GAMUDA BHD

KLSE (MYR): GAMUDA (5398)

-0.04 (0.50%)

7.91 - 8.03

6 people like this.

17,344 comment(s). Last comment by yeinemesis 22 hours ago

Posted by hollandking > 2018-10-10 10:43 | Report Abuse

Why the hell some of you don't read the whole thing and cherry pick.

"Should we instead question why MMC Gamuda had initially agreed to, but subsequently refused to share costing data with the independent consulting engineer to justify its cost, claiming “trade secrets”?"

pengwin

1,707 posts

Posted by pengwin > 2018-10-10 10:44 | Report Abuse

@sardin81 2.33 maybe can get today but may be lower tomorrow

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2018-10-10 10:44 | Report Abuse

Hope Gamuda management will open up and look more for the future. Gamuda and employees will survive strongly so long as the project is revived. Please give more to the PH govt and indirectly save Malaysia as well as yourselves. More good projects will transpire if nego is a success and Gamuda will hit gold.

KAQ4468

21,497 posts

Posted by KAQ4468 > 2018-10-10 10:45 | Report Abuse

Posted by pengwin > Oct 10, 2018 10:38 AM | Report Abuse

going red soon...hit 2.37 already

of coz it's going to red ...

any counter in Bursa will turn into red after Hng33 buying

kah kah kah

Posted by hollandking > 2018-10-10 10:46 | Report Abuse

first class hons cant find job?????

Posted by AntiPondan1 > 2018-10-10 10:47 | Report Abuse

Drop back. Afternoon turn red?

49,686 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2018-10-10 10:48 | Report Abuse

Kill local company and look for international vendor..

Look familiar!

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2018-10-10 10:49 | Report Abuse

Masuk balik tunnel..... red

DamienCYH

86 posts

Posted by DamienCYH > 2018-10-10 10:49 | Report Abuse

actually how much done the mrt2 underground by Gamuda? it's 40% or 60%?

Posted by hollandking > 2018-10-10 10:51 | Report Abuse

if first class hons cant find job means that talent shouldn't be judged by academic qualification

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2018-10-10 10:53 | Report Abuse

Gamuda lied----where got 600 companies + 20K Bangla workers----The Boring machines is fully
automated (position by GPS--within 2inches accurate). The Industrial Diamond Cutter are imported
from Many Countries( happened to see one container at Port Klang )
Maybe 500 BN companies got commission

Posted by hollandking > 2018-10-10 10:53 | Report Abuse

talent? well, i think diff ppl may have diff standard on talents. Well, some may have a higher standard compared to others. Someone who judged a person as talent may just be a mediocre to others

sjwee3

529 posts

Posted by sjwee3 > 2018-10-10 10:54 | Report Abuse

Don't be high profiling write letter threatening people, the more you do the more you will be an eyesore for people to get rid of. Keep quite and accept the term issue by govt.

Posted by optimusprimeXV > 2018-10-10 10:56 | Report Abuse

epf keeps buying and the fools keep shorting

Cindybull

1,123 posts

Posted by Cindybull > 2018-10-10 10:57 | Report Abuse

hopefully all these ppl who curse people jobless will be jobless soon and let them taste their own medicine..any ph is lousy la..don't know to creat just only know citing.. lousy to max

Beza

1,847 posts

Posted by Beza > 2018-10-10 10:57 | Report Abuse

Almost all construction companies are suffering, how are you going ask them to find jobs in another construction company especially if they want to be loyal to their existing company?

Beza

1,847 posts

Posted by Beza > 2018-10-10 10:57 | Report Abuse

better ask yourself to find a new job lah!

Cindybull

1,123 posts

Posted by Cindybull > 2018-10-10 10:58 | Report Abuse

cuting is the specialty no clue on how to creat opportunity and jib much better now many regreted

Beza

1,847 posts

Posted by Beza > 2018-10-10 10:59 | Report Abuse

Cindybull hopefully all these ppl who curse people jobless will be jobless soon and let them taste their own medicine..any ph is lousy la..don't know to creat just only know citing.. lousy to max

Then they can feel it.

Pilotsport

1,064 posts

Posted by Pilotsport > 2018-10-10 11:00 | Report Abuse

Short short short

Pilotsport

1,064 posts

Posted by Pilotsport > 2018-10-10 11:00 | Report Abuse

Tsh call short

Posted by hollandking > 2018-10-10 11:02 | Report Abuse

simple , reveal the costing and we will know if is inflated or not. If gamuda dont want cut cost, very easy, reveal the costing.

Posted by hollandking > 2018-10-10 11:03 | Report Abuse

dont talk shit trade secret blah blah blah. Is not shared to public, is just to the govt.

sjwee3

529 posts

Posted by sjwee3 > 2018-10-10 11:04 | Report Abuse

Struggling in dead mud, the more you move the more you sink.

