KAWAN FOOD BHD

KLSE (MYR): KAWAN (7216)

+0.05 (2.75%)

1.82 - 1.91

1,481 comment(s). Last comment by Good123 1 hour ago

mesoon

14 posts

Posted by mesoon > 2020-06-10 15:36 | Report Abuse

@raintT thx for your remind, i just wanna to confirm, actually i collect many data from tesco, retail shop, online shop, all sales growth very significant. base on management prospect also very bright (even not said very clear) but base on management previous style (conservative). everything seem very good, just concern market bear only

Posted by toploser > 2020-06-11 13:01 | Report Abuse

deepvalueinvesting, sorry, not meant to criticize your hard work. Sorry to say that you have wrong assumption on the EPS calculation as well as the PE ratio. There is seasonable effect on quarterly EPS and also should take the general industry EPS in the related industry instead. Good try, anyway.

May Chua

35 posts

Posted by May Chua > 2020-06-11 13:26 | Report Abuse

What happen? What cause the sell down?

witan

774 posts

Posted by witan > 2020-06-12 10:53 | Report Abuse

@deepvalueinvesting. Nice analysis but unfortunately you make a mistake in assuming the EPS and PE ratio. High PE ratio of 2019 is an anomaly that shouldnt be taken into consideration due to Kawan moving their production to Pulau Indah. So their average PE should be around 20+ which is the average in the food industry

dickson2u

230 posts

Posted by dickson2u > 2020-06-13 22:02 | Report Abuse

it is because the share price run overhead that it suppose it worth,
The share price run too fastnormal adjustment.

Plan to average down also.
Waiting 1.40-1.50 fair value to average

Vorster89

165 posts

Posted by Vorster89 > 2020-06-14 18:25 | Report Abuse

https://www.jd.com/pinpai/304634.html
Place your order through 京东, no need to go out, stay home.

Pang

269 posts

Posted by Pang > 2020-06-15 14:14 | Report Abuse

buy on weakness

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-06-16 12:24 | Report Abuse

KAWAN is not yet weaknesses

yesterday drop is not drop enough yet

it has been up a lot

May Chua

35 posts

Posted by May Chua > 2020-06-19 22:00 | Report Abuse

Can any shifu comment on kawan foods..any hope?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-06-20 16:53 | Report Abuse

now share price of KAWAN up too much already

if enter now is missed the boat already

think all the good news almost price in already

27,855 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-06-22 07:57 | Report Abuse

CGS-CIMB raises target price for Kawan Food to RM2.40

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-06-24 19:24 | Report Abuse

dont trust any IB report and TP

take it with pinch of salt, judge yourself

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-02 17:04 | Report Abuse

double bottom is formed, MA50 on uptrend also. In short term it should rised, within 10%-15% from the double bottom price.

Posted by JaniceJane > 2020-07-03 16:22 | Report Abuse

Will break RM2 soon

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-07 10:32 | Report Abuse

can this back to its glory days RM3.50?

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-07 10:51 | Report Abuse

definitely can, but not in 3 months time, need at least 2 consecutive QR like what 2020-03 QR results shown.

compare to the glory time RM3.50, that time we don't have COVID-19 but the financial results were great. Management needs to revisit the glory time and bring back the business on track then we can see the glory time RM3.50, no surprise if go above RM4.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-08 16:39 | Report Abuse

@handsome newbie

but at 04 Sept 2017

they have bonus issue, do we need adjust to that ? to see the RM3.50 actual as at current is how much after bonus issue effect

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-09 08:55 | Report Abuse

@RainT

Actually I did not take the consideration of the bonus issue @ 2017. Share price always reflect the future value. As long as the PE still show high PE, meaning the share price needs to keep rising to make PE to normal or lower. That time only the share price will stagnant, which company share price more stable (stop rapid grow)

Meanwhile I will still hold until next or next 2 QR as ppl has high expectations on this share. This is one of the support for me to hold this share. Past history just a reference, if it rise until 2.80 then stagnant there.... then we have to accept also =) because market will be the right one, we are just estimating all this while, never get correct, if close to estimate, then will be fine.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-09 09:34 | Report Abuse

@handsome newbie

there is NO 'as long as PE still show high PE, share price need keep rising to make PE to normal or lower'

