BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.02 (0.25%)

7.98 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,619 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 9 hours ago

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-04-28 15:44 | Report Abuse

28/4 today break the one month high of 11.90,

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-04-28 15:46 | Report Abuse

OMG it’s 12.08

peter555

620 posts

Posted by peter555 > 2020-04-28 15:47 | Report Abuse

wohooo yes .. +0.24 by the way why the big jump ?

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-04-28 15:47 | Report Abuse

dailymail is like our kosmo, do you read kosmo too? go to dailymail fb and main website and look for yourself, what kind of article are they chuncking out. Here is one for you:

"Coronavirus is unlikely to be spread through sex, scientists say - but they admit they CAN'T completely rule it out"

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8249269/Coronavirus-unlikely-spread-semen-scientists-say-rule-out.html

SinGor

4,782 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2020-04-28 15:50 | Report Abuse

iron. yr 12 tp late by 2hr 30min......don't make this type of mistake again. i can have heart attack

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-04-28 15:55 | Report Abuse

All the big consumer giants are in the red. BAT the only one green and aggressive! Not sure why some skeptics are still doubting BAT's ability to rebound.

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2020-04-28 15:56 | Report Abuse

Sell in may go away!

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2020-04-28 15:57 | Report Abuse

Catch the bull is bullsh*ting and dreaming

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-04-28 16:00 | Report Abuse

The coronavirus vaccine attempt is real. Do check on BAT official website below. On April 1, the company announced research on a potential vaccine that can be produced using lab-grown plants closely related to tobacco. British American Tobacco said that its potential vaccine is now being tested on animals through its subsidiary, Kentucky BioProcessing. If clinical trials are approved, the company hopes to produce up to 3 million doses of the vaccine per week beginning in June.
British American Tobacco says elements in the tobacco plant have been used in other vaccine developments, specifically for Ebola. It's an unexpected attempt from a tobacco company.

https://www.bat.com/group/sites/UK__9D9KCY.nsf/vwPagesWebLive/DOBN8QNL

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2020-04-28 16:03 | Report Abuse

Selling huge... run...

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-04-28 16:07 | Report Abuse

Too sad...I also want to run....but not yet see 30...

How to run !!!.........Haiz....stupid buffalo....Scare to reload last Thursday.....

I sudah simpan dalam refrigerator since 9.95 bet in....kekeke...kekeke...

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2020-04-28 16:07 | Report Abuse

Catch the bull is bluffing huge... What is the scientific basis? Any clinical or research study code number? All in all Not mentioned... No solid evidence yet... bluffing is real, study is fake...

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-04-28 16:10 | Report Abuse

Too sad to said......I like sendiri talk sendiri syok......

More important is sendiri pocket banyak syok.......kekeke...kekeke...

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-04-28 16:23 | Report Abuse

Hello Applexx8, i just share the information from BAT's official website. I did not make a buy or sell call. Just make your own decision. Don't just talk nonsense and use hard word against each other.

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2020-04-28 16:51 | Report Abuse

very good close. Price action is the best story teller.

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-04-28 17:02 | Report Abuse

Good closing. Still a long way to go to get back to the 30+ ringgit range it was a year ago. I'll be a happy man if can reach half way by next year.

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-04-28 17:06 | Report Abuse

Aiyo...just put it at refrigerator.......

every quarter...management will send you money for spending then can buy any thing you want......

simple life mahhhh....

Chin TS

16 posts

Posted by Chin TS > 2020-04-28 17:19 | Report Abuse

matching time big fund bot more than 1000 lots at 12.10, then after matched same player park 1000 lots to sell at 12.10 b4 closing, wait for next month dividend announcement, good news coming

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-04-28 19:30 | Report Abuse

With Dow climbing everyday due lockdown openings, Bat will be swept in same direction. It is a Bull-Run

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-04-28 19:34 | Report Abuse

Bottom is reached on 23 March @ Rm9.26

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-04-28 19:49 | Report Abuse

Ultimately, the price still need to rely heavily on the capability and creativity of the Malaysia enforcement team

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-04-28 23:30 | Report Abuse

Everyone is getring back to work.....puff puff (but how....with mask on?)

Kpin Yeoh

239 posts

Posted by Kpin Yeoh > 2020-04-29 09:08 | Report Abuse

Safe bet on BAT, i believe this counter will continue to pay 10% dividend base on current price.

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-04-29 09:19 | Report Abuse

Why shooting up?
Any news?
It likes blind man searches in the dark...that is the difficulty in stock market..

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-04-29 09:27 | Report Abuse

Businesses returning to full swing. BAT picking up steam..

Kpin Yeoh

239 posts

Posted by Kpin Yeoh > 2020-04-29 09:36 | Report Abuse

everyday 2 % is enough another good counter i see is magnum with ard 7% dividend yield.

Chin TS

16 posts

Posted by Chin TS > 2020-04-29 09:36 | Report Abuse

Nepo, expect good dividend payout in next month announcement, big fund who have insider news ald buying it since last 2 weeks plus, price is heading above 13

Kpin Yeoh

239 posts

Posted by Kpin Yeoh > 2020-04-29 09:39 | Report Abuse

BAT production is fully automated with less manpower. The whole production line with very efficient of man to machine ratio. I am expecting 17 by end of this year.

