MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

angel123

38 posts

Posted by angel123 > 2013-05-16 19:03 | Report Abuse

Initially it may drop a little after new shares listed but wil have some support.

scott

418 posts

Posted by scott > 2013-05-16 21:54 | Report Abuse

See tomorrow up again ^^

Uwais

Posted by Uwais > 2013-05-16 23:19 | Report Abuse

Can buy now?

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-16 23:21 | Report Abuse

you want to buy mas. seriously?

yahoo80

644 posts

Posted by yahoo80 > 2013-05-16 23:23 | Report Abuse

hinking to buy mas after disposing rdtone , asuprem n padini .. any ideas ?

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-16 23:24 | Report Abuse

look at wing tai, power root, hup seng, tune insurance and johore tin.

scott

418 posts

Posted by scott > 2013-05-16 23:46 | Report Abuse

Why not buy now ?? It is the best way for mas to gain confident in investor ...I think mas will impress the investor..

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-16 23:59 | Report Abuse

stop thinking. especially with go-nowhere stocks like this. listen to, or watch what the market is saying -> look at the stock price. you don't have to be a genius or phd holder to read a price chart.

Robert123

299 posts

Posted by Robert123 > 2013-05-17 00:01 | Report Abuse

My view on Mas, still avoid. The uncertainty still there, those subscribed the right issue will be looking forward to dump it during its listing date, imagine their cost price from 26 sen to 33 sen only. Do ur calculation ....

yahoo80

644 posts

Posted by yahoo80 > 2013-05-17 00:07 | Report Abuse

but the chart saying if can break 0.415 .. its a bullish sign

scott

418 posts

Posted by scott > 2013-05-17 00:22 | Report Abuse

I will take this into my consideration tomorrow ... Thanks guys

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-17 01:18 | Report Abuse

again. its all a matter of perspective. bullish on you 60min osk188 charting package, but not so bullish on a 10 year monthly chart.

Rights issue??? Hmmm...that reminds me of 2009. When the stock was trading @ RM3.03

Last updated: December 23, 2009 5:49 pm
Malaysian Airline unveils rights issue
By Kevin Brown in Singapore

Malaysian Airline System has unveiled plans to raise M$2.67bn (US$777m) through a rights issue and to buy up to 25 new wide-bodied Airbus aircraft, a move that sent its shares dipping almost 2 per cent.

MAS is the third south-east Asian airline to announce capital-raising plans in the past few weeks, following similar moves by Malaysia’s Air Asia and Singapore’s Tiger Airways.

“This is the best time to order aircraft,” Azmil Zahruddin, MAS chief executive, said.
“When you order in a downturn, you get better deals and the aircraft is received when the economic cycle picks up.”

On Tuesday MAS shares closed 1.93 per cent lower at M$3.05 in Kuala Lumpur compared with a rise of 0.05 per cent in the KLSE Composite index, which had fallen on the previous four trading days. The shares closed on Wednesday at M$3.03.

Analysts said MAS had chosen a good time to raise capital for the aircraft, which it needs to compete on routes where it is flying older planes than other carriers.

But the investment banking arm of Maybank, the Malaysian bank, downgraded MAS to “hold” from “buy”, arguing in a note to clients that the rights offer would dilute future earnings.
Abdul Jalil Rasheed, fund manager at Aberdeen Investments in Kuala Lumpur, which does not have shares in the airline, said the company would need to ensure it operated the new aircraft effectively.

MAS said it would issue 1,671m new shares on a one-for-one basis priced at M$1.60 each.
The rights issue is backed by Khazanah, the Malaysian state investment agency, which owns 17.33 per cent of MAS’s equity, and its subsidiary, Penerbangan Malaysia, which has a 52 per cent stake.

MAS said Khazanah and PMB had undertaken to take up their full entitlement.

Khazanah will subscribe for additional shares, raising the combined subscription by the two state agencies to 71 per cent.

The airline said it had signed a firm order with Airbus for 15 A330-300 aircraft, with options for a further 10 at a total cost of $5bn at list prices.

MAS already has six A380 aircraft and 35 Boeing 737-800 planes on order.
Mr Azmil said the carrier would have one of the youngest and most fuel-efficient fleets in Asia by the time all the aircraft were delivered in 2016.

Tiger Airways is planning an initial public offering on the Singapore exchange next month. People close to the deal say the group is expected to seek to raise up to S$250m (US$177m) for between 25 per cent and 30 per cent of the company.

Kuala Lumpur-listed Air Asia, south-east Asia’s largest low-cost airline, is considering a secondary listing in Thailand, then a listing in Jakarta.

--->Still want to average down? Maybe stock will be given away for free in 2 years time.

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-17 01:44 | Report Abuse

but to be frank, MAS will probably survive @ its current share price. it is too-big-to-fail. a political nightmare. Najib can't afford to have one of Malaysia's largest corporate bankruptcies on his watch.

warrior

609 posts

Posted by warrior > 2013-05-17 05:08 | Report Abuse

MAS actually unable to survice with the charity of MAS-OR. I think they will come back and make another CASH CALL. Remember, the current CASH CALL is not the first one.

berry

1,036 posts

Posted by berry > 2013-05-17 08:23 | Report Abuse

trading, investing or doing charity?

