BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.02 (0.25%)

7.98 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,619 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 9 hours ago

Unfair

524 posts

Posted by Unfair > 2023-11-16 10:42 | Report Abuse

Carlsbergs(sin stock) RM 19.8 sure give 2X higher dividend than BAT?

Unfair

524 posts

Posted by Unfair > 2023-11-16 10:45 | Report Abuse

Heim >RM 23 because sales improve?

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2023-11-16 10:47 | Report Abuse

Carl 19.80 div 0.19,bat 9.10 div 0.19, you buy two will be 0.38

Unfair

524 posts

Posted by Unfair > 2023-11-16 10:47 | Report Abuse

Want to talk down BAT make sure talk down other sin stocks also only fair.

Unfair

524 posts

Posted by Unfair > 2023-11-16 10:52 | Report Abuse

Even div drop BAT div yield still better than EPF dividend not true?

Unfair

524 posts

Posted by Unfair > 2023-11-16 11:00 | Report Abuse

71.37% BAT owned by top 30 shareholders, none is EPF who is behind cutting loss?
https://disclosure.bursamalaysia.com/FileAccess/apbursaweb/download?id=223293&name=EA_DS_ATTACHMENTS

Unfair

524 posts

Posted by Unfair > 2023-11-16 11:02 | Report Abuse

List of Top Thirty Largest Shareholders
(without aggregating the securities from different securities accounts belonging to the same Registered Holder)
No. Name
No. of
Shares Held
% of
Issued Shares
1. British American Tobacco Holdings (Malaysia) B.V. 142,765,100 50.00
2. Cartaban Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
Standard Chartered Bank (Singapore) Limited for Tan Yu Yeh
10,048,000 3.52
3. Cartaban Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
Standard Chartered Bank (Singapore) Limited for Tan Yu Wei
5,000,000 1.75
4. Maybank Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
Pledged Securities Account for Douglas Cheng Heng Lee
4,304,300 1.51
5. Cartaban Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd
Exempt AN for State Street Bank & Trust Company (West CLT OD67)
4,162,574 1.46
6. Kam Loong Mining Sdn Bhd 3,712,000 1.30
7. HSBC Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd
BBH and Co Boston for PRUSIK Asian Equity Income Fund (PRUSIK U FD PLC)
3,408,600 1.19
8. Yap Ah Fatt 2,521,000 0.88
Analysis of Shareholdings
as at 23 February 2023
BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (MALAYSIA) BERHAD
About Us How We
Create Value
Management Discussion
& Analysis Sustainability Our Leadership
Statement
Analysis of Shareholdings
as at 23 February 2023
No. Name
No. of
Shares Held
% of
Issued Shares
9. HSBC Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd
JPMCB NA for Vanguard Total International Stock Index Fund
2,123,069 0.74
10. Citigroup Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
Great Eastern Life Assurance (Malaysia) Berhad (Par 1)
2,094,200 0.73
11. Toh Ean Hai 2,060,000 0.72
12. Cartaban Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd
State Street London Fund OD80 for IShares V Public Limited Company
2,037,647 0.71
13. HSBC Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd
JPMCB NA for Vanguard Emerging Markets Stock Index Fund
1,933,234 0.68
14. Citigroup Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
Great Eastern Life Assurance (Malaysia) Berhad (SHF)
1,900,000 0.67
15. CIMSEC Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
CIMB for Douglas Cheng Heng Lee (PB)
1,825,600 0.64
16. Wong Chuan Keong 1,778,000 0.62
17. Foo Khen Ling 1,180,000 0.41
18. UOB Kay Hian Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd
Exempt AN for UOB Kay Hian Pte Ltd (A/C Clients)
1,165,524 0.41
19. Tan Yu Wei 1,111,700 0.39
20. CIMSEC Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
Exempt AN for CIMB Commerce Trustee Berhad for Pearson Trust (PB)
975,200 0.34
21. HSBC Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
Exempt AN for Credit Suisse (SG BR-TST-Temp)
895,500 0.31
22. Cartaban Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd
Exempt AN for Standard Chartered Bank Singapore Branch (SG PVB CL AC)
865,900 0.30
23. Kam Loong Credit Sdn Bhd 808,000 0.28
24. Woon Chen Chin 800,000 0.28
25. Citigroup Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
Great Eastern Life Assurance (Malaysia) Berhad (Leef)
792,500 0.28
26. HSBC Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
JPMCB NA for Vanguard Fiduciary Trust Company Institutional Total International Stock
Market Index Trust II
788,200 0.28
27. CIMB Group Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
Hong Leong Asset Management Bhd for Hong Leong Assurance Berhad (LP Fund ED102)
750,000 0.26
28. Citigroup Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd
CBNY For Emerging Market Core Equity Portfolio DFA Investment Dimensions Group Inc
744,228 0.26
29. Lim Sew Muei 615,300 0.22
30. Cartaban Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd
Exempt AN For Barclays Capital Securities Ltd (SBL/PB)
614,411 0.22
Total 203,779,787 71.37