Do you know PE is come from where ?
Is from the annual EPS divided with share price.

if the share price keep on go up ahead of company EPS , the PE is get even higher, not lower as u mention

also, there is no way that share price need keep on up to normalise the PE

but only have EPS keep on rise, then the PE will lower or the share price drop, the the PE will lower more

either EPS drop or share price up, both this will make the PE even highher

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-09 09:35 | Report Abuse

main points is that how sure KAWAN can generate good profit in coming quarters ?

if the profit can grow high n higher more than sure the PE will get lower, but also need see how high the share price have shoot already

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-09 09:37 | Report Abuse

even now is already break the share price resistance of KAWAN, but I am still a bit worry that the share price have gone too much

need wait next quarter result out to open this puzzle

from the lowest point of KAWAN, it have already up a lot , but not yet until the peak yet la

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-09 09:38 | Report Abuse

maybe I should take a small bet on KAWAN at current price

to see how far it will go in order not to miss the boat

who knows maybe coming days KAWAN share price will shoot to the sky and I miss the boat if not buy now

Posted by growth_investor > 2020-07-09 09:43 | Report Abuse

@RainT, I have bought this share @RM1.75 reasons as follow:

-revenue steadily increases (human still need food anyway regardless of how advance your technology is)
-their cost optimization starting to show good result (in EPS)

however if their next qtr result show some shitty result, I will throw as well, but I think that will unlikely to happen

Posted by growth_investor > 2020-07-09 09:43 | Report Abuse

anyway still the old advice: invest at your own risk

Posted by growth_investor > 2020-07-09 09:44 | Report Abuse

my risk and reward is different from yours

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-09 10:11 | Report Abuse

@RainT

Thanks for your correction.

we shall see the performance of this shares later, when the PE getting lower, this is the time mostly the share price will stop rise rapidly. This is what i observed.

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-09 10:57 | Report Abuse

@RainT

Thanks for sharing and showing your worriness. In shares, it maybe driven by market also, specific PE or info for that companies does not always right, i.e. different IB gives different TP. IF there is only 1 answer, then most of the IB are liars. What I know is, the market is dynamic.

Now it is rising because of the past 2 QR were performing good, ppl are hoping better results in coming QR so ppl just buying, when more ppl buy definitely will rise.

If the coming QR also doing good, then it will go up and up, then PE is not really helping you to justify the shareprice. if continue QR is doing good, EPS increase, what you wish for 3.50 will be real, the thing is will u take the risk to buy ? and be patience ?

then you need to study more the background and link it to the current situation, like growth_investor said ppl need food, but how to make an essential business rise rapidly and make the share price rise rapidly also, then depends on how u find out.

If you try whatever way also can not find a reason why it would rise, then u should not buy this, if the prise keep rise and you miss the boat, then there must be something you don't know. Find out and improve next time, worry is not going to help.

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-09 11:48 | Report Abuse

u need to weight ur risk also, when i bought is 1.7-1.8, for the reason not miss the boat then u buy in, ur risk will be higher like growth_investor said. our risk are different. get a reason and pattern that u believe the share will rise, or else u are risking ur modal.

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-09 12:04 | Report Abuse

@RainT

See what you typed on 20-06-20, you said went in now will miss the boat, coz rise too high liao, now u repeat again and it rise again....find out why there are some differences between what you analysed and actual case here.

Vorster89

165 posts

Posted by Vorster89 > 2020-07-11 14:20 | Report Abuse

hold tight, bonus issue will announce during coming report, Every 3 year will make capital change, never miss before.

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-13 13:29 | Report Abuse

@Vorster89 Hold tight until 1.5 months later to announce the 1st half report, if anything cause big drop might to dump also. currently the shares market are so optimistic... everyshare rise 10% is a must. if drop so much in between, might need to dump also as the bonus may not worth.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-22 10:32 | Report Abuse

ah?

really ?

bonus issue for KAWAN coming soon?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-22 10:33 | Report Abuse

KAWAN break 1 year high

anybody feel is overvalue to buy more now?

average up

kelvin5349

170 posts

Posted by kelvin5349 > 2020-07-22 11:34 | Report Abuse

seems that there is a strong buy for kawan today. good push.

im going in .

their qr and prospects looks good as well.

