BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

+0.01 (0.13%)

7.99 - 8.05

9 people like this.

12,619 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 2 days ago

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-01-20 18:54 | Report Abuse

@Bf Siau: I certainly hope many punters will start accumulating BAT shares now. BAT has already weathered many bad news for the past few months such as EPF exiting as substantial shareholder & being kicked out as a KLCI component. All the while it is still running a profitable business & paying very good dividends.

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2018-01-20 18:57 | Report Abuse

Next 32

Fat_tat

101 posts

Posted by Fat_tat > 2018-01-20 19:51 | Report Abuse

Next 35 and 40 by CNY.

Posted by Yeowc Yeowc > 2018-01-20 21:02 | Report Abuse

Whenever they pay special div, traditionally is on Feb.

Posted by Richard Siau > 2018-01-21 21:42 | Report Abuse

Anybody knows why its warrant price is so low compared to the price of the mother share?

Posted by Richard Siau > 2018-01-22 08:48 | Report Abuse

does anyone know why bat cj is so low compared to the mother share?

BAT1

28 posts

Posted by BAT1 > 2018-01-22 10:33 | Report Abuse

CW issuer(CIMB) and Bursa should answer. If cannot answer blame BN govn.

Richard Siau does anyone know why bat cj is so low compared to the mother share?
22/01/2018 08:48

Dony2907

Posted by Dony2907 > 2018-01-22 11:13 | Report Abuse

I no be scared this stock drop many and then me expected coming in 30.00.

jayteng

10 posts

Posted by jayteng > 2018-01-22 12:14 | Report Abuse

comparing last same quarter, this quarter should be drop around 40-50% to around 140m+. price drop further

curious2

1,812 posts

Posted by curious2 > 2018-01-22 12:25 | Report Abuse

CJ your holding time is running out by the day. Mother share buyers can wait but CJ will expire as toilet paper in 6 mths.

Richard Siau does anyone know why bat cj is so low compared to the mother share?

curious2

1,812 posts

Posted by curious2 > 2018-01-22 12:29 | Report Abuse

Richard Siau I think most ids here is operators. They even like you to lose your pants than help you with their posts.

curious2

1,812 posts

Posted by curious2 > 2018-01-22 12:31 | Report Abuse

Richard Siau you must complain to BAT itself is my advise to prevent CJ drop until you lose everything. Just ask why share keep dropping yet managements not aware.

CityHuntEr

626 posts

Posted by CityHuntEr > 2018-01-22 12:59 | Report Abuse

maybe the warrants just issued for those creditor and primary shareholder instead of retail investor which will convert to primary shares go to the issuer..lol

curious2

1,812 posts

Posted by curious2 > 2018-01-22 15:51 | Report Abuse

Richard Siau or any shareholders write to SC to complain for sudden selldown.
https://www.sc.com.my/lodge-complaints-2/lodge-complaints/

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2018-01-22 17:22 | Report Abuse

Next 31

CityHuntEr

626 posts

Posted by CityHuntEr > 2018-01-22 19:41 | Report Abuse

@curious2 Lol..Are u serious?? So, you should invest those stocks which 0% risks and 100% return...hahaha...

CityHuntEr

626 posts

Posted by CityHuntEr > 2018-01-22 19:43 | Report Abuse

Will break 30 soon, but will consider when the price jump down to Rm23 and below...

Posted by Richard Siau > 2018-01-22 22:04 | Report Abuse

@cityhunter judging fron the closing prices recently, it is obvious this counter is manipulated... it will go down to 23 if the syndicate want it to...

Bf Siau

Posted by Bf Siau > 2018-01-23 00:24 | Report Abuse

if tats the case, i will very happy to switch some of my nestle n dutch lady into bat after the weak hands are chopped off

BAT_

137 posts

Posted by BAT_ > 2018-01-23 03:59 | Report Abuse

Then CJ should worth 0.005 sen or worthless soon. No point your question earlier since you know the answer.

Richard Siau @cityhunter judging fron the closing prices recently, it is obvious this counter is manipulated... it will go down to 23 if the syndicate want it to...
22/01/2018 22:04

newbie5354

555 posts

Posted by newbie5354 > 2018-01-23 04:35 | Report Abuse

Why CJ stubbornly at 2.5 sen and not drop more?

cruz

397 posts

Posted by cruz > 2018-01-23 05:31 | Report Abuse

Sell all your BAT and .....buy SUMATEC......5 fold profits increase projected.

limch

3,036 posts

Posted by limch > 2018-01-23 09:14 | Report Abuse

Sell q at 11.5 sen yours is it?

cruz Sell all your BAT and .....buy SUMATEC......5 fold profits increase projected.
23/01/2018 05:31

limch

3,036 posts

Posted by limch > 2018-01-23 09:14 | Report Abuse

Sumatec drop 0.5 sen ady.

limch

3,036 posts

Posted by limch > 2018-01-23 09:17 | Report Abuse

cruz I suggest you ask KYY better to follow you.

limch

3,036 posts

Posted by limch > 2018-01-23 10:25 | Report Abuse

IBs' staffs all gaji buta? Why nobody say TP RM 31-32? Banks must give more VSS?

newbie2018

170 posts

Posted by newbie2018 > 2018-01-23 10:31 | Report Abuse

CityHuntEr RM 23 when? Can I buy from you? No need use broker.

