CAPITAL A BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CAPITALA (5099)

+0.005 (0.66%)

0.755 - 0.775

127 people like this.

167,751 comment(s). Last comment by abidinaa 1 day ago

Wei Wong

671 posts

Posted by Wei Wong > 2018-12-22 09:34 | Report Abuse

I betting
Q4 up sikit makan dividen
Q1 up sikit makan dividen

But if oil lagi down or burst
Then different story !!
But oil up also different story !!

In the end is your holding power !!
Invest is if you have extra money can hold !!

Not borrow money or all in (very bad idea)

Posted by Musangkingfarmer > 2018-12-22 09:37 | Report Abuse

If hedge too much at current price, and then the price drop to below 40, you will have difficulty compete with other airlines that hedge less or didn't hedge. Hedge is like gamble, don't gamble too big.

Wei Wong

671 posts

Posted by Wei Wong > 2018-12-22 09:57 | Report Abuse

How about suggest to Tony partner with Petronas maybe ?? Pay in Ringgit !!

Rehan

45 posts

Posted by Rehan > 2018-12-22 11:00 | Report Abuse

no one knows whether oil will be up or down?
what's the point in hedging? only pay good amount hedging fees ( more than 3 % )

14,640 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-22 11:05 | Report Abuse

Rehan why u buy stock? U know it sure can go up ah?

14,640 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-22 11:08 | Report Abuse

AA is deal with commodity...like it or not hedging is one of the very important areas to them n to their bottom line...knowing how to sell ticket alone is not enough

Kpin Yeoh

239 posts

Posted by Kpin Yeoh > 2018-12-22 11:27 | Report Abuse

Short term may be AA can touch 3.00.

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-22 11:30 | Report Abuse

Aa can jus buy current order contract enuff...buy all next year oil demand at current price..

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-22 11:34 | Report Abuse

At current price hedge also better than pay 80 dollar fuel...lol

14,640 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-22 11:37 | Report Abuse

Just like cpo futures mdex lah

14,640 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-22 11:40 | Report Abuse

Again aa oredi sold their tickets in advance..so they know their cost in these advance sales...they can lock in the fuel by hedging..the lower the cost they hedged the higher profit margin they hv

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-22 12:04 | Report Abuse

Aa is one of the least hedge airline...competitor far worst in fuel management then aa...aa can make profit even aT 100usd brent...the others already loss til parent cannot recognise...lol

14,640 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-12-22 12:06 | Report Abuse

Yeap...i think tony learned the hard lessons few years ago when crude pil plunged fm usd100+ to usd40+..washed out their futures contracts n loss like hell

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-22 12:18 | Report Abuse

Yap...actually aa uses current price for air ticketing...so can always maintain competitive edge...

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-22 12:19 | Report Abuse

Only hedge a small percentage if the oil is real low....like 50 is a good price to hedge...

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-22 12:19 | Report Abuse

Goin down to 40 is unlikely for long term...

Tongkarat

7,588 posts

Posted by Tongkarat > 2018-12-22 13:27 | Report Abuse

Rough weather ahead.....

Habislah

31 posts

Posted by Habislah > 2018-12-22 13:30 | Report Abuse

rough weather your head, tongkarat

BN_better

991 posts

Posted by BN_better > 2018-12-22 16:27 | Report Abuse

Tongkarat China tourists head to Europe and US not M'sia no thanks to Tun M anti-China.

Tongkarat Rough weather ahead.....
22/12/2018 13:27

BN_better

991 posts

Posted by BN_better > 2018-12-22 16:27 | Report Abuse

Tourism players brace for tough times
https://www.themalaysianinsight.com/s/120365

carry

141 posts

Posted by carry > 2018-12-22 17:14 | Report Abuse

GG

IloveRX

1,164 posts

Posted by IloveRX > 2018-12-22 17:24 | Report Abuse

Record qtr for AA 2018!.

IloveRX

1,164 posts

Posted by IloveRX > 2018-12-22 17:25 | Report Abuse

0.12 div to be given out soon

Posted by 1099133743600537 > 2018-12-22 18:02 | Report Abuse

How did u come up with 0.12 ?

Posted by 1099133743600537 > 2018-12-22 18:06 | Report Abuse

I think should be more than that... no?

Bursa999

198 posts

Posted by Bursa999 > 2018-12-22 22:56 | Report Abuse

@shrobin startups valuation are always overstated they are all not yet profitable look at snapchat ipo price versus now...

