BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.02 (0.25%)

7.98 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,619 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 11 hours ago

Posted by Penang_lang > 2023-12-08 10:30 | Report Abuse

Beer can subject to ban(haram) if Pas continue their dominance like PRN 6 states or latest Kemaman PRK.

Posted by invest8912 > 2023-12-08 16:23 | Report Abuse

@DividendGuy, very difficult to ask people to cut loss and move on especially those who DCA from 14-15.
Those who plan to swap, next Friday might be a good chance.

I don't know why people need to mention their success trades in other stocks here, winning trade can be replicate meh ?

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-12-08 23:03 | Report Abuse

Hi invest8912, don't ask people to cut loss then. Their money.
But, if their losses grow bigger because they bought more BAT on the way down, if they want to stop losing more, then, stop buying more on the way down.

Winning stocks should buy more on the way down.
Losing stocks like BAT should avoid buying more on the way down.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-12-08 23:06 | Report Abuse

Closed 9.08.
Those who averaged down at 9.15, when it went up to 9.5-9.6 and didn't let go, are now regretting today.
Downtrending stocks do like this quite frequently.
Makes lower highs. Previous high Oct 9.83. Recent high 9.65, which is lower than 9.83.
Lower highs is clear sign of downtrending still intact.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-12-08 23:08 | Report Abuse

Recent low 8.88. If you want to buy, you better be a good trader.
1. Wait significantly lower than 8.88 - use short term technical indicator. Don't chase. AND
2. In a downtrend, have to let go fast. Learn from MOBA - he doesn't hold 3 months. In downtrend, 3 months holding is suicidal.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-12-08 23:10 | Report Abuse

Tune out noise like GEG, or smoking is addictive or other noises ... to make money, only 1 way.
That way is - Sell at a higher price than Buy to cover commissions.

No other way.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-12-08 23:12 | Report Abuse

But winning stocks like HLIND - got more than 1 way to make money. 2 ways in fact. If not understand then, forget it.

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-10 11:28 | Report Abuse

i3 lurker Sir, you inspire a lot of people like myselt keep doing what your doing and spreading that knowledge for us average people.

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-10 12:10 | Report Abuse

I bet i3 lurker parents didn't spend Rm 10 on a coffee from Starbucks every morning either.

Posted by StartOfTheBull > 2023-12-10 12:54 | Report Abuse

Non implementation of Generation end game (GEG) has pros and cons:

For smokers and future smokers:
Advantage is:
Can continue to enjoy pleasures of smoking freely (actually not pleasures, it is actually addicted and a learned habit.)
Disadvantages are:
Higher risk of diseases, sicknesses and premature deaths.

For government and public hospitals:
Advantages:
Smokers contribute in taxes to the government to subsidise expenses of public hospitals.
Reducing length of duration of pension funds to pensioners.

For non smokers:
No advantage, only disadvantage:
Sharing polluted air created by smokers at public places.

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2023-12-11 16:54 | Report Abuse

Whatever negative news has been priced in and if you still waiting you will regret market is for people who are ready

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-11 17:20 | Report Abuse

Robin Hood way

heesing62

37 posts

Posted by heesing62 > 2023-12-12 09:48 | Report Abuse

Since GEG no longer an issue and decent quarterly dividend , I think this share undervalued.

RTSH7182

16 posts

Posted by RTSH7182 > 2023-12-12 14:08 | Report Abuse

ANY COMMENT ON OUR NEW HEALTH MINISTER?

5354_

4,737 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2023-12-12 15:01 | Report Abuse

Malaysia smokers mostly are male so they dislike female Health Minister control their smoking habit?

Posted by StartOfTheBull > 2023-12-12 15:06 | Report Abuse

Dr Dzulkefly appointed as health minister is a good news for non smokers, bad news for smokers.

