Posted by Begineer > 2020-12-14 13:43 | Report Abuse

Ya... agree with M3T0123 . Doesn't make sense to me that they want to boot out Gkent at this stage.

5,269 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-12-14 14:21 | Report Abuse

Remember what Philip wrote:
So instead of Gkent is allowed to use a better subcon the political reality is Prasarana want to boot out Gkent.

Apr 6, 2020 2:41 PM | Report Abuse

If you look at 2017, you already the figures that were coming into Gkent from lrt3 progress claims. After it was stopped in 2018 and revised to change them into main contractor instead of PDP partner. You can see the EARNINGS drop. Meaning the difference should be coming in from LRT3 progress claims. Now those claims were not cancelled, only delayed as per revised redesign of systems.

Now that all those progress claims for work done have been submitted and received to begin in 2020(48% completion), you will begin to see more revenue and earnings resolution from lrt3.

In any case, as a PDP partner their profit was capped at 6% of the project size previously,

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2018/08/08/mrcb-and-...

As seen here, profit margins for GKENT will be higher, but the total sum will be lower for the redesign, redesign details here:

https://themalaysianreserve.com/2018/07/17/lrt3-rationalisation-suffic...

But gkent/mrcb is required to accept bigger risk as a fixed contract supplier instead of PDP partner. So they are allowed to use better subcons( no longer BN crony company sub like IJM), but hire specialist companies ( like the one I used to work for before retiring) who can give better price and do directly instead of sub sub like a standard bumiputera company.

I believe their profit margins will be in the range of 1.2 billion or 10% of the contract, similar to standard main contractor margins.

Meaning Gkent earnings will be around 50% of the JV, 600 million divided by 5 years, with a safer number similar to pre-najib lrt3 fees of 60-80 million a year.

Of course with PDP structure Kent took zero risk, as their fees were based on contract value. With new structure more risk, direct control as main con, better profit margins.

And if you believe that gkent used to be valued at rm4 reflecting the results? Knowing that lrt3 is still continuing and full payment guaranteed by federal government?

neohts

2,180 posts

Posted by neohts > 2020-12-14 15:13 | Report Abuse

Don't sell, hold, wait for Q3'20 result first.
Prasarana may compensate Gkent with a lot of money and in return Gkent could use the money to provide better dividend for shareholder.

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2020-12-14 15:58 | Report Abuse

Philips cam give your opinion on this?

pamaladu

108 posts

Posted by pamaladu > 2020-12-14 16:59 | Report Abuse

the LRT3 was awarded to MRCB George Kent Sdn Bhd as an entity. prasana cannot just remove GK alone. they have to remove MRCB GK S/B. then that would be wrongful termination unless prasana has good ground

pamaladu

108 posts

Posted by pamaladu > 2020-12-14 17:29 | Report Abuse

https://www.lrt3.com.my/overall-linewide-progress/

doesn't look like delay