557 comment(s). Last comment by lching 2014-01-02 09:41

Saturn

2,148 posts

Posted by Saturn > 2013-09-01 21:18 | Report Abuse

It's harder....with the avg and TOP....not with 100 lots

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-01 21:18 | Report Abuse

Probably I may have been too "keh por" to be drawn into the tussle between the both of you. If that is the case, I am sorry for interfering. Henceforth no more comments from me in this thread ! Better be like KC Loh and stay on the sidelines and have fun with Dolly once a while. Right KC Loh ?

Saturn

2,148 posts

Posted by Saturn > 2013-09-01 21:21 | Report Abuse

Yeah....Inwest, you must understand he is afraid and only way out is create a mockery.....ask him on technical and u will understand its all sweeping statement....eg

mah sing and his Singapore land scarce answer.........

Saturn

2,148 posts

Posted by Saturn > 2013-09-01 21:25 |

mfed12

48 posts

Posted by mfed12 > 2013-09-01 22:10 | Report Abuse

I would like to join as well..Buy wellcall 10000 buy DKSH 7000

Saturn

2,148 posts

Posted by Saturn > 2013-09-01 22:35 | Report Abuse

Can't talk Mah sing? bonus Boleh?

Saturn

2,148 posts

Posted by Saturn > 2013-09-01 22:36 |

rlch

4,126 posts

Posted by rlch > 2013-09-01 23:20 | Report Abuse

I want in. Buy 1 million Nextnation.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2013-09-01 23:27 | Report Abuse

i also want to play play. For the start, please buy Maybulk, AZRB and WTK 5000 share for each counter. THANKS.

Posted by musang_foxking > 2013-09-01 23:28 | Report Abuse

man if both of u just keep calm and not answering each other...it is better for u 2 and the others...latest good news novamsc got project, 1st BIM in Taiwan
http://www.novamsc.com/company_news.htm' target='_blank'>http://www.novamsc.com/company_news.htm

BIM related:
http://www.novacitynets.com/productbim.htm' target='_blank'>http://www.novacitynets.com/productbim.htm
http://www.graitec.com/en/news.asp?NewsID=692
http://news.nanyangpost.com/2013/08/novaCITYNETS.html

latest singapore city planning projects:

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2013/08/19/Singapore-unveils-master-plan-for-port-airport-and-waterfront.aspx)
http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Regional/2013/09/01/New-road-to-replace-scenic-route-at-Changi.aspx
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ8U6S5Y3vY ......utube wa cakap lu
http://www.novabim.com/
http://www.novamsc.com/company_news.htm' target='_blank'>http://www.novamsc.com/company_news.htm

also these related to healthcare program (novahealth)

http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/06/11/fortishealthcare-vietnam-idUSWNBS0045320130611
http://healthmarketinnovations.org/program/drug-interaction-and-drug-allergy-alert-clinical-diagnostic-support-softwaresystem-cdss-eka
http://healthmarketinnovations.org/program/viva-sehat-formerly-razi-clinics
....for link 2 and 3 PLEASE click 'FINANCIAL'...and u'll see chandler corp relation with novamsc/novahealth

novamsc website...so many website:

http://www.novamsc.com/
http://www.nova-hub.com/
http://www.novacitynets.com/
http://www.novahealth.asia/
http://www.novabim.com/
http://www.novatara.com/

Bruce88

Posted by Bruce88 > 2013-09-01 23:33 | Report Abuse

Count me in. Buy 5000 Puncak. Tq

back2biz

129 posts

Posted by back2biz > 2013-09-02 00:17 | Report Abuse

Count me in.Will fill up my portfolio next week.Tq.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-02 07:01 | Report Abuse

Stockwatch, I am sure you can see what's happening and what is going to happen if proper and stringent terms and conditions are not set. Just my opinion.

Saturn

2,148 posts

Posted by Saturn > 2013-09-02 08:17 |

Posted by liguo192 > 2013-09-02 08:55 | Report Abuse

I am in,
Dayang 2000
hapseng-wa 6000
Gadang 2000
SCGM 2000
L & G 2000

i prefer diversify , is it good ?

the rest will see today reaction

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-02 12:39 | Report Abuse

Posted by kcchongnz > Sep 2, 2013 12:28 PM | Report Abuse X

Datasonic, A Rule breaker for risk takers.

Below is the financials for Datasonic for the last few years.

Year 2010 2011 2012 1st half 2013
Revenue, m 39.6 78.4 178.7 118.3
Net profit, m 7.6 15.9 28.1 35.6
EPS 8.4 17.6 36.85 39.6

What do you see?