5354_

4,737 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2023-12-12 17:00 | Report Abuse

More counters down today but BAT up so I think is good news.

hhhiii123

795 posts

Posted by hhhiii123 > 2023-12-12 18:25 | Report Abuse

Parking at RM8

klee

3,174 posts

Posted by klee > 2023-12-12 18:26 | Report Abuse

Too busy with ytl to come here.Anyway what does a guy who collects dividend knows about trends.So now Bat refuses to break below RM9,is it still downtrend? Keep to your area of competence ie.collecting dividend :)

DividendGuy67

Recent low 8.88. If you want to buy, you better be a good trader.
1. Wait significantly lower than 8.88 - use short term technical indicator. Don't chase. AND
2. In a downtrend, have to let go fast. Learn from MOBA - he doesn't hold 3 months. In downtrend, 3 months holding is suicidal.

klee

3,174 posts

Posted by klee > 2023-12-12 18:30 | Report Abuse

i3lurker is just full of bullshit if anyone has read his posts,he even claimed Msia is owing RM20 trillions,yet we still have half baked ppl worshipping this type.Laugh die.

i3 lurker Sir, you inspire a lot of people like myselt keep doing what your doing and spreading that knowledge for us average people.

Kevin Tam

528 posts

Posted by Kevin Tam > 2023-12-12 19:55 | Report Abuse

BAT is not dead yet whereas many retail investors being terrified by pessimistic investor......BAT is quite reasonable at price range of 9.40-10.00, below 9.20 is kind of quite cheap.... At any counter, those giving negative comments being more aggressive than those still holding the shares, is what type of phenomena ?

5354_

4,737 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2023-12-12 21:04 | Report Abuse

Even BAT dividend drop to 60 sen in 2024 is good enough for me to collect more should it drop further. Still far better than EPF 2022 dividend and even 2023 dividend?

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-12-12 22:12 | Report Abuse

Just imagine, if you’d bought UTDPLT stock, isn’t its dividend yield better than BAT and also, its stock price has actually appreciated for quite a number of years.
The only time I’ll be back to invest in BAT is when EPS and DPS has found a solid bottom.
Meanwhile, I’m off to enjoy my 2nd YTL windfall and hoping for a 3rd time lucky break soon.

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2023-12-12 22:35 | Report Abuse

Bat is absolutely right hand change to left lately for I has been following bat over 30 years and I saw it from 20 over drop to 13 then up to 70and the present price,I reached to it as diamonds opportunity to accumulate more for I already collected fat dividend to cushion Chinese said 爛船都有3分釘

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-12-12 23:38 | Report Abuse

@klee, I have been trading trends for 2 decades :-). I still trade 1/10th the size of my dividend stocks and have a decent result - out of 64 trades this year, I have 17 losses. Losses includes BAT (very small), ASTRO (another one on a downtrend, silly me), and 15 others. But my winners far offset my losses. It's a probability thing and I don't average down on losers. My dividend portfolio is >10 times larger than my trading portfolio, because passive income is the key.

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-12-12 23:39 | Report Abuse

@klee - have you cut loss on BAT, or have you averaged down on BAT? What is your average cost price? Let's monitor your trade here.

klee

3,174 posts

Posted by klee > 2023-12-13 00:07 | Report Abuse

Dividends,you shouldn't even mention the word trade for Bat,for the simple reason it has no volume.Lol.

klee

3,174 posts

Posted by klee > 2023-12-13 00:07 | Report Abuse

I am here for fun only ie to tease you :)

BradonOoi

724 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-12-13 11:32 | Report Abuse

“Big Win” for the tobacco and vape companies as the controversial Generational End Game (GEG) provisions were omitted, says Khairy 😄

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/692675

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-13 15:08 | Report Abuse

i3 lurker Sir, you are my hero. Please give your guidance.

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-13 17:09 | Report Abuse

Whoever knows the future of Bat, please say it here…

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-13 17:10 | Report Abuse

We are only betting here. Haha

5354_

4,737 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2023-12-13 22:26 | Report Abuse

Dzulkefly apologises for GEG omission in tobacco bill
Dzulkefly Ahmad hopes that the senators will join their Dewan Rakyat counterparts in passing the bill.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2023/12/13/dzulkefly-apologises-for-geg-omission-in-tobacco-bill/

5354_

4,737 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2023-12-13 22:28 | Report Abuse

Meaning new Health Minister also support GEG removal.

