MALAYSIA STEEL WORKS (KL)BHD

KLSE (MYR): MASTEEL (5098)

-0.005 (1.52%)

0.32 - 0.33

18 people like this.

14,813 comment(s). Last comment by rizal2020 3 days ago

erkongseng

3,192 posts

Posted by erkongseng > 2016-09-25 06:14 | Report Abuse

100% 净利:感恩你专业与诚实的分享,谢谢了。

21,646 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-09-25 13:57 | Report Abuse

Rm1, then 1.20. Then normal range rm1.50.

CityTrader

8,151 posts

Posted by CityTrader > 2016-09-25 14:56 | Report Abuse

:)

skyea

285 posts

Posted by skyea > 2016-09-25 15:29 | Report Abuse

NTA rm 2.24. long way to go from here

skyea

285 posts

Posted by skyea > 2016-09-25 15:32 | Report Abuse

annjoo and cscstel alrd reached their NTA levels respectively.

sharktank

805 posts

Posted by sharktank > 2016-09-25 15:51 | Report Abuse

yes, far better than cscstel, Masteel IV is ( -1.56). : )

fankim

139 posts

Posted by fankim > 2016-09-25 16:00 | Report Abuse

Good for sharing your study.

Nigel Low

1,463 posts

Posted by Nigel Low > 2016-09-25 18:12 | Report Abuse

Sharktank, why are you here?

bing

3,794 posts

Posted by bing > 2016-09-25 18:55 | Report Abuse

skyea, you must to know how NTA work.

Posted by Benjamin_8888 > 2016-09-25 19:13 | Report Abuse

Sharktank r u sure it is far better than Csc?

erkongseng

3,192 posts

Posted by erkongseng > 2016-09-25 19:32 | Report Abuse

记得明天早上进5098 MASTEEL
受益于马来西亚政府施加13.42%螺纹钢一种保障税率和线材13.9%,螺纹钢的线圈。

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:51 | Report Abuse

Before everyone feeling too excited about the steel industry, maybe author or someone can help to explain the following:

Prices of Rebar in Malaysia (Source: MITI)

----------Low-----High

21/9/2016 1,720 1,870
15/9/2016 1,720 1,870
8/9/2016 1,800 1,950
30/8/2016 1,750 1,990
26/8/2016 1,840 1,990
26/7/2016 1,780 1,930
24/6/2016 1,750 1,950
30/5/2016 2,180 2,380
22/4/2016 2,100 2,300
21/3/2016 1,650 1,800
26/2/2016 1,520 1,620
27/1/2016 1,450 1,550
22/12/2015 1,450 1,550
17/11/2015 1,500 1,600
27/10/2015 1,500 1,600
22/9/2015 1,600 1,700
26/8/2015 1,580 1,680
28/7/2015 1,650 1,750
30/6/2015 1,760 1,860
27/5/2015 1,840 1,940
28/4/2015 1,840 1,940
31/3/2015 1,850 1,950
24/2/2015 1,800 1,900
27/1/2015 1,900 2,000

Malaysia experienced shortage of rebar in April & May, causing the price rocketed to sky level, but the revenue of Masteel for quarter (1/4/2016-30/6/2016) was RM268m, slightly higher than last year's same period RM242m.

Did the profit in that quarter helped by clearance of stocks at much higher prices because of cancellation of supplies from China?

Rebar price has since then gone down.

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:52 | Report Abuse

How about cost of productions for rebar? Has it gone down as well? What is the margin before the sudden surge & after?

Not knowing the rebal prices in malaysia, not knowing the cost structure of producing rebar, not knowing the exact prices in China, what can we predict the performance of a company?

I knew this website way before this article, I did not trust this analysis because it has not stated the sources of data, users contributed towards the date & so on.

Nothing was mentioned in their website.

I have even registered with the website but getting the same report every week.

http://steelbenchmarker.com/files/history.pdf

Please take note that MRT2 project won't help much because it is just continuous part of MRT1 project.

It's is not something new demand, it is just making demand for steel to continue sustain at previous level.

If during the execution of MRT1 project in previous did not make all steel producers profitable, what so special about MRT2 project to steel producers, especially those producing long products.

WB2F

330 posts

Posted by WB2F > 2016-09-25 19:54 | Report Abuse

Last year posted RM50 million losses. Still can buy ? Overall global steel industry still not so good. :(

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 20:09 | Report Abuse

my price list below was extracted from Ministry of International Trade and Industry, so it is reliable:

Please visit http://www.miti.gov.my/index.php/pages/view/3060?mid=73 & read the MITI Weekly Bulletin.

