STAR MEDIA GROUP BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): STAR (6084)

-0.005 (1.22%)

0.405 - 0.415

2,708 comment(s). Last comment by newbietrader9 1 month ago

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-04-18 13:15 | Report Abuse

Sith Lords work in abolutes.

I see no issues with me recommending a share like Gdex when I dun buy it. In fact I must have recommended hundreds of shares to people over the last 30 years time that I did not buy.

Also when I say share is bad does not mean I will not buy it.

Mabel at last understood why I buy bad failing shares.
Failing shares are always opportunities
but never fall in love with the failing share coz IT IS A BAD SHARE.

She now enjoys life the same way I do.

Different share is suitable for different people.

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-04-18 13:19 | Report Abuse

sslee

failing shares are opportunities coz volatility is high.
Mabel understood this very well. She is starting to trade. ha ha ha

Never fall in love with your bad failing share.
Dump it all very very soon.

Posted by Philip ( Random Walk Theorist) > 2020-04-18 13:26 | Report Abuse

So you now trying to act as if you are an old man? Your grammar and actions and bullshit already reveal you to be a 28-30+ year old fraud still working hard at your day job as a report writer, while not making a single cent in investing in the stock market. If you did, your 3000 stocks comments would have less bullshit and more useful information to learn from. Instead you talk bad about EVERY stock, and never once had a good stock to discuss about.

So you have been recommending stock since you were in kindergarten age 5 eh? Good for you. At least kids who dont have money will not go bankrupt.

As for recommending poorly researched stocks, and no issues with it. I think your idols must be TRUMP & KOON YEW YIN.

How many crashes did that cause? How would sslee have known about xinquan if not because KYY promoted it in I3 forum?

Frauds and trolls like you with no trackable portfolio are the exact reason why I started writing blogs and kept a portfolio, to show an example to new investors of how to differentiate between fake investors with no results and real long term investors.

So if your friend bought gdex and it became a value trap, or worse ( it lost a lot of money), then will you just walk away and say I don't know, I didn't buy it?

Some friend you are.

>>>>>>>>

i3lurker Sith Lords work in abolutes.

I see no issues with me recommending a share like Gdex when I dun buy it. In fact I must have recommended hundreds of shares to people over the last 30 years time that I did not buy.
18/04/2020 1:25 PM

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-04-18 13:36 | Report Abuse

aiseh

maybe I am only 12

dun be a paedophile

Posted by Philip ( Random Walk Theorist) > 2020-04-20 11:35 | Report Abuse

This is why you should never listen to kids who don't keep and maintain trackable portfolio. I never once claim I am some sort of stock god or stock guru selling subscription services and writing books. All I can claim is that I keep an honest trackable portfolio, meaning whatever I choose to buy/or sell, you will know the exact time and date I sold it at and the price. Meaning I am not like those who recommend stocks but never own them,

How are your results now kid? With STAR so far I am still going to be getting dividends, and on top of that I already have a 30% gain.

How now brown cow? While I am shooting fish in a barrel, you are still with your inflexible concept of investing, no different from a calvin tan and a stockraider. When will you ever grow up? Maybe when you do start buying stocks you will see that it is easier to say bad things about everything instead of buying something that goes up over time.

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/120720.jsp#tabs_group2

>>>>>>>>>

i3lurker just watch out who becomes the Ultimate Fool.

All those who jump off early will laugh just like Heng Yuan.

easy money only up to a certain point.
18/04/2020 12:34 PM

i3lurker I did point out to my friend that Gdex is overvalued with high PE of 40 to 50

but he did not mind coz he liked the idea of growth plus dividends

with Star you will be getting dividends only
18/04/2020 12:59 PM

Posted by Philip ( Random Walk Theorist) > 2020-04-20 11:42 | Report Abuse

Growth? STAR just went from severely undervalued by the market at 190M market cap to 255M market cap (still severely undervalued).

That is the power of 380 million in pure cash reserves, 50 million incoming from JAKS LAD claim, and property, plant and land to the tune of another 400 million in assets.

And how much borrowings?

Zero.

How to bankrupt if you already VSS all the expensive old inflexible staff, start hiring new and hardworking individuals and low salary grade, and removed old inflexible CEO and now start looking for a young CEO with vision, integrity and strength ( Still looking, but haste makes for waste).

