ICAPITAL.BIZ BHD

KLSE (MYR): ICAP (5108)

-0.04 (1.32%)

2.95 - 3.03

5,942 comment(s). Last comment by chopstick 1 day ago

cipta

1,043 posts

Posted by cipta > 2014-12-08 13:06 | Report Abuse

After making noises in the adjourned AGM, a Ex-cop been appointed as independent director of ICAP. Can TTB explain what is the expertise of a ex-cop can safeguard minority's interest in closed end fund? Now we know that non of the present board of directors has the extensive experiences in Closed End Fund. No body check and balance on the fund manager. So one might guess why TTB persistently object major shareholder City of London and Laxey Partner from being appointing expertise in Closed End Fund into ICAP?

deepmarine

464 posts

Posted by deepmarine > 2014-12-08 14:08 | Report Abuse

Kian Leong Lim and others, if you think that TTB is not good enough, please do not hesitate to sell your shares.

deepmarine

464 posts

Posted by deepmarine > 2014-12-08 14:09 | Report Abuse

Please do not talk behind. If you have questions, you should ask during AGM or EGM.

deepmarine

464 posts

Posted by deepmarine > 2014-12-08 14:11 | Report Abuse

How much have you earned from ICAP?Do you think other shares will give the same profit to you?

deepmarine

464 posts

Posted by deepmarine > 2014-12-08 14:13 | Report Abuse

TTB's management style is different from many others. He is protecting our funds and this is why he avoid from investing the money in some risky shares.

bohmiah

102 posts

Posted by bohmiah > 2014-12-08 22:44 | Report Abuse

the so called high-on-high watermark should have been used to calculate the performance fees ... which i think should be fairer ...

anyway, not too sure why there is a need for the dual listing ... might just concentrate on klse which is the bread and butter of the fund ... wondering whether the management fees is still justifies or should it be shared across all the funds :)

bohmiah

102 posts

Posted by bohmiah > 2014-12-08 22:45 | Report Abuse

btw, did anyone ask about the spike in the expense? Heard it was reported somewhere about 700k???

MG9231

809 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2014-12-09 11:47 | Report Abuse

This is the typical Perkasa and Umno argument, helpless ,brainless and no facts and looks stupid in this i3 investors intelligent forum.
People with this mentality is nothing except ball carrier, has no different to members of MCA,MIC and Gerakan

Posted by murali > 2014-12-09 11:48 | Report Abuse

Haha...it's rude but I like yr comment...

Posted by murali > 2014-12-09 11:50 | Report Abuse

And U will find some jokers like bsngpg who is a non shareholder and keep on praising TTB like god as he likes free advice....

MG9231

809 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2014-12-09 11:54 | Report Abuse

No personal intelligent, survive by way of ball carrier and if you give him a small praise, he will treat you higher than his biological parents.

Posted by murali > 2014-12-09 11:58 | Report Abuse

But lots of people really like to worship VIPs....as long as you are rich and famous...they are always there to carry yr bxxxs...

MG9231

809 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2014-12-09 12:01 | Report Abuse

We are discussing the company by facts and its history and not to scold people or asking people to get lost,
By all means if the forumer can highlight points and facts to support his argument and is logical, though we disagree , we still respect him .

Posted by murali > 2014-12-09 12:02 | Report Abuse

Agreed.

MG9231

809 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2014-12-09 12:06 | Report Abuse

So called Superinvestor Mr.KYY? So many are condemning him now, I think his supporters should also come to this forum and ask those who disagree with his title to go away or shut up.....hahaha, what a stupid mentality.....

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-12-09 15:11 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.34

Posted by murali > 2014-12-09 15:14 | Report Abuse

Just buy 100 units will do....will get free angpao n can attend master ttb annual meeting....

deepmarine

464 posts

Posted by deepmarine > 2014-12-09 16:45 | Report Abuse

murali, why you always think that we are supporting ttb.
We actually support the company and our funds.

MG9231

809 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2014-12-09 18:04 | Report Abuse

Why resort to personal attack as well as worshipping because ttb's followers are not thinking independently and rationally. They can't argue or convince others why last 4 years return of icap is horrible compare with what Murali describe as so called Donkey. Once ttb said waiting, though 4 or 5 years of wrong forecasting, they remain " yah ,betul, let's waiting. "
Not just that, TTB started this year with a slogan " waiting is a form of working for fund management " as described by a professor of US, his die hard followers will also blindly shouting his slogan without considering how many years of wrong forecasting he had made. How much fees he had collected .
What about shareholders returns?