----------Low-----High

21/9/2016 1,720 1,870
15/9/2016 1,720 1,870
8/9/2016 1,800 1,950
30/8/2016 1,750 1,990
26/8/2016 1,840 1,990
26/7/2016 1,780 1,930
24/6/2016 1,750 1,950
30/5/2016 2,180 2,380
22/4/2016 2,100 2,300
21/3/2016 1,650 1,800
26/2/2016 1,520 1,620
27/1/2016 1,450 1,550
22/12/2015 1,450 1,550
17/11/2015 1,500 1,600
27/10/2015 1,500 1,600
22/9/2015 1,600 1,700
26/8/2015 1,580 1,680
28/7/2015 1,650 1,750
30/6/2015 1,760 1,860
27/5/2015 1,840 1,940
28/4/2015 1,840 1,940
31/3/2015 1,850 1,950
24/2/2015 1,800 1,900
27/1/2015 1,900 2,000

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 20:09 | Report Abuse

Page 9 MITI Weekly Bulletin 2016 : Volume 404 - 21 September 2016

http://www.miti.gov.my/miti/resources/MITI%20Weekly%20Bulletin/MITI_Weekly_Bulletin_Volume_404_-_21_September_2016.pdf
25/09/2016 20:08

Posted by wallstreet82 > 2016-09-25 20:16 | Report Abuse

In the recent QR of Megasteel under Prospect Section, the Company has hinted that the demand for next few months will be much higher. Apart from this, MITI safeguard on long products will benefit to the Company significant if it's approved.

Posted by wallstreet82 > 2016-09-25 20:16 | Report Abuse

Strong buy. :)

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-09-25 20:18 | Report Abuse

Read Masteel's CEO Statements extracted from Annual Report

FY2015 OVERVIEW
Steel industry players in Malaysia faced tremendous pricing and cost pressures in the
year under review, stemming from both external and domestic aspects. Internationally,
the flood of exceptionally low priced steel emanating from China resulted in the closure
of many steel mills worldwide including Malaysia. Locally, the upward revision in electricity
and natural gas tariffs resulted in higher operating costs, while the drastic weakening
of the MYR versus major foreign currencies contributed towards additional
import costs challenges.
These negative factors further exacerbated the decline of steel bar prices
worldwide of more than 30% in the short span of a year, as well as
heightened imports of steel bars into Malaysia. Such imports, while cheap,
were often not in conformance to standards set by SIRIM, hence displacing
the local steel industry whose market share of steel products was reduced
from 62.6% in 2014 to 49.2% in 2015.
Although the environment was not favourable for steel players, the Group
performed commendably and remained resilient, and delivered RM1.14
billion in revenue in FY2015. Of this, sales to the domestic market made
up 92.3% or RM1.06 billion versus RM1.41 billion earlier. Notably, export
sales, which contributed to the remaining 7.7%, more than doubled to
RM88.2 million from RM41.9 million in the previous year on the back of the
weaker MYR.
Additionally, we had diligently put in place the necessary building blocks to
set the stage for the Group’s future growth. The Group had, in October 2015,
began commissioning our new rolling mill in Bukit Raja, Selangor, which would
effectively increase our total steel bar production capacity from 450,000 metric
tonnes (MT) per year to 650,000 MT per year.
Not only would the larger production levels contribute significantly towards additional
revenue, but also enhance our bottomline by virtue of offering higher value-added
premium steel bars. Moreover, as the new rolling mill adjoins our existing meltshop,
we stand to benefit from optimized operating costs due to lower energy consumption
and transportation charges.
The new rolling mill is expected to have a positive impact on the Group’s performance in the new financial year ending 31
December 2016 (FY2016) and onwards. To date, our efforts have already started to bear fruit, as witnessed in tangible
improvements to our financial health since the fourth quarter of FY2015 with substantially narrower losses compared
to the preceding quarters.
PROSPECTS
The domestic steel industry is set to benefit from resilient demand of steel bars in 2016 and over the coming years,
driven by the implementation of key infrastructure projects throughout the nation by the Malaysian Government. This
includes the construction of various major expressways and the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (KVMRT), as well as
increased property development activity in line with population growth.
A major part of this development boost would be centred in the Klang Valley, where our manufacturing facilities are
strategically located. Being one of the two players situated in close proximity to major construction activity in this region,

Posted by tanching > 2016-09-25 20:25 | Report Abuse

So masteel can buy in on tomorow morning ?0.895?

