SOUTHERN STEEL BHD

KLSE (MYR): SSTEEL (5665)

4,659 comment(s). Last comment by Atacms 3 weeks ago

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-15 09:17 | Report Abuse

Try to roll it out till Q3 you will most rekief to find out above concern will be minor; plus, Ssteel as an Anchor steel supplier to MRT corp alone, should pruced at least x10p.e.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-15 09:19 | Report Abuse

Yaa one more thing, Ssteell biz is very resilient to uncertainty.

solaris80

257 posts

Posted by solaris80 > 2017-08-15 09:21 | Report Abuse

555555, by the time you raised the questions to Leo and Edward, I believe you got your answers in your mind. Don't try to pretend as newbie and want to collect the shares at cheap price. Do you own homework or refer to Leo Ting's blog. His articles are more comprehensive than IBs' analysis report.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-15 09:28 | Report Abuse

555555 , why bither on the LB ler, u can border after 2020 lar ,,, kiki

Posted by Edwardljhoo > 2017-08-15 09:40 | Report Abuse

Hi 55555,
My opinion is as followed:

1) SS is high on LB due to Southern Hot Roll Coiled provision(144Mil) that will be lifted soon, finance cost high but restructuring already on going to fine tune cost. Some of the details I cannot say too much as its too sensitive.

2)AJ Blast furnace(iron ore) is ok, therefore no worry as I just been there last month to verify, AJ still can produce as it have EAF(Electric Arc Furnace) base on scrap.

3) Amsteel is the highest for production volume capacity but due to restraint on the financial its only producing 60% of its cap. Yes Parkson performance will affect Lion Industries EPS. Southern will grab the business of course as it have excess cash and capacity.

4) SSteel & Annjoo is based in Prai next to Penang 1st Bridge with own private jetty. At the moment SSteel cost to transport is Rm42/Mt and it consist 2% of cost of production therefore is negligible during price uptrend but it will be burden during price downtrend.

5) I have 50 lots of Southern & 10 lots of AnnJoo not much at the moments but still buying when there is a clearance sales by some short term investors. Recently my Boss followed my advice and bought large qty of SSteel that he have earn a substantial amount of profit if he sells now, TP is rm2.50.

To be in fact I am no sifu, just someone who enter the stock exchange 2 years ago but not active due to hectic work in Southern & Hong Leong.

Hope this will clear your mind then.
Best regards,
Edward

Warn3r

792 posts

Posted by Warn3r > 2017-08-15 09:53 | Report Abuse

Again, you guys keep measuring a man's worth by the brain. I applaud these men for the size of their hearts.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-15 10:00 | Report Abuse

This Edward I maust applause , really good .

Guys, SurewinSteel at 1.83 now ...wink wink xp

Posted by Edwardljhoo > 2017-08-15 10:04 | Report Abuse

Bro Ming, Quantity will decide pricing for Stockist ,Distributor, Traders & Hardware and payment terms will be preferential for millers who have cash.

yeekarwai 95

3,967 posts

Posted by yeekarwai 95 > 2017-08-15 10:05 | Report Abuse

0.9?are you ok?

Posted by Edwardljhoo > 2017-08-15 10:17 | Report Abuse

Southern Pricing : (Morning) Maintain
Y16-32=Rm2400
Y10,12,Y40 &R10 =RM2550
R6,8,12,16,20&25=Rm2600 (No Stock)

Amsteel Pricing : (Morning) Up RM30/Mt
Y16-32=Rm2400
Y10,12,Y40 &R10 =RM2550
R6,8,12,16,20&25=Rm2600

lzz88

136 posts

Posted by lzz88 > 2017-08-15 10:18 | Report Abuse

Anyone has idea on how much is the annual capacity of SSTEEL on rebar production? I only able to find the annual capacity of MASTEEL which is 650,000 MT. Assuming average selling price for coming year is 2300 per MT and PAT is 5%, the annual profit after tax is about 75mil which give annual eps ~30sen.

