AFFIN BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AFFIN (5185)

2.82 - 2.87

4,141 comment(s). Last comment by TheContrarian 6 hours ago

Posted by eewernsim > 2011-05-16 14:41 | Report Abuse

will recent BLR hike add value to this stock?

Eng Han

190 posts

Posted by Eng Han > 2011-11-08 07:43 | Report Abuse

Time to rebound

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2011-11-08 08:49 | Report Abuse

wats the difference between underweight, outperform/overperform, and underperform? When's the time to buy in? pls advise

berid

465 posts

Posted by berid > 2011-11-08 12:37 | Report Abuse

waiting to rebound.. hold some.. but no sign of any rebound..

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2011-11-08 17:12 | Report Abuse

It will surely rebound to perhaps $3.50++. Please remember this bank makes plenty of profits.

johan

Posted by johan > 2011-11-20 19:51 | Report Abuse

good counter

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2011-11-20 20:24 | Report Abuse

tomorrow the light will shine on Affin. With good earnings & posting 45% more pre-tax profit, we will see Affin price shoots up tomorrow morning. Maybe it will continue to swing upwards to $4 perhaps? So please come prepared with your money handy to buy Affin ...lol

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2011-11-20 20:32 | Report Abuse

Want to make some real money, then go for Affin shares tomorrow morning. The cheapest bank shares in the market with reference to it's NTA & earnings......yahoooooooooooooooooo.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2011-11-20 20:35 | Report Abuse

Affin Holdings Bhd's pre-tax profit for the third quarter ended
Sept 30, 2011 rose by 44.9 per cent to RM216.2 million from RM149.2 million in the same period last year.

Revenue increased to RM680.1 million from RM597.8 million, the company said in a statement today.

For the nine months ended Sept 30, 2011, its pre-tax profit increased to RM534.5 million from RM480.8 million in the same period last year. Revenue rose to RM2 billion from RM1.7 billion previously.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2011-11-22 15:08 | Report Abuse

Stupid RHBInvest Research now give a nonsense TP of $2.05.....what nonsense when Affin is making money & for the 1st time give a high dividend of 12 cents compared to previous 9 cents yearly. Remember they gave a TP of $2.12 last but Affin went as high as $3. Now you be the better judge.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2011-11-22 15:43 | Report Abuse

I presume Affin can go as high at $3.50++

siaww78

7 posts

Posted by siaww78 > 2011-11-22 17:25 | Report Abuse

RHB is worse broker house i even see..

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2011-12-04 18:46 | Report Abuse

alextoh43 when any research house say 'hold' or 'underweight' mean we must buy fast! most of the time is true .... dont know why? ...yes, alextoh43, just buy & buy only & you can't go wrong. Affin should be ripe for a takeover too I guess....small banks can be easily makan habis.

tand3

101 posts

Posted by tand3 > 2012-01-23 01:16 | Report Abuse

Bro chong, What is your TP for Affin Bank? At 3.22 should I sell or should I buy somemore? Thanks and Happy CNY.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-01-23 02:30 | Report Abuse

Brother tand3, when at first I recommend you all to buy, it was around $2.80 to $2.90...now it's around $3.22 last. That means you should have made a easy profit of around 12%. I think there's still room for it to go higher ground brother tand3, but then brother tand3, this is not a hit & run counter. Buy & keep for mid or long term....should go as far as $3.50++.
I last bough back Affin at $2.28 [after selling mine previously at $3.56] when the stupid RHB research said it would go down as down as far low as $2.02 and plenty of headless chickens panic & sold & I buy & buy & still holding even though I collect my dividends.
But then brother tand3, I cannot predict that my TP will be like around $3.50 [still got 28 cents to go] in a few months time but I still have faith in this Affin but then you have to keep in mind of the uncertainties in Europe before you buy.

Cheers & a Happy Chinese New Year to you & your family too....take care too.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-01-23 02:37 | Report Abuse

Brother tand3, at the price of $3.22, it's still a good price to sell if you had follow my earlier recommendation as you are making a good profit. So I leave it to you to decide but do wait for a few days more after CNY & see the trend before you decide to sell.

tand3

101 posts

Posted by tand3 > 2012-01-24 01:39 | Report Abuse

Dear Bro Chong,

Thanks for your opinion.....Cheers.