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-23 08:48 | Report Abuse

No wonder us withdraw from syria...us doesnt need to b there anymore ....

carry

141 posts

Posted by carry > 2018-12-23 10:19 | Report Abuse

Not a good sign for Air Asia

shrobin

Posted by shrobin > 2018-12-23 10:44 | Report Abuse

@Bursa999: Thank you for pointing out on the startup valuation! Not sure about snapchat case though as i did not follow in this case! If you are referring to GDB case, a counter which i like, i can talk a bit on this!

One of the main thing i like about GDB is the 30% dividend policy! A small start up company committing to pay dividend right at the start! This is rare!

As an investor, i like the idea of getting paid via dividends while waiting for the company to grow! Most companies don't normally pay dividends at the start up phase, including AirAsia!

If you read GDB IPO prospectus, my view is that their growth strategy plan is just a very natural progression to grow in a construction business, nothing fancy or overstated there! Of course the jury is still out there if they can successful or not in their growth plan. In the high rise segment, which is their current experty, they are doing quite well. You can compare GDB with some of the other construction counters especially on their profit margin! Having a reputation of always completing projects ahead is not an easy task! It gave me a hint on their management strength! This i hope to follow up in later AGMs.

An interesting metric i noted on GDB is their high ROE! It will be great if they can maintain it! GDB is like AirAsia, a high ROE company!

The IPO price was 35sen! At current depressed market, the weak ones are being shakened out! Since IPO listing in April, some buyings by GDB directors offer some idea of what the insiders think on what it is worth! You can do some homework to check out!

GDB have enough orders in hand to last them at least in the next two years! As an investors i am willing to sit out with them but with a reasonable dividend, this is supported by their 30% dividend policy! They have paid 1.0sen interim in first half, indicating there is a 2nd dividend in second half!

GDB is an ACE counter, which i hope they can be in the main board in 3 to 5 years!

3,128 posts

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2018-12-23 10:55 | Report Abuse

Carry, you continue feed for twenty more years.

ImCK

2,994 posts

Posted by ImCK > 2018-12-23 10:56 |

Bursa999

198 posts

Posted by Bursa999 > 2018-12-23 12:24 | Report Abuse

@shrobin im referring to technology startups ya so GDB might be a different case. Take Uber for example, its valuation is around USD 120bil. They make 10+ bil in revenue but have a net loss of around 5bil. Most tech startups have high valuation due to their crazy fundings but most are not profitable. So i wouldn't compare grab or technology startups to airasia as airasia is already established as a profitable company.

shrobin

Posted by shrobin > 2018-12-23 12:45 | Report Abuse

Agree! Maybe a better valuation comparison should be with Ryanair!

toto

1,421 posts

Posted by toto > 2018-12-23 16:14 | Report Abuse

OMG, volcano tsunami happened in Indonesia. Tomolo Airasia, how?

Bursa999

198 posts

Posted by Bursa999 > 2018-12-23 17:41 | Report Abuse

dont think airasia had much big impact lion air will have a bigger impact if there is any at all...airasia indo is in talks with garuda indo for potential collboration...positive news as this might increase its market share in the domestic markrt

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-23 18:10 | Report Abuse

Compare to mount agong eruption ...this is immaterial news...

Posted by Keat Soon Ong > 2018-12-23 18:31 | Report Abuse

Sure go up as many 1 2 run away.

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-12-23 20:29 | Report Abuse

airasia makes profit kerana domestic flights. when more competitors increase the number of flights, profit margin will be squeezed

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-12-23 20:30 | Report Abuse

korang pray tak ada Sars, war, oil price Tak baik, takda Bencana alam, dll

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-23 22:16 | Report Abuse

Airasia hav been tru all of the above...still goin strong...n stronger

Shinnzaii

3,114 posts

Posted by Shinnzaii > 2018-12-24 08:42 | Report Abuse

wew...banyak promoter...good sign

Posted by jonathanlum > 2018-12-24 09:24 | Report Abuse

flying....

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-24 10:11 | Report Abuse

purposely dun wan let dividend receiver to buy bak...sian...

astalavista

2,278 posts

Posted by astalavista > 2018-12-24 10:27 | Report Abuse

Gogofgo..oil gona break 50 below

Taigor

35 posts

Posted by Taigor > 2018-12-24 10:27 |

Posted by Enemiemannan > 2018-12-24 10:32 | Report Abuse

santa is comingg

Wei Wong

671 posts