SOUTHERN STEEL BHD

KLSE (MYR): SSTEEL (5665)

4,659 comment(s). Last comment by Atacms 3 weeks ago

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-04-27 19:33 | Report Abuse

Yes, dividend is back~~

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-04-27 19:37 | Report Abuse

If not because of slightly lower sales volume (CNY i guess) and the "Provision for estimated arbitration legal fees"....the earning would have match the last quarter i guess..he he..

simply unbelievable

gwansoo

307 posts

Posted by gwansoo > 2017-04-27 19:44 | Report Abuse

Good result!!

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-04-27 20:23 | Report Abuse

good.

FutureEyes

102 posts

Posted by FutureEyes > 2017-04-27 20:51 | Report Abuse

steel is doing well

leoting

516 posts

Posted by leoting > 2017-04-27 21:25 | Report Abuse

@Albukhary For your information, Annjoo is now still fight with Ssteel in scrap market although scrap drop 0.03 cents per kg.

andry

1,902 posts

Posted by andry > 2017-04-27 21:32 | Report Abuse

chinese new year, all construction companies slow down and close for at least one week. This QR simply beyond expectation. SS now back to the glory of old day.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-04-27 21:36 | Report Abuse

buy and keep for long term. With all the uncertainties or worries disappear + with continue dividend coming in, tp 2.00 is not a problem to achieve .

leoting

516 posts

Posted by leoting > 2017-04-27 22:19 | Report Abuse

just a matter of time to break RM2.00.

yoloisreal

207 posts

Posted by yoloisreal > 2017-04-27 22:23 | Report Abuse

thanks leoting sifu sharing. expect annjoo will surprise us too

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-04-27 23:22 | Report Abuse

Declaration of dividend will be part of the sign of the return of Ssteel. Last quarter many holidays and some construction companies are waiting for cancellation of steel protection, this result consider very good.

harlem

317 posts

Posted by harlem > 2017-04-27 23:41 | Report Abuse

Not bad result, even got dividend ! Juicy......... ! With extension of the safeguard duties, look like this high level earning may sustain for quite some time .... Geng !

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-04-27 23:47 | Report Abuse

By the way, Daneili screwed up Ssteel HRC plant but still dare to claim back the balances..hmm

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-04-27 23:59 | Report Abuse

there's no way Danieli can argue to claim $$ for the Spare Parts which they have delivered. This is because when one had failed to deliver the performance of the major equipment, all the spare parts has lost its value...it has lost its use.

worst come worst southern steel will just return it (the Parts - not the $$!) back to Danieli. Its as simple as that.

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-04-28 00:03 | Report Abuse

if i were southern steel...i will insist Danieli to rectify the main equipment and prove its performance first before i transfer them a single penny more.

Posted by 没怎么读到书的市集人 > 2017-04-28 00:23 | Report Abuse

Fair & good results for SSteel.

Historically, the last 3 quarters' diluted EPS = 15.13 cents
Assuming next quarter similar to 3Q, Estimated Diluted EPS for YA2017 = 20.61

PE7 = RM1.44
PE8 = RM1.65

https://cdn1.i3investor.com/my/files/dfgs88n/2017/04/27/1505955133-265088870.pdf
https://cdn1.i3investor.com/my/files/dfgs88n/2016/11/14/1485637478-1878820049.pdf
https://cdn1.i3investor.com/my/files/dfgs88n/2017/02/14/1485784577-528364489.pdf

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-04-28 00:38 | Report Abuse

The most mind boggling fact is that its current EPS was a result of its Gross profit margin barely higher than the duty level of 13.5%...(that is the safeguard margin! - the bare minimum one can expect).

Thus, dont think it will be difficult to maintain an average of 20% GPM level going forward for the next 3 years... 20% GPM = 13% Net profit margin. Current Net profit margin is ~5%.

5% to 13% Net Margin, that is a whopping 140% increase from its current bottom line (EPS of 8 currently will shoot to 20 cents).

that time all the dilution effects will vaporize...

Please refer CAB Cakaran for an example.

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-04-28 00:43 | Report Abuse

This kinda rise in EPS can only happen in SSTEEL...not ANNJOO...not any other damn stock.

SSTEEL is basically the LEVERAGED VERSION of ANNJOO.....

if future is bright..SSTEEL will shine like a STAR..
if future is dim...SSTEEL will become a BLACKHOLE..

unlike ANNJOO..neither can it be star nor a blackhole..

Posted by 没怎么读到书的市集人 > 2017-04-28 01:37 | Report Abuse

Historically, it is done. Stock market is all about future. History will provide certain degree of future where it may be heading to.

I agree your point that SSteel can do better & the better results will transform to better price performance & return.

Albukhary

2,953 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2017-04-28 06:59 | Report Abuse

Two points:-

1) Interim Dividend -- That mean next quarter still got another final dividend.
For institutution investor, dividend is always the key factor for them to decide whether to invest on the stock or not. They don't mind the stock price cannot go up, but they are more concern whether the stock got dividend or not. Because dividend payment can be utilised to cover their operation cost.

2) Miti Safeguard - As all the industry player aware, many buyer has reduced their stock order significantly on Mar'17, betting on MITI to remove the safeguard. Unfortunately, MITI has extended the safeguard for another 3 years. Once the news come out, many buyer immediately place their order in double quantity to fill up their stock. This huge order will be reflected in next quarter, so very high chances next quarter SSTEEL can achieve RM900mil sales.