Keep In Touch....Retail Investor should always help each other and shares opinion / investment opportunity.

Glad to have/know ppl like you brother Chong. We are investor not speculator.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-01-24 06:46 | Report Abuse

Thank you brother tand3 for your kind words. Yes, our market is indeed like a CASINO & there are lots of sharks, ulars, conmen, etc & you must very very careful with your hard earned money brother tand3. Let me tell you frankly & honestly this....NOBODY IS GOING TO HAND YOU EVERYTHING ON A SILVER PLATTER. Brother, it's a dog eat dog world & things are not what you see & think, please learn & face the REALITY OF PLAYING SHARES....better be SMART then to be REALLY REALLY SORRY later.

I had seen some SELFISH bloggers who had ULTERIOR MOTIVES & who are all for themselves to make money FOR THEMSELVES ONLY & YOU ALL , THE INNOCENT ONES, AS THE PAWNS. But then there are a few good bloggers too, this I got to admit. I had seen some bloggers recommending BUY, YES BUY, for some REALLY LOUSY COUNTERS that had year in and year out showing it's reports FULL OF RED INK & ON TOP OF THAT, THESE BLOGGERS GIVE THEIR OWN TP....OMG. My friend, these are the people who will really bring you to HOLLAND, so please, please do your homework & NOT DIVE BLINDLY, YES BLINDLY, INTO THESE REALLY LOUSY COUNTERS THAT SOME VERY SELFISH BLOGGERS RECOMMEND. These very lousy smeared with plenty of red ink & had nothing promising to show, NO MERGERS, NO TAKEN PRIVATE, NO INJECTION OF ANYTHING, etc, etc & these bloggers had the GUTS TO ASK YOU ALL TO BUY & BUY & THEY GIVING A VERY GOOD TP JUST TO TEMPT YOU FOR SOME REALLY EASY MONEY.

One final word, ALWAYS TRUST YOURSELF & NO ONE ELSE INCLUDING ME AS WE ALL ARE ALL FACELESS PROPLE IN THIS INTERNET WORLD.

Cheers brother tand3, take care my friend.

Email me if you want too here..

chong126118@gmail.com

Posted by ALLAN WONG > 2012-01-24 09:20 | Report Abuse

bro chong reading your blog seems to me u are a reasonable guy when come to stock investing.keep on your good work.

Posted by liew kimguan > 2012-01-24 10:36 | Report Abuse

tq sharing opinion by above senior blogger...

Posted by shudeep roy > 2012-01-24 12:55 | Report Abuse

hi Chong do you have an investment blog that we newbies can refer thanks

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-01-24 17:30 | Report Abuse

Brother shudeep roy, email me please & I will talk to you. Take care my friend.

cmlooi

465 posts

Posted by cmlooi > 2012-01-24 23:55 | Report Abuse

Recommendations are not a good thing to do. Best to learn it yourself. Go enroll in some courses both fundamental and technicals. That way you keep your head and don't blame the other guy when the other guy goes on long holiday and forgets recommending a sell to you when he's already done that. Investors = long term speculators. In stocks there's no certainty. There's only probabilities. Cheers.

Kent Lee

211 posts

Posted by Kent Lee > 2012-01-25 01:04 | Report Abuse

chong... u r the man... Happy CNY

Adam Ryan

470 posts

Posted by Adam Ryan > 2012-01-25 01:43 | Report Abuse

cmlooi: Warren buffet 3rd richest man in the world. he is investor. Yes investing is not easy. That why many people are fail to do that. Most of people are speculator, coz everyone want fast money right? in other word newbies, 1st came to stock market they call themself trader, when they stuck at stock they change to investor. Conclusion is they are speculator not investor or trader. For me what ever trader or investor with good knowlege make money in stock market.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-01-25 08:55 | Report Abuse

Think Affin will move higher today too...stay on.