GDEX? GDEX is a pile of crap. When was the last time you ordered something from Lazada, Shoppee or Alibaba and specifically asked for the services of GDEX as your preferred carrier? Obviously not right, you would have chosen the cheapest option, knowing that insurance will cover any problems occurred with the transporter. So you know that this is a fake growth. The more they grow, the lower the prices have to be to grab market share. The lower the profits, the more dangerous the company. Low earnings and still giving out dividends?

The question you should be asking yourself is this: HOW DID STAR GET 380 MILLION IN CASH, and CAN THEY GET IT AGAIN WHEN BN/MCA COMES BACK ON TOP?

smartag

176 posts

Posted by smartag > 2020-04-20 12:40 | Report Abuse

Wow, 30% profit, me too.

Posted by 360Capitalist > 2020-04-21 19:06 | Report Abuse

Star Media Group Bhd

TP of 52 sen is pegged at its net cash per share. By AllianceDBS Research, April 20

https://www.klsescreener.com/v2/news/view/667335

Star Media Group Bhd
(April 20, 32.5 sen)
Upgrade to buy with a higher target price (TP) of 52 sen: While Star Media Group Bhd’s business outlook remains clouded by the industry’s structural and cyclical shifts, its share price has fallen by 55% over the last 12 months. At these levels, we believe the company’s share price is overly discounted.

The stock is now trading below its net cash of 52 sen per share, which also implies that investors are getting its other assets such as property and printing plants for free. For financial year 2019 (FY19), Star paid two sen dividends (implying a 6.25% yield on the current price) from its free cash flow per share of 13 sen.

Greater traction for its digital transformation and products would be a key catalyst for the stock. While we believe it is still early days, viewership of its dimsum streaming service has increased following the government’s movement control order to contain the Covid-19 pandemic.

As one of the top English news portals in Malaysia, Star’s digital platforms stand to benefit from trends toward digital advertising expenditure (adex).

Furthermore, opportunities to cross-sell products across different platforms such as digital, print and radio will entice more advertisers. This can be seen in its digital revenue’s 18% year-on-year growth in FY19 despite the adex slowdown.

We expect key cost savings from lower newsprint cost. The group undertook a cost restructuring exercise in 2018 which saw it cease operations of its printing facilities in the Star Northern Hub and carried out a mutual separation scheme costing around RM28 million. This is expected to translate into RM14 million in annual savings. With print adex still weak, rationalisation of Star’s print business may continue.

We now expect Star to record a RM3.6 million net loss for FY20 (from a net profit of RM6.6 million previously) as slower economic activity weighs on adex.

Our TP of 52 sen is pegged at its net cash per share.

Key risks to our view include potential new players in the market. New entrants in the market could dilute Star’s circulation as well as its advertising sales. — AllianceDBS Research, April 20

winlast

498 posts

Posted by winlast > 2020-04-22 17:49 | Report Abuse

STAR has been seriously undervalued stock
with cash rich position and NTA RM1.11 since long times ago
it is timely buying without fear dividend paying share too

Posted by stockraider > 2020-04-23 10:00 | Report Abuse

People like Philip & his side kick SSlee are not real investor, they are speculators, happily dumped Star at 34 sen, knowingly that Star has 52 sen net cash per share loh....!!

Although raider pick up star based on Philip recommendations on cheap, but raider hang on star as a true value investors mah, now reaping the benefit forom the star share price rise loh....!!

kelvin17

565 posts

Posted by kelvin17 > 2020-04-23 10:06 | Report Abuse

stockraider you are right , recently philip said this stock only worth 20 cents and i asked how you derived at this price but he didnt answer

Posted by Philip ( Random Walk Theorist) > 2020-04-23 10:19 | Report Abuse

Kelvin17, I was making a joke to i3lurker and sslee because they always like to act as if they are professional investors without any portfolio results.

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/120720.jsp#tabs_group1

This is my transaction Portfolio for Star. I bought it at 26 cents and I sold after 30% gain at 34, just to prove a point to i3lurker.

When I bought star at 26 the entire value of the company was 190 million, with a cash position of 380 million, I believe liquidation value was at 52 cents.

For me I am sure the long term value of Star is worth far more than that, with Jaks lad of 50 million, ok property, the newspaper factory and business ( which I believe can earn money long term), I think Star is going to be worth far more than that if they find the right CEO.

Stockraider like to take advantage of other people's recommendation and still insult them instead of saying thank you, his character is low as usual.

But who is the real INVESTORS and who is the speculators who buy INSAS warrants, only they know themselves.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-04-23 10:27 | Report Abuse

I officially thank Philip last week mah, u can confirm with sslee, whether i really announce my appreciation to Philip i think around last week mah ??

I say that u r a speculators, bcos it is the truth, bcos of your action on star mah, surely with net cash of 52 sen and many valuable properties star have it is surely worth more than 34 sen mah...!!

Posted by Philip ( Random Walk Theorist) > Apr 23, 2020 10:19 AM | Report Abuse

Kelvin17, I was making a joke to i3lurker and sslee because they always like to act as if they are professional investors without any portfolio results.

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/120720.jsp#tabs_group1

This is my transaction Portfolio for Star. I bought it at 26 cents and I sold after 30% gain at 34, just to prove a point to i3lurker.

When I bought star at 26 the entire value of the company was 190 million, with a cash position of 380 million, I believe liquidation value was at 52 cents.

For me I am sure the long term value of Star is worth far more than that, with Jaks lad of 50 million, ok property, the newspaper factory and business ( which I believe can earn money long term), I think Star is going to be worth far more than that if they find the right CEO.

Stockraider like to take advantage of other people's recommendation and still insult them instead of saying thank you, his character is low as usual.

But who is the real INVESTORS and who is the speculators who buy INSAS warrants, only they know themselves.

kelvin17

565 posts

Posted by kelvin17 > 2020-04-23 10:36 | Report Abuse

TQ philip i can accept your explanation , happy trading

Posted by cheoky > 2020-04-25 13:18 | Report Abuse

negative enterprise value. means? you own this, you got free money? + freebie-landbanks, digital media? MCA giving you money.

that is what called money on the floor for you to pick up???

linheng

1,358 posts

Posted by linheng > 2020-04-26 05:09 | Report Abuse

EPF and Tabung Haji had all dump at low prices. MCA was patient. Only start buyback when those agencies had nothing left to sell. Wonder how EPF fund managers can sell a grossly undervalued dividend paying stock. Its really free money for those picking up at the low. Basically no risk.
Remember some research house setting a very low target price. Wonder what research they do

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-04-26 12:37 | Report Abuse

no matter how high value the land bank, property or cash pile

we small shareholders will not get anything , unless if

the share price up (get capital gains on our investment)
get dividend
company close shop

other than the 3 above, is useless no matter how high value of landbank, property , cash

RainT

8,448 posts

same also like ORIENT , KSENG which also have huge cash pile , high NTA but these 2 is profit biz la

RainT

8,448 posts

star biz is loss making

Posted by stockraider > 2020-04-26 16:12 | Report Abuse

Mca & star buying back very aggreesive loh...!!

Why leh ??

Posted by RainT > Apr 26, 2020 12:37 PM | Report Abuse

same also like ORIENT , KSENG which also have huge cash pile , high NTA but these 2 is profit biz la

Posted by RainT > Apr 26, 2020 12:37 PM | Report Abuse

star biz is loss making

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-04-26 16:53 | Report Abuse

It is just a matter of time that Star will unlock the value of its assets :-) Below 30 sen was exceptional value due to EPF & Urusharta Jamaah (Tabung Haji) exit. Company immediately initiated SBB at the rock bottom prices,

Posted by 360Capitalist > 2020-04-26 17:13 | Report Abuse

(吉隆坡25日讯)星报媒体(STAR,6084,主板电信与媒体股)正寻求联营伙伴,合作发展在雪州和彭亨的数块土地,以期释放更大的价值。

《The Edge》财经周刊报道,星报媒体从上月开始,在旗下报章刊登广告,为莎阿南21万9978平方尺的工业土地,以及彭亨文东3.99公顷的农业地,寻找合作伙伴。

此外,该公司也寻求出租或出售在梳邦再也的5层楼办公楼。

星报媒体在2018年报指出,莎阿南和文东的土地净账面价值达1146万令吉,梳邦再也的办公楼为228万令吉。

不过,这三项产业已经超过10年没有估价。

星报媒体资产可说是该公司“皇冠上的宝石”,拥有高达48英亩的地库。目前,18项产业的净账面价值高达1亿5572万令吉,相等每股21仙。

联昌国际投行研究分析员在去年7月的报告曾提到,该公司的地库市价超过6亿令吉,差不多是每股81.94仙,是当前股价的数倍。

该股昨日以38仙闭市,市价2亿8065万令吉

Posted by 360Capitalist > 2020-04-26 17:14 | Report Abuse

英文星报转型危机中还有"三斤铁"吗?
25/04/2020
人世界传统报业都面对困境,虽说新闻不死,只是很喘,但是报业集团都在苦苦支撑,大马交易所原本有4家媒体上市公司,2家仍有钱赚,1家亏损连连,1家已关门大吉。

首要媒体(MEDIA)是亏钱公司,英文星报(STAR)和世华媒体(MEDIAC)仍有钱赚,但和过去的辉煌日子相比,有如云泥之别。

好日子时,星报盈利是亿为单元,世华媒体也不逊色,如今,盈利破千万算是"非常好,一般情况只能以百万令吉为单位。

上周,THE EDGE旗下出版了13年的英文日报《THE EDGE FINANCIAL DAILY》宣布停刊,更突显报业营运的困难。

星报是大马英文报业龙头,市值由近30亿令吉高峰,蒸发至2.81亿令吉,它目前进行数位转型,却似面对"中年危机"。

《九点股票》编辑室认为,新闻永远有市场,星报在喘气中,也努力寻找突破,编辑室整理星报这家历史悠久报业集团的信息,看看我们能否从中发现什麽。

以下内容,是《九点股票》白金会员专属,敬请留意。

THE STAR要釋放旗下土地價值!

英文星报最大股东是马华公会,马华通过投资臂膀华仁控股,控制这家媒体集团。

这家公司过去几年努力进行数码转型,至今为止,只见到小小成效,过去靠广告收入赚钱的商业模式,越来越行不通。

为突破困境,英文星报最近正在探讨释放旗下土地价值的策略,而且,行动已开始。

星报经营数十年,买下不少房地产,这些房地产如今水涨船高,部份更有发展价值,可能是星报突破的"转捩点"。

在三月中,英文星报在自家报纸的分类广告刊登广告,为旗下2段土地征求合作发展伙伴。

这2段土地是莎亚南BUKIT JELUTONG的219,928平方公尺工业地,以及文冬3.99公顷农业地。

这两段土地都是永久地契,有发展潜能。

此外,星报也登广告求售或出租首邦再也USJ一栋五层楼店屋。

2段土地的账面价值是1146万令吉USJ店屋则值228万令吉,这都是十多年前的估值,目前肯定不止这个价格。

除了这3笔资产,英文星报共有18笔房地产资产,在2018年年报中的估值是1亿5572万令吉,相等於值每股21仙。

星报本身的估计,这18笔资产现在的市价,最少值6亿令吉。
其中最值钱土地包括槟城峇六拜19,472方公尺工业地,这段地是星报印刷厂房所在。

如今北马印刷厂停印,这段土地最有可能用来发展;槟城州政府在该区进行填海发展,土地价格水涨船高,该段永久地契工业地的价值跟着上涨。

此外,星报在莎亚BUKIT JELUTONG印刷厂的厂地,是由两段土地并成,估计也是很值钱的土地。

其中一段面积405,979方尺,或9.3英亩;另一段205,117方尺,等於4.7英亩,也是永久地契工业地。

把星报的18笔资产拿来细算,市场人士可能发现,星报真的还有"三斤铁"。

若星报的所有不动产价值6亿令吉,那相等於每股净有形资产是81.94仙,是股价38仙的2倍有多。
这还不包括星报银行户口里的3亿8593万令吉现,每股现金相等於52.71仙。
星报的"内在价值"很吸引人,可惜的是业绩却不太理想,2019年12月31日止财政年净利568万令吉,营业额3亿1593万令吉。

若没有投资收益,星报业绩将出现亏损,投资收益当然包括3亿8593万现金的定期存款利息。

分析员预测,星报2020财政年将会蒙受360万令吉亏损。

星报在三月至四月中,股价度跌至22仙至28仙之间,四月二十日开始回弹,大多数分析员不看好它的未来,毕竟土地要发展,也需几年後才能看到成果。

在MCO限行令期间,英文星报的订阅订户能否快遗暴增呢?倘若出现订户快速增长,则英文星报的命运可能改写。

无论如何,若它的股价在30仙以下,明显低估。

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-04-28 18:49 | Report Abuse

this company look too yummy not to eat

thesteward

6,767 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2020-04-28 21:35 | Report Abuse

Alerted at low 23/24 Sen late last month. ... congrats believers

jwyap

829 posts

Posted by jwyap > 2020-04-28 21:38 | Report Abuse

haha. i believe that it will above rm 0.4 tomorrow.

smartag

176 posts

Posted by smartag > 2020-04-29 12:04 | Report Abuse

53% profit in few weeks, wow thanks sifu!

Ex7121

221 posts

Posted by Ex7121 > 2020-04-29 20:35 | Report Abuse

These few weeks if buy any share also can make money la...

whitebunny

154 posts

Posted by whitebunny > 2020-05-05 11:53 | Report Abuse

This counter can hold long-term?

kelvin17

565 posts

Posted by kelvin17 > 2020-05-06 10:19 | Report Abuse

i read from above net cash value 50 cents , one of the best in town

winmal

1,125 posts

Posted by winmal > 2020-05-06 14:20 | Report Abuse

unlock his assets value, which equivalent of RM0.81 per share. only traded at 0.375 not even his cash in hand of Rm0.50

winmal

1,125 posts

Posted by winmal > 2020-05-06 14:31 | Report Abuse

STAR poise to trend up... after few days consolidating.. good luck

jwyap

829 posts

Posted by jwyap > 2020-05-06 20:38 | Report Abuse

2 wave will come soon.

Value888

623 posts

Posted by Value888 > 2020-05-08 14:52 | Report Abuse

asset rich company. Might dispose land for a huge gain.

14,368 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2020-05-08 14:55 | Report Abuse

Big brother want the land is it? Why sell asset if stable counter?

Posted by stockraider > 2020-05-08 15:05 | Report Abuse

Land tak pakai sell sell sell mah...!!

Posted by DickyMe > May 8, 2020 2:55 PM | Report Abuse

Big brother want the land is it? Why sell asset if stable counter?

Value888

623 posts

Posted by Value888 > 2020-05-08 15:24 | Report Abuse

this is called unlock value. Lump sum gain.

14,368 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2020-05-08 17:11 | Report Abuse

You can eat the bullshit as much as you like!

winmal

1,125 posts

Posted by winmal > 2020-05-08 20:03 | Report Abuse

company buyback 3 million share today range from 0.37 - 0.355

linheng

1,358 posts

Posted by linheng > 2020-05-09 07:58 | Report Abuse

Purchase so far is only 0.0187 %. Can buy up to 10% of shares issued.
So I belief can buy on weakness. Should have solid support from company buyback. Any comments please. Think of buying

smartag

176 posts

Posted by smartag > 2020-05-09 08:15 | Report Abuse

Amanah disposed 1.6 million share. It still hold 9.6%, if it continues dispose like the hell previously, share price will go back below 30cents soon.

smartag

176 posts

Posted by smartag > 2020-05-09 08:22 | Report Abuse

Yesterday volume quite high, people started dump the share they purchased weeks ago near 26 cents.

winmal

1,125 posts

Posted by winmal > 2020-05-09 08:46 | Report Abuse

all media company share price drop... bear in mind STAR continues to buyback share but media co. not. and STAR share price is traded below his cash in hand of RM 0.52. with current share price you invest.. you getting free for assets and his business & consistently dividends payments

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-05-12 18:29 | Report Abuse

if at higher price, i would say STAR is a no no to invest

but as it steep fall in price until now , seem value have emerge

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-05-13 18:14 | Report Abuse

STAR cash per share is already higher than it share price

unbelievable

Posted by stockraider > 2020-05-13 18:17 | Report Abuse

buy mah...!!

Opportunity loh..!!

Apa takut leh ??

Posted by RainT > May 13, 2020 6:14 PM | Report Abuse

STAR cash per share is already higher than it share price

unbelievable

Mabel

23,252 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2020-05-14 07:33 | Report Abuse

@linheng EPF and Tabung Haji had all dump at low prices. MCA was patient. Only start buyback when those agencies had nothing left to sell. Wonder how EPF fund managers can sell a grossly undervalued dividend paying stock. Its really free money for those picking up at the low. Basically no risk.
Remember some research house setting a very low target price. Wonder what research they do
26/04/2020 5:09 AM

That's why both are giving a bad deal for their investors.

STAR to me is like Angelina Jolie just like Julia Robert in Media Prima. They are both Glamorous Siren.

For me, Media is important. It's part of my Digital Economy Agenda. I treat this as my strategic assets. Not to worried about the return as is covered by my other investments. beside I have been rewarded with Dividend earlier.

Now they just change to a new CEO which I think is a good thing. This is one of the counter that I just buy and forget. It has lots of asset with net cash value 50 cents per share, one of the best in town and higher than the current share price.

It's real value for those who want to have media in their portfolio. I remember I paid RM 1.04 per share just right after GE14. Its one of the 1st counter I invested when I decided reenter KLSE after selling off all my holding just before GE14.

Meow