BERJAYA CORPORATION BHD

KLSE (MYR): BJCORP (3395)

-0.025 (5.81%)

0.40 - 0.425

43 people like this.

45,434 comment(s). Last comment by Royce Chan 1 day ago

meistsk3134

2,368 posts

Posted by meistsk3134 > 2017-10-07 09:25 | Report Abuse

they plan to sell to own malaysia. tan already have company at foreign. now malaysia business all meed malay and halal

Posted by stockraider > 2017-10-07 13:14 | Report Abuse

Bjcorp driven by strong support from sultan of johor as a partner & its big undervaluation is due for rerating.

Now is the time to buy loh....!!
Better get it while cheap loh....!!

Growth catalysts

The brokerage has a “buy” or “outperform” recommendation on BAssets’ shares, with a target price of RM1.62 based on a valuation of one time over the book value of the company for the financial year ending June 30, 2018. At its current level, BAssets’ shares are trading at an inexpensive 0.6 times book value.

In justifying its positive outlook on BAssets, Mercury Securities, in its report dated July 18, highlighted a list growth catalysts for the company.

These included the substantial value and tenant base at Berjaya Times Square; potential upside from the expansion and land reclamation of Berjaya Waterfront in Johor Baru; potential upside from its venture into the motor vehicle assembly/distributorship via its acquisition of Oriental Assemblers Sdn Bhd; possible divestment of some lands/buildings; and possible dividend/bonus upside. Mercury Securities also noted that BAssets’ experienced management team in the property development and management industry was a valuable asset for the group.

BAssets is the major owner of Berjaya Times Square, one of Malaysia’s largest retail and commercial malls which houses Berjaya Times Square Theme Park, the largest indoor theme park in Malaysia.

In Johor Bahru, the group owns the Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Shopping Complex and Ferry Terminal, as well as office units at Menara MSC Cyberport. Through its wholly owned subsidiary Berjaya Assets Food Sdn Bhd, Berjaya Assets has a licence agreement with Greyhound Café Co Ltd for exclusive rights to establish and operate restaurants under the trademark Greyhound Café in Malaysia.

In May 2017, BAssets completed the acquisition of the entire stake in Oriental Assemblers for RM32.5mil, which comes with a 14.74-acre plot of leasehold land and manufacturing licence.

Oriental Assemblers is currently carrying out assembly works for Chinese automotive models.

BAssets is reportedly now in talks with an Asian automotive manufacturer for the assembly of its cars under Oriental Assemblers.

BAssets executive director Koh Huey Min reportedly said the automotive brand is already present in Malaysia under a different franchise holder.

Meanwhile, BAssets is currently looking at potentially raising close to RM1bil to finance the reclamation works for its 55-acre piece of land situated beside its existing development Berjaya Waterfront in Johor Baru.

The reclamation works for the land meant for a mixed development project, comprising hotels, high-end residential units and a hospital, are expected to begin in 2018 after the necessary approvals are obtained.

At present, BAssets is working at boosting the occupancy rates at Berjaya Waterfront to 70% by the end of this year from around 50% in August. According to Koh, the group is mulling the potential listing of Berjaya Waterfront in via a real estate investment trust, but it needs to first achieve higher occupancy rates and yields for the project.

BAssets has plans to attain a syariah-compliant status. Towards this end, the group is looking at potentially moving its 65%-owned gaming entity, Natural Avenue Sdn Bhd, under another Berjaya company.

Natural Avenue is the exclusive agent for Sarawak Turf Club’s special cash sweep numbers forecast lotteries.

BAssets is currently in the midst of implementing a proposed share split involving the subdivision of every one existing ordinary share into two shares.

The exercise, aimed at improving the trading liquidity of BAssets’ shares on the Main Market, is expected to complete by the end of this year.

Using the theoretical price of RM1.23 based on the latest practicable date prior to the announcement of the exercise on Sept 5, 2017, BAssets’ shares would be valued at 61.5 sen apiece upon completion of the proposed share split.

BAssets suffered two years of financial losses, as its performance was dragged down by its number-forecast business which continued to be impacted by rampant illegal gaming activities in Sarawak.