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-09-25 20:25 | Report Abuse

PROSPECTS
The domestic steel industry is set to benefit from resilient demand of steel bars in 2016 and over the coming years,
driven by the implementation of key infrastructure projects throughout the nation by the Malaysian Government. This
includes the construction of various major expressways and the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (KVMRT), as well as
increased property development activity in line with population growth.
A major part of this development boost would be centred in the Klang Valley, where our manufacturing facilities are
strategically located. Being one of the two players situated in close proximity to major construction activity in this region,

NOTE THESE WORDS,

TO BENEFIT FROM RESILIENT DEMAND OF STEEL BARS IN 2016

AND OVER THE COMING YEARS

DRIVEN BY CONSTRUCTION OF MAJOR EXPRESSWAYS & KLANG MRT

OUR MANUFACTURING FACILITIES ARE SITUATED IN CLOSE PROXIMITY TO MAJOR CONSTRUCTION ACTIVITY.

nocindycat

492 posts

Posted by nocindycat > 2016-09-26 01:33 | Report Abuse

I know that this will end like glove players, when top glove shows good profit, but most of it is one off gain

why rebar prices lower on q1 2016 than q1 2015, but master still makes profit? very easy explanation, q1 2015, prices were on down trend, so your inventory are high raw mat cost items, comparing to 2016, your raw material cost was lowest on nov/dec, and it was recovering till march

this can be argued like USD/MYR, if it is on uptrend and uptrend, your companies will report superb profits, but once it normalise, your inventories raw mat cost starts to rise, haha

this article did not discuss about inventory, monkey business got a point, i guess it still has legs, but don't be caught at high, and run as fast as possible when trend normalise, steel price has normalised, just the anti dumping duty has helped them to sell higher this time, next quarter report will be interesting, but my bet is it won't make more than RM10m like q2

goody99

1,807 posts

Posted by goody99 > 2016-09-26 04:11 | Report Abuse

If we look at domestic rebar price alone, it is very possible for rebar companies to report better year-on-year results for 2016Q3, 2016Q4, and 2017Q1. Tax on imported steel bars should help as well.

But there is another thing that we have to consider. If the domestic demand does pick up as expected due to mega projects especially next year, we will also see better future earnings.

Competition from China? Well, the recently announced tax on imported steel bars should take care of it.

Should be good if you are willing to wait for a few quarters.

erkongseng

3,192 posts

Posted by erkongseng > 2016-09-26 08:51 | Report Abuse

--公司Q2的EPS=4.4SEN,累计两季EPS=6.5SEN,
--masteel 2016 年估计eps=15 sen,pe=10倍,股价=rm1.50
--如 2016年eps=15sen ,现有价位rm 0.895 只是在本益比(pe)6倍交易,非常低估.
--于30-6-2016公司CASH=1758万, 贷款=3.6亿, NTA=RM2.24
--库存为3.72亿 /2.44亿股数=RM1.52(个人简单计算).
--大马钢厂建议私下配售新普通股的第一批股票,定价为每股86仙。:2012-10-31
--100%PROFIT 网友算:4%净利,(个人简单计算): 年营业约10亿*4%=4千万 ,
40M/244M 股数=RM0.163 ,PE=10 ,股价=RM1.63

--受益于马来西亚政府施加13.42%螺纹钢一种保障税率和线材13.9%,螺纹钢的线圈。

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-09-26 08:57 | Report Abuse

Posted by goody99 > Sep 26, 2016 04:11 AM | Report Abuse

If we look at domestic rebar price alone, it is very possible for rebar companies to report better year-on-year results for 2016Q3, 2016Q4, and 2017Q1. Tax on imported steel bars should help as well.

But there is another thing that we have to consider. If the domestic demand does pick up as expected due to mega projects especially next year, we will also see better future earnings.

Competition from China? Well, the recently announced tax on imported steel bars should take care of it.

Should be good if you are willing to wait for a few quarters.

YES!

goody99, you better sell all your overvalued Comcorp shares and buy masteel.

This is my advise. Final decision is yours

yong115

65 posts

Posted by yong115 > 2016-09-26 09:02 | Report Abuse

Wow..direct break rm1

4,332 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-09-26 09:04 | Report Abuse

Follow the footsteps of Mycron. Go Go go!

char1234

5,299 posts

Posted by char1234 > 2016-09-26 09:15 | Report Abuse

gap up today..