Unfair

524 posts

Posted by Unfair > 2023-11-16 11:10 | Report Abuse

EPF previously BAT substantial shareholders if return perhaps EPF dividend can boost to >6% why nobody here think so?

5354_

4,737 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2023-11-16 11:26 | Report Abuse

RM 70 BAT done before so Anwar is worst ever PM?

No_margin

18 posts

Posted by No_margin > 2023-11-16 12:29 | Report Abuse

QR, div news aside Bursa is without BAT news; so those postings here behind selling?

No_margin

18 posts

Posted by No_margin > 2023-11-16 12:32 | Report Abuse

Money flow is +ve as per my IB screen why nobody report?

No_margin

18 posts

Posted by No_margin > 2023-11-16 12:33 | Report Abuse

Those report BAT net short you short is it?

SinGor

4,782 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2023-11-16 18:18 | Report Abuse

Malaysia Attorney General said GeG violated Article 8 of Federal Constitution. GeG cannot Passed into Law--
if needed can be forced into Law but Any Lawyer can challenge it and Anwar has to get a New Attorney
General with Agong permission ( too complicated and GeG has no plan B ) KJ can blame ministers but KJ
donT know the Law and Constitution

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-11-16 19:27 | Report Abuse

I'm considering whether to put $ in my stock portfolio. What is the greatest approach to profit from the market?

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-11-16 19:32 | Report Abuse

Ada Udang di sebalik GEG lah…

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-11-16 19:34 | Report Abuse

Now no GEG. Bat will go to Rm20???

BAT_

137 posts

Posted by BAT_ > 2023-11-16 22:10 | Report Abuse

Tourism minister calls Khairy most ‘failed health minister’, demands direct proof smoking causes cancer instead of blaming others for GEG Bill delay
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2023/11/16/tourism-minister-calls-khairy-most-failed-health-minister-demands-direct-proof-smoking-causes-cancer-instead-of-blaming-others-for-geg-bill-delay/102383

BAT_

137 posts

Posted by BAT_ > 2023-11-16 22:12 | Report Abuse

Tourism Minister block GEG because tourists will boycott M'sia if cannot smoke?

observatory

1,059 posts

Posted by observatory > 2023-11-16 23:13 | Report Abuse

Dividend yield = dividend/ price.
The nominator "dividend" is based on historical dividend. The amount remains fixed until the next dividend is declared.

However, the denominator "price" is forward looking. Price declines in anticipation of future profit/ dividend decline.
As future prospect dims, and share price declines, while dividend remains constant for the time being, the dividend yield appears to go higher. Dividend yield stays high until the next round of dividend cut.

Next the price declines further, and dividend yield appears high again. The process repeats.
It's a downward spiral. But the dividend yield appears high throughout the decline.

Like it or not, this is the situation with BAT for the last 7 to 8 years. But not for Heineken or Carlsberg. At least not yet.

Note that I don't have any interest in BAT, be it short or long. I'm attracted here by the comments of DividendGuy67.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-11-17 00:43 | Report Abuse

@observatory, well explained.
BAT made new low 9.09 (not positive), but closed above at 9.11. Bulls trying hard not to lose the support short term, but long term downtrend still intact (unfortunately for bulls).
When price stays in tight bands for a long time (e.g. several weeks), then, risk and reward increases for next sharp move. Majority odds is to follow the broader trend.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-11-17 01:05 | Report Abuse

@Unfair, it's not about talking down or talking up stocks.
Many people talk up BAT for many years, but price keep falling past 8-9 years.

