KESM INDUSTRIES BHD

KLSE (MYR): KESM (9334)

+0.02 (0.32%)

6.15 - 6.29

7 people like this.

11,113 comment(s). Last comment by ivanlau 1 day ago

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-07-07 13:38 | Report Abuse

Yea shouldn't focus too much on the external but we can hedge against a bad market (put warrant). Most importantly is to buy stocks as low as possible(inception stage of a growth story).

Thank you paperplane for sharing with us. :)

21,626 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-07-07 13:40 | Report Abuse

That's my own opinion only. might be wrong, might be correct.
For me I focus on good stocks, growing stocks. I do my calculation and expectation.

Maybe next month is crisis. Who knows. But always practice cut loss, let profit runs.

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-07-07 14:25 | Report Abuse

I take the narrative statement of directors in QR and AR for clues instead of financial figures. Because figure is the past, narrative statement is the future.

So far the biggest crisis I have encountered during my 2.5 years venture in stock market is the one in August 2015.
Paperplane may you tell me your experience during the whole August 2015 short crash? Did you sell everything or just keep calm for a rebound?

Posted by Kadir Almushayah > 2017-07-07 14:32 | Report Abuse

profit taking

ongmari

2,003 posts

Posted by ongmari > 2017-07-07 14:44 | Report Abuse

sold some...n buy back...next 3 days if stay put 16+..next level 16.8

21,626 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-07-07 14:50 | Report Abuse

Aug2015? I was having good time. As my portfolio are majority skewed towards Exports Stocks. I was lucky I consider....

I remember I did not sell much.

ongmari

2,003 posts

Posted by ongmari > 2017-07-10 11:57 | Report Abuse

3 more days..at 16+...next move may be in again

21,626 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-07-11 09:44 | Report Abuse

if they announce bonus this yr....imagine RM20++

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2017-07-11 12:28 | Report Abuse

Sold some of my Sunright @ 55.5c, realising a + 228% ROI in 18 months. Mother is up almost 6% while son is down so I guess it makes sense to cream some gains off while they're still there!

atas

6 posts

Posted by atas > 2017-07-11 12:36 | Report Abuse

as long as sunright is above 50 cents, there is a possibility that the management would issue bonus share when the full year result is out in sept. There are currently only 120m shares in issue.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2017-07-11 12:42 | Report Abuse

The bulk of my Sunright shares costing 24.3c incl commissions are still intact - as long as they are technically undervalued, I will hold on to most of them.

But at the same time I'm switching some RM to very undervalued Ben Graham-type Japanese shares and since I'm disciplined in keeping my powder dry, I may have to resort to switching S$ to yen to pay for the latter.

Posted by Kadir Almushayah > 2017-07-11 12:48 | Report Abuse

dompeilee....good fr you. and u still hve confidence in sunright

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2017-07-11 12:51 | Report Abuse

:) Must diversify a little since the Nikkei looks much more bullish technically than either the SG or the MY indices.

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-11 12:58 | Report Abuse

Dompeilee /atas : what you think sunright will go? It holding of Kesm shares worth more than it current value of 55sen!

21,626 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-07-11 13:02 | Report Abuse

16 look so cheap now, correct? hehe

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-11 13:05 | Report Abuse

I am just wondering sunright may have better upward opportunity with current Kesm holding at 16

Posted by Kadir Almushayah > 2017-07-11 13:09 | Report Abuse

pang72...u made a good point . Sunright may initiate something to benefit frm kesm high price

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-11 13:15 | Report Abuse

Kadir : thank you

atas

6 posts

Posted by atas > 2017-07-11 14:34 | Report Abuse

sunright's mgmt could not initiate something on kesm without losing control on the company(Kesm). But it could issue bonus shares on sunright or even privatise sunright if it remains at a big discount to valuation.

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-11 14:51 | Report Abuse

Am I right with Kesm at 16, sunright nta = $1.00?

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-11 16:40 | Report Abuse

Sunright is getting interests today....

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-11 16:42 | Report Abuse

Maybe renew interest on its deep valuation on Kesm... Or maybe market know it's lagging as compared to Kesm current run up

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-11 23:21 | Report Abuse

Sunright owns 28.825m kesm share -- rrm16.24x20.825/3.15=sgp 107
The value of kesm stakes worth -- 107/122.8=sgp0.871
Today, sunright = sgp.55 only

21,626 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-07-12 08:43 | Report Abuse

holding company need to give 25%-30% discount. so the price is fair. Holdings also din get much dividend from KESM. so it is fair loh

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-12 11:15 | Report Abuse

Can I say Kesm stakes worth sgp87sen + cash sgp30sen = sgp117sen?

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-12 11:16 | Report Abuse

30% discount = sgp80sen for sunright?
But now sgp55sen!!