For FY2017, BAssets posted a net loss of RM11.1mil, an improvement from a loss of RM54.1mil in FY2016. This resulted in the group’s loss per share narrowing to 0.99 sen from 4.86 sen previously. BAssets registered a lower revenue of RM356.4mil for FY2017, compared with RM387.1mil in the preceding year due mainly to lower contribution from the gaming business segment. In its latest quarterly financial report, BAssets conceded that the group’s operating performance for FY2018 would remain challenging.

BAssets said it expected the group’s property investment and hotel and related businesses operated by Berjaya Times Square Sdn Bhd and the gaming business operated by Natural Avenue to maintain its occupancy rates and market

GGYY

49 posts

Posted by GGYY > 2017-10-07 14:20 | Report Abuse

VT was planned to realise as much as its assets in Malaysia and transfer fund to Hong Kong which companies controlled by his son. BJCORP and its subs were tried to invest in China mainland and Philippine but these all investment will finally lose and the money will be going to his son companies in Hong Kong. If you don't believe, you can refer back the BJCORP and its subs histories, many foreign investments were suspicious, especially the Philippine, much money disappeared over there!

Posted by stockraider > 2017-10-07 14:30 |

55,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-07 14:41 | Report Abuse

Tell you guys a true story.

When Calvin saw iq group doing led lights Calvin saw its future potential and bought into IQ Group at around near 40 sen.

Then i saw IQ Boss expanded to China and so i got suspicious. Is he going to siphon money by sending funds to China? At the same time IQ share price also weakened to near 30 sen

Doubting this doubting that Calvin played it safe and sold off IQ when it rebounded.

Years passed.

Fast forward now - IQ GROUP JUMPED TO A HIGH OF RM4.88

UP OVER 1,000%

SO THOSE WHO DOUBT THIS DOUBT THAT DUE TO VOICE OF NAYSAYERS WILL MISS A BIG FORTUNE LATER.

Eddysurge

2,057 posts

Posted by Eddysurge > 2017-10-07 14:43 | Report Abuse

Dear stockraider, a fact you can't deny regards bjland,same can happen to bjcorp.

Eddysurge

2,057 posts

Posted by Eddysurge > 2017-10-07 15:09 | Report Abuse

Firstly, the contribution of bjland & previously bjauto were seem meagre to dear mother bjcorp. Then bjaasset is created, bjcorp still cheap now. May he one day eat mother meat.

Posted by stockraider > 2017-10-07 17:16 |

sokdotcom

85 posts

Posted by sokdotcom > 2017-10-07 17:25 | Report Abuse

This guy is a joke seriously. now economy no good. you build any property also no use la. look at forest city development. all become white elephant. nobody wants to go there land wont appreciate.

Posted by stockraider > 2017-10-07 17:36 | Report Abuse

Thats why Bjcorp sit pretty now loh...!!
No need to do anything right now mah...!!
Just wait loh..!!

Posted by sokdotcom > Oct 7, 2017 05:25 PM | Report Abuse

This guy is a joke seriously. now economy no good. you build any property also no use la. look at forest city development. all become white elephant. nobody wants to go there land wont appreciate.

kahhoeng

3,926 posts

Posted by kahhoeng > 2017-10-07 19:55 | Report Abuse

Malaysia actually needs more housing development, just not those priced in the millions, but those Malaysians can actually pay for. Unfortunately, those most Malaysians can afford are not built or too far from work and deemed expensive after transportation cost is considered. Those Malaysians can't afford are built but not occupied. Guess this is just phenomenon commonly seen throughout the world now.

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-10-07 19:58 | Report Abuse

@kahhoeng,

thats why there r so many empty high-end condos and landed properties in iskandar.

Bullwinds

86 posts

Posted by Bullwinds > 2017-10-07 20:46 | Report Abuse

Why worry so much about property glut!! Bkt Tinggi land may be used for tourism musang King plantation ,can fetch even higher value.

sokdotcom

85 posts

Posted by sokdotcom > 2017-10-07 20:54 | Report Abuse

once china get musang king seed whole lantau island will be full of musang king in a few years la.

Bullwinds

86 posts

Posted by Bullwinds > 2017-10-07 22:37 | Report Abuse

Dotcom, I think u dont know agriculture business well. U may hv the best seedling,but diff soil conditions and weather give u diff quality produce. That is why china also plant hawaiian solo papaya but taste so diff, therefore still hv to import fr msia n pay RMB 20/- per fruit!

kahhoeng

3,926 posts

Posted by kahhoeng > 2017-10-07 23:23 | Report Abuse

easier, blackmail Genting, allowing the casino or a HUGE cemetery will be planned on that land next to Genting, haha... see if Genting business will be affected?!?

