T4Q P/E | EY: 10.41  |  9.61%
T4Q DY | Payout %: 6.62%  |  68.89%
T4Q NAPS | P/NAPS: 3.27  |  0.78
T4Q NP Margin | ROE: 12.21%  |  7.46%

Headlines

Date Subject
18-Apr-2024 Daily Market Commentary - 18 Apr 2024
25-Mar-2024 Banking - Still Room for Value
18-Mar-2024 Bank Islam Malaysia - CI Ratio to Remain Elevated in the Next 3 Years
06-Mar-2024 Banking - 4QCY23 Report Card: Decent Showing
04-Mar-2024 BIMB - Growth Is Back in Session
04-Mar-2024 Bank Islam Malaysia - Vying for Sustainable Growth
04-Mar-2024 Kenanga Today Highlights - 04 Mar 2024
29-Feb-2024 Bank Islam Malaysia - Financing Growth Decelerated Sharply
29-Feb-2024 BIMB - Balanced Risk-Reward Mix
29-Feb-2024 Bank Islam Malaysia - Stronger Reporting Despite Growth Miss
29-Feb-2024 Kenanga Today Highlights - 29 Feb 2024
29-Feb-2024 Bank Islam Malaysia Bhd - A Generous Dividend Payout
28-Feb-2024 Kenanga Today Highlights - 28 Feb 2024
27-Feb-2024 Trading Stocks - Bank Islam Malaysia
20-Feb-2024 BIMB - to Benefit From Strong Household Loan Growth
16-Feb-2024 MQ Market Updates - 16 February 2024
16-Feb-2024 Trading Stocks - Bank Islam Malaysia
05-Feb-2024 Hibiscus Petroleum (HIBI MK) - Awarded 2 Blocks Nearby Marigold Field
05-Feb-2024 Westports (WPRTS MK) - Turning Cautious on Outlook
30-Nov-2023 Bank Islam Malaysia - Financing Prospects Moderate

Business Background

Bimb Holdings is a Malaysia-based Islamic holding company that is principally engaged in providing financial products and services. The company is involved in Islamic business activities mainly through its investment in Shariah-compliant business entities. The company holds a 100% stake in Bank Islam Malaysia Berhad, which is the first Shariah-based bank in Malaysia and Southeast Asia. The company has a major stake in Syarikat Takaful Malaysia Berhad, which is an Islamic insurance provider. The company also has interests in venture capital, unit trusts, stock broking, offshore banking, and others.
Trade this stock and win a FREE I3investor T-shirt after 5 trades. Find out more.

32 people like this.

DividendGuy67 Looking closer, I was very lucky to have entered into BIMB near the bottom.
- My first entry was 9/5/23 at 2.03.
- I then keep buying more as price went down until it hit near the bottom of 1.75 - I didn't get the absolute low of 1.7, but it was good enough to be able to buy at 1.75.
- That brought my average cost down to 1.87.
- Then, we receive dividends. I took some small profits and my net cost after dividends and a small amount of realized means my average cost price is now 1.70. This is for my 5th largest holdings out of 48 stocks.

At 2.44 close today, my unrealized gains is now close to 43%.

And here I was, when I entered at an average cost of 1.87, I was only happy to target a long term Dividend Yield of 7.2%. Now it turns out, instead of gaining 7% (since I held less than a year), I have earned something like 43% gains. What a bonus.

Thank-you Mr Market.
16/02/2024 11:44 PM
DividendGuy67 It is amazing when you track its NTA growth over the past 10 years - this small growing stock has consistently grown its NTA by 14% per annum CAGR over past 10 years. It's NTA is 3.29. It's trading at 2.44, below Book Value, for a bank that grows its equity at the rate of 14% per annum over past 10 years ... it was so overlooked by the market.

It's Dividend Payout ratio is only 38% ... not stretching at all. This stock grows its Net Worth and grows its earnings and is having a conservative dividend payout ratio. And when I entered at an average cost of 1.87, it was yielding 7.2% dividend yield. What a bargain then.

It pays to own overlooked stocks when everyone was afraid and nobody wants to own it when it was crashing back in May 2022.

