SHANGRI-LA HOTELS (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): SHANG (5517)

-0.02 (0.95%)

2.09 - 2.12

327 comment(s). Last comment by Income 15 hours ago

4ever5

316 posts

Posted by 4ever5 > 2023-08-28 21:09 | Report Abuse

The QR is not so good TBH. but i am still holding it because i think it wont drop much further.
July is China Summer holiday and our government already expecting full force of China tourist is visiting Malaysia begin in July. So we can expect a much better Quarter 3 result.

hhhiii123

823 posts

Posted by hhhiii123 > 2023-08-29 08:19 | Report Abuse

Good good, hope this coming Christmas will boost entire tourist but not langkawi and redang, wakaka

11,890 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-08-30 07:45 | Report Abuse

China is facing deflating property like what Japan endured from 1992 to 2012. The tourist numbers will shrink significantly going forward & the still huge glut of hotels with more lower-end tourists eg backpackers & outstation locals will ensure 4-star & below hotels will do far better than 5-star & above. Aberdeen's 30mil shrs left remain a Damocles sword hanging over the price since there is unlikely going to be a dividend for at least a year & they can sell & switch to much better, greater potential shares. This danger is more pronounced given the fact that funds can now get a virtually risk-free 5% or greater return sitting in cash.

Posted by Banana John > 2023-08-30 21:33 | Report Abuse

China rich ppl still a lot furthermore recently China boycott Japan. these rich Chinese tourist may take Malaysia as alternative option.

26,823 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-08-30 21:39 | Report Abuse

no way! u look how bad chinese are treated here, u think Chinaman wan to come here? remember Chinaman look like local chinese, most of these tourist are badly treated

limch6229

19 posts

Posted by limch6229 > 2023-08-31 23:07 | Report Abuse

A couple of percent (1 or 2%) of China tourists already over millions of spending power... not forgetting we have India too...

Posted by It's Compounding > 2023-09-15 11:26 | Report Abuse

Anyone knows what is the status of ABRDN? Has it sold below 5% already? The price keeps dropping seem like institutionals sell off their holdings.

hhhiii123

823 posts

Posted by hhhiii123 > 2023-09-15 13:48 | Report Abuse

Hopefully next qr profitable also, at least this share can keep for long term

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-09-15 13:51 | Report Abuse

G.g

teknikal

184 posts

Posted by teknikal > 2023-10-11 15:08 | Report Abuse

Still in bearish trend despite recent rebound as it is below MA20. It has to close above 2.24 then 2.44 to reverse the downtrend.

11,890 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-10-11 16:03 | Report Abuse

Speculatively BOUGHT Shangri-La for the 1st time EVER, betting on a rebound from severely oversold position @ 12-yr lows.

James_Bond

3,361 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-10-16 12:21 | Report Abuse

Accumulating mode…

Posted by Fabien _the efficient capital allocator > 2023-10-16 20:51 | Report Abuse

What happened to Shang? share price got beaten even more severely than during pandemic lockdown

Siow Looi

421 posts

Posted by Siow Looi > 2023-10-25 15:45 | Report Abuse

Just continue to average down. Don't ask, just buy

James_Bond

3,361 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-11-22 07:21 | Report Abuse

Huat ah! I m right again!

Posted by dollardollarbill > 2023-11-22 09:42 | Report Abuse

Old 2011 article for reference:
https://theedgemalaysia.com/article/shangri-la%E2%80%99s-assets-appear-undervalued

"Shangri-La’s revalued net assets could be worth some RM4.88. "

James_Bond

3,361 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-11-22 11:34 | Report Abuse

Go go go SHANG!

Posted by dollardollarbill > 2023-11-22 16:19 | Report Abuse

Unrelated...but

Robert Kuok memoir, page 222

Shortly after we went public in 1970, the stock exchange collapsed. Stock markets have these bouts of influenza. It was doom and gloom for about three months.

As the market crashed, Shangri-La shares fell to $1.10, to $1.08, to $1.06, and even as low as 92 cents. As the stock dropped, I started to buy. I bought and I bought. In the end, when I looked up, I controlled about 40 percent of Shangri-La shares and had realized my dream of controlling the company. I suppose descendants of those who got watered down by me will say that I contrived the market collapse. I would love to be credited with such supernatural powers, but the truth is that it was pure chance and opportunism on my part.

Siow Looi

421 posts

Posted by Siow Looi > 2023-11-22 17:15 | Report Abuse

Already bought like crazy 4 weeks ago

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2023-11-23 08:05 | Report Abuse

I hope promotion rate still available

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2023-11-23 11:55 | Report Abuse

I can feel tat this operator is very kind. Can make some money here

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2023-11-23 12:24 | Report Abuse

May b purposely goreng up share price. Market cap too low. Cannot borrow money for expansion. Hehe....

teknikal

184 posts

Posted by teknikal > 2023-11-23 13:00 | Report Abuse

Short term uptrend with resistance at RM2.64.

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2023-11-23 16:59 | Report Abuse

Some alrdy have 10 to 12% gain. Still safe. I guess not many will take profit.

11,890 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-11-23 17:01 | Report Abuse

Posted by dompeilee > 1 month ago

Speculatively BOUGHT Shangri-La for the 1st time EVER, betting on a rebound from severely oversold position @ 12-yr lows.

Me = holding till $2.99 ! 🤗[cost= $2.157]

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2023-11-24 12:58 | Report Abuse

This stock took 9 yrs to drop from 7 to where it is now. Will it take another 9 yrs to get back to 7?

