BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.02 (0.25%)

7.98 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,619 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 7 hours ago

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-05 09:56 | Report Abuse

Is at 13.22 now.... can't wait to see my 13.30 prediction!

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-05-05 09:57 | Report Abuse

I see today 3pm BNM will announce if OPR reduce or not..

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-05-05 09:57 | Report Abuse

Hopefully, Norway Sovereign Government Pension Fund Global starts their buying spree on BAT soon. Good luck to all the loyal investors.

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-05-05 10:00 | Report Abuse

@ SUPERman 13.22 ? I thought you will predict 22.31 :-)

Posted by supertheng > 2020-05-05 10:02 | Report Abuse

can it go back to its legendary RM70+ ?

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-05 10:05 | Report Abuse

can it go back to its legendary RM70+ ?

Yes, if all illegal cigarettes wiped out. Even the most optimistic BAT investor also not dreaming of this. Haha. Half way at 36 also we can laugh all the way to the bank!

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-05 10:06 | Report Abuse

Panorama1, name only is superman, where got prediction super that fast/high ..... :D

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-05-05 10:33 | Report Abuse

many contra players dumped and left yesterday so BAT is so light today. Can jump 46c morning.
Punters left yesterday maybe be coming back if BAT keeps pushing higher-----Operator's job

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-05 10:45 | Report Abuse

Owh really? Where is the day trader? Please quickly come goreng!!!

Posted by Nelson Yoong > 2020-05-05 10:57 | Report Abuse

hehehe BAT kaya-lah!!! thank you.

Posted by GreatWarrants > 2020-05-05 12:03 | Report Abuse

Good run today, however beware of corrections. Intrinsic value of this stock is still far greater from these levels.. Like you guys said, it was once RM 60-70 legendary levels.

Posted by GreatWarrants > 2020-05-05 15:45 | Report Abuse

Doesnt make sense when Nestle F&N Dutchlady Carlsberg HEIM trading at PE 20x-50x.
Bat only PE 11x.

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-05 15:54 | Report Abuse

BNM’s Monetary Policy Committee reduces OPR to 2% Good news!

Posted by GreatWarrants > 2020-05-05 16:03 | Report Abuse

QL PE 55X btw. and BAT Earns 345 Million compared to QL of only RM 239 Million. Does not make sense

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-05-05 16:44 | Report Abuse

Posted by unknownbro > 2020-05-05 16:49 | Report Abuse

Aminvest TP, i think they wrote wrongly , should be 2-4 days

Target: RM12.60, RM13.16 (time frame: 2-4 weeks)

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-05 21:38 | Report Abuse

DJ up 500 at midday,Bat may approaching 14 tomorrow

Posted by Najib Zamry > 2020-05-05 21:40 | Report Abuse

Making more than Rm100,000 since MCO. Many thanks to JHM, Krono, Ekovest , BAT and Deleum.

Posted by Nelson Yoong > 2020-05-06 06:54 | Report Abuse

Good everybody making money everybody happy!!!

Jnlee

305 posts

Posted by Jnlee > 2020-05-06 08:01 | Report Abuse

Najib zamry, what tp for Bat

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-06 08:55 | Report Abuse

Very very high chances today we will reach 13.90-+.

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-06 09:57 | Report Abuse

I expect BAT to slow down a bit today and Friday. It has been a speed train the past 2 weeks. Need to rest a bit. I could be wrong.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-05-06 10:56 | Report Abuse

for long term , 3 to 5 years , BAT share price will reach RM20?

Anybody share opinion?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-05-06 10:58 | Report Abuse

@greatwarrant

QL biz is sell food that all people also can eat

BAT is do biz where is not encourage to consume

so how can compare QL PE with BAT PE, is totally different

BAT also faced many hardships from government wheras QL is none

Posted by investory321 > 2020-05-06 11:43 | Report Abuse

how far the share price can go depend on yr view of what is the earning and dividend will be like for the next 1 to 2 year.

My own estimate: dividend will be around Rm0.90 - Rm1 which i view the fair value of this counter between Rm13 - Rm15. To go back to Rm20 you have to be very optimistic with the economic and operating outlook as the earning have to grow by more than 30%

Chill88

70 posts

Posted by Chill88 > 2020-05-06 11:57 | Report Abuse

Last 2 quarters 62 sen (with uptrend). If scale this to one year it will be 124sen dividend. I will use 5% return since FD is becoming so low now.
124x(100/5)=24,80

I will definitely hold until dividend announcement end of May and probably keep much longer, unless it reaches around this price.

Agree with troy88 that is has been a speed train, today it is taking a breather.