Cindybull

1,123 posts

Posted by Cindybull > 2018-10-10 11:04 | Report Abuse

ph supporter is heartless and disgusting. just like LGE anyway these bunch will pay their price...they will eventually take out half their pay to gov donation too soon

Cindybull

1,123 posts

Posted by Cindybull > 2018-10-10 11:05 | Report Abuse

Think of ph first rmb before your family let them starv to death these heartless bunch of ph supporter

Cindybull

1,123 posts

Posted by Cindybull > 2018-10-10 11:06 | Report Abuse

lge is just pure plain greedy and yet can act he poor hahahah...eat roti chanai and ask reporter take pic

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2018-10-10 11:06 | Report Abuse

truly understand the plight of the workers. MMC -Gamuda should open up & talk to the Government again. Re-tender on the underground portion ( priority is always for local set ups ) doesnt mean parcel of the tunnelings cancel, means reduction in price and margin for MMC - Gamuda

Cindybull

1,123 posts

Posted by Cindybull > 2018-10-10 11:06 | Report Abuse

Good actor..wear bata outside at home wear golden nike

KAQ4468

21,497 posts

Posted by KAQ4468 > 2018-10-10 11:06 | Report Abuse

petang kena boom

sell

2,453 posts

Posted by sell > 2018-10-10 11:07 | Report Abuse

2.38 low? Why not 1.19 lower?

Posted by hollandking > 2018-10-10 11:07 | Report Abuse

what shit greedy are you talking about? He is saving money for the country.

mykasih99

238 posts

Posted by mykasih99 > 2018-10-10 11:07 | Report Abuse

An Open Letter to MMC-Gamuda

By Tony Pua

Political Secretary to Minister of Finance

Member of Parliament for Damansara

10 Oct 2018

Dear Directors of MMC-Gamuda,

Let me applaud you for putting up a great show since the Minister of Finance, Lim Guan Eng announced the Cabinet decision to

(i) accept the offer from MMC-Gamuda to reduce the cost of the MRT2 Above Ground works by RM5.2 billion to RM17.4 billion (23% reduction) in the form of a turnkey contract and

(ii) terminate the Underground contract as both parties could not reach an agreement on the required price reduction.

You have issued a letter proclaiming innocence, claiming that you were awaiting for an offer from the Ministry of Finance (MoF). You questioned the qualifications of the independent engineering consultant we have engaged. You implied that the decision to terminate was hasty and ill-conceived. You sought sympathy claiming the loss of jobs for no less than 20,000 people (wow!). Your social media actively promoted a campaign to “Save 20,000 Jobs” asking Malaysians to sign the petition. There are viral Whatsapp letters from first class honours engineers regretting support for Pakatan Harapan in the last general election.

The performance and mobilisation of the above campaign are nothing short of impressive. The question of cost of the project to the Government was conveniently ignored.

We had no intention of engaging with you in a public war of words. We tend to reserve that for our political opponents. And after all, we wanted to continue the good working relationship to complete the RM17.42 billion worth of Above Ground works.

However, the obvious brazen attempt to paint yourself an innocent victim to an unjust Harapan government required a response to set the facts right and record straight.

1. The original Underground contract was awarded for RM15.49 billion. MRT Corp awarded additional RM1.2 billion of variation orders which resulted in the revised contract value of RM16.71 billion.

2. After numerous meetings and discussions, you wrote to the Minister on 15 August to offer a revised price of RM15.1 billion. This was mostly a result of shelving the 2 underground stations at Bandar Malaysia North and South.

3. Subsequently on 7 Sep, you offered to reduce the price further to RM14.58 billion for the Underground contract (making it RM32 billion for the entire MRT2 project). This represented a cost saving of RM2.13 billion or a 12.7% reduction. In the words of the Gamuda director at the meeting with the Minister on 4 Sep – “we offer what we can offer, but anything beyond that will be meaningless to continue”.

4. However, based on the study by the independent engineering consultant, MRT Corp should expect total savings between RM4.19 to RM5.79 billion for the estimated remaining 60% portion of works yet to be completed. Yes, this potential savings is just for the balance of works to be completed. Imagine the potential savings if it was for the entire contract.

So the question to be deliberated upon by this new Pakatan Harapan government is very simple.

A. Do we say, “it’s OK la, let’s just accept the RM2.13 billion reduction offered by MMC Gamuda”? After all, we can take this figure and boast to Malaysians of our ‘magnificent’ achievement, for they would know no better that we might have left another RM2 billion of potential savings on the table. Furthermore, it will certainly save us the trouble of having to deal with the negative publicity and the new international tender exercise which has to be carried out. Too much work... Or

B. Do we honour the mandate and trust the people has given us and maximise the savings we can reasonably derive from the project? RM2 billion can pay for 5 hospitals, or 50 schools. RM2 billion is hell of a lot of money when I see my MoF colleagues who are struggling and scrimping to find RM50 million savings here, and RM80 million cuts there for the upcoming Budget.

