AFFIN BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AFFIN (5185)

+0.01 (0.35%)

2.84 - 2.87

4,141 comment(s). Last comment by TheContrarian 2 minutes ago

Posted by patricksim53 > 2014-10-25 15:09 | Report Abuse

Keep on buying. Recently the financial M & A is getting hotter with CIMB, RHB and MBSB finalizing their merger. With a net asset per share @4.27, EPS @0.43sen and a low PE of 9.71 this is a good buy. Who knows someone out there may want to "fish" Affin. I expect the share price to be above RM4.00. Don't know why it is so low.

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2014-10-25 15:21 | Report Abuse

Affin is by ex-soilders bank. Hard to move management and you got it right .. Slow bank. Juz go to any branch and watch service! BUT got the highest FD interest rates.

Posted by activetrader > 2014-10-27 00:34 | Report Abuse

bank islam was once 1.300 but no one talk about because no IB promote. once it got some headlines. It shoot up to highest RM5. Now ppl say Affin sow bla bla bla... when ppl take over it, it shoot up to RM5.00 too. then ppl say i should have bought it when its 3.300.. Like Alliance Bank when price at 3.00 nobody bother.. say the bank very small .... cant make profit...blablabla... when they announce decent earnings then all IB started to initiate coverage price shoot up 5.500+... then ppl say i should have bought it when the price stood at 3.00... Now i would say Affin is the final chance for you to enter at cheap price. Who cares their slow service? BIMB was also slow... but the price now???Choice yours!

Posted by activetrader > 2014-10-27 00:36 | Report Abuse

They keep the price low and waiting for M&A. if the price too high for now then the upside when takeover will be limited :)

Posted by patricksim53 > 2014-10-27 11:05 | Report Abuse

You are right, activetrader!

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2014-10-29 08:07 | Report Abuse

keep on collecting, this is THE jewel now among bank shares. activetrader right, price shoot up when M&A which is inevitable soon. Now price lowest so upside is tremendous.

sbzk

806 posts

Posted by sbzk > 2014-11-01 18:56 | Report Abuse

upside coming nextweek

Posted by coredarkness > 2014-11-07 12:14 | Report Abuse

No M&A. the chairman said there is a niche for small players. You know there are here to stay.

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2014-11-07 12:27 | Report Abuse

M&A sooner or later is inevitable for small players to survive...

sbzk

806 posts

Posted by sbzk > 2014-11-07 14:11 | Report Abuse

coming soon ..........r u ready???

Posted by buffetthe2nd > 2014-11-07 15:36 | Report Abuse

epf r doing panic sell...those who wanna buy can Q below RM 3...

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2014-11-07 16:13 | Report Abuse

epf buy and sell all the time in all their counters, need to get margins for year end close

sbzk

806 posts

Posted by sbzk > 2014-11-08 00:47 | Report Abuse

if below rm3 i will sapu all

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2014-11-08 15:23 | Report Abuse

from whichever angle you look at it, got M&A or not, Affin still the cheapest bank share and this situation will not last too long.

vews08

494 posts

Posted by vews08 > 2014-11-09 11:27 | Report Abuse

Next week will hit RM3 , wait and see

Johnnys

759 posts

Posted by Johnnys > 2014-11-09 11:38 | Report Abuse

wow if can drop to RM 3 I will all in. please drop....

Walao

75 posts

Posted by Walao > 2014-11-09 13:50 | Report Abuse

Below $3? Speculation without common sense? Anyhow if is true just grab more, no regret.

sbzk

806 posts

Posted by sbzk > 2014-11-10 20:35 | Report Abuse

buy buy now!

homosapien

102 posts

Posted by homosapien > 2014-11-12 21:07 | Report Abuse

why drop so much? affin loan to 1MDB?

sbzk

806 posts

Posted by sbzk > 2014-11-13 14:25 | Report Abuse

do u think they will so stupid just loan to them??

aklobi

295 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2014-11-15 18:33 | Report Abuse

I am in since Friday 14th Nov. A Saudi investor. Any further declines means more buys for me. Plus there is a rumor: Maybank is considering a merger by buying Affin. They don't want to be 2nd biggest bank after the merger of CIMB RHB and MSB

sbzk

806 posts

Posted by sbzk > 2014-11-15 20:02 | Report Abuse

aklobi really? where u get the rumours??

SNCA

62 posts

Posted by SNCA > 2014-11-15 20:49 | Report Abuse

when the quarter report released ?

aklobi

295 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2014-11-15 21:07 | Report Abuse

sbzk it is just a rumor. Maybe true or false. The saying goes: there is no smoke without fire. I made my decision based on fundamentals. I am lining up cash to buy more if the price goes down more.

