BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.02 (0.25%)

7.98 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,619 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 7 hours ago

Posted by focusinvesting > 2020-05-09 14:57 | Report Abuse

Hey Daniel, I'm glad that you found it useful! There has been higher reports of clamp downs during the MCO period. I do hope that this trend continues, or else we'd really do need to send them a congratulationary prize

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-05-09 17:04 | Report Abuse

government always wants increase tax due to lack of revenue (oil price down)

but dont want take care the illegal cigar, and allow it in the market (maybe the lower rank officer don't study & don't know how much taxes has been wasted for not curb illegal cigar)

think the enforcement officer also use illegal cigar, so they also dont care it

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-09 17:09 | Report Abuse

Thanks I do noted that, but it seems the clamp down cases are just the tip of the iceberg, very strong syndicate, use residential and shop houses to store those stocks. Really no joke.

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-09 17:29 | Report Abuse

I am not sure whether they are aware that there are many professional firms are able to provide investigative or forensic check on retail outlet and conduct observations even on the BAT van sales itself. BAT or the industry itself should collaborate with the ministry to do this right but wonder this has been put in place. Ministry should make the first step to engage the market players? Or vice versa.

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-09 17:42 | Report Abuse

Let's put it in perspective, why malaysia is always no 1? Means malaysia do not have talent to conduct what is supposed to be to improve the situation? Or always feel satisfied to stay in the comfort zone. Show to the public what has been done but is that enough? No doubt your efforts are much appreciated. Gambate by the way

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-09 17:58 | Report Abuse

I truly believe the ministry will try their best to clamp down and improve this systemic issue, hope dont normalise the abnormal.

Posted by focusinvesting > 2020-05-09 18:08 | Report Abuse

That's a good point. The fact that we are number 1 shows that we lack a proper response to this issue. I think the Ministry should step up their game, the constant change in direction and policies show that they don't seem to know what their suppose to do. Maybe the best response (although it might be the least politically correct response) is to reduce excise duty tax to allow BAT to compete on even grounds.

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-09 18:37 | Report Abuse

Sounds very constructive.. restart from the starting point.. show commitment itself is key to the success

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-09 18:42 | Report Abuse

A bit funny though.. how can a black cat becomes a white one..

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-10 00:29 | Report Abuse

There’s only one key that is the corruption among all enforcers’s efficiency,all things pointing to a very influential numbers behind and scoped up all the country’s tax revenues into private pockets ..for sure

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-05-10 08:46 | Report Abuse

“A couple of unexpected side-effects from the coronavirus crisis: The broken supply chain has disrupted the trade in illegal drugs”. Bloomberg
The same effect on illegal cigarettes too :-)

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-10 16:15 | Report Abuse

Personally, I dont expect a very good result, can maintain last qtr result is ok because I know malaysia is a very competitive and biz friendly country. That why it invites a lot of illegal biz to the country. Not bad ya

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-05-10 19:04 | Report Abuse

Latest 30days MCO is Not the End (Expect many more mco if Indonesia Covid19 cases expanded)
This is what i was told 2 weeks ago by Custom Dept. when i request re-entry permit for my Indonesian workers.
Anyway mco is good for BAT's bottom line ( controlling illegal Indonesian Cigarette )

Goodprofit

1,022 posts

Posted by Goodprofit > 2020-05-10 19:31 | Report Abuse

political & foreign fund will be two main factors for next week market
sentiment.

Chill88

70 posts

Posted by Chill88 > 2020-05-12 10:30 | Report Abuse

Bought more BAT, should be better than FD.

Frontline

37 posts

Posted by Frontline > 2020-05-12 14:20 | Report Abuse

Tax accountants: Malaysia should bring back GST but at 3pc and reduce cigarettes’ tax to boost govt coffers

Frontline

37 posts

Posted by Frontline > 2020-05-12 14:23 | Report Abuse

demand for illicit cigarettes in Malaysia was recently reported as having increased during the movement control order (MCO) with legitimate manufacturers disallowed from distributing cigarettes, with illegal cigarette syndicates allegedly intensifying their use of e-commerce and social media platforms coupled with e-hailing and courier services to meet the increased demand.

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-12 16:00 | Report Abuse

There are still no real reports on the illegal cigarette situation during this MCO so we don't know the hard facts and real statistics. All I know is that BAT is an undervalued stock whichever way you look at it. I'm banking on this stock for the future even if I may have to wait a while.

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-05-12 19:48 | Report Abuse

Why cigaratte distribution still not resume after cmco implement?

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-05-12 19:55 | Report Abuse

Are you sure!!!...... How come I still can buy cigarettes anyway...7Eleven...Speed99...

So far no shortage worrr...

Posted by Investman1981 > May 12, 2020 7:48 PM | Report Abuse 

Why cigaratte distribution still not resume after cmco implement?