Albukhary

2,940 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2017-08-15 10:22 | Report Abuse

lzz88, The Southern Steel upstream manufacturing facility in Prai Industrial Estate, Penang comprises
two steel making plants with a manufacturing capacity of 1,500,000 Mt/year for billets and four rolling mills for the
manufacture of Wire Rods, Garret Coiler, DBIC and Bars.
Southern Steel also has downstream manufacturing facilities
throughout Peninsula Malaysia.
One of the technological innovations by Southern Steel is the “Easy
Drawing Continuous (EDC)” technology. This allows for constant
cooling conditions that result in better and more uniform mechanical
properties in the steel products manufactured. It also provides
factory operators with better control over the grain growth and
scale formation with the steel products.
Southern Steel manufactures a variety of products that meet
international standard requirements for use in automotive,
construction and industrial sectors.
They have a research development team committed to continuous
improvement and the development of new products to meet market
needs and plant assurance teams to ensure good quality products.

6 posts

Posted by 555555 > 2017-08-15 10:26 | Report Abuse

First time posting in I3investor and I am lucky to receive such genuine

solaris80

257 posts

Posted by solaris80 > 2017-08-15 10:32 | Report Abuse

Albukhary, ya, right information. Ssteel product quality is among the best.

lzz88

136 posts

Posted by lzz88 > 2017-08-15 10:37 | Report Abuse

Thanks Albukhary!

Posted by Edwardljhoo > 2017-08-15 10:38 | Report Abuse

Izz88,Masteel annual production have increase to 1Million Mt starting early this year, 650K Mt is last year statistic already.

lzz88

136 posts

Posted by lzz88 > 2017-08-15 10:44 | Report Abuse

Hi Edwardljhoo, the 650k Mt is the number that I get from 2016 annual report. It is good to know that Masteel annual production already increased to 1mil Mt. Thanks for your latest info!

BullCT

31 posts

Posted by BullCT > 2017-08-15 11:12 | Report Abuse

Hi Edwardljhoo. Do you have idea how much is the annual capacity of Lionind rebar production?

JayC

1,302 posts

Posted by JayC > 2017-08-15 11:18 | Report Abuse

yayaya, buy masteel..

JayC

1,302 posts

Posted by JayC > 2017-08-15 11:25 | Report Abuse

please note 3 catalyst for masteel
1. macquire is PP into masteel at current price discount 9%, the money received will help the balance sheet. (Btw, macquire would not buy if they think masteel is not a good counter)
2. bonus issue 1-5 already proposed, but not executed yet
3. increase capacity already in hand to take advantage of the current high ASP

mrcibaiii

202 posts

Posted by mrcibaiii > 2017-08-15 11:34 |

mrcibaiii

202 posts

Posted by mrcibaiii > 2017-08-15 11:36 | Report Abuse

Anymore shakespeare story ?

Posted by KLCI King > 2017-08-15 11:42 | Report Abuse

When up, he says this is fake -- NO BUY
When crash, he says it will fall deeper -- NO BUY
When rebound, he says it is a trap -- so NO BUY again

All the time scare this scare that, end up buy nothing & get zero

mrcibaiii

202 posts

Posted by mrcibaiii > 2017-08-15 11:42 |

mrcibaiii

202 posts

Posted by mrcibaiii > 2017-08-15 11:43 |

mrcibaiii

202 posts

Posted by mrcibaiii > 2017-08-15 11:44 |

mrcibaiii

202 posts

Posted by mrcibaiii > 2017-08-15 11:45 |

Posted by invest_101 > 2017-08-15 11:52 | Report Abuse

First and foremost thanks to great contributions notably Leoting and Edward. @ Edward, as for the hot roll mill, how does it fit into the whole scheme of things for Ssteel. I presume its an upstream ops aimed at improving value/margin and market position. Assuming it gets revived successfully, what can we expect. Thanks in advance.