My advise is to ignore the "talk up" or "talk down" - in financial markets, for a large cap stock like BAT - such talk (either up or down) has nil long term impact. It's price fell past 8 years, whether we talk up or talk down.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-11-17 01:10 | Report Abuse

Personally, I sold off BAT 2 months ago.
Since then, my portfolio made all time highs a dozen times.
This week, my portfolio made all time highs yesterday, and it made a new higher all time high today.
That's because I don't have BAT poor performance to drag my portfolio returns.

If you read my comments in other stocks (click my user handle and read my comments), you'll see that last week, my portfolio made all time highs 4 days. This means in this last 2 week, my portfolio keep making new highs 6 different days already.

A strong part of the reason is because I don't have BAT to drag my portfolio returns down.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-11-17 01:14 | Report Abuse

I am a dividend investor mostly.
I am also a speculative trader, but trade a small portion only.

Majority of my gains come from dividends.
Last month, 16 stocks paid me dividends.
This month is a low dividend month, so far only 3 paid dividends.

Good dividend stocks perform better than FD and depending, over time, if it grows, can be better than EPF.
FD and EPF always make all time highs regularly.
My goal is a modest one - to beat FD and EPF by a margin. It also happens, the strategy beats KLCI the past few years, due to KLCI poor price performance.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-11-17 01:20 | Report Abuse

Because I have so many dividend stocks, and a lot of experience on dividend stocks, I learn to distinguish good dividend stocks vs poor dividend stocks.

I give you an example of my loss in ARREIT. This is a classic example of a poor dividend stock. It's no different than BAT. As observatory mentioned, poor dividend stocks always show high dividend yield.

The problem with too high dividend yield is that its price falls much more than the high dividend yield.
Dividend yield may be say 8%-10% per annum. On paper looks nice.
But hold them long enough, you lose more in price falls.
ARREIT is like that to me.
I learnt and "cut loss" on BAT 2 months ago to avoid making the same mistake.

How do you distinguish between a good dividend stock vs a poor dividend stock?

Over time, I have learnt many methods.
Ironically, the most reliable method is still technical analysis, even though I am a strong business analyst and can analyze balance sheets, Income statements, Annual reports, Quarterly reports and other reports very fast.

I have over 3 decades experience in this line. I made numerous mistakes that cost monies too.

My portfolio has many losses. BAT, ARREIT.
Despite those losses, the key is not to throw good money after bad.
Instead, invest in good stocks more.
Let your winners run.
Keep your losses small (by not averaging down on losing stocks).
In time, your portfolio will keep making new highs.
Good dividend stocks (not to be confused with High dividend stocks) helps me a lot.

SinGor

4,782 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2023-11-17 09:20 | Report Abuse

My Cameron Highland Farmer Friend said IF you eat 1 KG vegetable Daily from Cameron for 20years ---you will
guarantee develop Stomach and intestine Cancer. However most of us eat only 15% of One KG vegetable so
most of us will Live till 70years Old and not dying from Cancer-----
How he knows??? Bcos 60% Cameron Highland Farmers died from Lung and Nostril Cancer by 50years Old.
So now Farmers in General sub-contract pesticide Spraying to Bangla

observatory

1,059 posts

Posted by observatory > 2023-11-17 10:03 | Report Abuse

@DividendGuy67, you touched on Heineken and Carlsberg. Instead of discussing here, I PM you. Refer to the little blue icon MQ Chat at the top right of your PC screen. Feel free to share your insight there or at HEIM or Carlsberg forums.

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-11-19 19:14 | Report Abuse

I notice that my cigarettes and getting slimmer! Not as important as food and such for sure. My friend has a rolling machine and rolls his own smokes, filter and all! Maybe I should too! Stay well!!

