CAPITAL A BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CAPITALA (5099)

-0.01 (1.31%)

0.75 - 0.765

127 people like this.

167,748 comment(s). Last comment by abidinaa 3 hours ago

Posted by 129055444514385 > 2019-04-18 08:31 | Report Abuse

Up3

Fernandes: Selling our aircraft monetises all our aircraft at high prices and avoids residual risk. — Bloomberg

PETALING JAYA: AirAsia Group Bhd, which is disposing of 25 aircraft to US-based global private investment firm Castlelake LP, intends to use the proceeds of the sale to ramp up its digital business and reward shareholders.

AirAsia Group chief executive officer Tan Sri Tony Fernandes said the disposal would provide the low-cost carrier with more cash at its disposal.

“Selling our aircraft monetises all our aircraft at high prices and avoids residual risk and allows us to return cash to shareholders and invest in our new digital business,” he said via Twitter following the company’s EGM yesterday.

On Dec 24, 2018, AirAsia announced that it was disposing of 25 aircraft to Castlelake LP in a deal worth US$768mil (RM3.22bil).

Castlelake LP will also purchase four new aircraft that will be delivered to AirAsia in 2019. The 29 planes – Airbus’ A320-200ceo and A320neo – will be leased back to AirAsia.

Later that month, AirAsia’s indirect wholly-owned subsidiary, Asia Aviation Capital Ltd (AACL), entered into a share purchase agreement with Castlelake’s indirect entities for the disposal of its entire equity interest in Merah Aviation Asset Holding Ltd – which owns the aircraft.

The proposed disposal is expected to reduce AirAsia’s gross gearing ratio from 0.53 times to 0.24 times.

Separately, Fernandes said the impact of the MFRS 16 accounting standard on AirAsia is “not very material.”

“Even with that standard and if you use profit and loss for analysis, the impact of the new standard MFRS 16 is about RM35mil a year,” he said via Twitter.

The MFRS 16 is a new accounting standard for leases that took effect this year.

CGSCIMB in a report earlier this month said the new accounting standard would result in higher gearing levels for AirAsia.

The research house noted that AirAsia had sold 79 aircraft to lessor BBAM Ltd Partnership in 2018 and is expected to sell a further 25 planes to lessor Castlelake LP by the third quarter of this year.

Together with the other existing operating lease aircraft, CGSCIMB said AirAsia is expected to capitalise RM11.8bil worth of borrowings related to the operating leases in 2019, effectively bringing back to the balance sheet what had previously been off-balance sheet.

“The impact would be to raise reported gross gearing of 19% in 2018 to 198% on a pro forma basis after MFRS 16.

“The overall impact to profit and loss earnings from the above sale and leasebacks is negative because AirAsia would have to pay for the lessors’ profit margin as well as provide for a higher level of maintenance charges based on lessors’ conditions for lease returns, which tend to be strict.

“The net result would be a squeeze on AirAsia’s profit margins.”

Meanwhile, AllianceDBS Research said AirAsia’s outlook remains steady as market leader in the industry with 41.7% market share.

“Expansion plans are under way with 18 new aircraft for 2019. Available seat kilometres (ASK) is expected to grow at 9.8% and revenue passenger kilometres at 10.1% backed by load factors of 84.7%. Subdued fuel prices would help support earnings,” it said.

“Selling our aircraft monetises all our aircraft at high prices and avoids residual risk and allows us to return cash to shareholders and invest in our new digital business,” he said via Twitter following the company’s EGM yesterday.

On Dec 24, 2018, AirAsia announced that it was disposing of 25 aircraft to Castlelake LP in a deal worth US$768mil (RM3.22bil).

Castlelake LP will also purchase four new aircraft that will be delivered to AirAsia in 2019. The 29 planes – Airbus’ A320-200ceo and A320neo – will be leased back to AirAsia.

Later that month, AirAsia’s indirect wholly-owned subsidiary, Asia Aviation Capital Ltd (AACL), entered into a share purchase agreement with Castlelake’s indirect entities for the disposal of its entire equity interest in Merah Aviation Asset Holding Ltd – which owns the aircraft.

The proposed disposal is expected to reduce AirAsia’s gross gearing ratio from 0.53 times to 0.24 times.

Separately, Fernandes said the impact of the MFRS 16 accounting standard on AirAsia is “not very material.”

“Even with that standard and if you use profit and loss for analysis, the impact of the new standard MFRS 16 is about RM35mil a year,” he said via Twitter.

The MFRS 16 is a new accounting standard for leases that took effect this year.

CGSCIMB in a report earlier this month said the new accounting standard would result in higher gearing levels for AirAsia.

The research house noted that AirAsia had sold 79 aircraft to lessor BBAM Ltd Partnership in 2018 and is expected to sell a further 25 planes to lessor Castlelake LP by the third quarter of this year.