Posted by GreatWarrants > 2020-05-06 15:31 | Report Abuse

Sectorial PE, Cash Flow and net profits are Universal comparisons in financial markets. You can continue buying QL & Nestle if you want, nobody stopping you :)

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-05-06 16:33 | Report Abuse

With FD interest rate < 3% and EPF dividend rate going to be low going forward, I withdrew all my EPF retirement monies & put it into BAT at < RM10 and look forward to a good harvest of Capital Gain & dividend yield by end of 2020 without having to monitor closely on a daily basis. Who knows ..... at the rate it is going my retirement monies might even be doubled within 1 year.

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-05-06 16:39 | Report Abuse

Not forgetting that the other “Tri-Vaccine” Covid-19 hedges in SUPERman & TOPman together with their side-kicks like Luxchem & Ruberex Outperforming too.

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-05-07 14:12 | Report Abuse

Both Bursa and Dow are recovering from the Bottom, some bursa stock have fallen 50%, some 30%----up-side is sure but slow (give or take 6--9months)----The Good thing is BAT recovery rate
much faster than most, RM15 target is remarkable close. Don't forget most FF had left Asia, but
are slowly returning. Bat is always a favourite among FF

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-07 17:51 | Report Abuse

Better positioning before ff coming back,it will be like triple jump when they back,and only real investors will follow

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-05-07 19:02 | Report Abuse

Problem is when FF will back ?

after 1 year? 2 year? 3 year?

now Msia politics is not stable, policy U turn

plus with Covid-19

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-07 20:21 | Report Abuse

Yes, foreign fund has started to buy and I hope more to come not just them

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-05-07 21:42 | Report Abuse

from 23Mar til now---1month 8days----BAT jumps from 9.26 to 13.26 (43% Up). Someone must
be collecting----where there's smoke, there is fire

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-05-07 22:01 | Report Abuse

I think BAT is just at the beginning of a long march ( very nice Chart ) Should throw caution in the
Air if Bat price started with V-shape surge

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-07 22:57 | Report Abuse

It’s quite similar the moving of the chart today as 22 years back then when the ff withdrawn due to the sudden currency control that caused Bat to limited down to 13.50,but then the vacuum was quickly filled,this stock up and down is manipulated,they had the muscle to absorb any profit taking and continue to move up without turning back and left many profit taker so stressed to see it continue to going up

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-07 23:02 | Report Abuse

That long marched had bought Bat from 13.50 until 70+ ,history is repeating

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-07 23:03 | Report Abuse

One it crossed 20,it will move faster

Chin TS

16 posts

Posted by Chin TS > 2020-05-08 10:48 | Report Abuse

this counter had reached its near term fair value range (my opinion: 13 - 15) for now, can see big fund buying volume had slow down after it went above 13.20...let see the div announcement any surprise.

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-08 11:15 | Report Abuse

I think it may hover around 13+ to 14+ range in the next couple of weeks before dividend announcement. Fingers crossed upcoming dividend will be decent, then it should surge again.

Chill88

70 posts

Posted by Chill88 > 2020-05-08 14:57 | Report Abuse

Bought some more awaiting dividend announcement.

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-08 15:26 | Report Abuse

Hope the bull run for BAT continues next week when MCO officially ends after it has rested for 2 days.

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-05-09 09:37 | Report Abuse

Anti-viral drug trio found to shorten COVID-19 illness in mild cases: Study
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asia/anti-viral-drug-trio-found-to-shorten-covid-19-illness-in-mild-12716962

Posted by focusinvesting > 2020-05-09 11:55 | Report Abuse

The illicit tobacco trade is seriously harming BAT’s operating performance but I believe that there is still value in the company, IF we bought it at the right price. Here's why...
https://focusinvesting484855354.wordpress.com/2020/05/05/fundamental-analysis-british-american-tabacco-malaysia/

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-09 12:26 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing this useful piece, very informative and can be a good guide, to apply a more prudent decision. In short, the statements and the assumptions made are telling ppl how bad the enforcement team is doing. Agree with both hands

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-09 12:33 | Report Abuse

Just wonder why the enforcement team cant be more efficient and effective in battling the issue. Dont know why they can stand with the bad name given, the world no 1 in smuggling illicit cigs and with a much lesser tax income. For me, I will be SIBEH BEH TAHAN

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-09 12:37 | Report Abuse

This issue is not happened just overnight, but over the past 6 years. Ridiculous man

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-09 12:50 | Report Abuse

Should send some congratulatory messages to the ministry regularly, to be the world no 1. So proud