Posted by I_like_dividend > 2023-11-20 09:07 | Report Abuse

RM 9.1; I bought for better than EPF dividend. Drop more I will add even more.

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2023-11-20 11:08 | Report Abuse

see Rm9 got support or not?
if no, then trend south..

Posted by I_like_dividend > 2023-11-20 11:45 | Report Abuse

GEG is back? Please consider tax collected by govn through BAT as well.

Posted by I_like_dividend > 2023-11-20 11:47 | Report Abuse

No wonder tourists boycott M'sia. Why come to Malaysia when Thailand welcome smokers?

Posted by I_like_dividend > 2023-11-20 11:53 | Report Abuse

Smokers also human with rights. If Malaysia ban smoking why tourists must come here not to country that welcome them as smoker?

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2023-11-20 11:56 | Report Abuse

GEG probably not back..
but the operator uses this opportunity to further press until weak holder surrender..

Posted by I_like_dividend > 2023-11-20 11:59 | Report Abuse

GEG if enforce meaning all smokers will be checked later?

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2023-11-20 12:01 | Report Abuse

see whether RM 9 supporting level is safeguarded or lose in defend..

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2023-11-20 12:01 | Report Abuse

Why Tourist wanted to support the anti human right by coming here and all foreigners company will move out any trading mean support Ong the anti human govt ultimately santion set in

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2023-11-20 12:05 | Report Abuse

GEG will open the gate to the terroris and trenghten the country by funding from the illegal cigarette profit

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2023-11-20 12:06 | Report Abuse

you will witness this historical moment..

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2023-11-20 12:17 | Report Abuse

yup, i also believe it is a great buy at RM9.0x..

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-11-20 12:51 | Report Abuse

Checking in with 15,000 BAT shares at rm9.04.

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2023-11-20 14:16 | Report Abuse

Shortish is do greddy the flight continue

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2023-11-20 16:01 | Report Abuse

my guess is it gonna to have a little push to RM9/8.99 before rebound..

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-11-20 16:18 | Report Abuse

BAT stock is already oversold and its RSI has dipped below 30.

Kevin Tam

528 posts

Posted by Kevin Tam > 2023-11-20 17:48 | Report Abuse

I have read through 20-30 comments here, many said BAT has been in long term downtrend since 6-8 years ago n cannot just look at dividend yield to decide whether oneself wants to invest in BAT or not. It is quite obvious the dividend yield always moving up or down according to the movement of the share prices at one day( hopefully those more than 5 years experience in share market understand this basic) . I have quite different views with the views of Dividendguy due to I feel BAT already dropped to very low level when the share prices reached 9.10-9.15 few days ago. The main factors affecting the BAT share prices for next few weeks should be buying force versus selling force ( many ppl r selling especially those think Generation end game must be passed in 2 months time n those being affected by those experienced investors that BAT is hopeless since 5 yrs ago ) Another important factor that many at here seldom mention is whether the government able to continue to reduce the illicit cigarrete in the market n how well BAT pushing Vape to the market... If illicit cigarrettes being reduce another 15-20% ( or market share or legal cigarretes going up to above 60-63%), BAT net income per quarter should be able to go up to above 60-63 million. With the cheap valuation now, the risk just so so....... But it is truth BAT from Rm30 about 5 years ago to drop to current level of 9.20-9.50, I just started to buy BAT in 2020 with price range of 10.60-11.50.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-11-20 18:31 | Report Abuse

@kevin tam, suggest you read past 200-300 comments :-)
BAT didn't fall due to GEG.
It fell due to declining EPS, declining DPS the past 8 years, before GEG talks.
It's a numbers thing.
Price follows EPS and DPS i.e. if both falls, for a business like BAT, its price will fall.

BAT has high dividend yields and that kinda cushion some of the price falls for those who bought in 2020.
However, consider that my portfolio (including cash) since 2020 has returned 8% per annum since then.
You won't do too badly (maybe small negative total returns including dividends) but consider the opportunity costs, because there are many better stocks out there.

Today, GTRONIC makes +5.81% and brings my total portfolio to new all time high today ... don't need to be stubborn with BAT.