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-17 08:25 | Report Abuse

Why so worry? It is a normal case when company doing restructure,the importance thing is the brand name of the company worth it's price. For fund raising possibly can issue SUSUK or bond to support the financing.

scott

418 posts

Posted by scott > 2013-05-17 08:33 | Report Abuse

I believe the prime minister won't allow a company such as mas to go brankupt

robert123

299 posts

Posted by robert123 > 2013-05-17 10:21 | Report Abuse

I still remembered how the stock behaved in 2010 , what i try to say is once have to be extra careful before the listing of its right issue, if ur going to buy for long term , wait until the listing date.

grasia

109 posts

Posted by grasia > 2013-05-17 12:31 | Report Abuse

last time 2010 told friends wait till 0.80c then it happend. That time why you did buy ?

berry

1,036 posts

Posted by berry > 2013-05-17 12:46 | Report Abuse

over 1,000 counters to look at, why bothers about their internal affair? Once you get entangled, you keep subscribing because if you dont, you lose out, so in the first place, dont play eyes with this guy.. actually there is no garantee for GLC, if you want to support, maybe burn a hole in your pocket... everyone has a choice..right.. split shares... except bonus issues

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-17 12:49 | Report Abuse

want to win the pot,we have to all in :)

berry

1,036 posts

Posted by berry > 2013-05-17 12:52 | Report Abuse

when you are bankcrupt, it is YOUR OWN BUSINESS, but when MAS doesn't perform well, it is EVERY BODY BUSINESS...HAHA..

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-17 12:57 | Report Abuse

From the GE13 I have learn something,that is nothing is impossible,although everybody is shouting "Ubah" but at last only the strong win the game.

But invest on your own risk lah,since this is only personal opinion.

Happy Trading :)

scott

418 posts

Posted by scott > 2013-05-17 15:23 | Report Abuse

sorry guys i will be holding this share temporarily ... not planning to sell yet ... thanks for all the advice .. i just see potential in it...

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-17 15:26 | Report Abuse

don't apologize. you have nothing to apologize for. you have my sympathies. no doubt you have paid a heavy price. i know people still holding knm, hoping for a turnaround.

yahoo80

644 posts

Posted by yahoo80 > 2013-05-17 15:27 | Report Abuse

arv18

totally agree with u ..

alex33

82 posts

Posted by alex33 > 2013-05-17 20:33 | Report Abuse

for my own opinion~ Mas is too Big to fail, i will go up again..

Yumi Chan

19 posts

Posted by Yumi Chan > 2013-05-17 22:44 | Report Abuse

where you can find a branded penny stock?

cyclist

158 posts

Posted by cyclist > 2013-05-18 09:51 | Report Abuse

you didn't see the anouncement? EPF/KWSP happyly keep dumping this branded MAS.

alantan

59 posts

Posted by alantan > 2013-05-18 10:55 | Report Abuse

EPF/KWSP has been dumping since last year

m_faiza1

556 posts

Posted by m_faiza1 > 2013-05-18 12:19 | Report Abuse

many share they dumping now, not only MAS

Yumi Chan

19 posts

Posted by Yumi Chan > 2013-05-18 14:32 | Report Abuse

so far i monitor 2 shares MAS & MAH SING, EPF throw mashing at 2.40 & buy at 2.80, can they earn money? i dont know go ask them.

potenza10

1,220 posts

Posted by potenza10 > 2013-05-18 14:55 | Report Abuse

haiyaaa...epf also trading..buy and sell is normal..how come they just buy buy buy without sell...

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2013-05-19 06:35 | Report Abuse

Mas oh mas..still expect mas will up at rm0.40 and above b4 close gap at rm0.50. No worry.

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2013-05-20 09:40 | Report Abuse

stiil up trend..wait & see..

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2013-05-20 10:22 | Report Abuse

Simple guess, who is left behind given d market rally recently. No Hot stock should left behind. Especially Mas .

Bryan Ng

107 posts

Posted by Bryan Ng > 2013-05-20 10:35 | Report Abuse

Is too slow ... Stagnant at 0.39 -0.40

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2013-05-20 10:38 | Report Abuse

It will not sit silent and miss this round rally. Expecting Mas to show nxt week.

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2013-05-20 10:39 | Report Abuse

go..go...RM0.45...

Bryan Ng

107 posts

Posted by Bryan Ng > 2013-05-20 10:44 | Report Abuse

As long as it hold above 0.40 then rally gonna start ....

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-05-20 10:59 | Report Abuse

with the rising anger against AirAsia, MAS should be the biggest beneficiary!

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2013-05-20 11:00 | Report Abuse

rising anger against AirAsia? we go Tiger Airways....

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2013-05-20 12:04 | Report Abuse

Anyone here has what is d best entry price for Mas when in ex-right due course ?

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2013-05-20 12:05 | Report Abuse

My best guess is to follow d SMA 10. NOW is consolidate at $0.38.

scott

418 posts

Posted by scott > 2013-05-20 12:20 | Report Abuse

I am waiting for tomorrow .. the volume should be higher than today .. after they announce how much they accumulate from the right issue ..

mattky

47 posts

Posted by mattky > 2013-05-20 12:30 | Report Abuse

Planning to accumulate MAS shares for retirement. Any suggestion and feedback?

eagle

384 posts

Posted by eagle > 2013-05-20 13:34 | Report Abuse

sure...be careful!

mattky

47 posts

Posted by mattky > 2013-05-20 13:59 | Report Abuse

Thanks eagle, What is the potential of going up and target price?

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-05-20 15:01 | Report Abuse

tp 1.00 RHB said one :)

phyroxus

683 posts

Posted by phyroxus > 2013-05-20 15:44 | Report Abuse

haha hustle, 1.0 before -ex or from current price?