Posted by stockraider > 2017-10-07 23:37 | Report Abuse

Bjcorp Bkt tinggi land distance from KL is like sepang, putrajaya and seremban from kl mah....!!

Next 10 yrs should worth alot of monies loh...!!

cheated

959 posts

Posted by cheated > 2017-10-08 02:36 | Report Abuse

Since when Islam allow gambling? Unless we have DAP PM in GE 14.

Posted by kahhoeng > Oct 7, 2017 11:23 PM | Report Abuse
easier, blackmail Genting, allowing the casino or a HUGE cemetery will be planned on that land next to Genting, haha... see if Genting business will be affected?!?

SaoQ

76 posts

Posted by SaoQ > 2017-10-08 02:53 | Report Abuse

keen to see where this doji leads to

Posted by stockraider > 2017-10-08 10:52 | Report Abuse

Forget about all these chart thing loh.....!!
Just buy Bjc based on fundamental.
Fair value Rm 3.00 v Rm 0.345 share price.

Remember Buy B4 too late loh...!!

samk

170 posts

Posted by samk > 2017-10-08 11:52 | Report Abuse

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/10/07/royal-boost-for-berjaya-assets/

Sultan of Johor keep on buying Berjaya

firehawk

4,782 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2017-10-08 14:16 | Report Abuse

but not BCorp lah ....

cheated

959 posts

Posted by cheated > 2017-10-08 18:49 | Report Abuse

Loss QR until PN 17?

Posted by John Lu > 2017-10-08 20:09 | Report Abuse

Stupid calvin..keep posting bjcorp article hopes to push your position to top 200 2017 stock pick? Dreaming

55,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-08 20:19 |

Posted by Skipz Yang > 2017-10-08 20:34 | Report Abuse

any idea why the Sultan not investing in BJCORP?

Bullwinds

86 posts

Posted by Bullwinds > 2017-10-08 21:36 | Report Abuse

Even though I don't quite agreed wt some of CALVIN's view, but I can't deny the fact that Bjcorp is a very much under valued stk. of course everyone is entitled to their own opinion but I just can't understand why some idiots just like to pick a quarrel n run down others like kids fight! Is this forum for investment or small kids fighting ground!!!

Bullwinds

86 posts

Posted by Bullwinds > 2017-10-08 21:38 | Report Abuse

Why can't we hv respect for each other's and share diff views!

joetay

3,737 posts

Posted by joetay > 2017-10-08 21:47 | Report Abuse

what happened, flyinghigh???

now have to run to calvin's bjc to complain???

btw, u havent explained all ur insulting posts yet.

i will upz them for u every morning, ok???

lol........

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/insults/134629.jsp

Ash Ley

Posted by Ash Ley > 2017-10-08 22:08 | Report Abuse

I aggreed with Bullwinds. People have choices to buy any stock. We should respect each other here or else this forum will become a fighting forum and not an investment forum.

Bullwinds

86 posts

Posted by Bullwinds > 2017-10-08 22:51 | Report Abuse

Ash Ley, exactly, if we dont make this forum serious, those investors who r serious n wt substance will not be bothered to share their views.
On the other hand, if anyone know Dr Tan chong koay of Phiem asset management who is regarded as warren Buffett of asia, his fund is also into this stk! U think he is stupid? Mind you , he made right called on Hibiscus, Dnex, Pentech recently just to name a few. So think carefully for yourself as for BJCORP,!

Posted by apolloang > 2017-10-08 22:58 | Report Abuse

dr tan ever mention he only hold stocks for 9-18 months the most and consider 5 years is too long,any comment from u on dr tan advice,tan sri calvin?

55,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-09 08:10 | Report Abuse

Good morning Sultan Apollo and all Friends here,

I had read Dr Tan Chong Khay's excellent book called RISING ABOVE FINANCIAL STORMS.

And i think i agree with him 90% of the content.
I think he does time the market. And so he does not invest fully and always keep a cash buffer for emergencies. He believed in buying stocks with Govt support. That was why i bought into Drb and Mrcb. And group of stocks Dr Tan interested in were palm oil stocks. And that was another surprise from him. Like great Sifu Dr Neoh Soon Kean who owns TDM, WTK, THplant and other plantation stocks Dr Tan also focus much into Oil palm stocks.