mrcibaiii

202 posts

Posted by mrcibaiii > 2017-08-15 11:54 |

mrcibaiii

202 posts

Posted by mrcibaiii > 2017-08-15 11:56 |

mrcibaiii

202 posts

Posted by mrcibaiii > 2017-08-15 12:00 |

mrcibaiii

202 posts

Posted by mrcibaiii > 2017-08-15 12:01 |

mrcibaiii

202 posts

Posted by mrcibaiii > 2017-08-15 12:03 |

Chean Yeh

199 posts

Posted by Chean Yeh > 2017-08-15 12:05 | Report Abuse

report abuse done! we are here for discuss. mrcb, dont even comeback and make noise at here.

yeekarwai 95

3,967 posts

Posted by yeekarwai 95 > 2017-08-15 16:35 | Report Abuse

today steel counters take a rest.

Stock Kingdom

1,005 posts

Posted by Stock Kingdom > 2017-08-15 19:44 | Report Abuse

So nice now, peace, thank you admin

Buybuybuy

695 posts

Posted by Buybuybuy > 2017-08-16 09:49 | Report Abuse

Special dividend will announced in the latest quarter result so time to buy now before the price goes up. Trading buy call 2.50

yeekarwai 95

3,967 posts

Posted by yeekarwai 95 > 2017-08-16 10:06 | Report Abuse

look like everyone here have insider news

leoting

516 posts

Posted by leoting > 2017-08-16 10:12 | Report Abuse

I guess Final dividend coming quarter FY2016-2017. Special dividend should be next quarter.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-16 17:02 | Report Abuse

Iron on reinforcing uP

JayC

1,302 posts

Posted by JayC > 2017-08-16 17:07 | Report Abuse

for special dividend, annjoo has a better balance sheet to issue compared to ssteel. coupled with their dividend policy of distributing 60% of their NP to shareholders

leoting

516 posts

Posted by leoting > 2017-08-16 20:17 | Report Abuse

@JayC Don't worry about dividend, Annjoo will also have PBT>100 millions on Q3, and usually Annjoo's dividend higher but just not sure the time of capital expenditure, buy another sword.

warmblood

64 posts

Posted by warmblood > 2017-08-16 21:24 | Report Abuse

Leoting, heard that will have a major mro on annjoo furnace.
Do u think will it effect annjoo ?

solaris80

257 posts

Posted by solaris80 > 2017-08-16 21:44 | Report Abuse

warmblood, when consider to buy a counter, we should look at company potential and future. Dont let the old time story drag you down.

edward123

243 posts

Posted by edward123 > 2017-08-17 09:20 | Report Abuse

16/8/2017
Southern Pricing : (Morning) Up Rm20/Mt
Y16-32=Rm2420
Y10,12,Y40 &R10 =RM2570
R6,8,12,16,20&25=Rm2620 (No Stock)

Amsteel Pricing : (Morning) Up RM20/Mt
Y16-32=Rm2420
Y10,12,Y40 &R10 =RM2570
R6,8,12,16,20&25=Rm2620

Warn3r

792 posts

Posted by Warn3r > 2017-08-17 09:23 | Report Abuse

Good morning all. Thank you Edward for continuing to share the daily prices relentlessly.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-17 10:08 | Report Abuse

Good morning to all sifus here, good day.

Buybuybuy

695 posts

Posted by Buybuybuy > 2017-08-17 10:34 | Report Abuse

Trading buy call 2.50 due to the strong demand from the local big project which will boast the income of the company.

BullCT

31 posts

Posted by BullCT > 2017-08-17 10:46 | Report Abuse

Hi Edwardljhoo. Do you have idea how much is the annual capacity of Lionind rebar production?

Buybuybuy

695 posts

Posted by Buybuybuy > 2017-08-17 10:55 | Report Abuse

trading buy call 2.50. https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kianweiaritcles/130179.jsp