SOUTHERN STEEL BHD

KLSE (MYR): SSTEEL (5665)

4,659 comment(s). Last comment by Atacms 3 weeks ago

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-05-03 22:54 | Report Abuse

In fact 27th April don't have such high volumes transacted pun.

heaven123

1,900 posts

Posted by heaven123 > 2017-05-03 23:06 | Report Abuse

Ks5S are that ass put alot ppl in trouble in comfort counter

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-05-04 09:37 | Report Abuse

this counter proven making money counter. Not like pua chu kang counter (IWC)... tin kosong only.
Therefore, if go down ,,, buy more. No scared.
Somemore annual dividend will be 15 sen soon.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-05-04 09:46 | Report Abuse

this one uncle kwek counter.... not uncle kang counter
think before you sell... you will regret once sold.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-05-04 09:48 | Report Abuse

market down, ann joo up.
this ann joo really kuat.
southern steel must learn from ann joo.mayble close green later.

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2017-05-04 12:09 | Report Abuse

net profit -22.94m but gave 3c div as a consolation. Good or bad just judge by yourself...report fr Kenanga...

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-05-04 13:17 | Report Abuse

I am smelling a joker eating some sour grapes

antidebt

453 posts

Posted by antidebt > 2017-05-04 14:14 | Report Abuse

this is a good company. Buy and don't worry for the next 2 - 3 years.
Market crash but this solid steel will still standing strong.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-05-05 10:12 | Report Abuse

I am in. Bet on dynamic Hong Leong

Johnnys

759 posts

Posted by Johnnys > 2017-05-05 10:28 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, you sell Airasia and buy?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-05-05 10:53 | Report Abuse

No. I am using margin to buy, and then will use y Airasia sale to pare down margin

that is why I always say I like margin. During certain time, it can play the role of bridging finance

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-05-05 12:22 | Report Abuse

Icon, you don't worry the operator suddenly push down the price significantly? Then you will have to force sell your AirAsia immediately to cover the margin ratio?

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-05-05 12:48 | Report Abuse

In Hong Leong group, I am ok with it

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-05-05 16:22 | Report Abuse

next week break 1.80 before ex-dividend

2,823 posts

Posted by cheoky > 2017-05-05 18:32 | Report Abuse

so many see steel in this man.

Leonardo12

178 posts

Posted by Leonardo12 > 2017-05-08 12:02 | Report Abuse

Why ssteel not movingn?

Leonardo12

178 posts

Posted by Leonardo12 > 2017-05-08 15:12 | Report Abuse

Lagging behind lionind...

cl1122

169 posts

Posted by cl1122 > 2017-05-08 21:17 | Report Abuse

Don't worry. Coming soon.

Posted by Calvin Cheong > 2017-05-09 08:57 | Report Abuse

Any comment on the recent announcement on Quek Leng Chye exiting 299milion shares which is about 70% if the whole market cap of this

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-05-09 09:26 | Report Abuse

The holding was an indirect or deemed interest previously. If not mistaken, the deemed interest holding was deemed to has ceased due to the redefinition of deemed interest and nothing to do with actual disposal

Posted by Calvin Cheong > 2017-05-09 09:37 | Report Abuse

i still dont get it....indirect interest of mr quek will be hong leong manufacturing group sdn bhd and this signaland....so this 2 comprise of the 299million.....in which they use the name of quek leng chye to dispose off is it.....but they didnt dispose off through the open market.....they go through with it back door....is my assumption correct?

Posted by Calvin Cheong > 2017-05-09 09:38 | Report Abuse

so instead of hong leong now it will be some under players holding 70% is it

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-05-09 10:48 | Report Abuse

I am not too sure how it all works, but if you take note of the announcement, the date of cessation of deemed interest is 31 January 2017, the same day the Companies Act 2016 came into place to replace the old Companies Act 1965.

Therefore, I am of the opinion that the cessation of deemed interest is more likely due to the disclosure requirement of the new Companies Act rather than an actual disposal of interest.

In fact, I have seen similar announcements in other counters too. So, nothing really to worry about it.