MG9231

809 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2014-12-09 18:17 | Report Abuse

Similarly, when Umno can't performed cannot convinced non Malay to support them during GE 13, they used their Umno AGM to make unfounded slandering and bombarding Non Malay . What else can they do?
For any company listed in bursa, what makes shareholders happy is their returns not worshipping.

Posted by Edmund Dominos > 2014-12-09 21:14 | Report Abuse

No hard feeling, 投资是求财,不是求气。just pass this counter and look for something else. What could be more advantageous to walk into a casino filled with gamblers that priority is to do hero worshipping rather than make money. Blind idol worshipping, 道不同不相为谋。

Posted by Edmund Dominos > 2014-12-09 21:24 | Report Abuse

One more thing, fund manager's performance will revert to the mean in long term. Good luck to the villagers that still believe that the wolf is coming after listening to it 5 years. The wolf will come eventually and hopefully TTB is able to lead you to the promised land of market timing.

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-12-11 16:32 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.33

deepmarine

464 posts

Posted by deepmarine > 2014-12-11 20:27 | Report Abuse

Hooi, good. Remember to vote for ttb. They all get poisoned by a sin gad bag named calvintaneng. Mr tan has many experiences in investment and sure will lead the company to growth.

deepmarine

464 posts

Posted by deepmarine > 2014-12-11 21:14 | Report Abuse

voting ttb

walau2u

271 posts

Posted by walau2u > 2014-12-12 00:13 | Report Abuse

If u look at Icap, the portfolio is less attractive especially Parkson ( sunset company as experienced by Nokia). No wonder market give high discount towards its NAV. The only good thing is high cash value. But if TTB keeps sleeping, the cash pile also useless.

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-12-12 11:26 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.32

Posted by Protectcap > 2014-12-12 11:44 | Report Abuse

whether intentionally or unintentionally, ttb not taking any action to tackle the discount as per spelt out in the prospectus, there by giving hope to retailers that they are buying icap at under value..?? But keeping cash waiting for market crash, the NAV would fall as well...I am one of the very earliest subscriber of Icap,..drop off after few years as as he still taking of Parkson..which is not doing well in China( used to)..with Alibaba the game changer..so he got lost of the new investment structure and without doing anything?? ..but to show sincerity,he should give rebate of his fund fees...since what is is doing as mostly PR, even at his expense ( look good?) but the source is from the million fees he charge...He should get some retired fund manager to sit in the board to brain storm investment idea and stock picks since he is going global, not a polis ( with due respect) to catch stocks??

chonghai

481 posts

Posted by chonghai > 2014-12-12 13:38 | Report Abuse

I don't think there is any question with TTB's ability to pick winning stocks. His failure for the past 3 years is due to the fact that he think he is smarter than the whole world and try to play market timing. So far he failed to deliver and keep on giving all sorts of excuse.

Going forward however, do not write him off. It is a matter of time before a bear comes. Once in a while roulette ball will fall into zero.

I am not a shareholder of Icap for the past 2 years but I will be in future. While I will vote for TTB to remain, I will also vote for Laxey to be in the board.

Kevin Wong

416 posts

Posted by Kevin Wong > 2014-12-12 14:54 | Report Abuse

Ever since the establishment of the KL stock mart, those who practised the fully invested in quality stocks throughout all the up and down swings of the KLCi,had mostly found it worthwhile. Or, at least not had to endure as much anxiety, angst, fear, stress...as those who believ that they can consistently and correctly time and outsmart mart! I believe the reason why so many investors make losses, is because most of'em practises...you know which one of the two methods/strategies i mentioned!

Kevin Wong

416 posts

Posted by Kevin Wong > 2014-12-14 19:06 | Report Abuse

Almost all the billionaire investors had warned against timing marts. In fact most of then believe that any time is a good time to invest, as long there's value in that particular stock. They concentrate on individual stocks, not the general mart. For them, it's not only futile but also foolhardy to believe that anyone could possibily consistently and correctly time or outsmart mart.
I can only name one man who became a billionaire through timing markets, J Livermore - and he was a speculator not investor!

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2014-12-14 19:25 | Report Abuse

Yes, J Livermore did pretty well for many years. But gambling always end in tears if you don't quit for good. J Livermore eventually in the end lost all & committed suicide.

Ben Graham, John Templeton, Walter Schloss, Peter Lynch, Warren Buffet, John Neff and Mark Mobius stay invested at all times.

Ben Graham advocated selling High Performance Shares & Switch to Those With Bond Like Nature during market peak.

John Neff also switch from those with high P/E to low P/E stocks all the time. Always searching for Out of Favour Bargain Shares.

Peter Lynch did the best of all. When Dow crashed 25% in 1987 Peter was away in Europe. He was thinking of those bargains which the Crashing Market unearthed. He kept rotating his portfolio of over 2,000 US Stocks.