I know this bank's value and with a price action like this, there's no rush to take profits on its way up. I may trim it so that it doesn't become too big a proportion but otherwise, the strategy is still to sit tight on your winners and sit tight on your losers, so that your winners become a larger proportion of your portfolio and your losers naturally become a smaller proportion of your portfolio so that your portfolio can keep making new all time highs regularly especially when you own a portfolio of sound, good fundamental stocks and businesses ...
16/02/2024 11:53 PM
TheContrarian I think you got the year wrong, it was crashing in May 2023 rather than 2022.
17/02/2024 4:18 AM
TheContrarian Finally moving again.
23/02/2024 11:13 AM
26/02/2024 10:06 AM
rlch RM 2.6 if follow Affin can reach?
26/02/2024 11:02 AM
potenza10 just sold off yesterday at 2.41...sighhhhhh
26/02/2024 3:22 PM
TheContrarian You mean last Friday?
26/02/2024 3:52 PM
Yippy68 Do you guys think MBSB got good future as soon as it turn to another Islamic Bank and listed in BURSA. My cost is less than 60 cents after receiving 8.5 sen dividend I hold big quantity especially last year after my big sweep in Bplant. Likely @Contrarian can contribute your good knowledge in Banking stock.
27/02/2024 2:08 AM
Yippy68 I made some profit after i bought Affin at 2,20 and sold at 2,65 around 30K, Thank @Contrarian for all you good sharing.
27/02/2024 2:21 AM
TheContrarian @Yippy68, EPS is more relevant than high DPS because high DPS isn't sustainable if EPS drops. MBSB doesn't appear to have the all round strength of other banks. Just rebranding itself as an Islamic bank doesn't transform it overnight to rival Bank Islam which is long established.
27/02/2024 2:24 AM
Yippy68 Thank you and noted.
27/02/2024 2:31 AM
TheContrarian @Yippy68, I feel you are too heavily concentrated in MBSB. Your recent venturing into Affin has brought you financial rewards. Affin share price ran ahead because it is more superior to MBSB. Similarly, Bank Islam share price has also recently run ahead.
27/02/2024 2:34 AM
newbie5354_ TheContrarian banking sifu? Which bank(or bank like) counters yet to move? Insas can move like Affin or BIMB?
27/02/2024 7:12 AM
TheContrarian I already sold 97% of my Insas last month when it moved from below 90 sen to above RM1.30. Only bank I like now is BIMB.
27/02/2024 10:23 AM
TheContrarian 2.50 broken through.
28/02/2024 11:57 AM
smartly if closing can stay above 2.50 then nice....
28/02/2024 12:06 PM
TheContrarian Lately EPF has turned sellers, so who is buying aggressively?
28/02/2024 3:20 PM
TheContrarian QR out, declared second interim dividend of 4.22 sen.
28/02/2024 5:47 PM
TheContrarian I am rather surprised the forum here is very quiet.
28/02/2024 6:08 PM
5354_ Like Affin should be foreign funds.

Posted by TheContrarian > 6 hours ago | Report Abuse

Lately EPF has turned sellers, so who is buying aggressively?
28/02/2024 9:26 PM
5354_ Maybe those posted earlier have sold.

Posted by TheContrarian > 3 hours ago | Report Abuse

I am rather surprised the forum here is very quiet.
28/02/2024 9:29 PM
TheContrarian I will be lonely here.
28/02/2024 10:10 PM
5354_ After QR EPF U-turn buy back? 16.81 sen total BIMB dividend DY 6.70%(RM 2.51) is better than EPF 2022 & 2023 dividend?
29/02/2024 9:31 AM
TheContrarian We wait and see if there's notification from EPF.
29/02/2024 9:34 AM
TheContrarian It is lonely here.
29/02/2024 9:35 AM
TheContrarian Go, go, go BIMB.
01/03/2024 9:17 AM
TheContrarian EPF has been selling but someone else is buying aggressively.
01/03/2024 6:34 PM
Mabel Haha no worries...

This counter no need to monitor so much...so steady mah...

Dividend investing is like planting a tree...

The earlier you start, the bigger your tree is going to grow.

And before you know it, you will be resting in the shade of your own financial forest, enjoying the fruits of your labor, year after year...

Why?

Because dividends... GROW.

And that's how some Dividend Machines reached their milestones in dividends.

For the past 10 years...

DBS (Bank) increased their dividends by 158%
Wilmar (Plantation) increased their dividends by 112%
So if you think $5,000 in annual dividends today is too little...

Your $5,000 'passive' income just became:

$12,900 if you invested in DBS
$10,600 if you invested in Wilmar
All you did is buying the right dividend stocks...

...And wait

Get paid in year 1...

...And wait

Get paid more in year 2...

