BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.02 (0.25%)

7.98 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,619 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 7 hours ago

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-04-30 11:02 | Report Abuse

I am not an expert, but look at that BAT! Very obvious their are try climbing to target at rm13 AND ASK YOU CHIP IN! After MCO the border control will not open that fast, which mean maybe illegal cig cant be come in that easy or that fast and we still can think wether to hold or to throw away BAT at this period of time, but to made our mind more peaceful, I am long term investor for this stock, unless their no smoker, which is IMPOSSIBLE in human to escape smoking once their get hold of it, if not, they will be no illegal cig all over the place. BTW, I HATE SMOKING, Really hate it. I buy for dividend shake.

Posted by Nelson Yoong > 2020-04-30 11:18 | Report Abuse

Smart men think the same, hehehe(dividend)

6,287 posts

Posted by Michael Kwok > 2020-04-30 11:43 | Report Abuse

The trusted name.
1819 posts
Posted by Michael Kwok > Apr 18, 2020 9:09 PM | Report Abuse X

The other TP 15.But my target rm 20-23(worst case scenario); and rm 26-rm 29(best case scenario if 2 quarter yoy improve results)

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-04-30 11:57 | Report Abuse

Nelson... HAHA (Dividend)

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-04-30 14:24 | Report Abuse

Hi Superman. Thanks for your 2 cents. Yeah, I hesitated yesterday and missed the opportunity. Below 12 ringgit I think it's still a good buy but now I really doubt it considering the volatile market conditions. Let's see if it drops next week. Sometimes greedy is good and sometimes bad. Haha.

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-04-30 14:31 | Report Abuse

Hi troy88, let's see I am guessing it right or not, so it can leave a something to refer for myself.. I guess BAT will break Rm13 before closing today. Just guess ah, not telling people go buy ah!

Junichiro

2,056 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2020-04-30 15:09 | Report Abuse

$12 is a Gann resistance . a strong resistance. It just breezed thru !
The upward momentum is strong.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-04-30 17:33 | Report Abuse

huat ar

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-04-30 17:35 | Report Abuse

BAT's dividend is Money Coming Oh

peter555

620 posts

Posted by peter555 > 2020-04-30 20:20 | Report Abuse

https://www.businessinsider.com/bat-sticks-to-earnings-forecast-flags-first-signs-of-sales-weakness-2020-4?IR=T

BAT sticks to earnings forecast, flags first signs of sales weakness

(Reuters) - British American Tobacco said on Thursday it was maintaining its guidance of high single figure earnings per share growth for 2020 while expecting some impact on volume and revenue growth in the second-quarter due to the coronavirus.

The world's No. 2 tobacco company expects 2020 constant currency adjusted revenue growth around the low end of the 3% to 5% range and will continue with its dividend pay-out ratio of 65% of adjusted diluted EPS and growth, it said.

peter555

620 posts

Posted by peter555 > 2020-04-30 20:25 | Report Abuse

Not Sure if that is related to BAT Malaysia

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-04-30 21:54 | Report Abuse

That not BAT Malaysia,the legal cigarettes had almost dry up in the retailers and BAT will be running out of stock one the MCO open

6,287 posts

Posted by Michael Kwok > 2020-04-30 22:18 | Report Abuse

Not all prefer iilegal cigarettes.I expect government to made more move to ban illegal cig.Gov need money.The factory on high majority automation or less men.

6,287 posts

Posted by Michael Kwok > 2020-04-30 22:28 | Report Abuse

Above rm 20 on the move.after few years down.

peter555

620 posts

Posted by peter555 > 2020-05-02 17:41 | Report Abuse

Hopefully these will curb illegal cigarettes from coming into the country

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2020/05/02/mco-authorities-beef-up-security-at-border-checkpoints/1862261

Security personnel are also keeping a sharp lookout for anyone trying to sneak into the country through the numerous rat trails, illegal routes across forests and plantations that are also used for smuggling

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-02 21:24 | Report Abuse

Agree with u but I am not so optimistic. There should be tonnes of illicit stocks in the warehouse

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-03 23:10 | Report Abuse

Hahaha while many has been calling a pull back even the Dow lost 600,but Bat continues bouncing back almost 30% and left many in disbelief,and were left sidelines watching Bat shoot higher without them,At in a gravity defying move bounced back after the sharpest plunge in it history.many miss out on the dip,when it come,they didn’t pull the trigger and buy the dip,now Bat is detached from fundamentals

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-05-03 23:32 | Report Abuse

Different people different perception different voice...... 