CityHuntEr Will break 30 soon, but will consider when the price jump down to Rm23 and below...
22/01/2018 19:43

newbie2018

170 posts

Posted by newbie2018 > 2018-01-23 10:33 | Report Abuse

sifus can I sue IBs' for cheating TP? How to do it?

Posted by newbie_2018 > 2018-01-23 12:03 | Report Abuse

British American Tobacco (M) - Lower Sales Despite Better Legal Share
Date: 24/10/2017

Source : KENANGA
Stock : BAT Price Target : 45.00 | Price Call : BUY
Last Price : 32.24 | Upside/Downside : +12.76 (39.58%)

Back

9M17 CNP of RM419.5m (-19%) was below expectations as sales failed to pick up despite better sentiment. 43.0 sen interim dividend is within expectations. Despite improving legal market share, affordability issue had likely remained a concern. The group have also reintroduced the cheaper “Rothmans” brand of cigarettes to appeal to the price sensitive segment. Post-results, we cut our FY17E/FY18E earnings assumptions by 9.3%/4.3% on lower sales assumptions. Maintain OUTPERFORM with a lower TP of RM45.00.

9M17 core earnings fell below expectations. 9M17 core net earnings of RM419.5m was below expectations, accounting for 67%/66% of our/consensus estimates. The negative deviation was due to lower-thanexpected sales as better consumer sentiment failed to translate to better demand. An interim dividend of 43.0 sen was declared for YTD dividend of 126.0 sen. We deem this as broadly within our 214.0 sen estimate for FY17 as the group typically pay higher dividends during its last quarter.

YoY, 9M17 sales of RM2.3b declined by 21% from a 16% drop in sales volume, resulting from high levels of illicit trade. Discounting the restructuring expenses incurred in the move towards a pure trading business model, the group’s core EBIT declined by 20% to RM553.2m but saw slightly better margins at 24.0% (+0.4 pts) as its manufacturing facilities previously operated at non-optimal levels. The decrease in operating profits further translated to a 19% decline in core net profits at RM419.5m.

QoQ, 3Q17 sales fell slightly by 2% to RM757.3m, despite an improvement in the legal market share to 44% (from 41% in 2Q17). We believe this is due to the affordability issue of non-essential spending still being a concern for consumers, even with supposedly better sentiment readings. Core EBIT margins was lower by 0.8pts to 25.3% to RM191.5m (-5%) as a result of higher marketing spend on the reintroduction of the new “Rothmans” brand which launched in early Oct 2017. Core earnings posted at RM147.5m, which was only weaker by 3% from a lower effective tax rate during the quarter (22.1% from 24.1% in 2Q17).

Better legal market share. The latest data on illicit market share showed the second consecutive quarter of decline to 56%. However, demand still remained soft in spite of better consumer confidence. We believe that this is partly due to tobacco products still being relatively costly for consumers amidst the general rise in the cost of living. Management also cautioned of newer forms of packaging for illegal products that may be more difficult to detect (i.e. fake tax stamps). While talks are ongoing with the regulators for the approval to distribute more affordable, smaller pack sizes, the group has moved to reintroduce an affordable alternative offering via the “Rothmans” brand, which was previously a flagship product, to generate better sales (refer to overleaf). As the group has effectively been transformed into a pure trading company, we believe visibility in margins should at least provide confidence in the group’s performance amidst challenging demand outlook.

Post-results, we cut our FY17E/FY18E earnings assumption by 9.3%/4.3% on lower sales assumption. We also adjust our dividend expectations to 192.0 sen (from 214.0 sen) on reflection of the weaker forecast.

Maintain to OUTPERFORM with a lower Target Price to RM45.00 (from RM47.00, previously). This is based on an unchanged 20.0x FY18E PER (-1SD 5-year mean) which we believe is still fair due to the improving legal market share outlook. Despite only 5.6% capital gain, we believe the OUTPERFORM call is warranted given the strong dividend gains of 5.2% for the stock for FY18.