Albukhary

2,953 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2017-04-28 08:15 | Report Abuse

SSTEEL的股息好有诚意,昨天才宣布,下个月16号就除权,6月1号就进口袋了。
不像其他的公司,4月宣布,6月除权,7月才拿到股息。

Albukhary

2,953 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2017-04-28 08:40 | Report Abuse

Received message from Whatsapp group, today TP RM1.60.

andry

1,902 posts

Posted by andry > 2017-04-28 08:52 | Report Abuse

target price now should be 2.50 with estimate of next quarter EPS at 8cents

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-04-28 08:53 | Report Abuse

Hi Albukhary, I agree with you. The ex and payment date of dividends is quite fast. Good job from them.

leoting

516 posts

Posted by leoting > 2017-04-28 09:08 | Report Abuse

It is because Ssteel knew their cash flow will not be an issue anymore after MITI announce 3 years safeguard extended.

Albukhary

2,953 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2017-04-28 09:08 | Report Abuse

Wow, really hit TP RM1.60.

But my sify ask me don't sell, he said this year is bull run year, any stock you sold at today highest, it will become tomorrow lowest.

He mean stock price will definitely go up, so don't take profit on good fundamental stock.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-04-28 09:09 | Report Abuse

correct . don;t sell so fast. At least 2.00 this counter.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-04-28 09:09 | Report Abuse

i think today will limit up-up

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-04-28 09:20 | Report Abuse

last time mpi (kwek company) also behave like this. Move from 4.50 until 13 .00 now

elvingan

243 posts

Posted by elvingan > 2017-04-28 09:21 | Report Abuse

tp will be up to RM 2.50 long term....

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-04-28 09:21 | Report Abuse

Today is only accumulation mode for big players for longer term play

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-04-28 09:25 | Report Abuse

fund manager have not enter yet. Still morning dim-sum.
Later go in, break 1.60 and all the way 1.70

yoloisreal

207 posts

Posted by yoloisreal > 2017-04-28 09:30 | Report Abuse

Apparently the show has just started, more dividend to come on next quarter. hold tight

Albukhary

2,953 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2017-04-28 09:36 | Report Abuse

Yup, no point to sell.

SSTEEL have very limited free float. Once sold, cannot buy back anymore.
It will change from weak hand to strong hand.

This is a industry with 3 years bright outlook, why sell now?

4,305 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2017-04-28 09:40 | Report Abuse

Keep topping up Ssteel to enjoy the turnaround. Steel theme remains the good topic in the market as RM strengthening against USD. Go Go Go!

Albukhary

2,953 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2017-04-28 09:44 | Report Abuse

Good to see another strong hand here --> Up_down

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-04-28 09:45 | Report Abuse

yup...Up_down...no ordinary man..

abangadik

2,305 posts

Posted by abangadik > 2017-04-28 09:46 | Report Abuse

Kekekee..the most lowkey legend in i3..

Posted by Albukhary > Apr 28, 2017 09:44 AM | Report Abuse

Good to see another strong hand here --> Up_down

leoting

516 posts

Posted by leoting > 2017-04-28 09:46 | Report Abuse

RM strengthening means can import raw materials like iron ore, coal, coke and steel scrap with cheaper price. Even selling price remain, the materials cost will reduce while gross profit increase again,

andry

1,902 posts

Posted by andry > 2017-04-28 09:57 | Report Abuse

@leoting well said, now is the import counter play, almost all of SS raw mat are import, I believe SS can achieve 60 millions next quarter, better than Annjoo

leoting

516 posts

Posted by leoting > 2017-04-28 10:22 | Report Abuse

In term of revenue defenitely SSteel can do better.

Warn3r

792 posts

Posted by Warn3r > 2017-04-28 10:40 | Report Abuse

Want to thank leoting, Albukhary, money, probability and MrPauper sifu's. it was your posts and sharing that gave me so much insights and confidence. I never had a single doubt in this ssteel. Thank you guys.

5,855 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-04-28 10:49 | Report Abuse

Congratulation to all! Well done to SSteel. :)

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-04-28 10:51 | Report Abuse

Total EPS for recent 4 quarters still negative, next quarter as it changes to positive & there is final dividends, share price will be expected raise more...So, I choose to hold it for long term.

4,305 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2017-04-28 11:03 | Report Abuse

Abangadik. Probability, Ks5s, leoting, Albukhary, maneysifu are the strong supporters of SSteel. I appreciate them providing us updated input for us to make a better decision. :)

Johnnys

759 posts

Posted by Johnnys > 2017-04-28 15:56 | Report Abuse

local fund still cannot buy SS yet, because total 4 quarter result still making loss, what the stupid role. currently is BIG fish buying, after next quarter profit, local fund only jump in, and you will see many bank will rate and give target price. refer to all HongLeong company, All P/E is more than 10 at least.

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-04-28 16:01 | Report Abuse

this is a very powerful information...if what you are saying is true - that local fund cannot buy if total 4 qtr results is making loss.

Posted by Johnnys > Apr 28, 2017 03:56 PM | Report Abuse

local fund still cannot buy SS yet, because total 4 quarter result still making loss, what the stupid role. currently is BIG fish buying, after next quarter profit, local fund only jump in, and you will see many bank will rate and give target price. refer to all HongLeong company, All P/E is more than 10 at least.

leoting

516 posts

Posted by leoting > 2017-04-28 16:04 | Report Abuse

people knew first jump in, accumulate and sell to local fund later....

4,305 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2017-05-01 20:15 | Report Abuse

Ssteel has the potential to pay 6 cents dividends or DY 4%. Let's make a conservation estimation of generating EPS 20 cents per share in a year, the company will be trading at PER 7.8x at current price. At such low multiple PER, Ssteel is an attractive stock among the steel counters now.