The Cabinet obviously made the decision to pick the latter. And you seriously telling Malaysians to blame the Cabinet for the termination?

Or would you then pick a different target, as you implied in your media statement, that the independent consulting engineers aren’t sufficiently qualified – despite employing more than 500 staff with a track record of having completed more than 80 projects in 24 countries outside of Malaysia?

Or was it because the government-appointed independent consulting engineer exposed the frequently expounded lie that the cost of MRT1 and MRT2 are well-below the average cost of construction of various Asian Metros, because no one was actually able to substantiate the data provided?

Should we instead question why MMC Gamuda had initially agreed to, but subsequently refused to share costing data with the independent consulting engineer to justify its cost, claiming “trade secrets”?

To the 26 year old first-class honours engine

49,686 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2018-10-10 11:08 | Report Abuse

rmkfac100812 TP : We had no intention of engaging with you in a public war of words. We tend to reserve that for our political opponents. => Your open letter to is on basis of politics or bznz? You are POLITICAL secretary right?
10/10/2018 11:01

Gamuda as listed company and need to report to bursa for some big issue...

Not public war$

Cindybull

1,123 posts

Posted by Cindybull > 2018-10-10 11:08 | Report Abuse

non stop collecting...cheap sales hahahah...shark so happy now

Beza

1,847 posts

Posted by Beza > 2018-10-10 11:08 | Report Abuse

Tony can check from their (Gamuda/MMC) annual/quarterly reports lah to get some lights. Why so lazy to check? No business especially big one shall reveal to all especially rivals about their costing to keep surviving well.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2018-10-10 11:11 | Report Abuse

Even the bangla work in gamuda wear rolex..... sure project cost high

mykasih99

238 posts

Posted by mykasih99 > 2018-10-10 11:12 | Report Abuse

This crisis have to be managed properly, its not a new technology as so many countries had implemented MRT, Bullet train. Japan had implemented bullet train so many years ago,they have 4 seasons, earthquake prone, typhoon and all to consider when they built. There must be a standard to calculate the costs

Beza

1,847 posts

Posted by Beza > 2018-10-10 11:13 | Report Abuse

Right. Maurice.

striker888

245 posts

Posted by striker888 > 2018-10-10 11:13 | Report Abuse

So not only the umnoputras are used to free money. A lot of gamuda share holders want the gravy to keep flowing too. Too bad, even the gold mountain will eventually become empty, as the saying goes

viknes36

47 posts

Posted by viknes36 > 2018-10-10 11:15 | Report Abuse

dont be greedy for short term profit. invest wisely and not gamble. else u have only urself to complaint.

sjwee3

529 posts

Posted by sjwee3 > 2018-10-10 11:15 | Report Abuse

Struggling in dead mud. My advice stand there don't move don't drag others. Diam diam at there.

tksw

12,634 posts

Posted by tksw > 2018-10-10 11:17 | Report Abuse

I doubt the letters were written by those ppl loh.... normally ppl dun write so well.. looks like professional writer...

Posted by Lukesharewalker > 2018-10-10 11:19 | Report Abuse

official letters received?

tksw

12,634 posts

Posted by tksw > 2018-10-10 11:21 | Report Abuse

but government cancelled project like that make ppl lost faith loh... previous administration has to be blamed first. I agree to re-negotiate if there is big corruption practices involved but as investors in share market, feel veli sorry loh.. painful oso, although i dun have Gamuda

Posted by hollandking > 2018-10-10 11:24 | Report Abuse

if the finance of a country is not managed well, it will have great consequence in the future. Everything start from small. Look at Greece. Some of you here i think have bad finance management. Do you know how to manage your finance? Cutting expenses isn't just about cutting the biggest part of your expense, is about cutting here and there, bit by bit and piling them up. This is how u managed your finance and this is how some ppl run their biz. If you are the big spender, your biz sure collapsed one. Only the thrifty businessmen would go far.

I give an example how some young ppl spend their money at starbucks, there was an article in the US, a rich entrepreneur he lamented how young ppl these days are spending more than what they could afford and no savings. For young graduates or those just leave schools, those who indulged in branded stuff or etc, try to write down your expenses, you add them up month end, and you will see where your money gone. Just 1 change from you, you can actually saved up a lot BUT these ppl they all spend on expensive foods, drinks, branded stuff. Thrifty ppl don't need to write down their expenses, is only for big spenders who spend more than they could earned or not saving. If you write down , you will see where you gone wrong.

zoizai

1,351 posts

Posted by zoizai > 2018-10-10 11:24 | Report Abuse

This counter is gone. Take ur money and invest to other company that doesn’t have relation with gov project.

49,686 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2018-10-10 11:26 | Report Abuse

Any news conference by TM later, please update here

ray1980

2,992 posts

Posted by ray1980 > 2018-10-10 11:26 | Report Abuse

Truly is truly.Who say would be up this morning? Don't make peoples 'con' action.Money not easy to earn.Becareful all guys...