4,305 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2017-05-09 11:05 | Report Abuse

Put it simple. HL Holdings Sdn Bhd [HLH] holds 69.93% shares of Southern Steel. Quek Leng Chye was the shareholder of HLH so he deemed to have interest in SSteel through HLH. His disposal of shares in HLH recently resulting a ceased of interests in Ssteel.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-05-09 11:24 | Report Abuse

i think ann joo and southern steel will merge soon . Probably some restructuring require for southern steel before merge

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-05-09 11:31 | Report Abuse

ks5S: Yes, I seriously do not think merger between ssteel and annjoo is possible for the moment. Annjoo even outlined their own expansion plan

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-05-09 11:33 | Report Abuse

Up_down: I do not think that Quek Leng Chye disposes his shares in HLH. It is due to redefinition of deemed interest disclosure pursuant to the new Companies Act 2016

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-05-09 11:36 | Report Abuse

feud between people?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-05-09 11:36 | Report Abuse

two themes for market
steel theme and technology theme

steel theme -

last year steel industry make a lot of money so most steel shares are low PE...this attracts the value investors, hahahaha. Explains why so many so excited.
fortunately,
recent drop in iron ore prices means another good year....this plus, special import duty on CRC.

all steel shares have been up....but with different patterns and groups, very interesting to study the various groups and patterns.

Posted by Calvin Cheong > 2017-05-09 11:40 | Report Abuse

MrPauper im still not very clear on this.....and why only Quek Leng Chye's name was highlighted....but not the rest that have an indirect interest...

I hope its nothing much to worry about though

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-05-09 15:24 | Report Abuse

Somebody collecting

yeekarwai 95

3,967 posts

Posted by yeekarwai 95 > 2017-05-09 17:49 | Report Abuse

prestar keep breaking new high.
waiting ssteel show its power to break new high as well.

2,823 posts

Posted by cheoky > 2017-05-10 12:54 | Report Abuse

Maybe is Icon collecting big way? Hahaha

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-05-10 16:47 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/koko888/122541.jsp
Koko888 also bought SSTEEL..

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-05-10 17:28 | Report Abuse

Who is Koko888 by the way? Apology for my ignorance

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-05-10 17:32 | Report Abuse

He is a sifu who did very well in stock selection. Normally the stocks that selected by him will growth very well.

Kyou

1,225 posts

Posted by Kyou > 2017-05-10 17:36 | Report Abuse

Koko888 bought Lionind oso..

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-05-10 17:45 | Report Abuse

I just read his posting but found that his buyings are too varied. Is his wealth really too huge up to more than 10 millions that he needed to purchase and hold more than 10 stocks at 1 time? Although his selections are good but the average annual rate of return seems to be diluted and failed to maximise return on few particular good stocks. Just a point of discussion by the way

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-05-10 18:02 | Report Abuse

I think this is his investment style. I'm not sure his capitals but his successful rate in stock selections is very high. Not much people can score like that.

harlem

317 posts

Posted by harlem > 2017-05-10 18:11 | Report Abuse

Interesting to note koko888 buy ssteel and not annjoo, maybe ssteel more undervalue ?

21,625 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-05-10 21:43 | Report Abuse

Southern has certain edge. While I was monitoring, it goes up so fast.....sigh. Annjoo run up many rounds, southern just at beginning, same to prestR

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-05-10 22:36 | Report Abuse

Hi Paperplane, u also own Ssteel?

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-05-10 22:51 | Report Abuse

Sharing from Leo Ting sifu
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kianweiaritcles/122545.jsp

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-05-11 10:23 | Report Abuse

tomorrow will cross 1.80 before ex-dividend on monday

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-05-11 11:28 | Report Abuse

Isn't ex-dividend on tuesday, 16 may?

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-05-11 12:45 | Report Abuse

ya, ex-dividend is tuesday, 16 may.
thanks for correcting me,

cl1122

169 posts

Posted by cl1122 > 2017-05-11 16:54 | Report Abuse

After ex-dividend usually will retrace ?

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-05-11 23:05 | Report Abuse

normally for strong company like kossan and southern steel, after ex-dividend it will move up further.

for weak company, after ex-dividend it will retrace. Depend how strong a company.

goodluck999

1,210 posts

Posted by goodluck999 > 2017-05-12 16:41 | Report Abuse

for your info.. my buy in all done in the range of 1.17- 1.25..i already sell some at current stage of 1.70-1.73..

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-05-13 10:34 | Report Abuse

2.00 coming after ex-dividend