Assuming an annualized EPS of 80 sen,at 3.36 now, isn't it cheap? Yeah I know. Its price has shot up by 65% from RM2.00 since 4 months ago.

Datasonic has 10m copies Mycard to issue for 2013. It is also awarded 5 year contract to supply 10m polycarbonate passport. Think about that. there is very strong earnings visibility. Most of all, it is not expensive.

I would take this as my only stock for the challenge going on now.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-02 17:57 | Report Abuse

Allow me to make some comments which are just solely my own views with no offence meant. Should anyone is offended with the content, I offer my apologies.

(1) Firstly what is the purpose and objective of this competition ?
(a) is it meant for i3 members to have fun by just picking some stocks they fancy… or
(a) is it meant for i3 members to test their skills in stocks selection that have the potential to rise from now till the end of the year
(2) If the objective is (a) then well and good. Just set some general rules (like what is done now) and carry on
(3) However if it is (b) then I reckon that the rules are not stringent, proper and fair enough as many shortcomings will arise before, during and
at the end of the contest.
Just to name a few core ones:-
(i) there is no equal footing for the contestants to start off, with some using up the 100K allocation, some partially and some none at all
(ii) it is obvious that those who have not used up will be in a advantageous situation as surely the closing
prices last Friday would not be lowest till 31st December . They will be corrections along the way. Already in
September there are a few concerns - the US attack on Syria (pending Congress approval, the FED meeting on
QE tapering etc. Once market corrects, these people can pick up stocks at much lower prices

(iii) there is no minimum investment at the starting point. What about say, making everyone must purchase 50K
and leave the balance of 50K to trade during the contest. In this instance trading is still allowed but at least
everyone starts on the same platform.
(iv) There is no restriction on the number of stocks selected, some may just put all their money on one stock
(v) Take for example : John puts all his money on a penny stock with no fundamentals which is currently priced at
10 sen. Then during the contest period, this counter is being "goreng" and closed the year at 15 sen, which means
a 50% gain over the initial investment. John will most probably be the winner even though others may make 25%
or 40% gains from their basket of good stocks.
(vi) Some may even keep the 100K until December and hope for a sharp correction and then goes in to pick up
those counter which have dropped drastically.
(vii)….etc etc

Again these are just my views based on my experience in organizing contests and competitions. More over this is just a friendly challenge. Without any entry fees and prizes, I am sure the contestants taking part just want to have some fum and excitement. Happy trading.

Grambo

385 posts

Posted by Grambo > 2013-09-02 19:38 | Report Abuse

Looks like Saturn's choice of 3 counters withstood the weather as he described......better than Hafiz' s choice. Saturn's. choice down average 1 to 2 cents....but Hafiz counter down avg 6 to 19 cents.......

Let the games continue.....lets see tomorrow.....

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-02 20:10 | Report Abuse

KW Tan, Agree with you that no one can time the market but the chances that the stock prices at 30th August are the lowest until of the year is very slim. Obviously the prices wont move all the way up. Thus if you have 100K not invested now, you would have the opportunity to buy at lower prices, even setting side the issues of Syria and QE. That's the advantage.

Nevertheless these are just my thoughts and not criticisms and thus i would appreciate your kind understanding.

Of course you should not change the rules now as the challenge has started. Probably we can learn something along the way. Once again I applaud you for taking the time and effort to conduct this competition.
It would be interesting to see who is the eventual winner and what brings out the winner.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-02 20:15 | Report Abuse

Grambo, today is only the first day and still a long way to go before we know who is the winner. However the challenge between Hafiz and Saturn is a fair one with both starting on the same terms and conditions :-
1) each selecting three stocks
2) each fully using up almost 100 K
3) each submitting their selections before the contest starts

This will be a real test of pitting their stock pick skills between them.
Ultimately winning or losing is not the issue. It's the spirit of participation.

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-09-02 20:54 | Report Abuse

Sure donkey Dave? Hahahaha

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-02 21:01 | Report Abuse

newbiestock=dolly=kclow is back, have fun Kcloh.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-02 21:05 | Report Abuse

but do not be hard on him, lest he goes into wilderness again ! Moreover he's a great admirer of you, even following your initials kc and loh (albeit, different spelling)

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-09-02 21:09 | Report Abuse

At least he is humble and low in esteem in this case! :)

Grambo

385 posts

Posted by Grambo > 2013-09-02 21:14 | Report Abuse

Inwest88....today is day 1......lets us learn on type of stock, type of weather, type of resistance, type of investor........how time affects the move etc.
In any games, the the type of terrain, grass, weather, etc,....from golf to F1, you have to use the right club up to the right types respectively. So similarly here......we know of the impending tapering, the war, O&G will go up.......so on. So here what type of industry you would choose ? What will Russia do? Winter Olympics , Russia, and US with OnG,.....etc.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-02 21:16 | Report Abuse

Agree Grambo, just too many variables !