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-12 11:18 | Report Abuse

So potential sgp25sen as predict profit

atas

6 posts

Posted by atas > 2017-07-12 12:47 | Report Abuse

Sunright 1h2017 NTA is 58.2cents (Singapore cents). KESM 1h2017 is RM7.15. Share price of KESM is currently at RM16.18. Sunright booked its stake in KESM at book value. Compared to current price of RM16.18, the stake is undervalued by RM188.05m ((16.18-7.15)*20.825). Convert this amount into Sing Dollar it is S$60.66m (188.05/3.1).

Readjusted NTA would be 58.2 cents + 50.6 cents (60.66m / 120m shares) = $1.088.

21,626 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-07-12 12:49 | Report Abuse

please apply some discount to holding company

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-12 13:37 | Report Abuse

Thank atas.
Agreed on Paperplane to have discount...
But the current discount almost 50%...which I call it undervalued

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-12 13:38 | Report Abuse

I am convinced to start accumulate.....

21,626 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-07-12 13:41 | Report Abuse

Posted by pang72 > Jul 12, 2017 01:37 PM | Report Abuse

Thank atas.
Agreed on Paperplane to have discount...
But the current discount almost 50%...which I call it undervalued

It make sense also if mother company never wanna share with their shareholders. Same case like Insas, BjCorp. Give you peanuts. They keeping the cash to spend themselves

SINGAPOREAN typically NIAO JI, macam kiasu, kiasi. Forget it. 50% might make sense also

Posted by Kadir Almushayah > 2017-07-12 15:30 | Report Abuse

agreed to those comments that sunright is undervalued..fr nw. soon will realise the reasonable level

Posted by Alex Lim Jun Xiong > 2017-07-12 17:04 | Report Abuse

U guys buying Singapore stock as well?
I only invest in KESM.
paperplane2016, is it possible for KESM to have share split of 5 this year?

Posted by Kadir Almushayah > 2017-07-12 21:20 | Report Abuse

Alex Lim JunXiong... Yes,bought some spore shares, just in case.

21,626 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-07-13 01:00 | Report Abuse

I don't rule out that possibly

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-13 07:51 | Report Abuse

Yes, I start doing so to buy sgp share
And my first trial on this undervalued and growing stock which I knew it very much

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-13 08:42 | Report Abuse

Why undervalued for sunright because calculated 50% discount of nta...

LCKS

22 posts

Posted by LCKS > 2017-07-13 10:22 | Report Abuse

Singapore relies a lot on foreign investors and liquidity is generally low given the market condition now. From investors' perspective for Sunright, they give more weight to dividend earnings from KESM than the share value. Akin to many property developers companies, their share values are mostly undervalued if you consider the underlying property they are holding. Given a choice, one would prefer to invest in undervalued shares backed up by property assets than a company backed up by shares (as shares value are more volatile).

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-13 10:37 | Report Abuse

Good point but I am worrying sgp housing bubble which can occur anytime

49,681 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2017-07-13 10:42 | Report Abuse

Kesm is confirmed on its high growth rate from this year onward which can be seen on recent earning....
It could be rm20 by year end...
By the time , I expect sunright shall sail upward from 55sen. If hit 80sen, Its about 45% profit...

21,626 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-07-13 16:32 | Report Abuse

Hopefully

LCKS

22 posts

Posted by LCKS > 2017-07-13 18:58 | Report Abuse

Can anyone explain why invest in Sunright rather than direct at KESM?

I thought KESM earnings are already consolidated into Sunright's group figures. As far as earnings is concern, it has already been factored into Sunright's price.

The value of KESM's share though is shown at cost value instead of fair market value. Sunright also has other subsidiaries in Thailand, China and Philippines. They are all taken up at cost value rather than market value - probably the main reason why Sunright's share has not moved in tandem to KESM's performance.

One must also consider KESM constitutes not a big portion of Sunrights earnings or assets. If you are banking on KESM's performance, why not invest direct at KESM? As far as earnings is concerned, KESM's performance does not have a significant influence on Sunright's share price.

Buying Sunright's share means you are buying into its whole business overall. It's share price depends on the performance of other subsidiaries too. It is also quite costly in my opinion since the PE is about 34 (much higher than its peers in Singapore).

KESM is at PE of 18 (some IT peers in Malaysia have much higher PE).

LCKS

22 posts

Posted by LCKS > 2017-07-13 18:59 | Report Abuse

Bottom line is, if you are banking on KESM's performance, I think the profit potential is higher than Sunright.

Posted by Alex Lim Jun Xiong > 2017-07-14 15:38 | Report Abuse

Started to drop already ya...
Selling pressure emerged~

21,626 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-07-14 15:43 | Report Abuse

no volume at all.

Posted by Alex Lim Jun Xiong > 2017-07-18 16:37 | Report Abuse

Yeah, just buy & keep for longer term~

Posted by Kadir Almushayah > 2017-07-19 06:21 | Report Abuse

Get ready fr another up and up

ooihk899

2,055 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2017-07-20 22:18 | Report Abuse

wah, got interim Div 0.65 wo, increase of 44% compar to last uear. good sign.

Posted by Kristine Khoh > 2017-07-21 08:25 | Report Abuse

6.5 sen