Posted by phoenix888 > 2016-09-26 09:17 | Report Abuse

don wait guys...this guy is going to close 1.1 today pr above today..just like mycron in august

prince4

1,459 posts

Posted by prince4 > 2016-09-26 09:18 | Report Abuse

long time already cannot submit financial statements ,will enter PN17 soon...

4,332 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-09-26 09:21 | Report Abuse

Long time not submitting FS? You think the shareholders of MAsteel are living in the Antarctica meh.

5,864 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-09-26 09:30 | Report Abuse

Hehe, my profit is flying here today

Posted by phoenix888 > 2016-09-26 09:33 | Report Abuse

NO REASON THAT WE DONT BUY..this counter will be hot and hotter in coming weeks.

4,332 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-09-26 09:39 | Report Abuse

I thought this counter might be trading around 80 cents for longer period due to insufficient catalyst. Who know the good news came out just in time to boost the price. Congrats to MAsteel shareholders.

Posted by josephgoshen > 2016-09-26 09:41 | Report Abuse

regret didnt buy

Hercules

102 posts

Posted by Hercules > 2016-09-26 09:46 | Report Abuse

MonkeyBusiness Before everyone feeling too excited about the steel industry, maybe author or someone can help to explain the following:

----------Low-----High

21/9/2016 1,720 1,870
15/9/2016 1,720 1,870
8/9/2016 1,800 1,950
30/8/2016 1,750 1,990
26/8/2016 1,840 1,990
26/7/2016 1,780 1,930
24/6/2016 1,750 1,950
30/5/2016 2,180 2,380
22/4/2016 2,100 2,300
21/3/2016 1,650 1,800
26/2/2016 1,520 1,620
27/1/2016 1,450 1,550
22/12/2015 1,450 1,550
17/11/2015 1,500 1,600
27/10/2015 1,500 1,600
22/9/2015 1,600 1,700
26/8/2015 1,580 1,680
28/7/2015 1,650 1,750
30/6/2015 1,760 1,860
27/5/2015 1,840 1,940
28/4/2015 1,840 1,940
31/3/2015 1,850 1,950
24/2/2015 1,800 1,900
27/1/2015 1,900 2,000
25/09/2016 18:53

Hercules answer:-
You can notice that within Jan -June 2015 the price is around 1900 then the price started to drop from July 2015 till Jan 2016 to as low as 1450. The sharp drop is due to imported n smuggled steel oversupply in the market. You may ask why Apr-May 2016 price surge so high? Started early of Year 2016 the market demand is so low until many of the importers are facing lost n they forced to sell even below their cost because the price keep on dropping everyday and they can't take the risk if it continue dropping. Come back to why Apr-May 2016, price surge as high as 2180 is because during this time no more imported steel. With this safeguard, I believe their future earning would be better than this year which without imported steel as a competitor.

MonkeyBusiness actually u a good analyzer n not blindly follow the crowd without detail research, kudo for u! Also hope u can do more research and provide us more information.

4,332 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-09-26 09:52 | Report Abuse

All that... Already become an history. The catalyst MAsteel is enjoying higher margin after the government decision for imposing anti dumping duty on imported rebars.

CityTrader

8,151 posts

Posted by CityTrader > 2016-09-26 09:54 | Report Abuse

:)

funda

484 posts

Posted by funda > 2016-09-26 09:59 | Report Abuse

Too fast too furious, next barrier 1.20?

4,332 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-09-26 10:00 | Report Abuse

We learn from the history but we don't allow the history clouded our mind.

goody99

1,807 posts

Posted by goody99 > 2016-09-26 10:38 | Report Abuse

Some steel counters have reach 3-year high but Masteel not yet. Not only that their share prices are above their 3-year high by a big margin. Masteel's highest for the last 3 years is around RM1.15. Hopefully soon will be Masteel's turn to exceed its 3-year high and beyond.

mr x

589 posts

Posted by mr x > 2016-09-26 10:49 | Report Abuse

i cinta lah masteel kikikikikikk

goody99

1,807 posts

Posted by goody99 > 2016-09-26 10:53 | Report Abuse

wow, even SSteel which has problem with right-off is about 10 sen away from its 3-year high... good to see that!

goody99

1,807 posts

Posted by goody99 > 2016-09-26 11:21 | Report Abuse

what a battle at RM1.05 just now... big lots were cleared

goody99

1,807 posts

Posted by goody99 > 2016-09-26 11:27 | Report Abuse

today should end well. Not going to monitor it any more...