HaiLiDeYu

84 posts

Posted by HaiLiDeYu > 2023-11-27 08:51 | Report Abuse

If it will get to RM7 in 9 years, simple strategy is to add consistently to your position, maybe monthly DCA?

Posted by monetary > 2 days ago | Report Abuse

This stock took 9 yrs to drop from 7 to where it is now. Will it take another 9 yrs to get back to 7?

bose00

1,063 posts

Posted by bose00 > 2023-12-13 12:37 | Report Abuse

no sign of recovery since last high of 2.4x .. the downtrend continues ? (altho QR shows revenue & profit up..)

Posted by happyfish4ver > 2023-12-18 20:38 | Report Abuse

sihat semua? panic sell today?

James_Bond

3,361 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-12-19 10:17 | Report Abuse

Found out that Shangri-La business in Myanmar not performing well, loss making business, will continue to bleed in the next 5 years at least… good luck!

James_Bond

3,361 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-12-19 10:18 | Report Abuse

There is a reason why investors disposing at high… cheers!

James_Bond

3,361 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-12-19 10:31 | Report Abuse

Shangri-la must sell off Myanmar business immediately in order to hv good future prospects without any loss making business to drag the overall profitability of Shangri-La business.

James_Bond

3,361 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-12-19 10:51 | Report Abuse

Watch this before you press the buy button for Shangri-La…

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/asia/united-nations-warns-myanmar-stands-humanitarian-precipice-3997801

James_Bond

3,361 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-12-19 10:57 | Report Abuse

Watch the movie “no more bets” first before you press the buy button!

James_Bond

3,361 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-12-19 11:01 | Report Abuse

Watch this movie too before you press the buy button…

https://m.imdb.com/title/tt28076784/

Posted by happyfish4ver > 2023-12-19 21:13 | Report Abuse

thanks for the info. btw do you have the link to watch online?

James_Bond

3,361 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-12-27 14:54 | Report Abuse

Sorry, this is considered copyright infringement. Please go and support the original content in order to respect the efforts and hardships of the producers and actors. Cheers!

zoizai

1,476 posts

Posted by zoizai > 2023-12-28 20:46 | Report Abuse

Icic. Why only Myanmar hotel is under Shang malaysia but not other oversea Shangrila hotels ?

HaiLiDeYu

84 posts

Posted by HaiLiDeYu > 2024-01-04 17:30 | Report Abuse

The question is not all shang related hotel in malaysia under shang malaysia as well.... trader hotel not under shang malaysia if not mistaken...

zoizai

Icic. Why only Myanmar hotel is under Shang malaysia but not other oversea Shangrila hotels ?

Bull13

1,088 posts

Posted by Bull13 > 2024-01-08 12:13 | Report Abuse

Hotel play started!!

HaiLiDeYu

84 posts

Posted by HaiLiDeYu > 2024-01-10 11:11 | Report Abuse

start to get busier here... good news or bad news....

bose00

1,063 posts

Posted by bose00 > 2024-01-11 15:44 | Report Abuse

No share price support. Most likely drop until super undervalue below NTA. Then follow by privatisation or absorb by Shang Asia LTD

Posted by cooledhawk123654 > 2024-01-17 09:12 | Report Abuse

what happens to Shang??

4ever5

316 posts

Posted by 4ever5 > 2024-01-18 23:08 | Report Abuse

I am no longer holding Shangri-La. cutloss at $2.48. it was a pain cutloss but manage to recover the lost from another stock.
For your information, people are worry that Q4 to have impairment lost due to asset devaluation on their Myammar business. And one of their big investor,ABRDN resume selling.
If you are still holding, just continue holding, no point to panic sell now.

EDwarrior

203 posts

Posted by EDwarrior > 2024-01-19 09:12 | Report Abuse

ABRDN has ceased a substantial shareholder now. Should be rally soon

Posted by TiffanixLVxHermes > 2024-01-23 16:04 | Report Abuse

@EDwarrior
agree.
i guess it will rebound @ 1.80
will start collect around there..

Cheers

lee901

187 posts

Posted by lee901 > 2024-01-23 19:42 | Report Abuse

Mr Yu alr finished selling spree?

INVEST_AA

550 posts

Posted by INVEST_AA > 2024-02-07 18:17 | Report Abuse

Also Don’t forget Raya festive season is next..

EDwarrior

203 posts

Posted by EDwarrior > 2024-02-08 11:26 | Report Abuse

When will take off? Shangri la look like cheap stock or penny stock lol?

DividendGuy67

1,119 posts

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2024-02-17 01:48 | Report Abuse

On Valentine's Day, I took a trading buy position to buy SHANG at 2.03. Didn't expect it to take off so quickly to close at 2.16. For whatever reason, SHANG is still downtrending, so I won't chase. The only question is should I sell at rally attempts.

My trading position is typically 10-30 times smaller than my dividend investing position, so, I really don't care about the outcome of this trade - no point making a couple hundred bucks. The price action the past 6-7 months seem to indicate more than 50%-55% chance that last month fall is a fake breakdown, typically indicating that we may have seen the bottom. But the trend is unmistakeably downtrending i.e. it's really a coin toss whether this is the bottom or not.

As my trading position is small, I'm going to wait and let market tells me if it's going to make a new low or this is the bottom. A part of me hopes that this rally is a fake one, it makes a new low allowing me to turn my small trading position into an investing position for the next 12-36 months.

I like the SHANG brand name. No exposures to hotels yet. Can be a good diversification to finally own an investing position to utilize 2%-3% of my investing capital.