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-22 11:44 | Report Abuse

@RainT do u have your own strategy ar ? Do you think is overvalue ?

we said sell later it goes higher u will angry ler....

I wonder what make u think previously around Rm2.00 you were saying rising too high, now you area asking for average up, if u think too high u should profit taking lo.....

kelvin5349

170 posts

Posted by kelvin5349 > 2020-07-22 11:51 | Report Abuse

RainT just wants to be safe...it's ok and he is just asking.

btw it seems institutional funds are in now thus the buying volume daily and its an uptrend.

im in also because i have done my homework too. this is one of the counter i am confident in.

technical wise its overbought but this is due to investors are expecting a better growth & profit.

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-22 12:15 | Report Abuse

@kelvin5349

He can ask for sure. Instead of sharing the homework like you, simply asking to get a yes or no answer does not bring any meaning for the discussion.

Agreed with you on uptrend. I will just hold tight if still up-trend.

Overbought for me is fine, at least many ppl look good to this share. Hence, it cause less liquidity for the volume. When think about supply and demand, i will hold. price change within 3% daily is just a normal thing for an uptrend share.

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-22 14:28 | Report Abuse

logic thining... after break 1 year high.... will it be higher or lower, which possibility higher ?

kelvin5349

170 posts

Posted by kelvin5349 > 2020-07-22 14:35 | Report Abuse

@handsome_newbie, yes...just hold tight now until next qr.

i believe demand has increase as well ..like they have mentioned in their previous qr that the new norm is to work from home and people would buy frozen food hence kawan is an advantage in this situation...plus point now is other countries are in lockdown so demand is there.

besides that their products are targeted to specific health conscious like low GI food and whole wheat.

with their e-commerce, they can target and approach retailers directly and with their marketing strategy.

their previous qr has reflected that as well with their QoQ.

look at the shipment export to Los Angeles:

1) 19-Mar-2020 to California, USA

CARGO IS STOWED IN A REFRIGERATED CONTAINER SAT THE SHIPPER S REQUESTED CARRYING TEMPERATUOF -20 DEGREES CELSIUS 1 X 40 RH CONTAINER :- 1155 CARTONS OF FROZEN ROTI PARATHA AND CHAPAHS CODE : 1905909000 SELANGOR DARUL EHSAN, MALAYSIA. FREIGHT

2) 04-Apr-2020 to California, USA

1 X 40 RH CONTAINER :- 1201 CARTONS OF FROZEN ROTI PARATHA, SAMOSA PSPRING ROLL PASTRY AND PUFF PASTRY SQUARE HS CODE : 1905909000 1901201000 SELANGOR DARUL EHSAN, MALAYSIA FREIGHT COLLECT CARGO IS STOWED IN A REFRIGERATED CONTAINER S AT THE SHIPPER S REQUESTED CARRYING TEMPERATUOF -20 DEGREES

we can calculate the profit alone above goods and my numbers are tally as mentioned here: https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/kawan-food-credits-1q-outperformance-nimbleness-and-speed

sadly, i cant see more shipment goods as i need to pay & subscribe to the shipment data.

kelvin5349

170 posts

Posted by kelvin5349 > 2020-07-22 14:49 | Report Abuse

more than 50% of its revenue is from overseas...this data is verified and you can google yourself.

this article below dated back in Jan 2019, and it is realised now and earnings reflected has already reflected in their previous qr.

https://www.thesundaily.my/business/kawan-food-earnings-to-remain-under-pressure-FK387531

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-22 16:12 | Report Abuse

@kelvin5349 your info is good enough for us to do the projection of sales and profit margin.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-23 12:16 | Report Abuse

Wait drop some

then buy buy...

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-07-23 14:30 | Report Abuse

why chasing high now?

only few months ago i bought KAWAN at 0.975

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-23 15:02 | Report Abuse

fabien, same la.. coz it will go higher, then we buy haha

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-23 15:50 | Report Abuse

you are smart Choon Wah Kean, congratulations and keep it up!

David

112 posts

Posted by David > 2020-07-26 06:11 | Report Abuse

enjoying some kawan breakfast with the RM50 voucher from the virtual agm. some of their new products taste good!

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-26 21:44 | Report Abuse

i love their pratha lol

Posted by handsome_newbie > 2020-07-27 11:24 | Report Abuse

how did they give us the RM50 voucher??