Posted by buffetthe2nd > 2014-11-15 21:18 | Report Abuse

this year dividend will cut down to 10cent...run for your life monday

aklobi

295 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2014-11-15 21:20 | Report Abuse

Released 22 Sep 2014 by Maybanl Research: "The merger of Affin Investment Bank and HwangDBS Investment Bank has completed and the official commencement of operations for the newly formed Affin Hwang Capital begins today. Affin Hwang Capital, which is based in KL and Penang, had a total workforce of 1,900 including remisiers across Malaysia, the company said in a statement. The business serves over 20,000 individuals, corporate and institutional clients, and manages about MYR30b in assets". The commencement of operations for the newly formed Affin Hwang Capital only began 22 Sep! 2 months ago. The losses recorded in H1 were understandable. The stock price in my view is oversold. Any positive results of the merger might appear Q3 or H2 but surely will appear next year.

aklobi

295 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2014-11-15 22:37 | Report Abuse

I would be surprised if they pay out dividends. Taking into account the merger costs and need to preserve cash. I believe that the current share price has already priced in a non dividend payout. If a dividend is announced, the price might shoot up. I believe this is the moment of rebound for this stock.

Posted by Amit Khindriya > 2014-11-18 10:01 | Report Abuse

aklobi - what are the fundamentals of Affin now? Trading so much below NTA? What is the gearing of this bank? Earnings potential?

sbzk

806 posts

Posted by sbzk > 2014-11-18 12:56 | Report Abuse

shit bank............ useless.........

member41

3,718 posts

Posted by member41 > 2014-11-18 13:24 | Report Abuse

Qtrly result should be out anytime?

tingalfred

127 posts

Posted by tingalfred > 2014-11-18 19:27 | Report Abuse

Cheap

beso

2,137 posts

Posted by beso > 2014-11-18 21:49 | Report Abuse

trading below nta does not mean it is cheap

sbzk

806 posts

Posted by sbzk > 2014-11-19 00:16 | Report Abuse

cheap already, i dont know whether will be cheaper ...later.......
this bank everyday down like nobody business.

ohy2012

91 posts

Posted by ohy2012 > 2014-11-19 07:20 | Report Abuse

艾芬股价是否合理,我想再等几天第三季度的业绩报告出来后就会明朗化。

plaxo 88

152 posts

Posted by plaxo 88 > 2014-11-19 14:01 | Report Abuse

ohy2012 as you can see, all in this forum write in English......can you translate pls?

ohy2012

91 posts

Posted by ohy2012 > 2014-11-19 20:04 | Report Abuse

plaxo 88, whether the share price of affin is cheap or reasonable, we have to wait and see after Q3 result is out.

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2014-11-24 15:58 | Report Abuse

affin price now very attractive for takeover, merger by the big ones.:))

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2014-11-24 20:42 | Report Abuse

Interim dividend declared 15sen per share :))

Walao

75 posts

Posted by Walao > 2014-11-24 20:46 | Report Abuse

Good!

aklobi

295 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2014-11-25 05:52 | Report Abuse

Congrats everyone! Still monitoring stock for further accumulation on my part :)

Posted by RiskManagement > 2014-11-25 09:27 | Report Abuse

the 15cents div is sustainable huhu!!!

kenneth89

2,695 posts

Posted by kenneth89 > 2014-11-25 10:04 | Report Abuse

IF BASE ON 3.12 PRICE IZZIT 15 CENT DIVIDEND IS 4.8%?

kenneth89

2,695 posts

Posted by kenneth89 > 2014-11-25 10:20 | Report Abuse

CAN I ASK U A QUESTION? LET SAY IF DIVIDEND EX DATE 8/10/14 ENTITLE DATE 10/12/14 AND PAYMENT DATE 15/12/14… IF I BOUGHT THE SHARE ON 07/10/14 AND SELL ON 09/10/14.. SO I WILL GET THE DIVIDEND ON 15/12/14?

member41

3,718 posts

Posted by member41 > 2014-11-25 10:22 | Report Abuse

Kenneth yes to both

kenneth89

2,695 posts

Posted by kenneth89 > 2014-11-25 10:27 | Report Abuse

HI MEMBER, NICE TO MEET YOU… WHAT PRICE DID U FEEL THAT I NEED TO ENTER? 2.90 ?

aklobi

295 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2014-11-25 10:44 | Report Abuse

Kenneth.. 2.90 is very unlikely. I plan to add more if it touches 3.01-04. This is a bargain stock already.

kenneth89

2,695 posts

Posted by kenneth89 > 2014-11-25 10:46 | Report Abuse

NOW SUPPORT AT 3.10 … U FEEL WILL DROP TO 3.04?

gohlai

469 posts

Posted by gohlai > 2014-11-25 11:14 | Report Abuse

this is even cheaper than umwog (3.21) that only give you a miserable RM10 for dividend.....this is a good buy

Posted by followme1955 > 2014-11-25 11:47 | Report Abuse

15 sen dividend.it will push the price back to 3.30 mark this week.

Posted by RiskManagement > 2014-11-25 12:17 | Report Abuse

followme : hopefully. i have fate with this counter.