Posted by 129055444514385 > 2019-04-18 08:33 | Report Abuse

ECRL project , 60% of it handled by mainland China companies, many foreign workers and their relatives from China will be flying AirAsia hahaha

Betkaukau

2,568 posts

Posted by Betkaukau > 2019-04-18 08:38 | Report Abuse

Not mention save on the depreciation cost? Apa punya analysis? Buy car 100k, ten years later car still worth 100k arrr

EST85

393 posts

Posted by EST85 > 2019-04-18 08:39 | Report Abuse

After sold the 25 aircraft & Next dividend will 0.12?

Betkaukau

2,568 posts

Posted by Betkaukau > 2019-04-18 08:41 | Report Abuse

Should be 20 cents...

L666

372 posts

Posted by L666 > 2019-04-18 08:48 | Report Abuse

Airasia smart, airasia gonna be asia's airline uber soon. Those that bad mouth myeg last time wanna collect cheap. Syndicate in the working. This time if airasia kena bad mouth, its time to collect~

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-04-18 08:53 | Report Abuse

Really worth buying if it gets cheaper from all the negatives.

AntiPondan

199 posts

Posted by AntiPondan > 2019-04-18 09:24 | Report Abuse

Betkaukau, 1029055445, HLX4U etc pondan cannot defend what origamiandair trying to say?

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-04-18 09:26 | Report Abuse

What a retard.

AntiPondan

199 posts

Posted by AntiPondan > 2019-04-18 09:27 | Report Abuse

Why you still here? Johotin get cheaper I buy.

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-04-18 09:30 | Report Abuse

Unlike some people, I have lots of counters. I have AA. I have Johotin, been adding too. I have others. Just because I said it's worth buying Johotin doesn't mean that I don't have AA anymore.

Again, what a retard. Unlike some people, most proper investors don't put all eggs in one basket.

5354_

4,744 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2019-04-18 09:33 | Report Abuse

If you have AA why want cheaper?

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-04-18 09:34 | Report Abuse

Logic. I want to add more.

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-04-18 09:34 | Report Abuse

Who doesn't want cheap bargain? It's stupid not to buy on weakness and negativity when it comes to a solid, growth stock.

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-04-18 09:35 | Report Abuse

Are you even an investor? Buy expensive instead of cheap? Really? Wow.

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-04-18 09:43 | Report Abuse

People are accusing me of being a part of a syndicate or an investment banker. Bullocks.

I'm giving you facts. And reported news that are published for everyone to read. How am I, a tiny little ant, capable of controlling the market? Come on. What logic is that from such lowly people here?

Be rationale. And read the news. Don't read selectively. Don't read only good news to syok sendiri. Read everything and make your investment decision wisely.

5354_

4,744 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2019-04-18 09:49 | Report Abuse

God is fair. Many forumers I see only talk in AA not elsewhere. When you cannot defend loss of money is your result.

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-04-18 09:53 | Report Abuse

What are you even trying to say? So only can post here in AA and not elsewhere? Wow. Wow. Wow. What loss of money? You lost? LOL happy for you.

And now bringing god in ROFL hahahahahaha.

5354_

4,744 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2019-04-18 09:56 | Report Abuse

If say Johotin 1.3 good will you agree?

usq1998

34 posts

Posted by usq1998 > 2019-04-18 09:56 | Report Abuse

sd jz adjust further aa price now. if u buy higher price today. sd wll further down d rpice again. aa price likely gain if Q1 result really appreciated frm what tf said.

5354_

4,744 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2019-04-18 09:59 | Report Abuse

origamiandair why dare not answer me?

Posted by 5354_ > Apr 18, 2019 9:56 AM | Report Abuse X
If say Johotin 1.3 good will you agree?

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-04-18 10:07 | Report Abuse

Don't dare answer? Hello? I'm not in front of my phone or pc all day long unlike you.

Just say it. 1.3 is fine. I'm so okay with it. It's a public space. It's your opinion. Nothing wrong.

Just say all you want. And I can say all I want. We are not a communist country where people cannot simply say what they want, even in the cyberspace. Grow up.

At least I say things and present them logically.

Posted by origamiandair > 2019-04-18 10:08 | Report Abuse

Don't be a cry baby just coz you lost in AA and them want to shut people down from posting here.

Posted by KingBursa2019 > 2019-04-18 10:24 | Report Abuse

good

below 2.5

Posted by KingBursa2019 > 2019-04-18 10:24 | Report Abuse

next stage

below 2.0

epfbuy

199 posts

Posted by epfbuy > 2019-04-18 10:32 | Report Abuse

Bought at 2.65-2.7 so sell at 2 good EPF CEO?