MOBAjobg

322 posts

Posted by MOBAjobg > 2023-12-14 00:00 | Report Abuse

An excerpt from the news linked above;-
At the Dewan Negara today, Dzulkefly also said that while the parliamentary committee on health and the health ministry wanted the GEG provisions to be included in the bill, it was not possible as the Attorney-General’s Chambers (AGC) was of the view that it would violate Article 8 of the Federal Constitution – which guarantees equality before the law.

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-14 07:22 | Report Abuse

Wayang only???

Donator

975 posts

Posted by Donator > 2023-12-14 10:13 | Report Abuse

Dont banyak pattern la...please focus on economy 1st

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-14 17:43 | Report Abuse

•Health Ministry tells Malaysians to mask up again as Covid-19 cases jump

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-14 21:22 | Report Abuse

The TRUTH is, that all of the "STUFF" here on earth we work SO hard to buy and accumulate..does NOT mean a thing. At the end of the day...people will be cleaning out our "STUFF" going thru our "STUFF" figuring out what to do with all of our "STUFF"…this “STUFF" we've accumulated in our life. The only thing of VALUE that remains are the MEMORIES and what we deposit into others. May we all learn to spend less time accumulating "STUFF" and spend way more time making MEMORIES.

Donator

975 posts

Posted by Donator > 2023-12-15 09:13 | Report Abuse

What 7 u say?

5354_

4,737 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2023-12-15 11:15 | Report Abuse

Bat not flying? Haters cannot accept?

Donator

975 posts

Posted by Donator > 2023-12-15 12:00 | Report Abuse

低调一点

heesing62

37 posts

Posted by heesing62 > 2023-12-16 15:07 | Report Abuse

Hopefully people don’t panic and sell at low price. With GEG out, the annual dividend should be above RM700 per 1000 shares. Is much better than the other MNC counters.

Posted by Timothy Dunbar > 2023-12-16 17:52 | Report Abuse

It's good to see accountability. Mistakes happen, and acknowledging them, as Dzulkefly Ahmad did, is a step towards transparency. Let's hope for a smooth process in passing the tobacco bill.

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-16 18:22 | Report Abuse

Money advice is subjective, what works for you may not work for me, but it's always better to plan.

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-16 18:47 | Report Abuse

I give you my opinion about last time Vs this time…

Peoples spending habits were different back then.
When my dad was young not everyone even had a phone in their middle class neighborhoods.
Nobody spent money on anything, you bought groceries and cooked at home most of the time, nobody bought $7 drinks at starbucks, nobody had satellite, cable, 10 subscription streaming services, high speed internet at home, high speed internet and mobile phone service for every member of the family, a gym membership, etc etc etc. We live very different lives and our money goes different places. If you are willing to sacrifice on other areas and live more like your parents you might be able to afford lakefront property at a less popular spot.

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-18 20:16 | Report Abuse

Come on, you all buy big to support Bat…

10,620 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-12-21 18:10 | Report Abuse

Black holes of every financial investment without properly face to face AGM, exchange and integrity judgement by minorities questionnaires of yearly performance review. At the end , it is just a games of winner takes all.

BradonOoi

724 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-12-22 11:42 | Report Abuse

Agreed, you need to attend the AGM, news, fundamental, etc to operate your investment strategy

DividendGuy67

1,065 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-12-26 11:12 | Report Abuse

If you are really interested in high dividend yields, my last advice here is to consider swapping BAT to MAYBANK.
Both have very high dividend yields, higher than EPF.
However, the comparisons ends there.

1. Price. MAYBANK is temporarily depressed in its price, as EPF and ASB have been disposing substantially in December, likely due to anticipation of paying dividends to EPF and ASB holders for FYE2023. Come January, these selling pressures are likely to stop.

2. I expect MAYBANK to make all time record Revenue and all time record PAT for FYE2023. Unlike BAT, this is not a stock with declining EPS or DPS.

If you can find another stock that matches or closely matches its EPS, DPS today, except one grows and the other shrinks, then, long term investors should take this one time opportunity to swap.