...And wait

Get paid even more in year 3...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0kcet4aPpQ
02/03/2024 12:11 AM
TheContrarian Loneliness can drive a guy to sell.
03/03/2024 1:03 PM
TheContrarian Wow, 2.59.
04/03/2024 12:29 PM
speakup Go go go Genting
04/03/2024 4:24 PM
speakup Oops wrong forum
04/03/2024 4:24 PM
TheContrarian EPF buying back BIMB.
04/03/2024 7:07 PM
DividendGuy67 Fuiyoh ... biggest gain in my portfolio today. Feeling blessed and thankful ...
05/03/2024 10:41 PM
DividendGuy67 Managed to trim a little bit, but still my Top 15% holdings by market value. Dividend yield on cost is 8.3%. Can hold for a long time if not look at markets and just collect dividends. Of course, sitting on winners and do nothing is often the right strategy unless it is a bear market or clearly sideways market.
05/03/2024 10:49 PM
TheContrarian 1 week ago

rlch

RM 2.6 if follow Affin can reach?

@rlch , already reached 2.60 and is now higher than Affin. Thank you for your recommendation.
06/03/2024 10:34 PM
Mabel BIMB
Share Price 7 Day 1 Year
2.57 1.6% 16.3%

Upcoming dividend of RM0.042 per share

Eligible shareholders must have bought the stock before 15 March 2024.
Payment date: 05 April 2024.

Payout ratio is a comfortable 68% but the company is paying out more than the cash it is generating.

Trailing yield: 6.5%.

Within top quartile of Malaysian dividend payers (4.7%).
Higher than average of industry peers (5.3%).
09/03/2024 2:31 PM
5354_ DY 6.6% who sell? I buy more because 1% more than EPF just declared dividend.
11/03/2024 9:45 AM
5354_ 024-03-04

EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD (a substantial shareholder) acquired 1,483,900 shares on 28-Feb-2024.
11/03/2024 11:18 AM
TheContrarian Sold half at 2.58 this morning.
12/03/2024 4:16 PM
KJTAN7 Build my portfolio on May 2023. My target is accumulate more share on this stock
12/03/2024 4:18 PM
troy88 Solid!
13/03/2024 10:01 AM
TheContrarian Sold balance at 2.61. Approximately 15% gain within 5 weeks.
13/03/2024 11:16 AM
MrYong islamic bank growth
14/03/2024 4:52 PM
5354_ Axiata loss RM 2.457 billion RM 2.8 can why BIMB RM 553 mil profit cannot?
15/03/2024 9:57 AM
speakup https://themalaysianreserve.com/2024/03/16/pm-anwar-political-stability-transparent-policies-attract-foreign-investors/

Shame on u PMX! When PN was in power last time , u tried to topple PN through defection. Now u tell PN not to topple u for the sake of foreign investors
17/03/2024 4:49 PM
JT1601 When will it drop back to RM2.4. Want top up...
12/04/2024 6:21 PM
speakup Lu pandai main reverse psychologi ni
12/04/2024 7:05 PM
Mabel BIMB Full year 2023 earnings: EPS and revenues exceed analyst expectations

Full year 2023 results:
EPS: RM0.25 (up from RM0.23 in FY 2022).
Revenue: RM2.28b (up 5.6% from FY 2022).
Net income: RM553.1m (up 13% from FY 2022).
Profit margin: 24% (up from 23% in FY 2022). The increase in margin was driven by higher revenue.
Cost-to-income ratio: 60.9% (up from 59.8% in FY 2022).
Non-performing loans: 0.94% (down from 1.27% in FY 2022).
Revenue exceeded analyst estimates by 5.2%. Earnings per share (EPS) also surpassed analyst estimates by 5.2%.

Revenue is forecast to grow 6.9% p.a. on average during the next 3 years, compared to a 7.1% growth forecast for the Banks industry in Malaysia.

Meow
20/04/2024 10:55 AM

TOP ARTICLES

1. Stock on Radar - YTL Corporation AmInvest Research Reports
2. Why detractors silent about PMX’s latest Saudi trip to attend WEF after whipping up a storm on his maiden trip save malaysia!
3. Weekly Strategy - Buying Support Needed to Cushion Negative External News Flows TA Sector Research
4. Make EPF account restructuring a step towards a more comprehensive pension reform — Hawati Abdul Hamid and Puteri Marjan Megat Muzafar save malaysia!
5. Should “stakeholders” sue Bloomberg to prove 2nd casino licence claim for Johor’s Forest City is “sheer slander”? save malaysia!
6. Daily Market Commentary - 29 Apr 2024 TA Sector Research
7. Trade-related and ESG measures must be fair to developing countries - Tengku Zafrul save malaysia!
8. YTL Power, YTL Corp touch new highs save malaysia!
APPS
I3 Messenger
Individual or Group chat with anyone on I3investor
MQ Trader
Stock Screener using Technical and Fundamental criteria
MQ Affiliate
Join the MQ Affiliate Program today to earn rewards

574  347  659  790 

ActiveGainersLosers
Top 10 Active Counters
 NameLastChange 
 HSI-CVZ 0.175+0.005