I have to check up again Dr Tan's holding period. For Dr Neoh and my Johor sifu they have been holding Ajiya and other stocks for a decade or more.

It's like planting trees.
Some like beansprout, chye sim and other leafy vegetables you havest within weeks or months.

Some like durian might last for decades.

And for olive you can harvest its fruit for centuries.

Stocks like Wrigley chewing gum, coca cola, mcdonald might last more than a hundred year.

cyphua

976 posts

Posted by cyphua > 2017-10-09 08:38 | Report Abuse

Buying stock with government support, I agree, but buying BJCorp because of Calvin said.

cyphua

976 posts

Posted by cyphua > 2017-10-09 08:40 | Report Abuse

Buying BJCorp more then three years already, mean need me wait two more year?

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2017-10-09 08:53 | Report Abuse

yesterday i went kenny roger to redeem coupon given by berjaya buy 1 free 1, the taste like sai nia, very expensive 1 set RM20.50 1/4 chicken,a little bit rice, mushroon soup, nowonder berjaya biz every year also drop

55,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-09 09:02 | Report Abuse

Ok lah, I just had Starbuck coffee in Johor. Every place I went business is very good!

55,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-09 09:03 | Report Abuse

The Berkshire of Warren has McDonald & Coca Cola

Bj Corp has Starbuck coffee & 7 Eleven

sowQ

331 posts

Posted by sowQ > 2017-10-09 09:09 | Report Abuse

alamak every day VT buy..mesti join the boat

Posted by Freddie Kkc > 2017-10-09 09:42 | Report Abuse

1st target 0.38 ^^

laulau

415 posts

Posted by laulau > 2017-10-09 11:06 | Report Abuse

BJCorp already moving, don't you think BJLand will also move soon?

KUALA LUMPUR (Sept 25): Berjaya Land Bhd (BLand) posted its fourth straight quarter of profit in the first financial quarter ended July 31, 2017 (1QFY18), with a net profit of RM11.53 million compared with a net loss of RM27.24 million a year ago.

It recorded earnings per share of 0.23 sen in 1QFY18 compared with a loss per share of 0.55 sen in 1QFY17.

Quarterly revenue also rose 3.2% to RM1.6 billion from RM1.55 billion in 1QFY17.
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/berjaya-land-chalks-fourth-straight-quarterly-net-profit

55,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-09 11:11 | Report Abuse

Tell you one Big Secret

How much will Bj Corp make when Bj Assets Seabed lands are reclaimed

Rm26 to Rm1,000 means Outsize gain of 3,800%

To see how much gain by comparison

If you put Rm100 in Public Bank or Maybank at 3.5% interest (Really sorchai as Public Bank & Maybank Bosses invest in better yielding Assets like Property or Shares!)

Ok Rm100 will give you a Rm3.50

Yes! You get Rm3.50 extra monies after One Full Year.

Now Bj Assets deployed your Rm100 in Seabed reclamation

How much Value is created?

Rm100 to Rm4,000

YES!! CAN YOU SEE IT?

Rm3.50 or Rm4,000?

The Choice is Yours!!

55,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-09 12:20 |

cyphua

976 posts

Posted by cyphua > 2017-10-09 13:23 | Report Abuse

.......continue monitor, if break rm0.38 this week, and not lower then RM0.340, can consider change my plan to BJCorp_C4......

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2017-10-09 14:41 | Report Abuse

andy lau call vt UNCLE (舅舅)

profes_lms

227 posts

Posted by profes_lms > 2017-10-09 17:13 | Report Abuse

why TSVT buy again at total 7.35m recently, any good news to be announce coming agm?
or mark up--annouce good news/divident, sell off again?
my average is 35cent....still watching...

Danchan

91 posts

Posted by Danchan > 2017-10-10 00:04 | Report Abuse

Sapu. Agm is getting near. Interesting

Red_Apollo

125 posts

Posted by Red_Apollo > 2017-10-10 01:50 | Report Abuse

If Pakatan wins GE 14 might be BJ Corp can move.

apolloang dr tan ever mention he only hold stocks for 9-18 months the most and consider 5 years is too long,any comment from u on dr tan advice,tan sri calvin?
08/10/2017 22:58