Posted by tonylim > 2013-09-02 21:17 | Report Abuse

Grambo

385 posts

Posted by Grambo > 2013-09-02 21:28 | Report Abuse

Of course you can Inwest......defensive stock is important.....as of now till end of the year... The stack up is more negative than positive. As we know negative go down 2 pts and positive just 1 pt. fr EMA and SMA and Klci....this is true at this point until the next bull we can do another averaging.
China PMi will show gd again coming but the unemployment and manufacturing in US and unemployment in Europe must match for the next push.....

Grambo

385 posts

Posted by Grambo > 2013-09-02 21:36 | Report Abuse

Inwest....help me stack up each counter....I will start with the property....just read the below from Michael yam....

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/fdnews/217758.jsp

We have one on OnG and semiconductor and offshore crane.....if you have, you can stack the odd with information here and we will see where it goes....war will cause an temporary dent on the OnG . Etc

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-02 21:42 | Report Abuse

I do not quite agree with the article as he's protecting the developers' interest.

On stocks I think I will lay off till the end of the year as I am holding 50 % high dividend paying stocks and 30% trading stocks and left with 20% cash.

Grambo

385 posts

Posted by Grambo > 2013-09-02 21:54 | Report Abuse

It's ok, we don't have to agree but put factual argument......maybe put one on each of the industry.......then we will see. The other way is also to check the top 10 here as some of the guys are fast to check on information or rumors.......hardly see property stock there though...

Grambo

385 posts

Posted by Grambo > 2013-09-02 21:55 | Report Abuse

The top 10 here normally are OnG counters......

Grambo

385 posts

Posted by Grambo > 2013-09-02 22:13 | Report Abuse

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/fdnews/217752.jsp

The only problem I see in the statement from Michael Yam on the lack of supply is the lack of supply is on affordable homes. We have seen almost all developer we are use to all move up market. Take Sime for instance, the use to build affordable home.....but now they are at premium, similarly Mah sing, sp setia, .....the rationale is pricing....but I believe they will come back to terraces because these houses are fetching from 600k and above outside the boundary of key locations......

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-02 22:17 | Report Abuse

Sime is a GLC and sometimes have to follow certain policies besides performing to social responsibilities.

11,122 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-03 12:36 | Report Abuse

Mr Tan KW,
I want to create a similar portfolio like yours to have 100,000 capital on 10 stocks I selected, the composition of the portfolio is different and it is not equal weight.
Please teach me how to do it.

back2biz

129 posts

Posted by back2biz > 2013-09-03 14:39 | Report Abuse

Mr Tan KW...My purchase list(today)

Bjcorp -------15000
Censof -------15000
Digista Wa ---50000
Fajar --------10000
Ivory --------15000
Jcy ----------20000
Unisem -------10000

Thank You.

zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by zuliana > 2013-09-04 22:17 | Report Abuse

Mr. Tan KW,
Pls key in my sell transaction for 4Sept2013 in my portfolio. Thanks

Posted by CFattLoong > 2013-09-05 11:14 | Report Abuse

Tan KW - Sell Maxis all. TQ

zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by zuliana > 2013-09-06 18:09 | Report Abuse

Mr. Tan KW,
Pls key in my buy transaction for 6Sept2013 in my portfolio. Thanks

zuliana

5,395 posts

Posted by zuliana > 2013-09-25 18:47 | Report Abuse

(25/09/2013)
Mr. Tan KW,
Pls key in for me, Thanks.

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-09-25 18:52 | Report Abuse

i think ..takda kerja...bikin kerja

back2biz

129 posts

Posted by back2biz > 2013-09-27 15:14 | Report Abuse

Mr Tan,
Just a suggestion to make this *Trading Challenge*,more interesting.....
Weekly updates of all participant's position,just like in a marathon/grand
prix race....so that they know how far behind or ahead of the group and takes the neccesary steps to rectify their position to make it a head n neck fight to the finishing line.I am just a dark horse in this race.....
Tq.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-27 16:49 | Report Abuse

@back2biz, every week is a bit too frequently. A fortnightly basis is better. This was the 1st update/analysis 2 weeks ago.

Status Report (After 2 weeks of Trading)

Of the 26 contestants, 21 have made gains whilst only 4 are in the red. One participant has yet to perform any transactions. Currently topping the list is Rich which is way ahead of 2nd placed SKC61103 with OoiTB a place behind. At the bottom of the table is Musang Foxking with a heavy loss of more than 7K. As for the direct challenge between Hafiz and Saturn, interestingly both are incurring losses with the former just one position above the latter.