For those who don't read past 200-300 comments, here's a rehash of BAT EPS, DPS since 2015.

Year / EPS / DPS
2015 / 318 sen / 312 sen
2016 / 253 sen / 232 sen
2017 / 173 sen / 169 sen
2018 / 164 sen / 155 sen
2019 / 121 sen / 118 sen
2020 / 85 sen / 83 sen
2021 / 100 sen / 98 sen
2022 / 92 sen / 88 sen

My prediction for 2023: EPS = 67-70 sen (i.e. new all time low EPS, not due to GEG at all but it's poor business characteristics). DPS ~ 66-69 sen (i.e. new all time low DPS, not due to GEG at all but its poor business characteristics).

As for what the government will / will not do with illicit cigarettes - I'm a numbers guy and when the facts show declining EPS and declining DPS ... all the excuses about what government do / don't do doesn't really matter. Next year, its EPS and DPS does not care at all about what the government will do / don't do.

If EPS and DPS continues to decline to new lows, its price will follow to new lows. To me, it's just maths.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-11-20 18:39 | Report Abuse

When investing in stocks, the first rule is - are you sure you will beat FD and EPF over 5-10 year period?
If not, better to just park one's monies in FD or EPF.
If one invests in BAT over past 5-10 years thinking it is cheap, under valued, low price over-done, etc. etc. etc., one's returns will under-perform FD and EPF and in this case, one is better off not following BAT or ever heard of BAT before.

For those hoping that BAT will go up past RM10, ask yourself - will BAT EPS hit 85 sen or give DPS as high as 83 sen like in 2020?

If not, it is unlikely that it will touch RM10-11 again.
BAT is too big a stock for anyone to "goreng".

If foreigners come back to Bursa in a significant, then, maybe this could happen but many other stocks will outperform BAT when foreigners comes back to Bursa i.e. we don't need BAT to get superior returns.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-11-20 18:43 | Report Abuse

Compare BAT 2022 vs 2023 earnings by quarter:

2022 Q1/Q2/Q3/Q4 = 17 / 25 / 25 / 21 sen
2023 Q1/Q2/Q3/Q4 = 13 / 16 / 19 / ??

First, observe that Q1/Q2/Q3 earnings in 2023 is consistently below 2022. This is about business profits. It has nothing to do with GEG talks, or talks about illicit cigarrettes, etc. Talk is talk and talk is cheap. But profits is cold hard cash that is real and has to do with the business. At the end of the day, shareholders own businesses especially long term. Buffett always say - in the short term, market is a voting machine but in the long term, market is a weighing machine. Short term, price can go up and down due to sentiment. Long term, price goes up or down due to earnings, value, and other numbers.

I focus on the numbers and the long term price charts. I ignore talks which are cheap.

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-11-20 19:23 | Report Abuse

^My gut instinct has convinced me that ?? will most likely beat rm0.21 hence eps & dps for financial year of 2024 can probably outperform a disastrous current year 2023 and then, BAT stock would stage a comeback or reversal from declining revenue.

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-11-20 19:34 | Report Abuse

Yes, I’m just talking without facts to back me up but I predict as follows:-
2023 Q1/Q2/Q3/Q4 = 13 / 16 / 19 / 22
Dividend increment of rm0.03 per quarter for financial year 2023 seems doable.

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-11-21 16:10 | Report Abuse

My take on Heineken Malaysia (HEIM) and Carlsberg Brewery Malaysia (CARLSBG) related to a few earlier comments here.
Short story -> HEIM (Underweight means don't buy) and CARLSBG (Overweight means buy)
Slightly longer story ->
Both of these stocks love to rendezvous at the rm20 price range multiple times already when its price starts to nosedive due to various reasons in the last 5-year timeframe. If you are lucky enough to buy both stocks near rm20, congratz ! You're a winner, for sure.

BAT can be evaluated at a higher PE >16, alongside HEIM & CARLSBG (17 and 19, respectively) when its revenue has bottomed and starts to grow its EPS and DPS.
HEIM & CARLSBG stocks definitely have much better narratives than BAT but unfortunately, I have never invested in either stocks before.