Source: Kenanga Research - 24 Oct 2017
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/42591.jsp

Posted by newbie_2018 > 2018-01-23 12:06 | Report Abuse

sifus who is Kenanga with TP RM 45? M'sia no 1 con IB?
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/42591.jsp

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-01-23 13:51 | Report Abuse

Hard to sue them bcoz they have a disclaimer at the bottom of the last page of their document that stated:

"This document has been prepared for general circulation based on information obtained from sources believed to be reliable but we do not make any representations as to its accuracy or completeness. Any recommendation contained in this document does not have regard to the
specific investment objectives, financial situation and the particular needs of any specific person who may read this document. This document is for the information of addressees only and is not to be taken in substitution for the exercise of judgement by addressees.
Kenanga Investment Bank Berhad accepts no liability whatsoever for any direct or consequential loss arising from any use of this document or any solicitations of an offer to buy or sell any securities. Kenanga Investment Bank Berhad and its associates, their directors, and/or
employees may have positions in, and may effect transactions in securities mentioned herein from time to time in the open market or otherwise, and may receive brokerage fees or act as principal or agent in dealings with respect to these companies."

newbie2018

170 posts

Posted by newbie2018 > 2018-01-23 15:25 | Report Abuse

risktransformer so I can takeover their job since no need responsibility even wrong?

newbie2018

170 posts

Posted by newbie2018 > 2018-01-23 15:29 | Report Abuse

If I am bank or IB shareholders why must pay salary to them? Let them sell nasi lemak or be a uber driver better.

CityHuntEr

626 posts

Posted by CityHuntEr > 2018-01-23 22:12 | Report Abuse

They provide data and tp just for reference...dia cari makan saja...they are not god...you pay off for your greedy instead....and now wanna sue somo...lol..hahaha

BAT_

137 posts

Posted by BAT_ > 2018-01-23 22:51 | Report Abuse

BAT Malaysia upgraded to buy at UOB Kay Hian
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bat-malaysia-upgraded-buy-uob-kay-hian

Why_

788 posts

Posted by Why_ > 2018-01-24 09:06 | Report Abuse

people here not cooperative? At least should help newbies where to write to complain abt cheating IBs'.

Bf Siau

Posted by Bf Siau > 2018-01-24 09:55 | Report Abuse

IB numbers make senses to me, i think it is the syndicates manipulating the prices, they should be holding lots of bats by now n eventually will drive the price up

CityHuntEr

626 posts

Posted by CityHuntEr > 2018-01-24 11:37 | Report Abuse

@why_ You have to understand the market situation...come on, this is not a penny stocks...the price wouldnt up and down sharply without any reason...IB rates RM45 base on what reason im not sure,but as a smart investor, finding out the reason behind is your fully responsibility...unless u r too much money and just simply treat this counter like a penny stocks...lol...

CityHuntEr

626 posts

Posted by CityHuntEr > 2018-01-24 11:46 | Report Abuse

No worry aunties and uncles, ladies and gentlements, besides waiting the price back to your target, you may just try your luck to invest BAT code 4162 and strike for 4D...lol...no homework needed,just park your car, write down the number on a piece of paper, q up and waiting for your turn....wahaha

newbie2018

170 posts

Posted by newbie2018 > 2018-01-24 11:50 | Report Abuse

Agree with why_. Can I call 999 to report scam? Can Michael Chong help me?

CityHuntEr

626 posts

Posted by CityHuntEr > 2018-01-24 12:02 | Report Abuse

We receive a lot of scam email everyday!!! but believe or not, or wasting time to open it and read it or not thats our call...u can blame but obviously there have some limitation....u may try to discuss with your lawyer and seeking for further action...lol

newbie2018

170 posts

Posted by newbie2018 > 2018-01-24 12:14 | Report Abuse

I am poor where got money to hire lawyer?

newbie2018

170 posts

Posted by newbie2018 > 2018-01-24 12:15 | Report Abuse

CityHuntEr is your meaning can find lawyer with FOC fee?

CityHuntEr

626 posts

Posted by CityHuntEr > 2018-01-24 12:17 | Report Abuse

Lol...u have money to invest BAT and now u said u r poor...lol...or u just invest for 1 lot??lol, in case yes i advice you just forget about it...lol

Why_

788 posts

Posted by Why_ > 2018-01-24 14:53 | Report Abuse

CityHuntEr is it how your lawyers make money from you? Why cannot bypass them or find cheaper 1?

CityHuntEr Lol...u have money to invest BAT and now u said u r poor...lol...or u just invest for 1 lot??lol, in case yes i advice you just forget about it...lol
24/01/2018 12:17

Why_

788 posts

Posted by Why_ > 2018-01-24 14:56 | Report Abuse

CityHuntEr have you ever heard "sikit-sikit lama-lama jadi bukit" meaning save here and there some money a lot of money can be saved.

Why_

788 posts

Posted by Why_ > 2018-01-24 14:59 | Report Abuse

CityHuntEr I don't spend a lot of time here like you if my intention to push down. I still need to talk elsewhere though not with same id.

Dkny

161 posts

Posted by Dkny > 2018-01-24 15:28 | Report Abuse

Buy it after Bat release quater result out

curious2

1,812 posts

Posted by curious2 > 2018-01-24 15:53 | Report Abuse

Govn need ciggies tax money so much catch thiefs?