Well, that's the position as of now. Still a long way to go - happy trading !

Contestant - Gain/(Loss) in RM
Rich - 19,562
SKC761103 - 9,373
OoiTeikBee - 7,715
Tjhldg - 6,183
Iching - 5,804
Jenny6088 - 5,615
Potenxa10 - 4,219
Imoogi99 - 3,890
Back2biz - 3,852
Hjey - 3,141
Mfed12 -2,785
Zuliana - 2,747
TKW - 2,652
Vincent Wong - 2,434
Faberlicious - 2,268
Bruce88 - 2,069
CFattLoong - 1,911
CKLeow79 - 1,370
Morivae - 1,012
Liguo92 - 449
Chang0509 - 287
Gooooooooo - (225)
Hafiz Milip - (258)
Saturn - (1,784)
Musang Foxking - (7,356)
Thundercat - 0

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-27 16:49 | Report Abuse

@back2biz, every week is a bit too frequently. A fortnightly basis is better. This was the 1st update/analysis 2 weeks ago.

Status Report (After 2 weeks of Trading)

Of the 26 contestants, 21 have made gains whilst only 4 are in the red. One participant has yet to perform any transactions. Currently topping the list is Rich which is way ahead of 2nd placed SKC61103 with OoiTB a place behind. At the bottom of the table is Musang Foxking with a heavy loss of more than 7K. As for the direct challenge between Hafiz and Saturn, interestingly both are incurring losses with the former just one position above the latter.

Well, that's the position as of now. Still a long way to go - happy trading !

Contestant - Gain/(Loss) in RM
Rich - 19,562
SKC761103 - 9,373
OoiTeikBee - 7,715
Tjhldg - 6,183
Iching - 5,804
Jenny6088 - 5,615
Potenxa10 - 4,219
Imoogi99 - 3,890
Back2biz - 3,852
Hjey - 3,141
Mfed12 -2,785
Zuliana - 2,747
TKW - 2,652
Vincent Wong - 2,434
Faberlicious - 2,268
Bruce88 - 2,069
CFattLoong - 1,911
CKLeow79 - 1,370
Morivae - 1,012
Liguo92 - 449
Chang0509 - 287
Gooooooooo - (225)
Hafiz Milip - (258)
Saturn - (1,784)
Musang Foxking - (7,356)
Thundercat - 0

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-27 16:50 | Report Abuse

The new update will be given later this evening.

back2biz

129 posts

Posted by back2biz > 2013-09-27 16:58 | Report Abuse

@invest88...Thks for the info.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-27 17:11 | Report Abuse

Status Update (Week 4)

Well, a new leader has emerged in potenza10 who has raked in more than 30k at this moment. Rich has dropped to 2nd place whilst tjhldh is now in the top three.

Thundercat has yet to make his move. Only two contestants are showing losses with CFattLoong firmly rooted at the bottom of the table.

Potenxa10 - 32,985
Rich - 25,712
Tjhldg - 15,676
OoiTeikBee - 13,858
Jenny6088 - 13,127
SKC761103 - 12,372
Imoogi99 - 8,972
TKW - 8,958
Mfed12 - 8,634
Faberlicious - 7,855
Iching - 6,976
Back2biz - 6,761
Hjey - 6,249
Chang0509 - 5,952
Vincent Wong - 4,520
CKLeow79 - 3,970
Hafiz Milip - 3,611
Morivae - 2,666
Bruce88 - 2,519
Zuliana - 2,089
Liguo92 - 1,979
Gooooooooo - 1,085
Saturn - 946
Thundercat - 0
Musang Foxking - (230)
CFattLoong - (4,981)

Happy Trading

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-10-11 17:14 | Report Abuse

Status Update - Week 6

At the close of trading today, Rich has regained the top spot, pushing Potenza10 into 2nd position. TJhldg has leapfrogged into the third place.
They are currently ahead of the pack. At the other end, CFLoong remains firmly rooted at the bottom. Thundercat has yet to make any investment.

Current Ranking / Contestant / Profit (Loss) / Previous Ranking
1 Rich - 35,053 (2)
2 Potenxa10 - 33,610 (1)
3 Tjhldg - 27,689 (6)
4 TKW - 12,905 (8)
5 Faberlicious - 12,670 (10)
6 Back2biz - 12,571 (12)
7 Mfed12 - 11,109 (9)
8 SKC761103 - 10,572 (3)
9 Jenny6088 - 9,414 (5)
10 Imoogi99 - 9,397 (7)
11 Iching - 9,202 (11)