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-04-29 09:47 | Report Abuse

Just before the back door government fiasco in Feb, BAT was already on its way to hit 16-17. Now momentum is picking up faster than I thought. Dividend should still be good at current prices but need to lower expectations.

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-04-29 10:39 | Report Abuse

Passive income every quarter, this is what i like about BAT. Happy investing :)

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/CatchTheBull/2020-01-31-story-h1482991851-Have_faith_in_BAT_British_American_Tobacco_Malaysia.jsp

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-04-29 14:56 | Report Abuse

Looks like it's on track for another strong close today. Wish I picked up more lots when it was still below 11. Damn.

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-04-29 14:59 | Report Abuse

Also hunting for other counters with passive income...

Like banking stocks as well...

Posted by CatchThe Bull > Apr 29, 2020 10:39 AM | Report Abuse

Passive income every quarter, this is what i like about BAT. Happy investing :)

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-04-29 15:52 | Report Abuse

Good for start for value investor......

Not always be gambler......

Sooner or later who can laugh until end......result will guide you......

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-04-29 19:59 | Report Abuse

Customs foils bid to smuggle in nine million sticks of cigarettes

April 29, 2020 19:10 pm +08

PUTRAJAYA (April 29): The Royal Malaysian Customs Department thwarted an attempt to smuggle in nine million sticks of white cigarettes worth RM720,000, which carried taxes of RM5.7 million, at the North Port of Port Klang yesterday.

Its assistant director-general Datuk Zulkurnain Mohamed Yusuf said acting on a tip-off and surveillance, a team of enforcement officers from Central Zone Unit II (Selangor) went to the port at 12.30pm and checked a 40 sq ft container declared as containing floor mats and bath towels.

"From the inspection, an amount of white cigarettes were found hidden behind sacks of goods which were declared to deceive the Customs authorities,” he said in a statement here today.

Zulkurnain said the modus operandi of the importer or agent was to place the big gunny sacks containing floor mats in the front of the container to hide the boxes of white cigarettes at the back portion, in a bid to evade detection by the authorities.

Zulkurnain said the importer and shipping agent involved were being investigated for attempted smuggling under Customs Act 1967 and Excise Act 1976.

##https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/customs-foils-bid-smuggle-nine-million-sticks-cigarettes

Posted by GreatWarrants > 2020-04-29 22:44 | Report Abuse

That is good news to curb illegal trade. This is just the beginning. Long term value till within this company. Comparing to those good days, BAT was trading at RM 60..

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-04-30 08:53 | Report Abuse

Time to focus other value stocks...

Must know how to segregate your portfolio...

Treat this counter under "Retirement & Savings Fund".....

Looking for "Emerging Growth Fund"......

Looking for "Small Balanced Fund"......

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-04-30 09:08 | Report Abuse

I won't be surprise if BAT test the full range of Tp given by Bankers ----RM 25 to 17
Nobody understand the extend of MCO effective on illegal Cigarette from Indonesia

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-04-30 09:21 | Report Abuse

I watched the news yesterday reported over 5 million ringgit of cigarettes that were being smuggled from Indonesia were discovered and stopped by police. Good job by our men in black.

The BAT upward trend continues today. Enjoy the show..

Chin TS

16 posts

Posted by Chin TS > 2020-04-30 09:24 | Report Abuse

that's for sure, during MCO those carrying small amount of ketum also can get caught during roadblock, it will be hard to smuggle bulk of illegal cigarettes during these period, throw in strict border control, activity of smuggling in will be much lesser

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-04-30 09:43 | Report Abuse

Wow ! BATman performing now although left way behind (% terms) by SUPERman & TOPman. I just leave these “TRI-Vaccine” stocks to perform over time and was focussing on “cheap & good” fundamental penny stocks like LuxChem, Star, Ruberex, TuneProtect, MTAG, MYEG, Pharmaniaga, GDex etc. at their “bottom” :-)

Posted by GreatWarrants > 2020-04-30 09:52 | Report Abuse

Tight border controls will continue as the pandemic still persists. Screening will still be done strictly over the period of the next 1-2 years

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-04-30 09:55 | Report Abuse

Question for those mid to long term BAT investors: Is it worth topping up more at current price of 12.60+ ?

Posted by Najib Zamry > 2020-04-30 10:00 | Report Abuse

BAT is the best!!!!!!!Another stock that give me big profit during MCO. More room to vroom.

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-04-30 10:40 | Report Abuse

troy88, I am also thinking that way, however, when yesterday I also think like that, IF YESTERDAY i bough, today is a bright day. So it really depend on our confidence with the stock/company that wether you can take it if it drop to RM 9.60 after you buy at RM12.60, OR later become RM 26.60, anything can happen.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-04-30 10:52 | Report Abuse

back to RM60, RM30??

These share price is during BAT profit is at high level

now at current situation , can back to RM60 or RM30? Unless the profit up back

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-04-30 10:53 | Report Abuse

but with so many things on BAT such as government charge tax, illegal trade , and not healthy lifestyle concept

can BAT overcome these all to make profit high again ??...

superman_

233 posts

Posted by superman_ > 2020-04-30 10:56 | Report Abuse

troy88, now already 12.66, see 0.06 cent you miss the 12.60 if you had buy

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-04-30 10:56 | Report Abuse

profit have from around RM800 million down to around RM340 million as at current

can BAT profit go back up to around, RM800 million in future ? if yes, then share price maybe can touch RM60