Posted by No1BossBaby > 2019-04-18 10:33 | Report Abuse

AirAsia announced that it was disposing of 25 aircraft to Castlelake LP in a deal worth US$768mil (RM3.22bil).

epfbuy

199 posts

Posted by epfbuy > 2019-04-18 10:33 | Report Abuse

No wonder EPF CEO said EPF money will be gone in our lifetime haha.

epfbuy

199 posts

Posted by epfbuy > 2019-04-18 10:39 | Report Abuse

Got hear EPF CEO job vacancy advertised?

epfbuy

199 posts

Posted by epfbuy > 2019-04-18 10:46 | Report Abuse

MAHB-AA dispute what is EPF CEO stand? EPF support MAHB or AA?

astalavista

2,278 posts

Posted by astalavista > 2019-04-18 10:56 | Report Abuse

I hope TF' s AirAsia.com does very well in long run..

Posted by 129055444514385 > 2019-04-18 11:53 | Report Abuse

EPF started selling airasia shares.............. sigh!

Wednesday, 17 Apr 2019

6:45PM AIRASIA TRANSACTIONS (CHAPTER 10 OF LISTING REQUIREMENTS)

6:44PM AIRASIA OTHERS

6:29PM AIRASIA EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD (159,100 units Disposed)

5:06PM AIRASIA General Meetings: Outcome of Meeting

nckcm

2,726 posts

Posted by nckcm > 2019-04-18 11:56 | Report Abuse

Told u sell down coming... only stupid people buy because of dividend..

Betkaukau

2,568 posts

Posted by Betkaukau > 2019-04-18 12:09 | Report Abuse

Sell down is good. Can collect lower..

Betkaukau

2,568 posts

Posted by Betkaukau > 2019-04-18 12:14 | Report Abuse

Hope can collect some at 2.00-2.10 next week?

Air_Asia

266 posts

Posted by Air_Asia > 2019-04-18 12:19 | Report Abuse

I go elsewhere try to talk but find more cowards here.

Air_Asia

266 posts

Posted by Air_Asia > 2019-04-18 12:20 | Report Abuse

If you don't like somebody talk bad immediately you reply why not in AA?

Air_Asia

266 posts

Posted by Air_Asia > 2019-04-18 12:21 | Report Abuse

Are you all aware i3 got report abuse function?

newinvestor17

2,150 posts

Posted by newinvestor17 > 2019-04-18 12:22 | Report Abuse

Topkek counter and topkek investors on this section. AA RELEASED a statement about the sale of their aircrafts and all buggers here were screaming that the prices would go up and now speculating for a 20sen dividend, really delusional investors

freddiehero

16,715 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2019-04-18 12:29 | Report Abuse

wah.. dicount again..

Betkaukau

2,568 posts

Posted by Betkaukau > 2019-04-18 12:32 | Report Abuse

Oklah. 10 cents special dividend + 12 cents yearly dividend

toto

1,421 posts

Posted by toto > 2019-04-18 12:40 | Report Abuse

Yapchehhak, u gave us a vy interesting & good motivational story. Thank you

Posted by I_like_dividend > 2019-04-18 14:45 | Report Abuse

22 sen dividend nobody keep for long term? Who sell?

Air_Asia

266 posts

Posted by Air_Asia > 2019-04-18 14:50 | Report Abuse

HLX4U no more postings bec cut loss?

newinvestor17

2,150 posts

Posted by newinvestor17 > 2019-04-18 14:54 | Report Abuse

Air_Asia, I am more curious about Jaya, each counter that the fellow enters sure would drop one. His now active in MBB and MBB is dropping, the guy brings bad luck to all counters

Jona0724

812 posts

Posted by Jona0724 > 2019-04-18 15:13 | Report Abuse

safe Kenanga C73 today. next to safe Macq C74

Posted by 129055444514385 > 2019-04-18 15:31 | Report Abuse

secure for Airasia in India now.... Tata holds more than 50% of Airasia India :)

Tatas raise stake in AirAsia India to 51%
This is the first time since the airline’s inception in 2014 that Tata group has become the largest shareholder.
By Mohit Bhalla, Mihir Mishra
Read more at:
//economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/68930760.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

Posted by 129055444514385 > 2019-04-18 15:32 | Report Abuse

India is such a big country, if secured with Tata as the largest shareholders of Airasia India, the future for Airasia in India is very bright :)

This is the first time since the airline’s inception in 2014 that Tata group has become the largest shareholder.
Read more at:
//economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/68930760.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

Posted by 129055444514385 > 2019-04-18 15:34 | Report Abuse

Tatas will help to boost Airasia in India for sure...... very + for Airasia India hahaha

Read more at:

Posted by 129055444514385 > 2019-04-18 15:35 | Report Abuse

India is such a big country with 1billion+ population.... better grab some shares fast fast hahaha

Read more at: