MNRB HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): MNRB (6459)

+0.02 (0.94%)

2.12 - 2.15

9 people like this.

3,905 comment(s). Last comment by Moratorium 1 week ago

56,104 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-10-25 10:02 | Report Abuse

Finally
Those who took heed to sell above escaped

Those holding will now go for a ducking

56,104 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-10-25 10:02 | Report Abuse

Above RM1. 00 was the call to sell

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 10:08 | Report Abuse

Lol..one of the most solid share in bursa..at worst 0.90+ comes next week

value_invest

1,150 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2018-10-25 11:13 | Report Abuse

calvintaneng_ I M happy to read comments and research here, i see you are advising strong sell in MNRB, Do you mind sharing more information on your recomendations by justifications and information as to Why below RM 1 is good selling? This will help invertors here to make good decision base on your advise.. THX

value_invest

1,150 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2018-10-25 11:17 | Report Abuse

coldinvestor_ i see you are advising strong BUY and will move above RM1.30 to RM1.50 soon. Do you mind sharing more information on your advises by justifications and information as to why it is STRONG BUY? This will help invertors here to make good decision base on your advise.

value_invest

1,150 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2018-10-25 11:18 | Report Abuse

I m researching on MNRB now to make decision on this investment. I HOPE YOUR ADVISES AND JUSTIFICATIONS CAN HELP. THANK....

56,104 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-10-25 13:19 | Report Abuse

value_invest

Mnrb has rm200 millions doubtful expense which is a red flag

Is mnrb another 1mdb in the making?

In doubt play safe. So better stay away

56,104 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-10-25 13:20 | Report Abuse

Rm300 millions gone with the wind

Tomchan

39 posts

Posted by Tomchan > 2018-10-25 14:03 | Report Abuse

Calvin,

The 300 millions doubtful expenses u mentioned : was it in income statements?

Posted by TheGardener > 2018-10-25 14:05 | Report Abuse

(Point: 5 is top, 1 is low.)
1. Profit: Miss one year. (4 point)
2. P/E: Under 6. (5 point)
3. P/D: D = Dream, Insurance. (5 point)
4. Gearing: Under 0.50. (5 point)
5. Cash Flow: Positive. (5 point)
6. ROE: 7. (1.5 point)
6. Dividend: 0. (0 point)
7. Current situation: Bear, financial is the best industry. (4 point)
8. Lowest mother before right: RM1.42, Right: RM0.90. 5 mother get 7 right. RM7.10 + RM6.30 = RM13.40 / 12 = RM1.12. If buy at lowest mother and full subscribe right, lost 12%.
9. Min 100,001 shareholding: Pass 5 years, from 81% increase to 86%. (5 point)
10. Share issue: 767050m (3 point)

Question:
1. MNRB is invest or casino for you please?
2. Short, Mid, Long term for you please?
3. Average down please?
4. Please don't listen to other, read and learn!

Tomchan

39 posts

Posted by Tomchan > 2018-10-25 14:08 | Report Abuse

The Gardener, u should be the financia guru, very objective. Calvin is trying to mislead. Trust me for that

Posted by TheGardener > 2018-10-25 14:27 | Report Abuse

Regard MNRB, I will say Calvin mislead. Beside that, I don't think he is auditor. Please check out IFRS 9. Maybe, he have insider news! Then, all innocent investor stuck! Anyway, he just share his opinion. As a mature investor, please make decision by yourself. On other hand, you can say all indicator is fake!

"Fearful when others are greedy and greedy when others are fearful"!

Posted by TheGardener > 2018-10-25 14:43 | Report Abuse

This is a chance I will sell my last garment to buy in like no tomorrow! Just like PBB in 1997!

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 15:06 | Report Abuse

calvintaneng Above RM1. 00 was the call to sell
25/10/2018 10:02

Made a record here..price is 0.99 now.

Will check again by end Dec to see Calvin's call to sell now is a right call or wrong call

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 17:15 | Report Abuse

I die die dont believe pnb do this rights issue to lose money badly...they are not pang chow huat of sanichi n pdz

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 17:17 | Report Abuse

Come show me how low can u go next week

markus

56 posts

Posted by markus > 2018-10-25 17:45 | Report Abuse

https://youtu.be/wWBfYE9WDlQ

On why BRK offload its re-insurances ...
Re-insurance won’t do great in the next 10years. But it will do just fine ..

value_invest

1,150 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2018-10-25 20:29 | Report Abuse

Calvintaneng_ Thank for your comments, can your provide more detail information in the RM200mils doubtful exp for us to analyse? A good research is based facts & data to make investment...

value_invest

1,150 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2018-10-25 20:31 | Report Abuse

TheGardener_ Thank your for your much details information and research, this is what we expect to see from your advise and justifications on your advise. This is helpful for me to make much better research & decision.. All your points are well noted. Thx

56,104 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-10-25 20:43 | Report Abuse

how come you guys got mental blockage?

See these figures
http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/5807793

management expenses was rm281 millions
other operating expenses rm43 millions

total expense a whopping rm324 millions?

WHY?

WHAT KIND OF EXPENSES?

(THEY ARE NOT INSURANCE CLAIM OR CLAIMS)

INSURANCE COMPANY HAS LITTLE EXPENSES LIKE RENTAL, OVERHEAD OR STOCKS OF GOODS? THEY DON'T NEED TO BUY OR STORE STUFF FOR SALE

SO WHY THE HORRENDOUS RM324 MILLIONS EXPENSES FOR?

IS THIS ANOTHER IMDB SIPHONING OUT MONEY?

IS THIS THE MAIN REASON FOR CASH CALL?

THINK DEEPLY AND THINK SERIOUSLY LAH

56,104 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-10-25 20:46 | Report Abuse

GO INSIDE THE ACCOUNTS AND LOOK AGAIN VERY CAREFULLY

GROSS INSURANCE CLAIM IS RRM310 MILLIONS

BUT THE MANAGEMENT EXPENSES & OPERATING EXPENSE ARE RM324 MILLIONS

IS THERE NOT A RED FLAG HERE?

SEE

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/5807793

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 21:19 | Report Abuse

What i see is net profit rm136m+ or eps 42 cents+...

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 21:20 | Report Abuse

If they can cut the expenses then can make more $$$$...

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 21:23 | Report Abuse

Anyway hv to compare with other players in the same industry to see whether mnrb is efficient or not....MAA? But looks like MAA is much more inconsistent...

56,104 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-10-25 21:24 | Report Abuse

Posted by CharlesT > Oct 25, 2018 09:20 PM | Report Abuse

If they can cut the expenses then can make more $$$$...

What you didn't see is the thieving part

If they steal Rm324 millions and get away they might steal again

if they make one blunder and issue rights they might make blunder again

see this one

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/for-sakae-its-once-bitten-still-not-shy

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 21:25 | Report Abuse

Basing on yr theory every co in bursa also can steal money n becomes another 1mdb loh?

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 21:27 | Report Abuse

Mnrb was paying good div for many many years until recent year (2013 or 2014)...or u presumed ah jib kor did 1mdb stuff in mnrb since then ah?

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 21:32 | Report Abuse

So all rights issues in bursa co can potentially be another 1mdb ah? U so scare of msia mkt n yet u r so active here for what?

Mayb mpcorp's land in johor also kena ahjib sapu quietly leh so the co likely go delisted soon ?

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 21:35 | Report Abuse

Bursa is also too dangerous for u calvin....all co can be another 1mdb victim...msia also very dangerous for you...later can be robbed n sodomised....better stay in yr little apartment in geylang n.lock yr door

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 21:36 | Report Abuse

Saiful is still out there....

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 21:40 | Report Abuse

Calvin u reminded me of one idiot who told me that maybank will go burst in 1998 n he rushed to withdraw all his money fm mbb n deposited into citibank

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 21:45 | Report Abuse

At that time he believed all msian banks will close shop

Tomchan

39 posts

Posted by Tomchan > 2018-10-25 22:08 | Report Abuse

Calvin, eventhough u complained about the 300 mils as high but mnrb still made 30 mils in the qtr and 136 mils for the year.

Tomchan

39 posts

Posted by Tomchan > 2018-10-25 22:21 | Report Abuse

Nta rm5 and earning 42 cents. That gives return on equity of 8%. It is a huge discount if we calculate it on mnrb share px. That's why mnrb was trading at pe 5 before ex rights. Yet calvin saud it is no good.

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 22:27 | Report Abuse

Anyway the catalyst will be on the dividend lah....no point to trade at low pe showing nice eps...

Once they started to pay good div again then it will attract buying interest

Meanwhile lets c whether they can use the proceed of rm400m fm rights issues to generate more biz n profit (and div eventually)..

Dont donate to ah jib kor like what calvin predicted lah

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 22:30 | Report Abuse

My cost of investment will be close to pnb's cost in this batch of shares (rights issues)...

If pnb money goes 1mdb so will be my money

Amen

Tomchan

39 posts

Posted by Tomchan > 2018-10-25 22:30 | Report Abuse

Charles, agreed with u. Haha

Tomchan

39 posts

Posted by Tomchan > 2018-10-25 22:34 | Report Abuse

Mnrb should be able to perform like takaful which was trading at pe 5 in 2009 at 1.30. Takaful has gone up about 10 times after taking into consideration of bonus shares, div etc

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 22:45 | Report Abuse

But mnrb's net profit yield is only 6%+ as compare to Takaful which shows more than 10%..

Lets c the rm300m allocated fm the rights issue to pump in for their takaful section can improve their yield or not

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-25 22:49 | Report Abuse

Maybe...maybe what calvin claimed is correct...some of the managememt expenses went into 1mdb in the past...so now ah jib kena tangkap so no more donation to 1mdb n their net yield will increase to 10%+...lol

What do you say calvin?

Tomchan

39 posts

Posted by Tomchan > 2018-10-25 23:00 | Report Abuse

Haha, charles, u r real joker

Posted by Nicholasming91 > 2018-10-25 23:16 | Report Abuse

I tell u this Calvin every counter to him also fail 1. All counters are bad all bad only himself best

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-26 09:21 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/icon8888/79742.jsp

Fm Icon8888's earlier analysis it shows that the management expenses was quiet consistent during 2011 to 2015, ranging from RM170M+ to Rm210M+ (basing on Calvin's conspiracy theory that means Ah Jib's 1MDB could be oredi happened in MNRB during that time).

MNRB posted net profit of RM128M in FY 2015 and price was ard RM3.50 then.

And I saw this too from Calvin...

calvintaneng Is MNRB undervalue?

This is my view:

In year 2006 I first bought MNRB & MNI at the recommendation of Dr. Neoh Soon Kean (The Benjamin Graham of Malaysia) in his monthly digest.

MNI was so profitable it was later taken private. MNRB became one of my strong dividend stock - yielding 8% to 9% then. I noticed that ASB also loaded up on MNRB for its dividends. ASB needs high dividend for yearly pay out to Amanah Saham Bumi investors - 8% to 10% yearly yield!

Warren Buffet also has lots of Insurance Companies in Berkshire - example Geiko insurance. The overhead costs of Insurance Companies are negligible. Unlike airplanes which incur high capital expenditure and can depreciate substantially. So Warren avoided airline cos and bought Insurance cos.

Then the businesses of MNRB went through some tough times and Dr. Neoh changed his mind. In His 6 Monthly Stock Performance Guide he said that MNRB will have only average growth. True enough. MNRB's dividend shrank to only 5% to 6%.

I noticed 2 things as time went by.

1) In Malaysia Insurance Companies are subjected to fraudulent claims due to "monkey business". Furniture shops frequently set fire to its own premises to claim insurance. One guy specialize in car accident claims. To claim for higher damage he would even take a car with slight accident & ram it, wreck it and smash it further for the maximum damage to claim the Highest AMOUNT from Insurance companies. (The exception is Takaful as the muslims do have the instilled fear of Allah - thus preventing them from outright cheating.)

2) The Bible predicts that the future is beset by earthquakes, pestilences, upheaval and unforeseen perils {See Matthew chapter 24). . So there are floods in thailand, trengganu/kelantan & pahang. 2 MAS & One Airasia planes crashed or missing. Damaging Earthquakes in many places & more to come.

Of course Insurance Companies can always Raise Premiums because of so much claims. But there will come a time when people start turning away.

For me MNRB is just a fifty-fifty investment. It has average yield now. Unlike those days of almost double digit dividend.

Will I buy back MNRB? If it drops to Rm2.50. Why not?

For now Amanah Saham Bumi is selling & selling MNRB. Why? 5% dividend will not meet ASB's criteria of helping bumiputra investors.

Calvin Tan Research

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-26 09:25 | Report Abuse

Will I buy back MNRB? If it drops to Rm2.50. Why not?

I highlighted this very interesting remarks fm Calvin....

MNRB posted net profit of RM128M in FY 2015 and price was ard RM3.50 then.

MNRB posted net profit of Rm136M in FY 2018 and price is now RM0.995 (much lesser than Rm2.50)...

Calvin why not Rm0.995?

14,786 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-10-26 09:26 | Report Abuse

Or Calvin prefer to buy MNRB at higher price, say Rm2.50 later....just like Ah Jib Kor's 1MDB spirit?

value_invest

1,150 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2018-10-26 09:52 | Report Abuse

CharlesT___ I read some of your research and figures, that are very helpful and justified. As an investors, we must do research, NOT just listening to any "pasar talk"... All advises, buy or sell must be justified by facts and figures. In fact, We must also open our mind to listen to both side of opinion and advises, good or bad for our own research, including calvintaneng's "Doubtful exp" to assess if it is justified.. At the end, we can make an good investment decision.. THX

value_invest

1,150 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2018-10-26 10:01 | Report Abuse

As for the doubtful exp, i noticed that the management exp was in the book long long time ago, more than 10 yrs even before 1MDB, so i presume that this was nothing link to 1MDB. But, there is trending up of the management fees over the times from over 30+ mil to 60 mil per Quarter, can that be due to some political appointees or more spending by management??, it is too early to tell as we are still gathering more information to make finally decision..

TheContrarian

9,190 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2018-10-27 00:04 | Report Abuse

What? Calvin bought MNRB @ RM2.50?

donald770

255 posts

Posted by donald770 > 2018-10-27 07:30 | Report Abuse

On 31 influx of right issue will flood the market and there will be adjustments of price and let see how low it can go and it may present buying opportunities. In my opinion it should not touch 900 as the big shareholders got to support to save their skin. Your take?

Tomchan

39 posts

Posted by Tomchan > 2018-10-28 09:01 | Report Abuse

Calvin, mnrb or mrcb u can talking about.