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-05-12 22:29 | Report Abuse

Mean bat will register super higher sales in may month for restock. During mco 1-3 no distribution allowed. I saw at 7-11 shop that less on the rack earlier

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-05-13 09:52 | Report Abuse

i dont know how many did sell at 13.30, if so, good time to buy back, cos i am. :D

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-05-13 13:36 | Report Abuse

From red this morning to green. This may be a sign it's ready to surge again. Hope I'm right.

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-05-13 19:22 | Report Abuse

It could be gradually increase to 15.00

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-05-13 20:50 | Report Abuse

Up because of dividend is going to announce very sooooooon...

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-05-13 21:33 | Report Abuse

Likely 25 cent at least based on 1/1-17/3 got sales. 14 day from 91 day no sales. Small amount for administrive expenses for 14 days

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-05-13 21:33 | Report Abuse

*25 cent dividend

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2020-05-14 13:34 | Report Abuse

I bought Cigarette at mamak food stall / 7-Eleven / Supermarket even during 1st Mco.....why no
Sales? Most Cigarettes ran out at mini-supermarket very fast, people don't want to come out everyday so they Buy 5--6 packets one time

Justera

Posted by Justera > 2020-05-14 16:19 | Report Abuse

Haha, true sounds like me. From peak 70 drop until today 13, still hesitating? Sell low buy high?

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-05-14 16:41 | Report Abuse

Great and consistent dividend plus ression proof counter.. Ha Ha...

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-14 17:08 | Report Abuse

Dividend 35 cents

nbrlatex

341 posts

Posted by nbrlatex > 2020-05-14 17:48 | Report Abuse

35 cent confirmed ?

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-05-14 17:56 | Report Abuse

No worry...if shortfall by 35 cents...williamh will compensate to you because now williamh is one of the major shareholder......

kekeke...kekeke......

Posted by nbrlatex > May 14, 2020 5:48 PM | Report Abuse

35 cent confirmed ?

Posted by williamh > May 14, 2020 5:08 PM | Report Abuse

Dividend 35 cents

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-05-14 18:26 | Report Abuse

Hopefully lahhh....

I already collected cheque payment for previous dividend by 33 sen (tax exempted)......

Only today just realized to bank in....(totally forgot during MCO)......

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-05-14 18:36 | Report Abuse

Cross finger 35 cents..

28,403 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-05-14 18:38 |

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-05-14 18:38 | Report Abuse

I started to bet this BAT since May'16...

When that time from RM 55 plunged to RM 41....

So during that time was my 1st time to collect dividend...(after the share price up & down & let it go...)

Of course that time quiet higher...55 sen per quarter term dividend...

If comparing now @ RM 13 pricing level, if management can distribute 35 sen, of course now more valuable than last time....

Simple calculation...

2016 - 55 sen per quarter term again RM 43 (average pricing) equivalent to 1.279% per quarter term return...

2020 - 35 sen per quarter term again RM 13 (current pricing) equivalent to 2.692% per quarter term return......

** Too sad to say, "Orang Tua" only know this way calculate the return only....kekeke...kekeek...

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-05-14 18:44 | Report Abuse

No need run lahhh.......

During 40++ still betting....During 30++ still betting......

Now my cost only 9.95...run to way !!!!!!.......

Unless this company turn to "PN17" then different story lahhh....

Just put at frige....on & off just take out review......

More important quarterly can give me some $$$$$$ for makan...makan...enough lorrr.......

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-14 19:42 | Report Abuse

9.51 and 9.60 were the lowest I collected and will average until 16 only stop

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-05-14 20:36 | Report Abuse

You smart williamh, you r one of the best buyer here, congratulations

28,403 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-05-14 20:36 |

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-14 20:56 | Report Abuse

I disposed it 25years back at 15 when i bought it limit down price at 13.50,it then went up to as high as 70+,now the history repeat

28,403 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-05-14 21:04 | Report Abuse

Dow futures drop 300 points as two-month job losses total more than 36 million amid pandemic

Posted by investory321 > 2020-05-15 11:46 | Report Abuse

if really 35 cents will be very good, i estimate 0.20 - 0.30 range. At 35 cents it will move up to near 14 level

Posted by investory321 > 2020-05-15 11:48 | Report Abuse

can't compare to the Rm70 time , now the operating environment is different with ppl more health conscious and rampage of illicit ciggi, can see the market ald saturated unless company expand the sales somewhere else

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-05-15 18:08 | Report Abuse

June 15 AGM,dividend is near

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-05-17 19:48 | Report Abuse

Hearsay illegal cigarettes activities have been greatly reduced due to severe checking activities by govt. It has reduced by a least by 30% from Jan 2020 till now.

Let see QR coming out next week. Tighten your seat belt to move up..

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-05-17 20:53 | Report Abuse

Hopeful that Nepo ' comment are correct.