Posted by Stephen Lee > 2012-01-25 09:49 | Report Abuse

Alot of Bloggers here bring naive investors to HOLLAND and they express their views only and would not claimed responsiblity.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-01-25 10:05 | Report Abuse

Affin go go goooooooooooooo

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-01-25 10:07 | Report Abuse

Brother tand3 , you good times had come for you..congrats

cpteh

Posted by cpteh > 2012-01-25 10:19 | Report Abuse

Affin at Rm3.30 now, yes ... I written that to buy at RM2.85 levels. Now, I need to point it out that bloggers like us ... some are sincere to share and help those newbies or novices. We need to be smart enough to see and analyse it ourselves. We should NOT blame it on SC, broker-houses, dealers or remisiers, bloggers(poor me) ... or ANYONE, including your dogs ... for our losses. We should LEARN to take mistakes and ANALYSE our mistakes constructively. If a blogger brings you some losses, it could be you BELIEVED him and followed blindly. To me, I like to share and teach those newbies or novices. They should have a good guidance and in a way, I hope my blog could bring awareness of homework needs to be done.

tansrihew

191 posts

Posted by tansrihew > 2012-01-25 14:22 | Report Abuse

well done cpteh. thanks for all the guidance given

Posted by qwerty8888 > 2012-02-22 14:32 | Report Abuse

despite the profit increase as per report but lack of buyer's interest due to All credit to write-backs - CIMB

Posted by vincentljy > 2012-03-09 23:23 | Report Abuse

Anyone have comments on Affin ? Can buy ? since financial result is good.

jacklew

499 posts

Posted by jacklew > 2012-05-30 11:19 | Report Abuse

Definitely CIMB would not want Affin to go up because they issued Affin CF, Expiry date: 30/08/2012, Exercise price: 3.00....now traded at RM0.07, conversion Ratio 3:1. Mother price at RM 3.08. Never trust them !!! Do your homework better.

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2012-05-30 11:37 | Report Abuse

no laa...Following Affin Bank Bhd's financial year 2012 first quarter results announcement last week, a re-rating of the bank is possible considering its new dividend policy of 50% and the likelihood of Bank of East Asia (BEA) increasing its stake in Affin in the near future.

Affin, the second smallest of eight local banking groups, registered a 56 per cent rise in first quarter net profit, boosted by improved earnings at its insurance associate and writebacks.

Larger-sized rivals like Malayan Banking Bhd and CIMB Group Holdings Bhd have a dividend policy payout ratio of between 40 per cent and 60 per cent, while RHB Capital Bhd's is 30 per cent.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-06-26 09:36 | Report Abuse

Go for Affin ...go go goooooooooo

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-06-26 09:36 | Report Abuse

Go for son CJ

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2012-06-26 09:39 | Report Abuse

bro Chong, son CJ only? tks for adv..

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-06-26 09:43 | Report Abuse

exchange rate better & longer period to expiry too...CK also can. Affin shares someone may buy over some HK company.

Posted by sam chwee > 2012-06-26 12:09 | Report Abuse

Bro Chong, how about CH?

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-06-26 12:23 | Report Abuse

CH also can

Posted by sam chwee > 2012-06-26 12:27 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the advice. How do I get to your Forum?

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-06-27 00:15 | Report Abuse

Hong Leong Bank Tan Sri Quek & his Kong Kong company seems to be interested in Affin & had been collecting...so watch out.

Cheers.

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-06-27 05:56 | Report Abuse

BEA seems to have shot down that notion. This will be interesting as I am of the opinion that BEA may be holding back for aa better deal. They have already divested their iinterest in both USA and Canada.

Quek is a season player in the market.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-06-27 06:14 | Report Abuse

Yes, BEA wishes to hive of it's Affin shares, that's for sure and make a profit of more than $200 million. Now they are sending feelers out hoping to get a better pricing and there won't be short of buyers for their Affin shares.

Cheers.

simonfish

53 posts

Posted by simonfish > 2012-06-27 07:16 | Report Abuse

Dear Chong, If affin counter go to 4.00rm, how the price of CJ son? pls advise. thanks

bliss

39 posts

Posted by bliss > 2012-06-27 07:39 | Report Abuse

If Affin at 4.00 cj worth 0.35

simonfish

53 posts

Posted by simonfish > 2012-06-27 08:34 | Report Abuse

Thanks bliss, I am going to buy in this morning. Can buy the CJ son counter? Pls advise. Thanks

peanut

62 posts

Posted by peanut > 2012-06-27 09:00 | Report Abuse

me pun follow...thanks pls advise

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-06-27 09:47 | Report Abuse

comingggggggggggggggg