So long as you know what you invest with what mission you are setting...... 

Value investors always happiness no matter company you invested up or down...... 

If share price up of course your portfolio return become higher... 

If share price down of course need deploy fund to repurchase what stocks on your portfolio... 

Of course current share price feel comfortable safer than previous... 

Too sad to say, my entry price @ 9.95....now put in long term portfolio for upcoming dividend passive income...... 

^^^Always deploy investment funds by diversification into different sectors......

Posted by GreatWarrants > 2020-05-04 09:57 | Report Abuse

Great sale today. Actually it has been on sale since the price dipped below RM 15. Just that today discount is better. Long term valuations are promising, with tight border controls.

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-04 10:26 | Report Abuse

Picked up a few more lots today. Keeping for long term. Fingers crossed dividend for next quarter is still decent.

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-04 11:17 | Report Abuse

i only top up 1000unit just now...

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-04 12:58 | Report Abuse

Good timing, foreign funds are collecting heavily since last week..

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-04 14:25 | Report Abuse

In my opinion, I think this is the last call for BAT at a decent rate. Above 13 I don't think I dare top up more.

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-05-04 14:48 | Report Abuse

Expect 12.66 to be broken soon. Many enjoying a free ride have Jump-ship---morning

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-04 14:49 | Report Abuse

I agreed with troy88, once train depart, never come back...

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-05-04 15:45 | Report Abuse

Really heading to 13.00..............

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-04 15:48 | Report Abuse

Amazing it has clawed its way up to almost last close price. Market down close to 30 points and all big blue chips are down quite a lot but BAT pretty resilient. Guess I should have picked up more this morning. That's my greedy side talking..haha.

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2020-05-04 15:49 | Report Abuse

Last call.

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-04 15:53 | Report Abuse

If the dividend announce, i dont know will it hit to RM14 or not.

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-04 15:58 | Report Abuse

We are in green!! RM 12.70!

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-04 15:59 | Report Abuse

Wow, back in the green. Really amazing indeed!

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-04 15:59 | Report Abuse

AH! I am wrong! We are at RM 12.74!

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-04 16:03 | Report Abuse

We have chance to see closing at RM 13.00 finally....

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2020-05-04 16:13 | Report Abuse

Hold tight

Posted by Super_Ivan_Man > 2020-05-04 16:21 | Report Abuse

Wohoo.. Ohm is comming

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-05-04 17:13 | Report Abuse

All back to wrok...puff puff puff

MJ Lee

394 posts

Posted by MJ Lee > 2020-05-04 20:23 | Report Abuse

when dv to be announce . so fast

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-05 05:44 | Report Abuse

13.72 is in the radars

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-05 09:16 | Report Abuse

Bye bye 12 ringgit.

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-05 09:24 | Report Abuse

16 is next

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-05 09:27 | Report Abuse

Legal or illegal cigarettes is drying out in the market,and bat not looking back

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-05 09:28 | Report Abuse

Folks, take chance to buy now, I think possible go to 13.30 above today closing, just my thought, not asking people sai lang!

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-05 09:29 | Report Abuse

When times are bad, people are stressed and smoke more. If covid crisis can somehow reduce illegal cigarettes by 20% or more, it will do wonders for BAT. Govt also need tax money coz they spent so much on stimulus package already.

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-05 09:31 | Report Abuse

I remember just few days ago, come here 'promo' 13, people still struggle with 12.66.... yesterday so red, is really a good time to buy!

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-05 09:36 | Report Abuse

BAT from red can turn green on the same day. It has done that twice in the past 10 days I believe. Goes to show it's rebound strength.

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-05-05 09:52 | Report Abuse

Exceptional Value. With the expected OPR cut and further reductions in interest rate, BAT dividend yield will be second to none yield investment :-)

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-05-05 09:54 | Report Abuse

All back to work...puff puff puff

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-05-05 09:54 | Report Abuse

BATman is my favourite

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-05 09:56 | Report Abuse

Yes, OPR cuts will only push high dividend stocks like BAT up. Very soon BAT will be back to the 15+ ringgit range which was it's price at the start of the year.