None of these Stalwarts practice market timing by doing nothing. Warren might keep a cash buffer. But he doesn't sit idly and wait. He is constantly studying the market - looking for the next bargains to buy.

I think Bursa has been falling these past weeks. Bargains are now emerging again in a time of panic selling. This offers a window of opportunity for TTB to deploy his cash now.

Unless he is still stuck with the idea that we are entering the Next Great Depression.

If so, he should just sell off everything and return all monies to investors and finally call it a day.

In year 1969 Warren Buffet closed down his venture investment fund as he saw nothing to buy. He returned all invested monies to all share holders.

Kevin Wong

416 posts

Posted by Kevin Wong > 2014-12-14 20:09 | Report Abuse

Even billionaire growth investor Phil Fisher, hold many of his stocks for decades. None of this billionaires ever bother to time marts, as they are investors, not speculators, except for of course Livermore.

Kevin Wong

416 posts

Posted by Kevin Wong > 2014-12-14 20:55 | Report Abuse

Billionaire investor J Bogle, said that he is a investor. and not in the business of timing markets. He added that ""timing markets is the job for the traders and speculators, not investors"". Then i'm too more of a speculator than a investor!

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-12-15 10:07 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.31

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-12-15 10:16 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.30

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-12-15 12:22 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.29

Posted by TabulaRasa > 2014-12-15 12:48 | Report Abuse

Hooi, how much do you buy per trade if you don't mind sharing. Surely if one trades too often then the transaction costs eat into our share performance?

Unless of course you have significant amount to invest. :-)

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-12-15 14:12 | Report Abuse

Around RM5-7k

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-12-15 16:00 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.28

chrisyap

615 posts

Posted by chrisyap > 2014-12-15 16:45 | Report Abuse

whoa ! ttb indeed has virtuous patience .. hehe

MG9231

809 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2014-12-15 18:36 | Report Abuse

What patient ? What about opportunity cost of holding cash in last 5 years?

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-12-16 09:15 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.23-2.26

Posted by TabulaRasa > 2014-12-16 11:47 | Report Abuse

If TTB's bearish opinion of the KLSE is right (which I happen to agree based on our weakening ringgit, lower oil price, high household debt and exposure to commodity prices), then the current downturn is only the beginning. Sit tight ladies and gents.

deepmarine

464 posts

Posted by deepmarine > 2014-12-17 17:31 | Report Abuse

Taiko, TTB said in 5 yr la not now ok?

deepmarine

464 posts

Posted by deepmarine > 2014-12-22 20:15 | Report Abuse

ttb will give icap the biggest return.

kc888

122 posts

Posted by kc888 > 2014-12-29 21:54 | Report Abuse

TTB thought KLCI will crash but again KLCI rebounds......let TTB wait n wait..........he can enjoy alr with his bungalow and nice car.....those ICAP shareholder than will suffer.............

MG9231

809 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2014-12-29 22:04 | Report Abuse

Haha , year after year, he enjoys his 7millions commission and companion of sweet girls while what icap Bhd share owners get ? Free air and rain water. Never mind, they asked for it.

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-01-03 19:39 | Report Abuse

Everything Rises Or Falls On Leadership. Leadership is Priceless.

Hi there!

Today, I just finished reading The SINGAPORE EDGEDAILY.

Among the Speakers for Investment Outlook 2015 was Tan Teng Boo. He believes that US will crash soon and all markets will also crash 30% to 40%. So his fund is now in Cash parked in US Dollars. His dream is to wait for stock market to crash and then scoop up cheap bargains.

This is really a form of speculation. A form of gambling with your invested funds. If I am holding any ICapBiz shares I will straightaway sell them off this monday.

Investment takes work. Warren Buffet reads tons & tons of material everyday to unearth valuable buys for his shareholders. Peter Lynch worked even harder. Peter Lynch read, research and traveled widely to find that next super growth company. The hard word took a toll on Peter Lynch and his hair turned grey. That's why he retired early. Not sitting in a sports car milling around silly girls of no value like TTB.

I really feel sorry for all here with your funds parked in most cash. With the crash of Ringgit against Renminbi at 8% all imported China goods will go up 8%. GST at 6% makes it 14% inflation.

Cash is a sure losing proposition. 14% - 3.5% FD rate equals a clear loss of 10.05% this year!

You have to be fully invested in shares that will benefit from Oil & Ringgit CRASH!
Defensive shares that protect you from your losses by monetary depreciation.

Bargains abound right now in KLSE if you know where to look.

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2015-01-03 19:53 | Report Abuse

Agreed with Calvin Tan's view, never ever time the market.